• 2019 Preview Event—Guaranteed Best Price Ends Sept 21, 2018

    2019 Preview Event Ends Sept 21, 2018
  • Save up to 10% - Pay in Full by January 31, 2019

    Save up to 10% - Pay in Full by January 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp

Britain & Ireland Explorer (Premium) (2019 Preview)

15 Days from $3,803 per person

Style: Premium | Pace: Active

The leisurely pace and beauty of the Irish countryside is blended with historic English towns, Welsh hospitality and the austere Scottish Highlands for a truly memorable exploration of the British Isles.

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

Print Itinerary

Overview

The leisurely pace and beauty of the Irish countryside is blended with historic English towns, Welsh hospitality and the austere Scottish Highlands for a truly memorable exploration of the British Isles.

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

  1. Welcome to London. After checking into your hotel, the afternoon is free to enjoy a city that is famous for its pomp and pageantry. Perhaps relax with a walk along the Serpentine in Hyde Park or window shop in the elegant boutiques of Knightsbridge? Alternatively, you may want to stroll along the Thames to the iconic Tower Bridge and Tower of London.

    hotel:Grosvenor
  2. Drive to Stratford, beautifully situated on the River Avon. Visit the birthplace of William Shakespeare, full of interesting memorabilia and artefacts relating to his life. Continue on to York where you walk within the old city walls to the crooked houses of the Shambles and see York Minster, England's largest medieval cathedral. In the evening, join your Tour Director for a warm and friendly Welcome Reception with drinks and the opportunity to mingle and get to know each other over a pleasant evening of dinner and wine.

    meal(s):DW
    hotel:Hilton, York.
  3. Stop in Durham to see the castle and Romanesque cathedral. Then view part of Hadrian's Wall, Britain's most impressive Roman monument once spanning 80 miles from coast-to-coast, marking the northern frontier of the mighty Roman Empire. Cross the Scottish border to reach the elegant Scottish capital, Edinburgh.

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:Crowne Plaza Edinburgh Royal Terrace
  4. Journey down the Royal Mile to the Queen’s Holyroodhouse Palace before crossing over to the ‘New Town’. Next, walk with your Local Expert inside Edinburgh Castle for spectacular views of the town.The afternoon is free to shop on Princes Street. In the evening, selected departures enjoy to the Military Tattoo – a colorful mixture of historic battles and military manoeuvres with pipes and drums.

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:Crowne Plaza Edinburgh Royal Terrace.
  5. Cross the Firth of Forth into Fife and make your way to St. Andrews, passing the Old Course as you arrive where golf was born in the 15th century. Enjoy free time to explore, perhaps stroll to West Sands Beach where the famous 'Chariots of Fire' scene was filmed. Your travels continue as you cross the Tay and journey to the charming Victorian resort town of Pitlochry, famous for its salmon run. Travel via Blair Atholl and past the Grampian Mountains to the sparkling Spey Valley. Later, continue to Inverness and your hotel.

    meal(s):BB, D
    hotel:The Columba Hotel, Inverness.
  6. In the morning, take a private cruise on Loch Ness, where you will soak up the scenery, historic monuments and tales of the famous Nessie. Continue your journey through some of the most stunning scenery in all of Scotland found in the region of Glencoe. Travel along the Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond, before crossing the English border. Pass the village of Grasmere, where the poet William Wordsworth is buried, before arriving at your lakeside hotel.

    meal(s):BB, D
    hotel:Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, Bowness-on-Windermere.
  7. In the morning, discover the beauty of the Lake District, its fells, lakes and valleys combine to make it one of England's best loved regions. Perhaps take a lake cruise on the tranquil waters of Windermere? Later, step back into Roman times in Chester where you see the city's ancient encircling walls and remarkable 13th century black and white Rows.

    meal(s):BB, D
    hotel:Hallmark Hotel the Queen, Chester.
  8. Continue through Wales, passing the massive Conwy Castle before crossing over to the Isle of Anglesey. The village with the longest name in Europe will be visible - see if you are able to read it aloud! From the port of Holyhead, set sail for Dublin in Ireland.

