• SAVE $150 per couple First Time Traveler Discount

    SAVE $150 per couple First Time Traveler Discount Learn More
  • GETAWAY DEALS - SAVE up to 20% on select trips

    GETAWAY DEALS - SAVE up to 20% on select trips View Trips
  • Aarp Logo Red
    AARP Members Save $100 AARP SAVE $100 on select vacations booked with us on select vacations
    Learn More
  • ADDITIONAL SAVINGS FOR PAST TRAVELERS

    ADDITIONAL SAVINGS FOR PAST TRAVELERS LEARN MORE

Best of Spain

Operated by: Trafalgar

15 Days from $2,901 per person
APR - OCT 2022
Flamenco dancers with stripes and dots on dresses, Spain

Countries Visited

Spain ...more Spain

Locations Visited

Madrid, Santander, Burgos, Pamplona, Barcelona, Valencia, Granada, Torremolinos, Seville, Cordoba, Toledo ...more Madrid, Santander, Burgos, Pamplona, Barcelona, Valencia, Granada, Torremolinos, Seville, Cordoba, Toledo
  1. Day 1 Hola Madrid

    Welcome to the fiery Spanish capital that is Madrid. Delve deep into the soul of a city that marches to the tune of the tapas, before meeting up with your fellow travellers and Travel Director for a memorable Welcome Reception and orientation drive to see some of the city's most iconic sights.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Rafael Atocha
  2. Day 2 Journey to Burgos and on to Santander

    Journey over the pine-clad Guadarrama Mountains to Burgos, the historic capital of Castile, where we will visit the tomb of El Cid, a national hero and the protagonist of the most significant medieval Spanish epic poem - El Cantar de Mio Cid. We cross the Ebro River and the Cantabrian Cordillera Mountains, travelling to the coast and the sophisticated capital of the Cantabrian region, Santander.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Santemar
  3. Day 3 Onwards to Culinary San Sebastián and Pamplona

    We depart Santander and travel to Bilbao to view the striking Guggenheim Museum, built from titanium, glass and limestone and designed by renowned Canadian-American architect, Frank Gehry. Continuing to San Sebastián, the gourmet capital of Spain, we see the beautiful Bahia de La Concha beach during our orientation drive. Our overnight stay is in the vibrant city of Pamplona, famous for its Running of the Bulls fiesta. Follow in the footsteps of Hemingway and enjoy a drink at Café Iruña, ramble along the brilliantly lit city ramparts or delight in the local pintxos before enjoying dinner at your hotel this evening.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel NH Iruña Park
  4. Day 4 Continue to Gaudi’s Barcelona

    Our journey continues through the Ebro Valley to Zaragoza where we'll view the Basilica of El Pilar and Cathedral of La Seo. Arrive in Barcelona, soak up the charm of a city that professes two great loves - Gaudí and football. Enjoy panoramic views of a city, which dates back to Roman times, from atop Montjuïc, then spend the rest of the day at leisure. Amble through the Gothic Quarter's labyrinthine lanes, indulge in the aromas and flavours of La Boqueria and discover the best crema Catalana in town.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Barceló Sants
  5. Day 5 Discover Barcelona

    The whimsical fantasy world of Gaudí is on display this morning as we embark on a sightseeing tour to see the inspiring, but as yet unfinished, La Sagrada Família in the company of a Local Specialist. We'll see Las Ramblas and Plaça de Catalunya, which lies at the heart of Barcelona, before paying tribute to Christopher Columbus at the monument that bears his name. Consider joining an Optional Experience to the mountain-top monastery of Montserrat to see the shrine of the Black Madonna, the patron saint of Catalonia.

    meals Breakfast
  6. Day 6 Off to Coastal Peñíscola and Valencia

    The sweet scent of oranges accompanies us on our journey along the Costa Dorada south to fortified Peñíscola, where we'll see the ancient castle used in the film 'El Cid'. Continuing through fertile huertas, we arrive in sunny Valencia where we will stay the night. Our orientation of this cultural city includes views of the town hall, the bullring, the Towers of Serrano and Quart, and the cathedral, which is said to house one of the Holy Chalices of the World. Witness the modern verve of Valencia and view the City of Arts and Sciences, a large-scale urban recreation centre for culture and science, designed by Santiago Calatrava, before spending the rest of the evening at leisure.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Silken Puerta
  7. Day 7 Venture to Granada

