• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save up to 10% on select 2020 Departures - Pay in Full by Dec 18, 2019

    Save up to 10% on select 2020 Departures - Ends Dec 18, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members SAVE an additional $100
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Best of Germany

Operated by: Trafalgar

12 Days from $2,606 per person
Germany Heidelberg castle

Countries Visited

Germany ...more Germany

Locations Visited

Frankfurt, Cologne Cathedral, Hamburg, Berlin, Reichstag Building, Tiergarten, Brandenburg Gate, Dresden, Zwinger, Nuremburg, Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Munich, Marienplatz, Neuschwanstein, Black Forest, Heidelberg, Heidelberg Castle ...more Frankfurt, Cologne Cathedral, Hamburg, Berlin, Reichstag Building, Tiergarten, Brandenburg Gate, Dresden, Zwinger, Nuremburg, Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Munich, Marienplatz, Neuschwanstein, Black Forest, Heidelberg, Heidelberg Castle
  1. Day 1 Arrive Frankfurt

    Welcome to Frankfurt and savour a brief opportunity to see the sights on your own before meeting your Travel Director this afternoon for an orientation of the medieval Römerplatz and dynamic financial district. This evening, we enjoy a Welcome Reception with our fellow travellers, including a light meal and welcome drink to kick off our discovery of the best of Germany.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Sheraton Offenbach
  2. Day 2 Frankfurt – Rhine Cruise – Cologne

    Resist the alluring calls of Lorelei and board your leisurely cruise along the Rhine. Glide past vineyard-clad hills, stopping to 'Connect With Locals' for a Be My Guest lunch at a 13th-century castle perched high above the river valley. Share stories of knights and feuding lords and ladies over lunch before continuing to Cologne. Here, we will view the Gothic spires of its magnificent cathedral during our orientation of the city.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
    hotel NH Collection Mediapark
  3. Day 3 Cologne – Hamelin – Hamburg

    Journey through the lush green landscape of Lower Saxony, stopping in the legendary town of Hamelin, immortalised in the medieval tale of the Pied Piper. We continue to the international trade centre of Hamburg, where we'll join our Travel Director for an orientation tour of the city's iconic sights. Spend the rest of the day at leisure exploring the city's seafaring heritage. Wander along the trendy Mönckebergstrasse, visit one of the city's brewhouses or consider a guided cruise along the city's waterways and discover why Hamburg is called Germany's 'Gateway to the World'.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Crowne Plaza City Alster
  4. Day 4 Hamburg – Berlin Sightseeing (2 Nights)

    Follow the picturesque Elbe Valley from Hamburg, crossing the former 'Iron Curtain' to the historic city of Berlin, whose once-turbulent history has shaped its rebirth as a charismatic capital city. Join your Local Specialist to explore the iconic landmarks of a unified Berlin. See the neo-Renaissance Reichstag, Tiergarten, Brandenburg Gate, Unter den Linden Boulevard and Kurfürstendamm, renowned for its shopping and entertainment. Enjoy some time at leisure this afternoon to explore the city on your terms. Relax with an Ebbelwei on the Friedrichstrasse and watch the world go by.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Hilton
  5. Day 5 Berlin Sightseeing and Free Time

    'Dive Into Culture' and ascend the iconic Berlin TV Tower for 360° views of the city and Spree River. You have some free time to see the remnants of the Berlin Wall, visit the infamous Checkpoint Charlie or join an Optional Experience to the District of Potsdam, the former Prussian royal seat, for sightseeing and an unforgettable meal.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  6. Day 6 Berlin – Dresden

    A short drive south brings us to Dresden, the 'Florence on the Elbe', where we'll hear about the city's restoration following its devastation during World War II as you admire its beautiful Baroque façades. See the Semper Opera, Zwinger Palace and fully reconstructed Frauenkirche. Consider delving into the treasures of Dresden, joining an Optional Experience to explore this elegant city.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Pullman Newa
  7. Day 7 Dresden – Mödlareuth – Nuremberg

    Visit the village of Mödlareuth, which inherited the moniker of "Little Berlin" due to its wall separating 'east' and 'west'. Gain insights into a divided Germany at its open-air museum and see a section of the original wall with its security features. This afternoon, arrive in the Bavarian city of Nuremberg, once the unofficial capital of the Holy Roman Empire and today the economic, social and cultural capital of Franconia. See the mighty castle ramparts and St. Sebald's Cathedral on your orientation tour of the city, then spend the rest of your evening at leisure indulging in grilled Nürnberger and sauerkraut.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Maritim
  8. Day 8 Nuremberg – Rothenburg – Munich (2 Nights)

    Stroll through the narrow lanes of Rothenburg - its beautiful medieval centre seemingly frozen in time and encircled by a fortified town wall that remains intact after centuries. See the beautiful Market Square, lined with half-timbered houses, and the Old Town Hall before following parts of the Romantic Road through villages and countryside to Munich. See the Olympic Stadium, built as the main venue for the 1972 Olympic Games, before checking in to your hotel.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Sheraton Westpark
  9. Day 9 Munich Orientation and Free Time