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:Trinity City Hotel, Dublin.
  9. Experience Ireland's national and world-famous drink with a guided visit to the Guinness Storehouse before it opens to the public. Gain a fascinating insight into the history and traditions behind its production and enjoy a tasting with a Guinness expert. Later, become acquainted with Dublin's elegant squares during sightseeing with a Local Expert. See famous O'Connell Street, the Custom House and Dublin Castle. For the rest of the afternoon, you are free to soak up the Irish atmosphere or browse the shops along Grafton Street.

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:Trinity City Hotel, Dublin.
  10. Drive to Ireland's premier thoroughbred horse breeding region for a fascinating visit of the National Stud and acclaimed 100-year-old Japanese Gardens where you can ‘journey through life'. Continue to view St. Patrick's great Rock of Cashel, crowned with the noblest group of medieval monuments in Ireland. Cross the rolling pastures that encircle Tipperary before reaching Killarney. At night, your Dine-Around evening offers you authentic and intimate dining with your friends at a selection of fine local restaurants.

    meal(s):BB, DW
    hotel:The Malton, Killarney
  11. In the morning, join a delightful trip around the Ring of Kerry, a world of towering cliffs, lush lakelands and remote villages. Get a sense of the unhurried pace of Irish life as you pass through Ireland's highest mountain range and make your way to the three peaceful Lakes of Killarney. In the afternoon, perhaps take an optional ride with the locals on one of Killarney's jaunting cars?

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:The Malton, Killarney
  12. Start the day visiting Blarney Castle - home of the famous stone of eloquence, once kissed, never forgotten! Travel on through the scenic port of Dungarvan to the historic walled city of Waterford, for a guided visit of the world-famous crystal factory and to meet a master craftsman. In the evening, after miles of fun and fascinating sights, spirits will be high during your Celebration Dinner. Toast to your newfound friends - Sláinte!

    meal(s):BB, DW
    hotel:Dooleys Hotel, Waterford.
  13. From the port of Rosslare, board your ferry to cross the Irish Sea. A pleasant drive will then take you into the rural scenery of Pembrokeshire. Continue past the valleys of southern Wales to the capital, Cardiff, famous for its imposing castle and brilliant Principality Stadium.

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:Mercure Holland House Hotel and Spa, Cardiff.
  14. Cross the Severn Bridge to reach the City of Bath, a UNESCO World Heritage Site known for its Georgian streets and crescents. Visit the Roman Baths and Pump Room built above Britain's only hot, mineral springs. See the incredibly well-preserved remains of one of the greatest spas of the ancient world, still flowing with the natural hot water from the springs below. Your journey continues across Salisbury Plain for a visit to mysterious Stonehenge - no-one can be sure why they were built, or even how prehistoric man could move such huge blocks of stone. Return to London and check-in to The Grosvenor Hotel. The evening is at your leisure.

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:The Grosvenor, London
  15. Your journey draws to a close after breakfast this morning. 

    meal(s):BB
Request a Quote
  • Preview 2019

    Preview itineraries and content are based on selected vacations featured in our 2018 Collection, however, items such as (but not limited to), hotels, meals, sightseeing inclusions, trip destinations, transfers and transportation, are subject to change. The final composition of your trip will be published in our 2019 Collection due out in September. By paying your deposit, you are agreeing to accept the finalized version of your trip itinerary.

