• Aarp Logo Red
    AARP Members Save $100 AARP SAVE $100 on select vacations booked with us on select vacations
    Learn More
  • ADDITIONAL SAVINGS FOR PAST TRAVELERS

    ADDITIONAL SAVINGS FOR PAST TRAVELERS LEARN MORE

Costa Rica Eco Adventure

Operated by: Trafalgar

8 Days from $1,706 per person
Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica

Countries Visited

Costa Rica ...more Costa Rica

Locations Visited

San Jose (Costa Rica), Tortuguero, Tortuguero National Park, Sarapiqui, Arenal, Monteverde, Tamarindo ...more San Jose (Costa Rica), Tortuguero, Tortuguero National Park, Sarapiqui, Arenal, Monteverde, Tamarindo
  1. Day 1 Arrive San José

    Learn the secrets of Pura Vida - Costa Rica's inimitable zest for life that will linger throughout your effortlessly delivered encounter with a land that boasts no artificial ingredients. This evening, join your Travel Director and fellow expeditioners for a Welcome Reception.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Sheraton San Jose
  2. Day 2 San José – Braulio Carrillo National Park – Tortuguero National Park (2 Nights)

    Journey to San Isidro de Heredia, where we'll 'Dive into Culture' with master chocolatiers, Julio Fernandez and George Soriano, to learn about the history of chocolate and how it is produced at this small workshop. Then, it's on to Siquirres where we'll embark on a river journey through protected wetlands to secluded Tortuguero. Immerse yourself in its vibrant Afro-Caribbean atmosphere as you stroll through the village streets. We enjoy dinner at our hotel this evening accompanied by the enchanting sounds of resident cicadas and tree frogs.

    meals Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
    hotel Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
  3. Day 3 Tortuguero National Park Sightseeing

    Cruise the canals and streams of the park today with a Local Specialist as howler monkeys watch from the treetops, toucans and egrets fly through the air and crocodiles ply the cool waters. Visit the Village of Tortuguero. If you are here between July and September, take an optional tour to see the sea turtles laying eggs on the beach.

    meals Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
  4. Day 4 Tortuguero – Sarapiquí

    Bid adiós to Tortuguero and head back to the mainland where we'll enjoy lunch before meeting the Tico family for a 'Dive into Culture' experience at their palm plantation. There you'll learn about and sample the delicate heart of palm. Tonight you'll enjoy a 'Be My Guest' with the owners of your hotel, providing a 'Connect with Locals' experience, as they prepare a special BBQ meal just for you.

    meals Breakfast, Lunch, Be My Guest
    hotel Hotel La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge
  5. Day 5 Sarapiquí – Arenal

    Rise with the sun to get up close and personal with Costa Rica's exquisite nature during a leisurely hike. Keep a look out for the endangered great green macaw and connect with your beautiful natural surroundings. Embark on an optional rafting trip^ later this morning. We 'Connect with Locals' this afternoon, enjoying a 'Be My Guest' lunch at an eco-friendly hacienda built by the Quintana family as a retirement project. Today, it is home to an organic farm and related eco-adventures. 'Make a Difference' and learn how your visit contributes to the local community. Our journey continues to Arenal Volcano, on whose slopes we spend the afternoon relaxing in our resort's beautifully landscaped thermal pools.

    meals Breakfast, Be My Guest
    hotel Arenal Paraiso Resort and Spa
  6. Day 6 Arenal – Monteverde Cloud Forest (2 Nights)

    Our soul-stirring encounter with Costa Rica's natural wonders continues after a morning at leisure. Straddle the Continental Divide and touch the sky in Monteverde Cloud Forest, where you'll have an opportunity to explore this biodiverse sanctuary, renowned for its collection of orchid species - more than in any other single place. Tonight, we'll meet a native Quaker, and Local Specialist, who will share stories of Old Town Monteverde and delve into the history of the American Quakers who settled in the area in the 1950s. This evening, relish some of the best views as you enjoy dinner.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel El Establo Mountain Hotel
  7. Day 7 Monteverde Cloud Forest Sightseeing

