• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members SAVE an additional $100
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Best of Ireland

Operated by: Trafalgar

10 Days from $2,282 per person
Connemara

Countries Visited

Ireland ...more Ireland

Locations Visited

Dublin, Waterford, Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Galway, Kylemore Abbey ...more Dublin, Waterford, Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Galway, Kylemore Abbey
  1. Day 1 Arrive Dublin – Afternoon Sightseeing

    Write your own lively tale of legends and iconic landscapes during this epic encounter with Ireland's treasures. We begin our journey in the whimsical capital of Dublin, joining a Local Specialist to see the sights. Irish history takes centre stage this evening as we visit Glasnevin Trust for an informative and poignant tour with a Local Specialist. Our visit will 'Make A Difference' to its efforts to preserve Irish history and we'll hear stories about some of the country's bravest characters and enjoy a Welcome Reception of drinks and canapés with our fellow travellers and Travel Director.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Maldron Parnell Square/Clayton Ballsbridge
  2. Day 2 Dublin – Co. Wicklow – New Ross – Waterford

    Journey through the scenic countryside of County Wicklow, The Garden of Ireland, and on to New Ross - the ancestral home town of John F. Kennedy. 'Dive Into Culture' and gain insights into the plight of the starving Irish emigrants who boarded the Dunbrody Famine Ship to flee the potato famine. We continue to Waterford, where we'll stay overnight. This afternoon, we celebrate the centuries-old craft of flint glass creations, as we 'Dive Into Culture' at the House of Waterford Crystal and witness talented master craftsmen at work.

    meals Full Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Fitzwilton/Marina
  3. Day 3 Waterford – Youghal – Blarney – Killarney (2 Nights)

    Journey via the historic seaport town of Youghal, once home to Sir Walter Raleigh, and pursue the 'gift of the gab' at Blarney Castle, where you'll have a chance to kiss the famous stone. Arrive in Killarney for a two-night stay.

    meals Full Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Killarney Towers/Hotel Killarney
  4. Day 4 Ring of Kerry Excursion

    Ireland's soul-stirring Ring of Kerry takes centre stage today as we embark on a scenic drive past its mountains, lakes and lush green countryside - unquestionably one of the most scenic routes in Ireland. We'll see Daniel O'Connell's Cahirciveen, the fishing village of Waterville, Moll's Gap and Black Valley, whose remoteness saw it become the last area in Ireland to receive electricity.

    meals Full Breakfast
  5. Day 5 Killarney – Adare – Bunratty – Limerick

    We continue through the windswept countryside, arriving in Adare, one of the prettiest villages in Ireland. On arrival in Limerick, where we'll enjoy views of St. Mary's Cathedral, the Treaty Stone and the 13th-century King John's Castle during an orientation tour. Delve into an Ireland of old, as you discover the day-to-day life of the Irish during the 18th and 19th centuries on your included visit to Bunratty Castle and Folk Park this afternoon.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Maldron/Greenhills
  6. Day 6 Limerick – Cliffs of Moher – Galway (2 Nights)

    We journey to the magnificent Cliffs of Moher, which plunge over 200 metres into the Atlantic waters below. Gain insights into the history of these imposing sheer cliffs during a visit to the 'Atlantic Edge' exhibition. Later, we arrive in Galway with some time at leisure to see its beautiful stone Cathedral or stroll through Eyre Square.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Connacht
  7. Day 7 Connemara Excursion

    Connemara's 'savage beauty' is yours to explore today as we tread in the footsteps of Oscar Wilde who described its "wild mountainous splendour" as magnificent. Admire the views on the scenic drive to Kylemore Abbey, now a Benedictine monastery, where we will embark on an included visit to the country's most romantic castle and walk through its exquisite Victorian Walled Garden.

    meals Full Breakfast, Dinner
  8. Day 8 Galway – Knock – Sligo

    Our journey takes us to Westport House where we'll 'Connect With Locals' and indulge in a memorable 'Be My Guest' morning tea with tales of the Pirate Queen, and enjoy Banoffee and Baileys flavours in the Drawing Room of this stately 18th-century home. Heading north, we stop in the pilgrimage town of Knock to view the Marian Shrine where villagers witnessed an Apparition of Our Lady in 1879. We arrive in Sligo this evening, our home for the night.

    meals Full Breakfast, Be My Guest
    hotel Clayton
  9. Day 9 Sligo – Dublin

    Our journey continues south to Dublin. Here we'll enjoy some free time to take a walk down Grafton Street or stroll along the Liffey. This evening, we close the chapter on an epic journey through Ireland, joining our fellow travellers for a memorable Farewell Dinner.

    meals Full Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
    hotel Clayton Dublin Airport
  10. Day 10 Depart Dublin