  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary
  • Definite Departure
  • Edinburgh Tattoo
Depart Date Return Date Price Discount Availability Price
13 Apr 19 27 Apr 19 checkmark $4,225$3,803pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
20 Apr 19 4 May 19 $4,225$3,803pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
27 Apr 19 11 May 19 checkmark $4,295$3,866pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
13 May 19 27 May 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
18 May 19 1 Jun 19 checkmark $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
25 May 19 8 Jun 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
27 May 19 10 Jun 19 checkmark $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
1 Jun 19 15 Jun 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
8 Jun 19 22 Jun 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
10 Jun 19 24 Jun 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
29 Jun 19 13 Jul 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
8 Jul 19 22 Jul 19 checkmark $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
13 Jul 19 27 Jul 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
20 Jul 19 3 Aug 19 checkmark $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
22 Jul 19 5 Aug 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
27 Jul 19 10 Aug 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Edinburgh Tattoo
5 Aug 19 19 Aug 19 $4,650$4,185pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Edinburgh Tattoo
17 Aug 19 31 Aug 19 checkmark $4,650$4,185pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Edinburgh Tattoo
19 Aug 19 2 Sep 19 checkmark $4,650$4,185pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
24 Aug 19 7 Sep 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
31 Aug 19 14 Sep 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
2 Sep 19 16 Sep 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
16 Sep 19 30 Sep 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
21 Sep 19 5 Oct 19 checkmark $4,325$3,893pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
28 Sep 19 12 Oct 19 $4,225$3,803pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
  • Edinburgh Tattoo: This departure includes the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo event.

Price is per person and is based on two people sharing a twin bedded room. Single rooms are available at a supplement.

Single Room Supplement: from $1,120 p.p.

Triple Room Supplement: $90 p.p.

Gratuities: Option to pre-pay gratuities for Travel Director and Driver $142 per person.

AARP Members are entitled to an exclusive Member Benefit Discount on all Grand European Travel vacations. Plus receive a free travel gift!  Call Toll Free: 1-866-847-3858 for details.

Print Itinerary

  • Sightseeing with Local Experts Sightseeing with Local Experts
  • Professional Travel Director Professional Travel Director
  • VIP Access VIP Access
  • Expertly Selected Hotels Expertly Selected Hotels
  • Cultural Enrichment Cultural Enrichment
  • Hotel Tips Hotel Tips
  • Most Meals Most Meals
  • Personal Flight Options Personal Flight Options
  • WIFI on Coach and in Hotels WIFI on Coach and in Hotels

INCLUDED QUALITY DINING

15 Buffet Breakfasts (BB), 3 Dinners (D) and 3 Dinners with Wine (DW) all with tea or coffee.

Signature Experiences

Stratford:

  • Learn about the life of William Shakespeare, arguably history's most famous writer, when you visit his birthplace. Then enjoy some time to explore this pretty town with its iconic Tudor houses.

Edinburgh:

  • Walk with a Local Expert inside the walls of the Castle to view the Scottish Crown Jewels, Stone of Destiny and Mons Meg.
  • A hush descends and eyes turn to the castle. The skirl of the pipes rises and drums crack the night air as a tide of tunics and tartan flood from the drawbridge. For a limited time in August, witness the incredible spectacle of the Edinburgh Military Tattoo.

Loch Ness:

  • Soak up the scenery and hear tales of the infamous 'Nessie' during a private cruise.

Dublin:

  • Walk with your Local Expert, through the elegant squares of this fine city to see O'Connell Street, Custom House and Dublin Castle.

Kildare:

  • Join an equine professional for a behind-the-scenes look at the Irish National Stud and Japanese Gardens.

Killarney:

  • Venture into a world of towering cliffs, lush lakelands and remote villages, as you tour the Ring of Kerry.

Blarney:

  • Visit the castle and climb the battlements for the chance to kiss the Blarney Stone for the gift of eloquence.

Waterford

  • Meet a master craftsman on your guided visit of the world-famous House of Waterford Crystal.

Bath:

  • Visit the Roman Baths, where offerings and curses were thrown to the Roman Goddess Sulis Minerva.

Stonehenge:

  • Visit the mysterious circle of upright stones, which stands as strong today as it did 5,000 years ago.
Request a Quote
  • Preview 2019

    Preview itineraries and content are based on selected vacations featured in our 2018 Collection, however, items such as (but not limited to), hotels, meals, sightseeing inclusions, trip destinations, transfers and transportation, are subject to change. The final composition of your trip will be published in our 2019 Collection due out in September. By paying your deposit, you are agreeing to accept the finalized version of your trip itinerary.

