• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Best of the Balkans

Operated by: CostSaver

10 Days from $1,525 per person
Mostar Bridge

Countries Visited

Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina ...more Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Locations Visited

Zagreb, Zagreb Cathedral, Sarajevo, Mostar, Dubrovnik, Onofrios Fountain, Split, Plitvice Lakes National Park ...more Zagreb, Zagreb Cathedral, Sarajevo, Mostar, Dubrovnik, Onofrios Fountain, Split, Plitvice Lakes National Park
  1. Day 1 Arrive Zagreb (2 Nights)

    Welcome to Zagreb. Spend the afternoon relaxing or take a stroll. This evening, meet your Travel Director and fellow travellers for an included dinner.

    meals Dinner
    hotel Panorama
  2. Day 2 Zagreb Sightseeing and Free Time

    Zagreb is a traditional medieval European city with a wealth of historic monuments. Your Local Specialist shows you the highlights including the Upper and Lower town, vibrant marketplace, the majestic cathedral, St. Mark's Church and the Opera House. Spend free time exploring the winding streets of the Old Town or consider an Optional Experience into the surrounding countryside.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  3. Day 3 Zagreb – Sarajevo Sightseeing

    Travel south from Croatia into Bosnia-Herzegovina before arriving in the fascinating capital city Sarajevo. Due to its rich religious and cultural history, Sarajevo is often called the Jerusalem of Europe. The city contains synagogues, mosques, orthodox as well as Catholic churches - within a few square blocks. In 1914, the city was the site of the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand which prompted the start of the First World War. Your Local Specialist will show you the important sights. Tonight, choose to dine with local Sarajevans.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Hollywood
  4. Day 4 Sarajevo – Medjugorje – Mostar

    Today, leave Sarajevo and travel through dramatic mountainous scenery to Medjugorje. Since 1981 it has become a popular site of religious pilgrimage due to reports of apparitions of the Virgin Mary to six local Catholics. Later, travel to Mostar where you'll meet your Local Specialist. This city is named after its Old Bridge, the 'Stari Most', built by Sinan the great Ottoman architect. It is one of Bosnia and Herzegovina's most recognisable landmarks. Destroyed during the war it has been rebuilt using the same methods as during the 16th century. You will also visit the Bazaar and see the Mosque.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel City Hotel
  5. Day 5 Mostar – Dubrovnik Sightseeing (2 Nights)

    This morning, travel towards the Dalmatian coast and the spectacular medieval city of Dubrovnik. Enjoy a sightseeing walking tour of the main sights with a Local Specialist. Admire the Rector's Palace, the city walls, Onofrio's Fountain and the Franciscan and Dominican monasteries.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Adria
  6. Day 6 Dubrovnik – Free Day or Optional Experience to Montenegro

    Enjoy a free day in Dubrovnik to explore at your own pace. Consider taking an Optional Experience to the Republic of Montenegro. Dine tonight at your hotel.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
  7. Day 7 Dubrovnik – Split (2 Nights)

    Depart Dubrovnik and travel north along the spectacular Adriatic coast, past old fishing villages and new resorts, to Split. Enjoy a city tour with a Local Specialist featuring the historic inner city, built around the Roman Emperor Diocletian's Palace, a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Site. See the remnants of Split's Roman heritage, its Renaissance and Gothic structures, the Peristyle and the cathedral.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Katarina
  8. Day 8 Split Free Day

    Enjoy exploring Split, take a stroll along the beaches or join an Optional Experience to one of the Dalmatian Islands.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  9. Day 9 Split – Plitvice – Zagreb

    This morning travel to the forested National Park of Plitvice. Admire the breathtaking waterfalls and lakes of this spectacular UNESCO World Heritage Site on your walking tour with a Local Specialist. See lakes of crystal-clear water in colourful shades of green, grey and blue, linked by spectacular waterfalls. This evening, arrive at your hotel in Zagreb, where you dine tonight.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Panorama
  10. Day 10 Depart Zagreb

    Say farewell to your companions as this trip comes to an end. Transfers are available to Zagreb Airport. Conditions apply.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
Best of the Balkans
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 9 Buffet breakfasts
  • 4 Three-course dinners