    Journey via the dramatic Mora Pass to the city of Granada where we meet our Local Specialist for a sightseeing tour of the spectacular UNESCO-listed Alhambra. Its golden façades and extraordinary Moorish architecture reflect centuries of multi-cultural history, which you will have a rare opportunity to explore as you wander through its palaces and exotic water gardens. Check in to your hotel later, where we will dine tonight.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Occidental
  8. Day 8 On the Road to Sunny Costa del Sol

    Set your watch to Spanish time and enjoy a leisurely morning on your terms, or consider taking an Optional Experience to explore the medieval Moorish Quarter of Granada - Albaicín - with its narrow winding lanes, churches, minarets and palaces. We leave Granada behind for the sun-kissed shores of the Costa del Sol, where we'll spend the next two nights. The rest of the day is yours to enjoy. Stroll along the beachside promenade, relax at one of the nearby beach cafes or visit the picture-perfect whitewashed Andalusian village of Mijas - the choice is yours.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Meliá
  9. Day 9 Costa del Sol Your Way

    Another day in paradise for you to kick back, worship the Spanish sunshine and taste la buena vida. Enjoy fresh seafood in Torremolinos, relax on the bleached beaches and soak up the Mediterranean atmosphere or consider an Optional Experience to the effervescent Andalusian capital of Málaga to explore centuries of history.

    meals Breakfast
  10. Day 10 Explore Gibraltar and on to Seville

    A scenic drive takes you past the millionaire's resort of Marbella and on to La Linea. Cross to the Rock of Gibraltar, for free time to explore or consider joining an Optional Experience to St. Michael's Cave to see the Barbary Macaques (Rock Apes). This afternoon, continue through the Andalusian countryside past Jerez - famous for its sherry production - to Seville. Tonight, we Connect With Locals over dinner at a Be My Guest experience with the Morillo family at their olive oil estate.** See Trip Notes

    meals Breakfast, Be My Guest
    hotel Las Casas De La Juderia
  11. Day 11 See the Sights of Seville

    Join your Local Specialist this morning for a tour of Seville's leafy avenues. See the iconic Giralda Bell Tower and visit the Seville Cathedral, the final resting place of Christopher Columbus. Stroll through Maria Luisa Park, with its tiled fountains, pavilions, palms and orange trees, and walk through the imposing Plaza de España. Explore the Jewish history of Spain in Seville's former Jewish Quarter, where a wall separated the Jewish community from the rest of the city during medieval times. Tonight, consider soaking up the fiery flamenco atmosphere in the city that made this passionate dance famous.

    meals Breakfast
  12. Day 12 Journey to Córdoba

    We journey to Córdoba to meet a Local Specialist for a visit to the astounding Mosque of the Caliphs, a jewel of Hispano-Islamic art featuring striking arches and Byzantine mosaics. Then visit the remains of the 14th-century Mudéjar-style synagogue in the old Jewish neighbourhood, before spending the rest of the day at leisure admiring the city's extraordinary Moorish architecture and heritage. This evening we dine at our hotel.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Hesperia
  13. Day 13 Admire Ancient Toledo then on to Madrid

    We leave Andalucía and cross Don Quijote's La Mancha region, famous for its windmills, wines and cheese. Your Local Specialist takes you on a walking tour of Toledo where you'll Dive Into Culture as you explore this ancient hilltop city. Visit the Church of Santo Tomé, home to El Greco's masterpiece - 'The Burial of the Count of Orgaz', and the synagogue, the oldest one still standing in Europe. This evening we arrive in feisty Madrid, where we'll spend the next two nights.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Rafael Atocha
  14. Day 14 Discover Stylish Madrid

    The grand plazas of Madrid take centre stage today as we join our Local Specialist for a sightseeing tour of Spain's capital city. See Gran Vía and the Cibeles Fountain before we Dive Into Culture and visit the world-famous Prado Museum, featuring one of the world's finest collections of European art, including masterpieces by Velazquez. Spend the rest of the day at leisure exploring the city. Visit the Royal Palace with its spectacular Goya artworks, relax in the leafy Buen Retiro Park or enjoy the flavours and aromas of jamon in the Market of San Miguel. This evening, join your Travel Director and fellow travellers for an unforgettable Farewell Dinner to celebrate an epic adventure through Spain.

    meals Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
  15. Day 15 Farewell Madrid

    Our journey together has come to an end. For now it's a fond adiós to Spain and newfound friends.

