• AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp

Country Roads of Bavaria, Switzerland & Austria with Oberammergau (Summer 2020)

Style: Premium | Pace: Leisurely

Surprisingly, the vineyards, gabled shop fronts and opulent palaces play second fiddle to the scenery. Experience the magical, unrivalled beauty of the Alpine world, on-board the enthralling Glacier Express. Included in this tour are premium reserved seats to witness the world-famous Passion Play in Oberammergau.

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

Print Itinerary

Overview

Surprisingly, the vineyards, gabled shop fronts and opulent palaces play second fiddle to the scenery. Experience the magical, unrivalled beauty of the Alpine world, on-board the enthralling Glacier Express. Included in this tour are premium reserved seats to witness the world-famous Passion Play in Oberammergau.

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

  1. Transfers to your hotel leave Munich Airport at 10 am and 1 pm. Join your Tour Director in the afternoon for an orientation. See the Feldherrnhalle in the Odeonsplatz, the Palace of the Dukes of Wittelsbach, the English Garden, the Hofbräuhaus, St Peter's Church and the famous Marienplatz. Afterward, enjoy a Welcome Reception with the opportunity to mingle over a pleasant evening of dinner and wine.

    meal(s):Dinner with Wine
  2. Embark on an exciting visit to Neuschwanstein Castle, built as a retreat for the wildly eccentric King Ludwig II, bristling with turrets and pinnacles. See the exuberantly-decorated apartments including the Throne Room and Lohengrin Grotto. The rest of the day is free for you to explore Bavaria's capital city. Perhaps visit one of its many art galleries and museums, or relax and enjoy a coffee in the delightful Marienplatz.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
  3. A short drive over the Austrian border leads to Salzburg, 'alive with the sound of music.' Sightseeing with a Local Expert will reveal the formal gardens of Mirabell Palace, the imposing fortress, the cathedral in the Old Town and Mozart's birthplace. After lunch, head for the Austrian capital of Vienna.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
  4. In the morning, a Local Expert will reveal the highlights of Schönbrunn Palace, full of frescoed ceilings, crystal chandeliers, mirrors and gilded ornaments. Spend some time in the formal gardens before going on to view St Charles' Church, the Hofburg Palace, Parliament and State Opera House. The afternoon is all yours to explore the city at your leisure. For your Dine-Around Evening experience, choose from a fantastic selection of restaurants.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
  5. Take a delightful drive through undiscovered Austria. Climb the dramatic Semmering Pass and stop in Kindberg with its colorful maypole. Continue south to the border to arrive in Villach, a town rich in contrasts as tradition blends with trendiness, historically a gateway between the Alps and southern Austria, with a touch of la dolce vita influenced by neighboring Italy.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
  6. Pass the magnificent Dolomites as your journey continues through the High Alps to arrive at mountain-ringed Innsbruck. An orientation of Innsbruck shows you the 14th century houses of the old town, the impressive Imperial Palace and the delightful Golden Roof. Then continue north to Oberammergau, situated in the heart of the Bavarian Alps and home of the Passion Play since 1634.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
  7. After a morning at leisure in charming Oberammergau, take your premium reserved seats to witness the world-famous Passion Play, re-enacting the last days of Christ on earth. After a break for dinner in a local restaurant, the captivating performance continues into the evening.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
  8. Continue to Switzerland, driving along the beautiful Engadine Valley and on to the chic Alpine resort of St Moritz. Enjoy the marvelous scenery and fresh air or browse in the elegant boutiques. Another option is a ride on board the Bernina Express.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
  9. An unforgettable journey allows ice-capped mountains, stone-built villages and lush meadows to slip by the windows of your Glacier Express train. Ascend through the spiral tunnels of the Albula Pass and cross the Landwasser Viaduct before heading down through the Oberalp Valley to rejoin the coach at Andermatt. Continue north to lovely Lucerne, one of Europe's most popular cities. Join your Tour Director to see the sorrowful sculpture of the dying lion, cut out of a limestone cliff to commemorate those Swiss Guards who died at the Battle of the Tuileries.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
  10. The morning is at leisure in this beautiful city with its 14th-century covered wooden bridges, painted gables, old walls and watchtowers of the medieval fortifications. Stroll across the Chapel Bridge to the Jesuit Church, or use your free time to shop. Later, head to the town of Stans, to embark on a scenic journey by funicular railway and cable car, to the summit of the stunning Stanserhorn. On a clear day, there are views as far as Alsace and the Black Forest in Germany. Here, amid true Alpine majesty, your amazing journey literally peaks with a fabulous farewell Celebration Dinner in a panoramic restaurant. This will be a fantastic bird's-eye wining and dining experience you'll never forget!