  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary

Reviews

Saturday, September 22, 2018
Michael Sanford
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I would highly recommend GET and more specifically, the Britain and Ireland Explorer trip, to anyone wanting to learn about the history of the UK while meeting new people and enjoying a fun vacation. Our tour guide, David Perry, was simply outstanding! Not only is he extremely knowledgeable about all regions explored, but makes the time on the coach pleasurable. He also provided many benefits and personal details, including tastings of local foods and drinks, at his own expense. We were never in want for anything. David was also very well organized and managed the groups expectations with precision. I can not state enough how beneficial he was as a tour guide and captain. It's safe to say I would take another GET trip just to have him as the host. Also of major importance and due accolades is the coach driver, Jason Croton. He was always at the ready to assist the passengers off the coach with a friendly smile. These two gentlemen make a great team! Regarding the route and stops planning, I believe this is a well thought out trip. It truly is the best of the UK! Other than a few rainy days, there were no bad spots on the trip. Even these days had their good points.
Vacation : Since my return, I've told numerous friends about the value of the trip. Pound for pound and Euro for Euro, this is the best deal I've ever had.
Saturday, September 22, 2018
Sandra Self
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : David Perry was the best tour guide ever. He was organized, professional, knowledgeable and FUN. Our coach driver Jason was an excellent driver and skilled at driving a big coach. David provided specials at every turn including stops for a sip of Drambuie, a birthday card and prosecco and chocolates for my birthday, and small things like providing small bags to separate our different currency coins. Awesome adventure!
Vacation : Excellent value for an adventure that included a lot of territory, cities, and the drive was a beautiful part of the trip. Our fellow travelers were courteous to travel with and we felt like kindred spirits to enjoy this experience together.
Monday, September 17, 2018
Beth Murillo
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Several of the hotels did not meet the expected standard for a premium tour. There were very small rooms and rooms not very clean. The worst was at the end of the tour our luggage was dumped off the bus on the sidewalk in front of a hotel that only has stairs to the lobby. we were required to drag our own luggage up the steps into the lobby and then check ourselves in. That whole process was a big mess, I consider myself as Insight's responsibility until the end of the next day, which is designated as travel home day and felt like we were abandoned and left to our own devices when it was still your responsibility to get everyone in their room and the luggage delivered just like it was every day during the tour.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We do apologize for this shortcoming and the quality and conditions of some of the hotels on your trip. We will be sure to address these issues with Insight Vacations directly.
Monday, September 17, 2018
Vacation : See previous comment on hotels.
Monday, September 10, 2018
Pamela Walch
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our tour guide was excellent, very good at history and information. The stops on the tour were very good, and we especially enjoyed the Military Tattoo in Edinburgh. That was the original reason for choosing this tour.
Vacation : This tour was very enjoyable, and the food was also good. We believe Grand European is a terrific way to see the world.
Monday, September 10, 2018
Mary Ann Mull
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The tour guide, driver and the sites visited were great. A couple of the hotels were marginal as far as service, location and cleanliness.
Vacation : It was a good trip and the pace was enjoyable.
Sunday, September 9, 2018
Kathleen Hass
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Tour director Matt Lawson was exceptional Military Tattoo was highlight of trip Enjoyed extra leg room on bus! Loved set rotation on bus!
Vacation : Rushed on multiple events Limited down time
Sunday, September 2, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Booking was excellent. I did not like having so many extra costs presented to me. Trip cost should include everything. The leader was doing his job, but seemed completely detached.
Response from Grand European Travel:
This time does cover quite a bit of ground and there can be some long days on the bus in between stops. We are sorry to hear it fell short of your expectations. We will share your feedback with Insight Vacations for improvement
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Vacation : I just did. read it and understand
