• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members SAVE an additional $100
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Best of Italy

Operated by: Trafalgar

13 Days from $3,533 per person
Venice

Countries Visited

Italy ...more Italy

Locations Visited

Rome, Pompeii, Sorrento, Capri, Assisi, Venice, Como, Milan, Lake Como, Florence, Pisa ...more Rome, Pompeii, Sorrento, Capri, Assisi, Venice, Como, Milan, Lake Como, Florence, Pisa
  1. Day 1 Arrive Rome (2 Nights)

    Ciao Roma! Explore this imperial city of emperors and senators, gods and goddesses, before joining your companions and Travel Director later for a Welcome Reception. Our introduction to the Eternal City is an evening orientation drive to view some of the sights which await tomorrow.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Grand Tiberio
  2. Day 2 Rome Sightseeing and Free Time

    The Vatican City takes centre stage today as we join a Local Specialist for an included sightseeing tour in the Vatican Museums. 'Dive Into Culture' and admire the Bramante staircase, created for Pope Julius II in the early 16th century, and Michelangelo's magnificent frescoed ceiling in the Sistine Chapel. See the marble masterpiece of the Pietà, housed in St. Peter's Basilica before crossing the Tiber into Ancient Rome. Visit the famous Colosseum and see the Circus Maximus, once the site of celebrated chariot races. This afternoon, enjoy free time to explore Rome. Indulge in an espresso in the Piazza Navona or clamber up the Spanish Steps.

    meals Breakfast
  3. Day 3 Rome – Pompeii – Sorrento (2 Nights)

    We journey south to the well-preserved ruins of Pompeii. Here we join a Local Specialist who will share details of the devastation caused by the eruption of Mount Vesuvius as we wander through the ancient paved roads of a city that was frozen in time. Later, we arrive at our hotel in the clifftop village of Sorrento where we'll dine tonight.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Johanna Park
  4. Day 4 Isle of Capri Excursion

    We cross the Bay of Naples today by ferry to the glamorous Isle of Capri to visit some of its landmark sights. Wander past the chic boutiques and pavement cafés in Capri Town in the company of a Local Specialist before taking your time to soak up the sophistication of this lovely island. Later, we return to the mainland.

    meals Breakfast
  5. Day 5 Sorrento – Assisi

    View the Benedictine Abbey, which featured as the site of the Battle of Monte Cassino in 1944, before heading north to the slopes of Mount Subasio, we arrive in the mystical town of Assisi, the birthplace of St. Francis, under whose protection this medieval city is said to remain. We join our Local Specialist on a walking tour to the Basilica of St. Francis, which we will have an opportunity to visit before some free time to explore this fascinating hilltop town. We'll stay at one of Trafalgar's 'Stays With Stories' - a fully renovated old Franciscan convent.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Cenacolo
  6. Day 6 Assisi – Verona – Venice (2 Nights)

    We journey through the glorious countryside of the Emilia Romagna region. This area is also renowned for its gastronomy and is credited with being the birthplace of tortellini, mortadella and parmigiano cheese. Travel to Verona, the home of Shakespeare's star-crossed lovers, to admire the Roman arena and Juliet's Balcony. Arrive later in Venice, the Queen of the Adriatic, where we enjoy dinner at the hotel.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Principe/Amadeus
  7. Day 7 Venice Orientation and Free Time

    Cruise your way through Venice by private launch to soak up the sights and sounds of what was once one of the world's greatest ports. 'Dive Into Culture' on Giudecca Island, where talented tradesmen share their centuries-old glassmaking traditions. Continue past the Bridge of Sighs and Doge's Palace to St. Mark's Square to view the impressive square and Basilica. Consider an Optional Experience to see the colourful fishermen's houses on the Island of Burano or search for a cosy bacaro and indulge in some tasty Venetian treats.

    meals Breakfast
  8. Day 8 Venice – Milan – Italian Lakes (2 Nights)

    Today we cross the lush green plains of Lombardy to sophisticated Milan, Italy's capital of design and fashion. An orientation tour takes us past the intricate Gothic Duomo, La Scala Opera House and the famous Galleria. Later arrive on Lake Maggiore where we enjoy dinner tonight.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Barchetta Excelsior
  9. Day 9 Lake Como Free Time

    The glistening blue waters of Lake Como welcome us today. Explore charming Como old town, indulge in the delicious gelato of the area, take the funicular for spectacular views of the lake or perhaps consider a cruise on the lake.

    meals Breakfast
  10. Day 10 Italian Lakes – Pisa – Florence (2 Nights)

    Tuscany lures us across the forested Apennine Mountains, past the marble quarries of Carrara to the famous city of Pisa and its Square of Miracles where we will enjoy an opportunity to view the Leaning Tower. Our next stop is Florence, the Cradle of the Renaissance.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Grand Mediterraneo
  11. Day 11 Florence Sightseeing