    meals Breakfast
Best of Spain
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 14 breakfasts
  • 7 dinners (including Be My Guest)

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and up to half your evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with Wi-Fi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • Handcrafted Highlights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • Explore Barcelona, Seville, Córdoba, Toledo and Madrid with a Local Specialist
  • Discover Burgos, Santander, Bilbao, San Sebastián, Pamplona and Valencia
  • Visit The Tomb of El Cid in Burgos, the Alhambra Palace in Granada, the Rock of Gibraltar, the Cathedral in Seville, the Mosque of the Caliphs in Córdoba, the Synagogue and Santo Tomé in Toledo and the Prado Museum in Madrid
  • View the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, La Concha Bay in San Sebastián, the Cathedral of Zaragoza, La Sagrada Família in Barcelona, the Castle of Peñíscola, the Serrano and Quart Towers and City of Arts and Sciences complex in Valencia
  • Connect with Locals Enjoy a traditional Andalusian Be My Guest dinner and the charming company of the Morillo family. A welcome drink of sangria in their sun-dappled courtyard before learning how they produce olive oil. (Day 10)
  • Dive into Culture Embark on a walking tour in the ancient hill-top city of Toledo, renowned for its medieval Arab, Jewish and Christian Monuments. (Day 13) Visit the Prado Museum in Madrid, where you'll have time to admire its extraordinary collection of European art dating from the 12th to 20th centuries (Day 14)
  • Stays with Stories Hotel Las Casas de La Judería comprises a collection of elegant 15th-century Andalusian townhouses and flower-filled courtyards in the heart of Seville. (Day 10)

Dates & Prices

Prices shown are per person based on two people sharing a twin room. To request a personalized travel quote, click "Request Quote" and a Travel Specialist will send your custom quote including airfare if requested.

Online Booking Process

Onlinebookingprocesssteps
March 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Mar 25 Fri
Apr 8 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,544
April 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Apr 8 Fri
Apr 22 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,544
AARP Members Save $100
Apr 15 Fri
Apr 29 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
Guaranteed Departure This departure is guaranteed
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,544 $3,012 Save $532
GETAWAY DEALS
AARP Members Save $100
Apr 22 Fri
May 6 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,544
AARP Members Save $100
Apr 29 Fri
May 13 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,544
May 2022
AARP Members Save $100
May 6 Fri
May 20 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
Guaranteed Departure This departure is guaranteed
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,544 $3,012 Save $532
GETAWAY DEALS
AARP Members Save $100
May 13 Fri
May 27 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,544
AARP Members Save $100
May 20 Fri
Jun 3 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,544
AARP Members Save $100
May 27 Fri
Jun 10 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,544 $3,012 Save $532
GETAWAY DEALS
June 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Jun 3 Fri
Jun 17 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,413
AARP Members Save $100
Jun 10 Fri
Jun 24 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,413
AARP Members Save $100
Jun 17 Fri
Jul 1 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
Guaranteed Departure This departure is guaranteed
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,413 $2,901 Save $512
GETAWAY DEALS
AARP Members Save $100
Jun 24 Fri
Jul 8 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,439
July 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Jul 1 Fri
Jul 15 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,439
AARP Members Save $100
Jul 8 Fri
Jul 22 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,460
AARP Members Save $100
Jul 15 Fri
Jul 29 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,460
AARP Members Save $100
Jul 22 Fri
Aug 5 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,460
AARP Members Save $100
Jul 29 Fri
Aug 12 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,460 $2,941 Save $519
GETAWAY DEALS
August 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Aug 5 Fri
Aug 19 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,623
AARP Members Save $100
Aug 12 Fri
Aug 26 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,623
AARP Members Save $100
Aug 26 Fri
Sep 9 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
Guaranteed Departure This departure is guaranteed
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,728 $3,169 Save $559
GETAWAY DEALS
September 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Sep 2 Fri
Sep 16 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,728
AARP Members Save $100
Sep 9 Fri
Sep 23 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
Guaranteed Departure This departure is guaranteed
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,728 $3,169 Save $559
GETAWAY DEALS
AARP Members Save $100
Sep 16 Fri
Sep 30 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,728
AARP Members Save $100
Sep 23 Fri
Oct 7 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
Guaranteed Departure This departure is guaranteed
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,701
AARP Members Save $100
Sep 30 Fri
Oct 14 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,701
October 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Oct 7 Fri
Oct 21 Fri
AARP Members Save $100
Guaranteed Departure This departure is guaranteed
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$3,670
Optional Add-Ons

Optional Experiences are subject to change. Your Travel Director will supply you with a final list of Optional Experiences available on your trip. Optional Experiences cannot be booked online; they can be purchased during your trip through your Travel Director.