    After a hearty Irish breakfast, we bid our Travel Director and fellow travellers a fond farewell as our Irish holiday comes to an end. Transfers are available. Conditions apply.

    meals Full Breakfast
Best of Ireland
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 9 full breakfasts
  • 5 dinners
  • 1 cream tea

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • CITY TOUR in Dublin
  • ORIENTATION of Waterford, Killarney, Limerick and Galway
  • VISIT the Glasnevin Trust in Dublin, Famine Ship in New Ross, the crystal showroom at Waterford, Blarney to kiss the stone and gain the 'gift of the gab', Adare, Bunratty Folk Park, Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, mystical Connemara and Kylemore Abbey
  • VIEW St. Patrick's Cathedral in Dublin, King John's Castle and St. Mary's Cathedral in Limerick
  • SEE the Cathedral of Galway
  • SCENIC DRIVE along the Ring of Kerry

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Trusted Customer
Sunday, August 4, 2019
Service
The agent was knowledgeable, informative, and very willing to help arrange the trip.
Vacation
We saw wonderful sites! The guide and bus driver were very knowledgeable and went out of their way to make the experience enjoyable.
Sandra Gillam
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Service
Customer service was great...they booked airfare and sent us the necessary information for travel in a timely manner.
Vacation
The Ireland trip was excellent. Our travel director, Betty, shared the history of Ireland as we traveled to each destination. The trip exceeded our expectations.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We love it when expectations are exceeded. Thank you for sharing your comments!
Friday, July 26, 2019
Trusted Customer
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Service
Phone calls were answered promptly and service rep was very professional and through.
Vacation
I prefer a smaller group. This group was 48!
Gerald Lichti
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Service
This was our second tour arranged by GET and was again totally satisfactory. Our agent was knowledgeable, friendly and very efficiently helped make arrangements for a prior 10 days in Paris visiting family members before our Best of Ireland tour began. Flights were adjusted, and everything worked well. We will definitely work with GET again when making other tour arrangements.
Vacation
The tour itinerary was varied in terrain, cultures, history and arts. Trafalgar operated the tour, and the leader was well prepared and a wonderful resource person. All aspects of the trip moved smoothly. A wonderful introduction to the island of Ireland.
Trusted Customer
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Service
Josh P continues to lead the way and be the best in customer service! He is knowledgeable, responsive, understanding and an all around excellent agent!
Vacation
Excellent Tour Director, bus driver, itinerary and attendees traveling through a beautiful country. What more could you ask for?!?
Dennis Deane
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Service
Josh, our travel specialist, did an excellent job of listening to our needs and helped us book a great trip to Ireland with a great airfare.
Vacation
An excellent vacation is the combination of a great bus tour with an outstanding travel director and friendly travel companions. The Trafalgar Best of Ireland Tour had all three. Daren, our Travel Director, made sure that everyone had a memorable vacation.
Response from Grand European Travel:
That's fantastic to hear! We're so glad to see that all the pieces came together for you and you had a wonderful trip to Ireland!
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Norbert Strasser
Saturday, June 1, 2019
Service
We were surprised and pleased that we could understand clearly the specialist who helped us. We put the specialist on the speaker phone and were able to converse clearly and ask questions that were answered professionally and confidently. "She knew her tours" !
Vacation
Our tour guide was the most competent we have experienced in our 15 years of traveling the world. We have been on seven cruises, four land tours and have taken advantage of all excursions and side trips we could manage with the time available, but Charles Dones of Trafalgar has to be on the top of the list of the very best tour guides. His knowledge of Ireland and his most pleasant demeanor in dealing with the day to day challenges of "herding around" 39 tourists was remarkable!
Trusted Customer
Friday, May 17, 2019
Service
She was able to answer all our questions and provided helpful suggestions throughout the booking process
Vacation
A great introduction to Ireland with a stops at a broad collection of sites and places to see. The Tour Director was top notch and knew Ireland and its history.
William Orrico
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Service
This was our fourth trip with Grand European Travel using the same specialist Josh Pericas every time. Could not ask for a better specialist.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We so appreciate your repeat business and for sharing your praise for Josh. We will be sure to let him know!
Friday, May 10, 2019
Vacation
We totally enjoyed the natural beauty of Ireland's country side.
Barbara Bauer
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Service
Very easy to work with to arrange a trip. This was our 2nd experience with GET and would definitely book with them again.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your loyalty and for sharing your experience. We're happy to know we help to make planning your travels as easy as possible and that you had a wonderful time in Ireland. Can't wait to see where we can take you next!
Friday, October 12, 2018
Vacation
Wonderful trip. Met so many wonderful people.
See More Reviews
Back To Top