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
  11. Your departure transfer arrives at Zürich Airport at 8 am. Please do not schedule any flights before 10 am.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
Request a Quote
  • Oberammergau 2020 - Insight Vacations Preview

    Oberammergau 2020 Passion Play Preview allows guests to book onto a confirmed 2020 trip and departure date for itineraries featuring the Passion Play in Oberammergau. Accommodation and tickets to this special event which only takes place once every 10 years are always in great demand and often sell out years in advance. Insight Vacations has been operating trips to Oberammergau for decades and has sourced first class tickets (best category) for the performances, has excellent local connections and is well versed in all the logistical aspects to make this a wonderfully seamless experience. By booking an Oberammergau preview trip, it does not guarantee that the itinerary will operate as per the 2018 or 2019 itinerary.

  • Payment conditions

    For bookings before September 30, 2019, on reservation an initial $350 per person, non-refundable deposit is due. On September 30, 2019, an additional $225 is due to confirm Passion Play ticket. For bookings from October 1, 2019 onwards, a non-refundable deposit of $575 per person is due on reservation. Final payment is due 90 days prior to trip departure. Bookings made within 90 days of departure must be paid in full when booking. No Early Payment Discounts, nor any other discounts, are applicable to the Oberammergau portion of the trip. Any fuel surcharges and/or government tax increases will still be payable by the guest.

Thank you for your interest in this tour. If no dates are displaying, please call our reservations line at 1-877-622-9109 for more information

Price is per person and is based on two people sharing a twin bedded room and is subject to change. Final pricing will be available August 31, 2019.

Single Room Supplement: Call for details

Single and triple rooms are not available for the Oberammergau stay. Solo travelers and triple share guests will be matched and accommodated in a twin room with a fellow solo traveler (of the same gender) for the duration of the stay.

AARP Members are entitled to an exclusive Member Benefit Discount on all Grand European Travel vacations. Plus receive a free travel gift!  Call Toll Free: 1-866-847-3858 for details.

Accommodation: Hotel accommodation has been secured either in Oberammergau or close by in the picturesque villages of the Bavarian Alps. Please note that single and triple rooms are not available for the Oberammergau stay. Solo travelers and triple share guests will be accommodated in a twin room with a fellow solo traveler (of the same gender) for the duration of the stay.

Itineraries: Itinerary details such as hotels, meals, sightseeing inclusions, and price are subject to change.

Payment conditions: For bookings before September 30, 2019, on reservation an initial $350 per person, non-refundable deposit is due. On September 30, 2019, an additional $225 is due to confirm Passion Play ticket. For bookings from October 1, 2019, onwards, a non-refundable deposit of $575 per person is due on reservation. Final payment is due 90 days prior to trip departure. Bookings made within 90 days of departure must be paid in full when booking. No Early Payment Discounts, nor any other discounts, are applicable to the Oberammergau portion of the trip. Any fuel surcharges and/or government tax increases will still be payable by the guest.

Please note indicative prices are available on our website and final prices will be confirmed by August 31, 2019. If the overall Oberammergau & Trip price increases more than 15%, guests are eligible to cancel without penalty; if the price decreases, guests are entitled to the lower trip price.

