• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members SAVE an additional $100
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Britain & Ireland Highlights

Operated by: Trafalgar

10 Days from $2,286 per person
London's Buckingham Palace

Countries Visited

UK, Ireland ...more UK, Ireland

Locations Visited

London, York, Harrogate, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grasmere, St Oswalds Church, Glasgow, Goerge Square, Edinburgh, Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile, Palace of Holyroodhouse, Scottish Parliament Building, Ailsa Craig, Belfast, Dublin, Trinity College, Temple Bar, Grafton Street, Irish National Stud Farm, Kilkenny Castle, House of Waterford Crystal, Waterford, Cardiff, Millenium Centre, National Assembly, Cardiff Castle ...more London, York, Harrogate, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grasmere, St Oswalds Church, Glasgow, Goerge Square, Edinburgh, Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile, Palace of Holyroodhouse, Scottish Parliament Building, Ailsa Craig, Belfast, Dublin, Trinity College, Temple Bar, Grafton Street, Irish National Stud Farm, Kilkenny Castle, House of Waterford Crystal, Waterford, Cardiff, Millenium Centre, National Assembly, Cardiff Castle
  1. Day 1 Arrive London

    London bids you a warm welcome to its regal traditions and centuries-old heritage. Ramble through its Royal Parks relaxing after your journey, or take to its streets to admire elegant façades merged with the modern verve of a global capital that marches to its own multi-cultural tune.

    hotel Park Plaza Riverbank
  2. Day 2 London – Stratford-upon-Avon – York – Harrogate

    Join your Travel Director today and delve into centuries of history - tales of star-crossed lovers, tragic kings and Roman emperors are brought to life as we visit Stratford-upon-Avon and follow in the footsteps of Shakespeare. Visit his Birthplace and the Visitor Centre, before embarking on a scenic drive north to the Viking city of York, where we'll enjoy an orientation walk around its historic streets. View the cobbled Shambles, see the ancient city walls and the magnificent York Minster. This evening, we indulge in traditional pub grub at a Welcome Reception in the Victorian spa town of Harrogate, our home for tonight.

    meals Full Breakfast, Welcome Reception
    hotel Crowne Plaza
  3. Day 3 Harrogate – Lake District – Gretna Green – Glasgow (2 Nights)

    We journey through the Yorkshire Dales National Park to the beautiful Lake District, which has inspired poets and writers for centuries. A highlight on our journey is England's pretty Lake Windermere, which we'll pass as we continue through countryside made famous by the poet William Wordsworth. We'll cross the border to the runaway wedding capital of Gretna Green. Here eloping couples would tie the knot over the Marriage Anvil. We drive through the Southern Uplands to vibrant Glasgow. Tonight, consider joining an Optional Experience to Braveheart Country for a fabulous dinner and Scottish entertainment.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Park Inn by Radisson City Centre
  4. Day 4 Edinburgh Excursion

    From the cultural capital of Glasgow to beguiling Edinburgh, with its exquisite medieval façades, our encounter with Scotland will see us join a Local Specialist for a memorable sightseeing tour. We'll visit Edinburgh Castle, perched atop Castle Rock overlooking the city, and see the Royal Mile, the elegant Palace of Holyroodhouse and the new Scottish Parliament. Admire the elegant Georgian architecture in the New Town and amble through the secret lanes of Auld Reekie before returning to Glasgow this evening. Enjoy views of Glasgow Cathedral and George Square before a delicious meal at a local restaurant.

    meals Full Breakfast, Regional Meal
  5. Day 5 Glasgow – Belfast – Dublin (2 Nights)

    Follow the rugged Ayrshire coast, past the island of Ailsa Craig, the stepping stone from Ireland to Scotland. Board the ferry to Northern Ireland, then join a Local Specialist to explore the crossroads of British and Irish culture in Belfast. We'll view City Hall, Queen's University and the dock where the Titanic was built. This evening, we arrive in the vibrant capital of Ireland where we'll spend the next two nights.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Ballsbridge/Mespil
  6. Day 6 Dublin Sightseeing and Free Time

    Gain insights into the centuries-old tradition of Guinness brewing and enjoy a Storehouse tour and tasting technique demonstration. Drive through the pretty streets of Dublin with a Local Specialist to admire the stately Georgian Squares, Trinity College and St. Patrick's Cathedral, the tallest church in Ireland, before spending the rest of the day exploring the sights alone. Ramble through Temple Bar or Grafton Street, famous for its colourful street performers. This evening, consider joining an Optional Experience to a rousing Irish cabaret performance.

    meals Full Breakfast
  7. Day 7 Dublin – Kildare – Kilkenny – Waterford

    We 'Dive Into Culture' this morning and gain insights into rearing world-class thoroughbreds at the Irish National Stud Farm established in 1946. Enjoy a guided walk through the farm and take some time to stroll through its tranquil Japanese Gardens, regarded as the best in Europe. Admire the imposing medieval castle at Kilkenny before some free time for lunch. Our next stop sees us 'Dive Into Culture' yet again to witness the delicate craft of Waterford Crystal. We'll watch master craftsmen at work during a tour of the workshop and see the exquisitely crafted pieces in the showroom.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Marina/Fitzwilton
  8. Day 8 Waterford – Cardiff

