• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members SAVE an additional $100
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Best of France

Operated by: Trafalgar

13 Days from $3,398 per person
France

Countries Visited

France, Monaco ...more France, Monaco

Locations Visited

Paris, Lyon, Burgundy, Nuits Saint Goerges, Cote D Azur, Monaco, Promenade de Anglais, Carcassonne, Arles, Biarritz, Lourdes, Bordeaux, St Emilion, Loire Valley, Omaha Beach, BRITTANY, Eiffel Tower ...more Paris, Lyon, Burgundy, Nuits Saint Goerges, Cote D Azur, Monaco, Promenade de Anglais, Carcassonne, Arles, Biarritz, Lourdes, Bordeaux, St Emilion, Loire Valley, Omaha Beach, BRITTANY, Eiffel Tower
  1. Day 1 Arrive Paris

    All the flavours of France come to life on this unforgettable journey, which kicks off in Paris, the City of Lights. Spend your day strolling past its iconic landmarks in search of hidden treasures, before joining your fellow travellers and Travel Director for a Welcome Reception and an orientation drive through the city.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Mercure 17 Batignolles
  2. Day 2 Paris – Beaune – Lyon

    We travel south to Burgundy, past the Côte d'Or vineyards of Gevrey-Chambertin and Nuits St. Georges. The colourful geometric roof tiles of the 15th-century Hospices are a sight to behold as we arrive in the medieval town of Beaune before continuing to Lyon, the gourmet capital of France. Consider spending your evening delving into the epicurean delights for which Lyon is justifiably famous. Why not wander up the city's narrow lanes lined with pastel pink and yellow façades in search of a cosy bouchon for a tasty dinner with newfound friends?

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Novotel Gerland
  3. Day 3 Lyon – Avignon – Monaco – French Riviera (2 Nights)

    We stop in the heart of Provence and the city of Avignon, once the Papal Seat in the 14th century. See the Papal Palace and the bridge made famous in the song - Sur le pont d'Avignon. Journeying through the fields of Provence, immortalised in the great works of such artists as Van Gogh and Cézanne, we arrive in the sophisticated Principality of Monaco, where we will view the cathedral where Prince Rainier and Princess Grace were married. This evening, we enjoy a Regional Meal in Monaco before arriving at our hotel.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Regional Meal
    hotel Best Western Plus Massena/Montaigne & Spa
  4. Day 4 French Riviera Free Day

    The sun-kissed shores of the French Riviera are yours to explore today. Consider relaxing on the beach with your fellow sun-worshippers or an Optional Experience could see you visit the hilltop town of Saint-Paul-de-Vence, a popular haunt for actors seeking a relaxing retreat. In your free time, you have the opportunity to soak up the fresh sea air and perhaps indulge in delicious Salade Niçoise.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  5. Day 5 French Riviera – Arles – Carcassonne

    Visit Arles with its honey-coloured façades, Roman ruins and Camargue culture, and enjoy some time at leisure to explore this beautiful city. Alternatively, choose an Optional Experience to gain a deeper understanding of Vincent Van Gogh and local history with our resident expert before winding your way to the fortified city of Carcassonne. Join a Local Specialist to explore this exquisite ancient town, view the Cité, and see the double ring of ramparts and 52 towers.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner with wine
    hotel Mercure Porte De La Cité
  6. Day 6 Carcassonne – Lourdes – Biarritz

    We drive toward the Pyrenees this morning and arrive in Lourdes, the global centre of the Marian pilgrimage. You will have an opportunity to see the Basilica, perched atop St. Bernadette's Grotto, where the young girl turned saint is said to have seen visions of the Virgin Mary. Then, travel west to the Basque Coast, where we spend the night.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Radisson Blu
  7. Day 7 Biarritz – Bordeaux (2 Nights)

    Journeying through Les Landes, we arrive in the wine capital of Bordeaux, whose stunning Garonne riverfront and age of Enlightenment history and architecture have made it one of France's most visited cities. Bordeaux wine has been produced in the region since the 8th century and the bi-annual wine fair attracts buyers from all over the world. Spend some time seeing the sights during your orientation of the city.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Novotel/Mercure Château Chartrons
  8. Day 8 Dordogne Excursion