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets Provided throughout your holiday to enhance your included sightseeing experiences
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Variety of Optional Experiences
  • City orientation tours
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional driver
  • All hotel service charges and tips, baggage handling fees and local taxes
  • Airport transfers are provided on the first and last travel day. Conditions apply

Sightseeing Highlights

  • Zagreb Sightseeing tour with your Local Specialist includes views of the Cathedral, St Mark's Church, and the Opera House
  • Sarajevo Sightseeing with a Local Specialist includes the Old Town
  • Mostar See the historic bridge and visit the Bazaar with a Local Specialist
  • Dubrovnik Sightseeing tour with Local Specialist includes a visit of the Old City. See the Rector's Palace, Onofrio's Fountain and the Franciscan and Dominican monasteries
  • Split See the Diocletian's Palace with your Local Specialist
  • Plitvice National Park See the waterfalls and lakes of this UNESCO World Heritage Site with your Local Specialist

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Louis Evangelista
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Service
Kaitlin Fitzpatrick was attentive and responsive.
Vacation
Saw everything and did everything advertised and optional activities made trip more enjoyable and informative.
David Comfort
Monday, June 10, 2019
Service
Michelle Gumringer is the best. She takes care of everything for us, and goes out of her way to ensure that we get all the discounts we are entitled too.
Vacation
The Best of the Balkans was one of the bst trips we have taken with GET. The scenery and the history of the area was spectacular. the trip gives one a better appreciation of what we experience in the USA. We would recommend this trip to everyone who loves beautiful scenery, wonderful people and history.
Trusted Customer
Monday, May 27, 2019
Service
Needed more stops along the way for photographs. As we were driving along on the Tour bus it would have been nice for the tour director to point out points of interest.
Vacation
From my experience traveling the world, The Tour Director makes the trip. I was a bit disappointed with our Tour guide. She used the word "perfect" at the end of her remarks about 500 times ... it drove me crazy.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We appreciate your suggestions and you taking the time to share your comments. We will share them with our team in hopes that improvements can be made.
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Phyllis Schlesinger
Monday, October 15, 2018
Service
From the time I booked the trip to my travels everything was handled correctly.
Vacation
Good value for the money.
Trusted Customer
Monday, October 15, 2018
Service
This was my fourth trip with GET. I really enjoyed the vacation. Everything was well planned.
Vacation
The tour was very exciting and our tour guide and driver were very professional and fun.
Trusted Customer
Sunday, September 23, 2018
Service
Daniel Pelletier make it very easy to buy, he always explaine the trip, make his recommendatios. We are going next year and I already have two friends thar will gomwith us ans will boo with GET
Response from Grand European Travel:
That is fantastic to hear! Thank you for your business and for recommending us to your friends.
Monday, September 24, 2018
Vacation
Beautifu. Hotels were fine and clean, food delicious, good service
Mario Magana
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Service
Croatia was a beautiful country and Trafalgar/ Costsaver was a good option on price with almost same level of expertise travels from Trafalgar. I was afraid on this lower cost option but on reality it was acceptable level on tour.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. The Costsaver product is an excellent and affordable way to see the beautiful sights of Croatia and other cities in Europe. We are so happy you enjoyed yourself.
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Vacation
Good price and same level of Tour from Trafalgar. Croatia was a beautiful hidden country with great cities like Split. And Dubrovnik is a jewel city that compete with other Europe cities.
Trusted Customer
Monday, May 21, 2018
Service
all worked out as discussed
Vacation
The optional trips should have been included in the purchase price; one price!
Keri Bokor
Monday, June 5, 2017
Service
Our booking eventually worked out but only because GET's consultant Michelle fixed original consultant Alyssa's poor customer service. Alyssa failed to respond to our requests for several days which caused us undue stress considering our desired Trafalgar trip was sold out when I contacted them directly & we were unsure GET had secured our reservation. Thank goodness Michelle came to the rescue & processed our trip & we ended up having the best time ever in Croatia.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your comments. They will be shared with our management team in our ongoing effort to provide the best customer service.
Friday, June 9, 2017
Vacation
Had an absolutely fantastic time & loved the trip. Croatia is so diverse & their people so friendly. It's a beautiful country & Petula, Trafalgar's tour director for our trip was an excellent organizer & the best person to show us the sights.
George Lane
Monday, June 5, 2017
Service
The tour director was one of the best we have experienced.
Vacation
good value for the money.
See More Reviews
Back To Top