Print Itinerary

  • Professional Travel Director Professional Travel Director
  • Expertly Selected Hotels Expertly Selected Hotels
  • Most Meals Most Meals
  • WIFI on Coach and in Hotels WIFI on Coach and in Hotels
  • Personal Flight Options Personal Flight Options
  • VIP Access VIP Access
  • Cultural Enrichment Cultural Enrichment

Included Quality Dining:

10 Buffet Breakfasts, 2 Dinners, 4 Dinners with Wine, all with tea and coffee.

Signature Experiences

  • Neuschwanstein: A Local Expert leads you through fanciful rooms fashioned by medieval legend. Take in the amazing views over valleys and verdant mountains.
  • Vienna: A private, guided exploration of Schönbrunn Palace will have all your senses tingling. Stand beneath frescoed ceilings, crystal chandeliers and gilded Rococo frames where Mozart performed as a child prodigy.

Top Rated Highlights

  • Salzburg: See the Mirabell Gardens, Mozart's birthplace on the Getreidegasse and visit the Cathedral in the Old Town with a Local Expert.
  • Glacier Express: Journey through the heart of the Swiss Alps aboard the world-famous Glacier Express. Once settled into your modern panoramic viewing car, sit back, spellbound as Mother Nature unveils a scenic symphony of epic grandeur.
  • Oberammergau: Experience the spectacular Passion Play that has made this town famous. Watch from your premium seat as local villagers perform as they have since 1634 in this once in a decade event. An emotive and critically acclaimed performance depicting Christ’s last days, this is an event not to be missed.
  • Munich: See the Marienplatz, Town Hall and Glockenspiel.
  • Vienna: Tour the Ring Road seeing the City Hall and Parliament.
  • Kindlberg: See the colorful maypole.
  • St Veit an der Glan: See the Plague Column and Rathaus.
  • Innsbruck: See the Golden Roof and Imperial Palace.
  • St Moritz: See the spa quarter and ‘sgraffito' façade on the museum house.
  • Lucerne: See the emotive Lion Monument, Jesuit Church and Chapel Bridge.
  • Scenic drives: Bavarian Alps, German Alpine Road, Semmering Pass, the Dolomites, Engadine Valley, Grison Alps.
Request a Quote
  • Oberammergau 2020 - Insight Vacations Preview

    Oberammergau 2020 Passion Play Preview allows guests to book onto a confirmed 2020 trip and departure date for itineraries featuring the Passion Play in Oberammergau. Accommodation and tickets to this special event which only takes place once every 10 years are always in great demand and often sell out years in advance. Insight Vacations has been operating trips to Oberammergau for decades and has sourced first class tickets (best category) for the performances, has excellent local connections and is well versed in all the logistical aspects to make this a wonderfully seamless experience. By booking an Oberammergau preview trip, it does not guarantee that the itinerary will operate as per the 2018 or 2019 itinerary.

  • Payment conditions

    For bookings before September 30, 2019, on reservation an initial $350 per person, non-refundable deposit is due. On September 30, 2019, an additional $225 is due to confirm Passion Play ticket. For bookings from October 1, 2019 onwards, a non-refundable deposit of $575 per person is due on reservation. Final payment is due 90 days prior to trip departure. Bookings made within 90 days of departure must be paid in full when booking. No Early Payment Discounts, nor any other discounts, are applicable to the Oberammergau portion of the trip. Any fuel surcharges and/or government tax increases will still be payable by the guest.