    The lush green valleys and hills of the Dordogne take centre stage today during a scenic half-day included excursion. We drive to Saint-Émilion, whose wine heritage dates back to Roman times and return to Bordeaux this evening for some free time to explore the city. Maybe, tease your taste-buds with delicious Bordelaise cuisine or stroll through the city's historical centre admiring its beautiful architecture by night.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  9. Day 9 Bordeaux – Loire Valley

    We journey through the Garden of France, before we 'Connect With Locals' for a delicious Be My Guest lunch. Carry on to visit the remarkable gardens at Château Villandry before we arrive at our special hotel for the night - one of Trafalgar's 'Stays With Stories'.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner with wine
    hotel Château de Beauvois
  10. Day 10 Loire Valley – Mont St. Michel – Normandy Beaches

    We travel through the patchwork landscapes of Brittany to the island settlement of Mont St. Michel on the Normandy coast, where we visit the island town and view its impressive Norman Benedictine Abbey. Follow the Liberty Highway to St. Lô and on to Omaha Beach. Reflect on the bravery of the young men who sacrificed their lives for freedom and visit the D-Day Landing Zone to learn how the operation was planned and executed. Arrive later at your hotel where you dine tonight.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner with wine
    hotel Mercure Omaha Beach
  11. Day 11 Normandy Beaches – Giverny – Paris (2 Nights)

    We travel west towards Paris, stopping at Giverny to see the house and gardens that once inspired Claude Monet's exquisite Impressionist works of art. This evening, consider a trip to one of the city's renowned cabarets.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Mercure 17 Batignolles
  12. Day 12 Paris Sightseeing and Free Time

    Join your Local Specialist on a journey through the historic neighbourhoods of Paris to see where the locals live and shop. Visit the remarkable church of Saint-Sulpice. Spend the rest of the day enjoying the sights on your terms. See the Mona Lisa and Venus de Milo at the Louvre, enjoy a leisurely café au lait in quiet surrounds or consider an Optional Experience to the opulent Palace of Versailles. This evening, we celebrate an epic adventure with your Travel Director and newfound friends at a Farewell Dinner.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
  13. Day 13 Depart Paris

    For now it's time to bid a fond au revoir to the Best of France and your fellow travellers at the end of a magical and memorable holiday. Airport transfers are available. Conditions apply.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
Best of France
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 12 hot buffet breakfasts
  • 1 Be My Guest Lunch
  • 6 dinners with local wine

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • WALKING TOUR in Paris and Carcassonne with a Local Specialist
  • ORIENTATION of Paris, Beaune, Lyon, Avignon, Monaco, Nice, Arles, Lourdes and Bordeaux
  • VISIT the Hospices de Beaune, Chateau Villandry, D-Day Museum, Claude Monet's home at Giverny and the Saint-Sulpice Church in Paris
  • VIEW the Papal Palace in Avignon, the Royal Palace and Cathedral in Monaco, Promenade des Anglais and Place Massena in Nice, St Bernadette's Grotto in Lourdes, Esplanade des Quinconces in Bordeaux, the Abbey of Mont St. Michel, the D-Day Beach of Omaha in Normandy and Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris
  • SEE the Roman Amphitheatre and the Cathedral in Arles
  • SCENIC DRIVE through Dordogne and Loire Valley