    This morning, join your guide for an excursion through the lush rainforests of Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. We ascend to the treetops high above the jungle floor below, treading lightly along the Sky Walk^ suspension bridges amongst the wildlife that find sanctuary in the boughs of the surrounding canopy. As our epic eco-adventure nears its end, we share stories with newfound friends at a Farewell Dinner.

    meals Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
  8. Day 8 Monteverde – Depart Liberia or San José

    For now it's a fond hasta luego to Costa Rica, but not goodbye. Transfer to either Liberia or San José International Airports or travel on to Guanacaste Beach for those extending their stay.

    meals Breakfast
Costa Rica Eco Adventure End Liberia
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 7 breakfasts
  • 4 lunches
  • 6 dinners

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Rain ponchos provided for your use
  • Cherry-picked hotels all tried and trusted
  • Handcrafted Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and local charges included
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and separate Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • Airport transfers on the first and last day of your guided holiday
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • VIEW Arenal Volcano
  • VISIT Tortuguero National Park, Braulio Carillo National Park, Sarapiquí, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve

Dates & Prices

Prices shown are per person based on two people sharing a twin room. To request a personalized travel quote, click "Request Quote" and a Travel Specialist will send your custom quote including airfare if requested.

Online Booking Process

Onlinebookingprocesssteps
January 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Jan 15 Sat
Jan 22 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Jan 22 Sat
Jan 29 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Jan 29 Sat
Feb 5 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
February 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Feb 5 Sat
Feb 12 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Feb 12 Sat
Feb 19 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Feb 19 Sat
Feb 26 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Feb 26 Sat
Mar 5 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
March 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Mar 5 Sat
Mar 12 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Mar 12 Sat
Mar 19 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Mar 19 Sat
Mar 26 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Mar 26 Sat
Apr 2 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
April 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Apr 2 Sat
Apr 9 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Apr 16 Sat
Apr 23 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Apr 23 Sat
Apr 30 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
May 2022
AARP Members Save $100
May 7 Sat
May 14 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
May 21 Sat
May 28 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
June 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Jun 11 Sat
Jun 18 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Jun 18 Sat
Jun 25 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Jun 25 Sat
Jul 2 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950 $1,706 Save $244
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
July 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Jul 9 Sat
Jul 16 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Jul 23 Sat
Jul 30 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
September 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Sep 17 Sat
Sep 24 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
October 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Oct 15 Sat
Oct 22 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
November 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Nov 19 Sat
Nov 26 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
December 2022
AARP Members Save $100
Dec 10 Sat
Dec 17 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Dec 17 Sat
Dec 24 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
January 2023
AARP Members Save $100
Jan 14 Sat
Jan 21 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Jan 21 Sat
Jan 28 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Jan 28 Sat
Feb 4 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
February 2023
AARP Members Save $100
Feb 4 Sat
Feb 11 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Feb 11 Sat
Feb 18 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Feb 18 Sat
Feb 25 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Feb 25 Sat
Mar 4 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
March 2023
AARP Members Save $100
Mar 4 Sat
Mar 11 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Mar 11 Sat
Mar 18 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Mar 18 Sat
Mar 25 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
AARP Members Save $100
Mar 25 Sat
Apr 1 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
April 2023
AARP Members Save $100
Apr 1 Sat
Apr 8 Sat
AARP Members Save $100
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$2,050 $1,794 Save $256
PAY IN FULL BY Dec 17
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Gail Wekenmann