Saturday, September 1, 2018
Kathleen Frontz
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The booking agent was very helpful and kept in touch as the trip came closer. Amazing tour director and driver.
Vacation : Hotels very niche, lovely meals, excellent sharing of the history to make it come alive. Our Tour Director Matt & driver Keith kept us safe, entertained and made us feel important to them as a customer and made us feel like a friend.
Monday, August 27, 2018
Marie Buckley
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great representative Randy Fay takes care of my trips. The flight are very good within good timing. His recommendations work out great.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much! We will be sure to share your comments with Randy and appreciate your business very much.
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Vacation : This tour covered it all. I loved the pace and the number of places I got to experience. The Military Tattoo was magnificent.
Monday, August 27, 2018
Gayle Wright
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very helpful with the booking and airline booking. We had no hassles with any of the trip.
Vacation : Edinburgh Hotel was too far away to comfortably walk into the heart of city (for 2 60+ year olds), and not enough time to enjoy seeing the city. Ditto for Dublin, although we enjoyed the walk around Dun Laoghaire. Maybe less time in Bath, although it was fascinating. Over all, it was a great trip to see the UK and Ireland.
Monday, August 27, 2018
Alexander Currie
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I would rate the tour guide very good plus. He could have been more considerate of the people in the back of the bus. By the time we got off he was two blocks down the road and it was hard to catch up. European plumbing is still not up to North American standards (tubs that would not drain, low water pressure, no fan in bathroom) Other than that the hotels were very good.
Vacation : A litle more time needed in Stratford-on-Avon and York. Seemed we were always a little behind schedule ( I know, traffic is hard to predict).
Monday, August 6, 2018
Joan Burns
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything was perfectly timed to give us a reasonable but not overwhelming gander at interesting places (i.e., cathedrals, towns, special placs like Irish National Stud and Gardens, Blarney, etc. You name it, we loved it and were responding in kind by returning on time for the next sight or experience.
Response from Grand European Travel:
How wonderful! So glad we could be a part of your amazing Ireland trip.
Monday, August 6, 2018
Vacation : Oh, come on! How much more can one add? If I have a photo With enough class to include, but I do not yet have time to sort it all out.
Saturday, August 4, 2018
Elba Laino
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We had the most experienced, personable and resourceful tour Director, Cheryl Duke. She was on top of everything and offered some "perks" as we went along. Our bus driver was very experienced as well and we had no idea how he made it through some narrow streets and highways along the way. Some of the hotels, however, were not very nice. Some lack refurbishing and update their lifts and areas in need of repair. But, we did enjoy it very much and we would think of GET for our future travels. Keep up the good work!!
Vacation : Please, refer to my previous comments
Janine Joyner
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : My husband and I enjoyed our tour to England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales very much. It was just long enough and our tour guide, Peter Staff of Insights was fantastic. He handled all our hotels, luggage and most meals but his knowledge of the history of all the places we visited was unbelievable. More then that, he was able to answer the many questions the 40 of us asked along the way. And, GET's handling of our reservations, including our light arrangements, was excellent.
Response from Grand European Travel:
How wonderful to hear that you had such an amazing time on your Britain and Ireland journey! We're so pleased to know you had such a lovely time, learned about the countries, and had a hassle-free trip. We're here when you're ready for your next adventure. Happy travels!
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Vacation : The trip was just long enough for us senior folks, with just about enough walking that we could handle and interesting enough to hold our attentions. Got to see all the highlights of the 4 countries and learned a lot about each of them. Wonderful trip.
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Always provide detailed information. Answer all questions thoroughly. Break down itemized costs. Knowledgeable, courteous, excellent communication skills.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're so glad to know we helped make your trip through Great Britain and Ireland go as smoothly as possible. We'll pass along your comments to the team, thank you for sharing your experience! Happy travels!