    An early start to the day sees us cross the Irish Sea to Wales by ferry and continue our journey to the Welsh capital of Cardiff to view the Millennium Centre, National Assembly and historic Cardiff Castle, at the heart of the city. This evening, we 'Connect With Locals' in the idyllic Welsh countryside, joining a local family for a Farewell Be My Guest Dinner.

    meals Full Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
    hotel Park Inn City Centre
  9. Day 9 Cardiff – Bath – Stonehenge – London

    Traversing the Severn Estuary into England, we arrive in the glorious UNESCO-listed Bath, with its elegant Georgian façades and world-famous Roman Baths from which the city derives its name. Journey across the scenic landscapes of Wiltshire, paying a visit to the mysterious monolithic stone circle at Stonehenge, then return to London.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Park Plaza Riverbank
  10. Day 10 Depart London

    Say farewell to your travelling companions at the end of your holiday, as you prepare to fly home with wonderful memories.

    meals Full Breakfast
Britain and Ireland Highlights
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 9 full breakfasts
  • 3 dinners (including Be My Guest)

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • The services of a Trafalgar Local Host at your London hotel
  • Ferry across the Irish Sea from Scotland to Northern Ireland
  • Ferry across the Irish Sea from Ireland to South Wales
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • CITY TOUR in Edinburgh, Belfast and Dublin
  • ORIENTATION of York, Glasgow, Cardiff and Bath
  • SEE the Principality Stadium in Cardiff
  • VIEW York Minster, Glasgow Cathedral and George Square and Kilkenny Castle and Gardens
  • VISIT Shakespeare's Birthplace in Stratford-upon-Avon, Edinburgh Castle, Gretna Green, the Irish National Stud farm and Japanese Garden, the Waterford Crystal Showroom, the Roman Baths in Bath and the ancient stone circle at Stonehenge

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Trusted Customer
Monday, June 24, 2019
Service
Booking was easy with all my questions answered. I appreciated the ability to contact my booking agent rather than a different person every time. Best of all the trip went just as planned.
Vacation
We got to see and experience Britain and Ireland without dealing with all the logistics of travel. We can’t wait to plan our next trip.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are excited to help you plan that next trip! Thank you for the business!
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Trusted Customer
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Service
They were great
Vacation
They were great and informative
Barry Birckhead
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Service
Caitlin was excellent!
Vacation
Great scenery, schedule, & weather. We learned so much from our guide Sheryl.
Victoria Moore
Sunday, May 26, 2019
Service
It was easy to make reservations and we felt we were very well taken care of from initial contact and throughout the entire trip. Our Trip Director, Sheryl Hickey, was great--professional, friendly, flexible, and very knowledgeable.
Vacation
Well organized and had a perfect vacation.
Gloria Reid
Sunday, May 26, 2019
Service
Would recommend, and buy
Vacation
Always wanted to see the Emerald Isle...but got so much more
Trusted Customer
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Service
Booking was easy and the agents are knowledgeable.
Vacation
Tour was informative and schedule a bit tight Tour Director was attentive but not exceptional. We had better experience in New Zealand (exceptional) and worse experience in London (average).
Response from Grand European Travel:
We appreciate your honest feedback and hope you enjoyed the trip overall.
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Happy customer
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Service
Our tour director, Chris, was fabulous. A gold mine of information and always going the extra mile to be sure every detail was covered. The hotels were generally excellent, although there was one change made by the hotel that was not up to the level of other stays. They compensated by paying for our evening at a pub.
Response from Grand European Travel:
That's fantastic to hear and we are so appreciative of you taking the time to share your experience. Thank you!
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Vacation
A full schedule covering a lot of territory. Good value for the price with many included Experiences and well chosen options available.
Trusted Customer
Sunday, September 9, 2018
Service
The tour director Daisy Arundel is excellent! The best ever so far we had base on our 5 land tour experience with different tour companies. She made all the excursions interesting and fun and as a group we all bonded.
Vacation
The tour director made the difference. As a group we all bonded, singing on the bus, enjoying each other's company. Excursion was great even though I didn't think they would be at first.
Harry Dedio
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Service
Everything was fine, Chris was great. But will I get a refund because my gal got sick and cancelled??? Read on net,....AON affinity never gives a refund. Bought it through GET/Trafalgar. I always get the best insurance I can get and through the tour company in stead of a private carrier. Mr. Rainwater was very helpful.
Response from Grand European Travel:
The insurance company is working on your claim. We suggest following up with them directly for any updates.\nWe appreciate your business and hope that all is well with your friend.
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Vacation
OK, A BIT PRICY....BUT OK
Trusted Customer
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Service
Didnt get the travel info and vouchers until I called and found out about it a few days before flying out. Other than that service was handled well.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We do apologize for the delay in getting your travel documents to you. Glad to see that the trip went well and you enjoyed yourself.
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Vacation
It was a decent value for the money
See More Reviews
Back To Top