Monday, March 9, 2020
Service
Had multiple issue getting call backs or follow ups this time. Also overcharged and had to call back twice to get it fixed.
Vacation
German was the most fantastic tour guide. He loves his job and country.
Irene Sada
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Service
disconnect with original flight plans. although it was corrected, it was very distressing in the beginning.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are glad that everything was able to be sorted out with your flights and apologize for any confusion or misunderstanding.
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Vacation
it would could have been made better if we had more time in each location.. One night is not enough as a travel day can be all day long leaving little time to enjoy each location.
Michele CK
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Service
Loved the Costa Rica Eco-Adventure. Wish we could have more time in each location. Loved being away from it all. Some accommodations were a bit "rustic," but all were clean with exceptional service and great food! German, our Travel Director was the best!
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience in Costa Rica.
Friday, April 5, 2019
Vacation
The adventure itself was excellent. Getting there and home again were a bit of a nightmare! But, all worked out.
Trusted Customer
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Service
Wonderful daily itinerary and great tour guide who had very good command of English. What enhancements: 1. Reconstruct the day to include time to stretch, walk, exercise, if appropriate swim 2. Time just to enjoy the lodge and area we are staying - in January it got dark early so I selected not to walk after dinner in the dark due to the natural habitat of the areas i.e. rain forest in Tortuguero and Sarapique. So, extend daylight free time and leave for the next location the next day vs. cramming in time to getting to a new lodge at dinner time (missing daylight fun on the ground) 3. Perhaps, add 2 days to this itinerary 4. Provide a heads-up that Costa Rica is primarily a Spanish speaking country with little English spoken by natives/staff at lodges 5. Provide a heads-up that wi-fi is not available or very limited 6. Provide information on proper clothing. I refer to zip-lining in Monteverde where it felt like 35 degrees with wicked winds..... I loved the unique locations we stopped at. The owners of the small plantations were so informative (translated at times by the guide) and welcoming. Hats off to those individuals. Our guide made sure that we never starved! reneabrams@aol.com
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for all your suggestions and review. We are so happy that you enjoyed beautiful Costa Rica.
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Vacation
Everyone likes a "best" price and as a single I really feel that statement. Some tour agencies have consideration for singles and have us pay the same fare as couples.
Carolyn Dimig
Monday, February 4, 2019
Service
Rob Rainwater was excellent. He answered all my questions quickly and efficiently.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you! We will be sure to pass this on to Rob.
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Vacation
Very early morning departures and many hours on the bus or boat to Tortuguero. The name tags are not good. Most of us quit wearing them after a day or two.They are difficult to attach to a "t" shirt. A lanyard would work much better.
Trusted Customer
Saturday, October 20, 2018
Service
Transportation, air and ground, excellent. Hotel in San Jose great. We were hoping we could change one leg of air at the airport but due to the booking we weren't eligible unless we paid high fee. I could have purchased through Trafalgar but GET qualifies me for an AARP discount. GET is sister company to Trafalgar. This is first escorted trip we have done. I would do it again. We had a fantastic trip.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Costa Rica is a beautiful country--we're so glad you had a fantastic trip and were able to discover the "pure life." Thank you for taking the time to write!
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Vacation
Extra excursions should have been priced before we booked trip.
Karen Wubenhorst
Saturday, July 7, 2018
Service
The tour guide was knowledgeable and interesting. The sights were magnificent as well as the lodging. It was the perfect trip!
Vacation
Excellent value for the price
Herbert Rudd
Monday, June 4, 2018
Service
Good and excellent director
Vacation
Yes Very good but needed one or 2 more days
Frank Mauro
Saturday, June 2, 2018
Service
The tour guide and bus driver were beyond excellent. Kept us entertained and informed the entire trip.
Vacation
Good value for the money.
Guy Harkness
Saturday, June 2, 2018
Service
Booking with Michelle Gumringer was very seamless, & our Costa Rican Guide, German Rojas was excellent.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're so pleased to know you enjoyed your Costa Rica vacation. Michelle is a great asset to our team and we'll be sure to pass along your compliment. Happy travels!
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Vacation
Very economical & very comprehensive. A great value.
See More Reviews
Terms & Conditions
Click here to view Terms and Conditions for this guided vacation
Back To Top