Print Itinerary

Reviews

Carl Herbold
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : An excellent tour of a great region. The tour director was one of the best I've experienced. The hotels were comfortable, accessible (with one exception -- a rural resort) and restfull! The food and optional activities were well above average. And the weather -- which neither GET nor the director controlled -- was near perfect!
Response from Grand European Travel:
That is nice to hear and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience in beautiful Bavaria, Austria and Switzerland.
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Vacation : See above !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Karen Endlein
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The trip was full of things to see and do. The trip director and bus drivers were the best. The trip was everything I hoped for and more.
Vacation : Hotels were very nice. Breakfast was great. The side trips were worth it. The tours director, Daniele was very knowledgeable and lots of fun. Would take another trip with him. Christian, the bus driver, was excellent.
Paul Hardy
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We had a great trip, our host was very professional and caring.Danielle deserves a raise and when we travel again will request him and our expert driver, Christian.
Vacation : I was stationed here in the army 47 years ago. I never got to see all the landmarks and learn about how Europe was formed by the Hapsburg dynasty. Danielle and Christian made our trip pleasant and enjoyable.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : From beginning with Dave from GET tours booking, to the transfer to Hotel, to meeting our fabulous tour director, Daniele, to the great experiences along our way to the sad Farewell Dinner- it was an awesome trip.
Vacation : Great price for tour & airlines.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Tour guide was wonderful. Most optional experiences were good.
Vacation : Most hotels were good. One hotel was horrible, so old I got locked inside room and couldn't get out. Wash basin was in bedroom and no safety rails in showers. Very old. Same food was served for dinner in many hotels, no variety.
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Part of the reason for 4 stars vs 5 : too many one-night stands than we were used to. Also, the food experience this time (our 12th or so GET) was so-so.
Vacation : Most of the optional tours were great; some were just OK.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Tour was well organized and the hotels and restaurants were nice. 40 people is too many in my opinion. I wish the tours were capped at 30.
Vacation : Tour was well organized, the director was very good. the hotels and restaurants were nice.
Charles Dyer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I had a fabulous time and saw things I have wanted to see most of my life. This is my first guided tour and whenever I had a question before the tour, they were prompt in giving me the advice I needed, with one exception. They made the airline reservations for me that included 1 hour 5 minute layover in Amsterdam. I was assured that Amsterdam airport was well organized and I would have no problem. My flight from Zurich was delayed and if my flight in Amsterdam had left on time I would have missed my flight. I also am not sure I would have made it even if the flight had been on time. Amsterdam Airport is not an easy airport for a novice international flyer.
Vacation : There were some wonderful experiences in the planned itinerary and time for us on our own allowing us time to see things that may not be of interest and gave time to get to know others that could be life long friends. I have no regrets taking the trip. Ir was well worth the money spent.
Clifford Williams
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Totally organized!!!!
Vacation : Totally Reasonable and good value!!
Wednesday, September 13, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great customer service and better pricing.
Vacation : The tour and where we went and saw were wonderful.we couldn't have had a better driver and your tour director. But, I feel that they could have included a couple more side trips with what we paid. The optional tours were very expensive...especially after the Euro and Franc conversion rate. I even purchased a 5 hour side trip ahead of our trip starting to a concentration camp for the same price as what Insight was charging for a 2 hr. Tour.
Freddye Silverman
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : This was our third trip with Grand European. The tour was through Insight Vacations and we thought it was terrific. Very well-organized, an excellent tour leader and a great group. Process was very smooth throughout, it was well-timed and well-planned. Bavaria was just beautiful and the itinerary was perfect. We wouldn't hesitate to go with Grand European again.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for your repeat business.  We truly appreciate it and hope to see you again very soon!
Friday, July 28, 2017
Vacation : Perfect itinerary, gorgeous landscapes and wonderful activities. Well-planned tour.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Did not meet us at airport, had to get our own taxi at our expense. Excessive layovers at airport. Not all tours were available as advertised.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment.The Optional tours are subject to change and based on availability of the local guides who manage them.\n
\n