    Delve into the extravagant legacy of the Medici family, whose legacy of art and architecture are explored in the company of a Local Specialist. The elegant Duomo dominates the skyline as we visit Piazza della Signoria with its exquisite statues and palazzi. Enjoy spectacular panoramic views of Florence and 674-year-old Ponte Vecchio from Piazzale Michelangelo. Then we learn about the quality and workmanship of two of this city's historic industries at demonstrations of Florentine leathercraft and 18-carat gold. Later, 'Connect With Locals' over a Be My Guest dinner at a castle set within a celebrated wine and olive oil estate.

    meals Breakfast, Be My Guest
  12. Day 12 Florence – San Gimignano – Rome

    This morning we stop at the Florence American Cemetery. Continuing south, we visit the charming Tuscan hill-town of San Gimignano, within whose city walls, one finds extraordinary examples of medieval architecture and history. Venture to the centre of town to view its Piazza del Duomo, surrounded by thousand-year-old towers and stroll along the town's 13th-century city walls. This evening in Rome we enjoy a Farewell Dinner spent in the company of newfound friends and our Travel Director.

    meals Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
    hotel Crowne Plaza St Peter's
  13. Day 13 Depart Rome

    Our discovery of the best of Italy has sadly come to an end. Transfers are available to Rome Fiumicino Airport. Conditions apply.

    meals Breakfast
Best of Italy
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 12 breakfasts
  • 7 dinners (including Be My Guest) with local wine

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • VIP ADMISSION to the Vatican Museums
  • CITY TOUR in Rome, Pompeii, Capri, Assisi and Florence
  • ORIENTATION of Venice and Milan
  • VISIT St. Peter's Basilica, the Sistine Chapel and the Colosseum in Rome, the excavations at Pompeii, the Basilica of St. Francis in Assisi, Lake Como, the Florence American Cemetery and Memorial, and San Gimignano
  • VIEW the Abbey in Monte Cassino, Juliet's Balcony in Verona, St. Mark's Basilica in Venice, the Cathedral and La Scala Opera House in Milan, the Leaning Tower of Pisa the Duomo in Florence
  • SEE the ancient sites of Rome
  • SCENIC CRUISE to the Isle of Capri and by private launch to St. Mark's Square in Venice

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Eileen Garcia
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Service
I have no complaints on booking my trip your representative explained the trip thoroughly
Vacation
I had a wonderful vacation. My Travel Director Marina Prudenza was AMAZING.. Our driver Milko was also wonderful he was very attentive making sure our bus was clean at all times and making sure we arrive at our destination on a timely manner... Love this trip it was AMAZING!!!! I already recommended to my friends and co-workers..
Trusted Customer
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Service
They were knowledgeable and courteous and provided great information
Vacation
Everything was great except for a couple of meals and that a couple with very bad colds made many sick including my wife and I
Trusted Customer
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Service
Travel specialist Tess Diaz forthcoming , always answering our emails. Reliable
Vacation
After years of experience Trafalgar knows how to make as much as possible out of the 12 day experience. In 12 days we saw 23 places/cities.
Marion Speed
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Service
Easy and quick.
Vacation
Such an amazing trip! Loved every single minute. Excellent tour guide!
JS
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Service
Our travel specialist made the booking process easy, kept us informed, and was available for any questions we may have had. Will use G.E.T. again.
Vacation
Trip was as described. No disappointments. It was all it was advertised to be, and more.
Daniel Sudkamp
Monday, May 20, 2019
Service
He guided us thru the process and what to expect up to our trip leaving.
Vacation
Trafalgar gave us a very intense tour of Italy. Our tour guide was very through and organized. She showed us lots of hidden treasures.
Trusted Customer
Sunday, May 19, 2019
Service
GET associated with a reliable tour company, Trafalgar. The tour was as advertised, was a great blend and balance of city & non urban experiences, and supplemented with fun optional activities.
Vacation
The trip is what I expected & what I hoped for.
Trusted Customer
Friday, May 10, 2019
Service
Booking the vacation was easy and the travel specialist was very helpful. It would have been nice to get the details of our itinerary sooner so we could plan and look forward to our trip.
Vacation
Saw a lot of Italy and had a good time. Wish there was more free time planned into the itinerary. Also wish the optional excursions were just offered. Often felt they were being pushed on us.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your honest feedback. We will share this information with our team and ask them to review the process of offering the Optional Experiences.
Friday, May 10, 2019
Trusted Customer
Friday, May 10, 2019
Service
Best of Italy is a beautiful tour of Italy. It’s fast paced so expect to be on the go and see a lot.
Vacation
Best of Italy is una bellissima tour of Italia.
Trusted Customer
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Service
David was great at answering all my questions. I had a lot of questions. Now that the trip is over. All my airline connections were done well. I appreciate all that was done to keep us comfortable. Thank you
Vacation
The "added" tours were great. Our national guide was wonderful and wise. Colleen took care of everyone which is not an easy thing to do. Our city tour guides were wonderful and well informed.
See More Reviews
Back To Top