Friday, June 22, 2018
Vacation : Even more amazing than anticipated. Covered a lot of history and ground and it was exciting and fun!
Saturday, October 14, 2017
Michael George
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Tour guide was very good, not perfect, but who is? The 1/2 day tour of London was not at all what it could have been... 1st it was 2 hours not 1/2 a day, 2nd we only say one small part of London,ie. Trafalgar Square area. We had time to see the Globe Theatre, that building that looks like an Easter egg, Baker St., Whitehall area, the Tower Bridge and for that matter... the Tower of London. All in all we did see alot in 14 days. The included dinners were not very imaginative, would have loved to have the famous GB fish & chips... we loved the Scottish Dinner, the show was so - so and really not worth the money. The "Optional Experiences" were "pushed" too hard, I paid $10,000. for my wife and myself and where we come from that is a LOT OF MONEY. Many of our friends think I was crazy to spend that much,and then to be badgered to purchase additional thing to "make our trip, worth it!" Was somewhat insulting. The bus was a great part and I can't say enough positive about Les and his coach!
Response from Grand European Travel:
We apologize for the fact that you felt badgered to purchase the Optional Experiences.  Just about every Guided Vacation Operator offers some type of Optional plan or if they do not, they have considerably higher overall trip costs.  With the trips we offer, Optionals are handled on site which allows guests to make their own choice as to join the optional tour or spend time on their own. 
Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Vacation : I have already commented enough.
Saturday, October 14, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The tour specialist - INSIGHT/Nigel Hannay - was great. Very organized and very determined to maintain schedule on a day-to-day basis. Wonderful accommodations under the circumstances permitted, great in-depth lectures throughout the tour brought history of the different areas to life and provided great understanding of how we managed to be where we are today. Added local tours very worthwhile.
Vacation : The tours I purchased in addition to the package were the icing on the cake.
Saturday, October 14, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great trip, all was well organized. Hotels in very central locations. Meals great. Our tour director was fantastic. Very knowledgeable.
Vacation : All was fantastic. Would recommend highly.
Saturday, October 7, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : GET is always competent with respect to setting up and coordinating our travel with their consortium partners.
Vacation : Some of the optionals should have been included. This was the least enjoyed of three insight experiences.
Saturday, October 7, 2017
Charles Sedgwick
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : the travel agent was superb. she had an exceptional knowledge of the area and provided helpful information as the trip progressed
Vacation : most hotels were good; however the London accommodation was only ok, not up the standard expected
Saturday, September 30, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Trip is good, some option tours are not too good, like lake Ness tour.
Vacation : Schedules are too tight, some dinner shows are redundant, like there are two Irish dance shows, one is optional,
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Sharon
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : It was so easy to travel with them. The only decision I had to make was where to be and at what time. They handled every aspect from there. As a lone travelier, that was awesome.
Vacation : Saw more with great educational information that I could even begin to imagine. Our guide, Christina, was beyond amazing. Fun, highly knowledgeable, catered to our every needs.
Monday, September 25, 2017
Michael Eisman
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : You turned our trip over to another travel company who delivered an inferior product.
Response from Grand European Travel:
All of our Guided Vacations are operated by our sister companies Insight Vacations or Trafalgar Tours. We do try to point this out in our brochure and our website, as well as our payment invoices.  We apologize if this was not made clear to you at the time you booked. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Thursday, October 12, 2017
Vacation : see above comment and following letter.
Saturday, September 23, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything was well planned and controlled. Even the rest stops were set accurately
Vacation : Discount and free travel insurance
Request a Quote
  • Preview 2019