Barcelona

Gothic Quarter and Dinner

Work up an appetite with a walking tour of the old Gothic Quarter, where Barcelona was born. Meander through the beautiful medieval streets and century-old architecture with your Local Specialist. Then we’ll take you to the marina of Port Olympic, where you'll enjoy Mediterranean food in one of our favorite local eateries.
Adult Price: € 60

Mystical Montserrat

Today, with our Local Specialist, we'll take a drive to the enchanting and mystical mountain of Montserrat, with its breathtaking views and spectacular scenery. While there, we'll visit the Benedictine monastery to view the famed Black Madonna.
Adult Price: € 40

Valencia

Valencia Dinner and Discovery

We'll delve into the country's third-largest city to enjoy its Mediterranean verve. Vibrant and modern, Valencia still retains much of its past, going back to its Roman foundation 2,000 years ago. The iconic dish "Paella" originated here and tonight we'll learn about its traditions and enjoy this singular Spanish fare during a typical meal in one of the city’s most popular restaurants.
Adult Price: € 53

Granada

Albaicín And The Royal Chapel

With our Local Specialist, we'll enjoy a leisurely walking tour through the Albaicín UNESCO World Heritage Site – a maze of narrow streets and Moorish splendor. You'll get to explore the Catholic Monarchs' tombs and some of their treasures at the Royal Chapel, and wander through the picturesque Alcaicería quarter.
Adult Price: € 37

Costa Del Sol

Mijas Andalusian Hilltown & Mediterranean Dinner

Visit this charming hilltop village, perched up high with splendid views of the coastline. With our Local Specialist, we'll experience its narrow streets with white-washed houses, see the oval bullring, or hunt for hidden gems in the shops. Your evening will finish with a Mediterranean dinner at a coastal restaurant.
Adult Price: € 62

Experience Málaga, the Capital of the Costa Del Sol

We'll spend the morning with our Local Specialist in this charming, elegant Mediterranean capital, the birthplace of Pablo Picasso. We'll experience panoramic views from the Moorish Gibralfaro fortress, including the magnificent harbor and the Alcazaba ramparts. Then, in the heart of downtown Málaga, we'll see the ancient Roman theater and sample an aperitif in one of the city’s most-famous taverns.
Adult Price: € 42

Gibraltar

A Guided Tour Of The Rock Of Gibraltar

Experience a tour of the Rock of Gibraltar, one of the pillars of Hercules, by private minibus. You’ll visit St. Michael`s cave, see the famous Barbary apes and enjoy magnificent views of the Spanish Sierra Nevada mountains at this meeting of the Atlantic and Mediterranean seas.
Adult Price: € 37

Seville

The Moorish Alcazar And Plaza América

Today, with our Local Specialist, we'll visit the elegant 14th-century Moorish Alcazar, set in its own beautiful gardens. The gardens were recently used as the setting for the Water Gardens of Dorne in the Game Of Thrones series. We'll also journey to the famous exhibition site of Plaza América - a must for any visitor to Seville. Cancellation within 24 hours will incur a 50% cancellation fee.
Adult Price: € 41

Discover The Origin Of Tapas & Evening In Old Seville

Join us for a dinner of mouth-watering tapas-style specialties. You’ll get the chance to taste different flavors and wines and dine like a local in the charming old quarter of Seville.
Adult Price: € 53

Flamenco: Experience the Best Show in Town

Discover the passion, rhythm and magic of an Andalusian flamenco show with us this evening. We've organized tickets to the best show in town, where you’ll experience 90 minutes of memorable entertainment with an included drink.
Adult Price: € 40

Flamenco, the Best Show in Town With a Three-Course Dinner

This evening, you’ll discover the magic, rhythm and passion of flamenco, while being served a three-course dinner of Andalusian specialties with drinks included. We've organized tickets to the best show in town. You won't soon forget this incredibly memorable ninety-minute experience.
Adult Price: € 69