    Today is yours to immerse yourself in the Bavarian heritage of Munich. Enjoy an orientation tour of the city's landmarks, including Odeonsplatz and Marienplatz, famous for its Glockenspiel, which enacts stories from the 16th century. Explore Baroque palaces and vibrant markets, then embrace the Bavarian region's rich beer brewing heritage at Hofbräuhaus am Platzl, built in the 16th century by Maximilian I.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  10. Day 10 Munich – Neuschwanstein – Black Forest

    Snap your fingers and be transported to a land of fables and folklore. This morning, we tread in the footsteps of shy King Ludwig II visiting his Neuschwanstein Castle, built as a retreat for the king to withdraw from public life. We continue through the magical countryside to the Black Forest, whose mystical landscape inspired fantasy and fiction from the famous Brothers Grimm. This evening, we dine at our hotel.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Best Western Hofgut Sternen
  11. Day 11 Black Forest – Heidelberg – Frankfurt

    Witness the centuries-old craft of cuckoo clock making as you 'Dive Into Culture' in the Black Forest. View the ruins of Heidelberg Castle, one of the most important Renaissance structures north of the Alps, as well as the Baroque-style Old Town with its bustling market squares and colourful façades. Spend the rest of the afternoon finishing up some last-minute shopping before continuing on to Frankfurt. Tonight we enjoy a Farewell Dinner with newfound friends, reminiscing over the iconic and unexpected highlights of our trip.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
    hotel Sheraton Offenbach
  12. Day 12 Depart Frankfurt

    After breakfast, we say a fond farewell to Frankfurt after a memorable holiday. Transfers to Frankfurt Airport are available. Conditions apply.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
Best of Germany
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 11 hot buffet breakfasts
  • 1 lunch (Be My Guest)
  • 4 dinners

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • CITY TOUR in Berlin
  • ORIENTATION of Frankfurt, Cologne, Hamburg, Dresden, Nuremberg, Rothenburg, Munich and Heidelberg
  • VISIT Hamelin, the Berlin TV Tower, Mödlareuth Open Air Museum and Neuschwanstein castle
  • CRUISE along the Rhine River
  • SEE the Lorelei Rock, Cologne Cathedral and the Bavarian Alps

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Trusted Customer
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Service
Great experience
Vacation
Great overview of Germany and many important places highlighted, very good narrative throughout the trip.
Einharda Silver
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Service
Able and willing to answer all my questions.
Vacation
Tour director was unflappable, multilingual, patient and a lot of FUN !!!
Trusted Customer
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Service
Grand European understands the meaning of customer service. This was my third trip with them and another rapidly approaching. It doesn't matter what the question or concern that I have, Pam Spelman has the answer. Traveling solo has been a breeze using Grand European. I recommend to everyone I know.
Vacation
An amazing experience - saw so many gorgeous sights. The Tour Director Justine McPherson was very knowledgeable and our coach driver Istvan was a delight.
Janet Baker
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Service
Trip was great. Bus touring is hard, tho, on the body and the mind. And there is no other way to see all we did see. Host Kurt was super. Bus driver a genius.
Vacation
Great value. Germany is very expensive, tho.
Jose Pazos
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Service
get services were a-ok.. the tour director may need to slow down a bit as we were having 3 handicapped persons unable to keep up with the way she walked, got out of the bus and wooosh she is out walking and by the time the last person got off, she was half a block away... she might be knowledgeable and all, but people person she only thinks she is, but fail in other ways...
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are very sorry to hear that some of the guests had trouble keeping up with the group and the Travel Director. We know how important their knowledge and expertise is to making a trip a success. We will be sharing your comments with our trainers and operations managers for immediate review and improvement. Thank you for letting us know and we hope that you enjoyed the trip overall.
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Vacation
purchase was quick and all questions answered fast and freindly
Trusted Customer
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Service
Every day went smoothly....our tour guide was magnificent, and the coach driver was extremely conscientious, friendly, and cheerful! It was a wonderful experience.
Response from Grand European Travel:
How fantastic! So happy you had such a great time in Germany, thank you for taking the time to let us know. 
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Response from Grand European Travel:
So glad you had a wonderful time on your Germany vacation! Thanks for sharing. Happy travels.
Friday, May 25, 2018
Vacation
Excellent! Very pleased with it all.
Trusted Customer
Friday, August 18, 2017
Service
All too often hotels were not in the center of town and required taxi or subway to get to town. Charge us more for centrally located hotels. The Pullman hotel in Dresden was simply awful, with the shower in the center of the room. Shame on you for selecting this hotel. On the positive side, the Martim hotels were fantastic.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your comments. We hope that, despite your dissatisfaction with hotel locations, you were able to enjoy your trip to Germany. Please note that for your next trip, we do have Premium options with more centrally located hotels.
Friday, August 18, 2017
Vacation
Most of the hotels were not in the town center requiring mass transit to get there. While on vacation we do not want to spend time, which cannot be replaced, getting to the town center. Increase the price of the tour and get us better located hotels.
Trusted Customer
Friday, June 23, 2017
Service
Overall good trip. First two days were non - descript. After that, fantastic. Until last day on bus. Too much bus time for me. Saw a lot.
Vacation
Local guides were fantastic. Needed more. Too much dead bus time.
See More Reviews
Back To Top