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Vacation : Failed to pick up at airport, left us stranded. Not all activities were available as lasted in your.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We do have pre arranged transfer times for this trip which are at 10:00am and 1:00pm and the tour representatives arrive about 15 minutes prior to collect guests for the trip to the hotel. It looks like your flight arrived into Munich at 10:30am.We apologize if the wait for the 1:00pm transfer was longer than you had anticipated.
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Driver and guide were excellent
Vacation : Hotel Schillingshot was not good. Our back door would not lock Not a safe feeling . Glacier Express wasn't worth time . Nothing special
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We originally were scheduled for the Best of France tour, but after the Nice attack, GET accommodated us with ease to change to another trip.
Vacation : Only wish we could have spent more time in Munich, Salzburg, Vienna, and Innsbruck to enjoy the towns more, but, of course, that would have extended the trip and cost more.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : You are phenomenal !
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your kind words and your business. We truly do appreciate it! Grand European Travel
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Vacation : This was a trip of a lifetime! Truely Country roads with so many fabulous experiences! Couldn't be any better! Sheer comfort! Fabulous Tour Guide! A slew of new friends! Sights that rejuvenated our souls and warmed our hearts. Somebody worked really hard to make this a perfect 12 days! We are so grateful. Best money we ever spent and we would encourage anyone to take this fantastic trip with every excursion added! Thank you!
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Well organized...
Vacation : Great itinerary, with excellent Tour Director....Ellen and experienced professional driver... Hotels are 4 stars, could add more 5 stars hotel.....
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I truly enjoyed our bus driver, the very comfortable bus (with wifi) and our hotels.
Vacation : The trip was memorable!
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : good guide, river. service, on time.
Vacation : good offer of places to visit
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We had to switch our flight at the last minute due to weather conditions in Dallas. Grand European was very easy to reach and work with to alter our arrangements.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're very happy to hear that you arrived safely and we could help avoid a delay due to the weather problems. We have taken note of your disappointment with the food choices and will be passing this on to our Quality Control team. Thank you for bring it to our attention. Grand European Travel
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Vacation : Overall the trip was great, but do have some recommendations: a. Please have more food options at dinners for those with a simple palette. The hotel dinner choices looked great on a plate but did not do much for hunger. b. We stopped in Melk for 90 minutes but did not have sufficient time for lunch. We ended up throwing away 30 euros of food due to the time constraints. Please skip the wine tasting event that came after this stop and allow 2 hours for lunch.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Service was prompt, thorough and excellent
Vacation : The tour was well thought out and covered many points of interest. Will recommend this tour package to anyone interested in Austria and Switzerland.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Comfortable and safe - the coach, hotels, services were top notch.
Vacation : The tour covered more than I expected and the optional experiences were exceptional.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Excellent tour manager.
Response from Grand European Travel:
That sounds like a clean sweep in our books! Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We hope to welcome you on another vacation very soon. Grand European Travel
Monday, October 19, 2015
Vacation : Interesting sights, optional excursions and local experts. Hotels and restaurants would be recommended to others.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Hotels or tour director insisted on a wake up call one and a half hours before departure in the morning even though we only needed 45 minutes. Guide for the Eagles Nest tour told us that Hitler was really not a bad person and that if he did not exterminate the six million Jews someone else would have. He name was Natasha.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're apologize about the early wake up calls. We do like to allow enough time for our guests to enjoy the complementary breakfasts and a leisurely start to their morning before starting the day. We appreciate the feedback. Grand European Travel
Monday, October 19, 2015
Vacation : Good
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Driver was outstanding and the tour director was excellent and very informative. Both are an asset to the company.
Vacation : The tour was well organized and we were kept busy enjoying the scenery and the extra options were well selected . Would recommend the trip to anyone.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : the pickup at the airport was very poor. We received an email telling us where to go and that no one would be there until the pickup time -b ut that leaves you wondering if you are in the right place etc. Did not happen with other tour groups before.
Response from Grand European Travel:
This trip does have a very full itinerary, and all of our vacations require a great deal of walking. We do apologize for the difficulty you experienced and thank you for bringing them to our attention. In regards to the meals, we will be sure to share your comments and suggestions with Insight Vacations' Quality Control team. Grand European Travel