Madrid

Dinner and Discovery in Downtown Madrid

Join us this evening as we scratch beneath the surface of some lesser-known aspects of Madrid's city center. Then, we'll settle in for dinner, along with musical entertainment and finish up with a spin around some of the wonderful squares and fountains of magical Madrid.
Adult Price: € 61

Segovia World Heritage Site - Its Ancient Aqueduct & Fairy-tale Castle

Enjoy a visit to Segovia, a UNESCO World Heritage Site which sits on a rocky outcrop between two rivers. With your Local Specialist, you’ll visit the 13th-century castle, reputed to have inspired Walt Disney, as well as seeing the best-preserved Roman aqueduct which has remained intact for 2,000 years.
Adult Price: € 45

Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Judy McCay
Friday, October 4, 2019
Service
Reserving space on the Best of Spain was easy to do and our agent was most helpful and responsive when we had questions.
Vacation
Loved the itinerary and the optional experiences. There are a couple of reasons I rated the trip as 4 star rather than 5 star. First, my sister and I both have the requirement needing gluten free food. That really makes things difficult when you are in a country in which you don't speak the language. There were days where we ate ice cream and soda for lunch since we were unable to be sure we would be served gluten free food. Our guide Tania make a list of what she thought gluten free meant but it was not correct. If wasn't until the middle of the trip when we finally compelled her to just do a simple note in Spanish that stated we were celiac and couldn't have anything made with wheat, barley or rye. Unfortunately, when we showed it to servers in restaurants they just waved us of and wouldn't serve us. We were thinking about doing another tour next year in Italy but have talked ourselves out of it. I think land tours in countries in which we don't speak the language are no longer possible. Perhaps going on a cruise is a better solution but we love the land tours because you really get to see the country and out of the way places. The second issue was with our guide Tania. She is very personable and helpful and managed to keep us all on track in a very nice way. However, her English was very often hard to understand. We often looked at each other and repeated the word she had just used trying to figure out what she meant. And, she talked a lot - kind of like a stream of consciousness. Even when she said we were going to have "meditation" time within a minute she was on the mic again. Often we tuned her out because it was such a struggle to follow what she was saying. I sure we missed something interesting because of that. The second issues was with some of the tours. If you look at the demographics of the people on the tour you will see that they are older, with a few exceptions. Some of the tours were way too long. One day we walked 5 miles and it would have been more if one of the tour members hadn't mentioned to the guide (not Tania) that people were exhausted. To his surprise the guide thought he had another hour with us. My sister and I managed, but I know there were some tour members that were really in pain. Don't misunderstand me. We don't regret the trip. It was a wonderful experience. However, the things I mentioned above provided some challenges and made it less than perfect.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We appreciate your honest feedback and suggestions and apologize for the areas that fell short of expectations. We will be sure to share your comments with Trafalgar in hopes they can improve these issues.
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Sonal Dalal
Friday, October 5, 2018
Service
Tour guide was good, sightseeing was good, weather was not good, too hot for September. We had few vegetarian in the group, but we were not given good food. It was hard to survive for 15 days on Pastas. Indian food with beans is easily available, but was not given.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear that the weather did not cooperate for you and the meals did not meet your expectations. We do try to provide satisfying meals for all guests and will be sure to share this info with the Quality control teams for immediate review.
Friday, October 5, 2018
Vacation
In the past trips with getours, great entertainment was part of the experience, in this one was not.
Robert Klein
Friday, September 21, 2018
Service
Ellen Rombouts made the trip outstanding! She has a wonderful sense of humor and amazing historian. She made certain we saw The Best of Spain and more. How fortunate we were to have Ellen!
Vacation
Outstanding but exhausting but that is the only way to see it all!!!! Thank you Ellen.
Leslie Borg
Saturday, October 28, 2017
Service
Great tour director... Very interesting cities...
Vacation
Some hotels were better than others...food was just okay
Trusted Customer
Friday, September 29, 2017
Service
Our guide, Krista, and driver, Marciano were wonderful. The couch was clean and comfortable.
Vacation
I think 4 stars is a great rating. 5 stars means the tour was perfect and no one tour is ever perfect
Samuel Bass
Friday, May 5, 2017
Service
Tours were as advertised, hotels were nice, guides are always terrific, busses are very nice, sites are wonderful.
Vacation
Spain is full of wonderful sites and experiences and the tour does a great job of hitting the best.
See More Reviews
Terms & Conditions
Click here to view Terms and Conditions for this guided vacation
Back To Top