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Louise Sincaglia
Friday, July 26, 2019
Service
I definitely would book with them again. I dropped the rating to a Good because a trip to the Eiffel Tower advertised in the travel book did not happen. very disappointed
Vacation
We did not get to go to the second level of the Eiffel Tower as advertised.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry and understand how disappointed you must have been. The Eiffel Tower visit was removed from this trip in October of 2018 and replaced with Notre Dame. We do apologize for the miscommunication and hope there were happy memories made despite the change.
Monday, July 29, 2019
Maxine Broderick
Monday, July 1, 2019
Service
Not enough information was given when questions were asked. Last minute details were too last minute - not enough to react if we needed to take action.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment. We will be sure to share this with the team and use it as an opportunity to improve.
Monday, July 1, 2019
Vacation
No purchases made other than optional excursions.
Clare Friend
Friday, June 7, 2019
Service
Josh was quick to answer any questions I had as well as keeping me updated on travel documents and any changes in our trip.
Vacation
A fantastic over all. Our TD was ok . I do however prefer Insight Vacation over Trafalgar.
Trusted Customer
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Service
All information needed to make the trip comfortable were supplied before we left on our flight.
Vacation
The Tour Dir and the bus driver made the trip very interesting and everyone enjoyed being together. The places and information for each location give more history of the location.
Teresa Rosolen
Friday, November 9, 2018
Service
Our driver went out of his way to retrieve a cellphone from a site we visited for one of our traveling companions. It relieved her and our[ 4 of us] so we were able to get back to enjoying our vacation .
Response from Grand European Travel:
That is fantastic to hear and we appreciate you sharing your story. Our team is committed to making everyone's trip worry free!
Monday, November 12, 2018
Vacation
All our days were packed with fun, interesting and Sara is a great tour coordinate keeping this running, smoothly and she is a never ending source of information and had us laughing with her wit
Claudia Dovman
Saturday, October 27, 2018
Service
Where do I begin? My initial contact was okay, but they could not accommodate my request for three additional days in Paris. In the end I was unable to arrange for that and was disappointed by that. As I called with additional questions or requests I found some agents were not friendly and even condescending in tone. My request for receiving the printed information on the tour was ignored. I have a vision impairment and like to have time to read the material in advance. Three weeks I felt was not sufficient time. All in all I think that three stars was a generous rating.
Vacation
I have come to dislike bus tours in general, but chose this one for three destinations included on it. Two of those, Carcassone and Mont St Michel, were disappointingly short visits for the size and importance of these places. I can say I was there, but I can hardly say that I visited them. Perhaps this tour should be a bit longer, maybe 17 or more days to allow for longer visits to these sites. Our guide, Giovanna, and our driver, Thierry, were outstanding. Could not have asked for better. I have traveled with Giovanna before eleven years ago. I would take a tour with her again anytime. She works so hard for her groups with humor and enthusiasm. Hotels and food were okay. The hotel in Paris was lovely. Hope to return there someday on my own.
Trusted Customer
Friday, October 26, 2018
Service
I had no idea the trip was 2,500 miles and the travel routine was wake-up call at 6 AM; bags out 6:30; leave hotel 7:30; rest stop 9:30 and then drive another 2 hours to a tourist site. After lunch and visiting the tourist site, back on the bus for 2 hours to a rest stop and then up to two more hours to the hotel. The guide starts talking at 7:30 AM when the bus leaves the hotel so it's impossible to get any more sleep before the sun rises.
Response from Grand European Travel:
This particular trip does cover quite a bit of ground and the whole country of France. We do offer more leisurely options with less miles to cover and longer stays in each city. We feel badly that you felt the itinerary was too rushed and too much time spent on the coach and thank you for sharing your comments
Monday, October 29, 2018
Vacation
Explained in previous answer
Timothy Goss
Friday, October 19, 2018
Service
Very professional yet personal service. We were contacted just to check in or to give us updates.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Best of France trip and that we were able to help you plan it. We hope you think of us again the next time you travel abroad.
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Vacation
This was a tour that had so many highlights! We rode over 2400 miles around France to see and experience the very Best France had to offer. The tour was efficient, our tour director Brian Tippa was exceptional and our overall experience was five stars.
Susan Holzhauer
Friday, October 12, 2018
Service
They answered all our questions and there were alot since this was our first time to use a tour group.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thanks for sharing your experience, we're really glad we could be there for you to help plan your first tour! We're happy to hear you had a great time.
Friday, October 12, 2018
Vacation
It simply was done very well. Couldn't have been better.
Anita K.
Monday, October 8, 2018
Service
This was my first trip outside of North America. I made the trip alone. I requested a roommate and was assigned an amazing woman from Singapore. What a treat to meet many amazing people: in my tour group, in France, the hotel personnel. The travel director was amazing and the coach driver was beyond good. The travel director knew the history and quirky stories of the places we visited. The local guides provided that extraordinary touch. I plan on using GETours on future travels.
Response from Grand European Travel:
How fantastic that our Room Share program worked out so well for you! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you on another trip very soon.
Monday, October 8, 2018
Vacation
The GETours agent was kind. He helped me through my planning and ultimately my adventure selection. I appreciate his time and help.
See More Reviews
Back To Top