    Preview itineraries and content are based on selected vacations featured in our 2018 Collection, however, items such as (but not limited to), hotels, meals, sightseeing inclusions, trip destinations, transfers and transportation, are subject to change. The final composition of your trip will be published in our 2019 Collection due out in September. By paying your deposit, you are agreeing to accept the finalized version of your trip itinerary.

  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary
  • U.S. citizens traveling to UK and Ireland must have a current passport that is valid for six months beyond the conclusion of their trip. You can find information on how to apply for a passport here, and how to renew a passport here. No visa is required for U.S. citizens entering the UK or Ireland.

  • The currency in the UK is the Pound (£) and in Ireland is the Euro (€). While it’s a good idea to bring some money for when you first arrive, you’ll usually find a better exchange rate in your destination.  The most convenient way to obtain cash is to use your ATM card at local banks in the UK and Ireland. We recommend you also bring a valid credit card for purchases while you are traveling.  It is important that you inform your financial institutions of your travel plans before you leave home so they don’t flag your purchases as potentially fraudulent charges.

  • English specialties include fish and chips, Yorkshire pudding, sausages, stilton cheese, and scones with clotted cream. Culinary experiences to not to miss include a traditional pub meal, afternoon tea, and full English breakfast.  In larger cities like London you’ll also find restaurants serving a variety of international cuisine.

    Irish national specialties including Irish stew, coddle, potato bread, corned beef and whiskey cake. Be sure to try an Irish breakfast, visit a chip shop for fresh fish and chips, and enjoy hearty lunch at a good local pub. 

  • The climate in the UK and Ireland is temperate, with regular rainfall throughout the year. We suggest packing a variety of lightweight clothing items that can be layered to save space in your suitcase and give you more options for how to dress.  A few important items to bring include sturdy walking shoes and a waterproof jacket with a hood. For more helpful information please refer to our Packing Tips & Packing List.

  • Tipping in Britain and Ireland is less common than in the U.S. When dining out, some restaurants will add a service charge of 12.5 percent to your bill, especially for groups.  If a service hasn’t been added, it’s appropriate to leave 10 – 15 percent gratuity.

    At the end of your guided vacation, it’s customary to offer your motor coach driver and Travel Director a gratuity. We recommend €3.00 per person/per day for your driver and €5.00 per person/per day for your Travel Director.  Recommended gratuity for a Local Host and Local Specialist is 1-2 euros per person, paid at the conclusion of each guided visit.  A convenient option is to prepay your tips before your departure.

  • Baggage on our trips is restricted to one large suitcase per person with dimensions not exceeding 30x19x10 inches and a maximum weight of 50 pounds. You are also permitted one piece of hand luggage, which should be small enough to fit under your coach seat or on the small overhead shelf compartment. Please note that luggage with an adjustable handle and wheels will not fit in the overhead compartment of the coach. Hotel porterage is included in your vacation.

  • You will need to be comfortable on your feet, walking and standing for up to three hours in various weather conditions.  All of our vacations involve walking, often on cobblestone and uneven surfaces in historic city centers.  In order to get the most out of your vacation you need to be able to comfortably walk 1-3 miles unassisted in one day, be in good condition and be able to keep pace with the group. 

    If you need any medications, it is important that you bring enough to last you the whole trip and keep them in your carry-on bag while you travel.

  • We highly recommend our optional Travel Protection Plan, which allows you to cancel for any reason up to 24 hours before departure. The plan also includes trip interruption, baggage loss or delay, and medical and emergency assistance. Click here for a summary of coverage details, terms and conditions.

Request a Quote
  • Preview 2019

    Preview itineraries and content are based on selected vacations featured in our 2018 Collection, however, items such as (but not limited to), hotels, meals, sightseeing inclusions, trip destinations, transfers and transportation, are subject to change. The final composition of your trip will be published in our 2019 Collection due out in September. By paying your deposit, you are agreeing to accept the finalized version of your trip itinerary.

  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

The Edinburgh Military Tattoo takes place every year in August.

The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo, often referred to as "the most spectacular show on earth," is an exciting celebration showcasing the best of Scottish music, dance, and military pageantry.  In 2019 it will take place in Edinburgh from August 2nd to August 24th, and is sure to draw entertainers and spectators from around the world. 

Tickets and arrangements have been included on these select departures. Book early as they will sell out quickly!

Request a Quote
  • Preview 2019

    Preview itineraries and content are based on selected vacations featured in our 2018 Collection, however, items such as (but not limited to), hotels, meals, sightseeing inclusions, trip destinations, transfers and transportation, are subject to change. The final composition of your trip will be published in our 2019 Collection due out in September. By paying your deposit, you are agreeing to accept the finalized version of your trip itinerary.

  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Be the First to Know!

Sign up for our emails and receive exclusive offers, travel information, announcements, and more!
Providing peace of mind and unparalleled service for over 40 years.