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Vacation : We were not warned about the steep walk back to the village after King Ludwigs castle. There were many of us in our 70''s that found it very difficult. Had I been warned I don't think I would have tried it - but it was presented as a 15 minute walk back to the bus. It was not and it was straight down hill - with bad knees. Many places I felt we did not have enough time to really appreciate the places we were seeing - constant be back on the bus in 45 minutes etc. And when we did have time in a town, very little attempt to advise us on what there was to do that was close enough to walk to. However I loved the mountains and the train trips, the lunch at Melk, seeing ludwigs' castle, the crypt in Vienna, lots of things. The food that came with the tour was generally poor to bad. The breakfasts were fine because there were a lot of choices, but the evening meals were very poor. Often my husband could not eat any of them. when we ate on our own we had wonderful meals at hotels and restaurants. I think you should rethink this part of your tour or perhaps Insites part in the food.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Would only give tour a fair rating for the following reasons: Too much squeezed into 10 days - sacrificed quality for quantity. Stayed in 7 hotels. $ were for one night. We are energetic but there was little time for reflecting, reorganizing. 11 options in 10 days excessive and many should have been included in the package. Only two options were listed in the brochure. All options not specified until two weeks preceding the tour. This is very misleading. Taking all options would have increased cost by an unacceptable $1212 or 16%. San Viet and Oberagamma couls easily have been deleted and time used for other places such as Vienna. On a couple of occasions my wife's dietary restrictions were not passed on. Fortunately the director interceded and corrected the situation. The local guide at Neuschwanstein was in a hurry and unresponsive. On the plus side were the director and driver, Gobelsburg Winery, local guide david, and several dinners.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear that you felt there were too many optionals on this trip. We try to include a balance of included sightseeing and the optional trips to provide a more rounded experience. Many of our guests choose to decline the optional experiences and have free time. We will pass on all of your comments to our Quality Control team for immediate review and we appreciate your feedback. Grand European Travel
Monday, October 5, 2015
Vacation : See above comments. Please note we used a poor rating because of the big jump from poor to good.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Service was excellent.
Vacation : The trip was wonderful The only problem we had was the accommodations in Slovenia and the Hilton in Innsbruck were not up to the standards of the rest of the tour or other tours we have been on. The rooms smelled and were dated. Otherwise the rest of the tour was excellent.
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything about the tour was excellent..Irene was awesome,we loved her ,she was very knowledgeable about each country as well as being fun and helpful. We enjoyed getting to know her very much. Rapid,our driver was also great,such a polite gentleman as well as being very helpful
Response from Grand European Travel:
Welcome home! I'm so happy to hear that you had a great trip and I hope we see you on another trip with us soon. Liz, Grand European Travel
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Vacation : Awesome. If we ever go on another tour we would certainly use your company and we have already recommended you to some friends. Trip of a lifetime for us!!
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Since Insite did the actual tour, this is for the enrollment process to sign up for the tour. Employees were very helpful in answering questions by phone and by email.
Vacation : Loved seeing the countryside instead of just the big cities. Enjoyed the extra excursions as well - well chosen. Nice comfortable hotels. Insite did our tour and the guide and driver were very friendly and made the tour lots of fun.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The itinerary was great, hitting the major sites, and giving us a chance to see the highlights at those sites. Grand European did an excellent job of putting everything together.
Vacation : The tour guide was excellent as was the bus and bus driver. The hotels were generally good and the scenery was fantastic.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great job by all.
Vacation : Very fun and interesting trip! Would like more of optional excursions to be part of base price!!
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The service was outstanding! Maureen De Selms
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. Karin is truly a gem and we are very lucky to have her as part of our team. Grand European Travel
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Vacation : We thoroughly enjoyed our trip with Grand European, & our guide, Karin, was outstanding. Her knowledge of history & geography was amazing! This was our 3rd trip with G.E. However, one of the hotels, which was listed as a Hilton, (in Vienna) was inferior to the others. The bathroom sink was plugged up, & curtains falling off the hooks. The other hotels were excellent. (our favorite was the hotel in Lucerne) Our tour group really complimented that hotel!) I would definitely recommend Grand European Tours! Maureen De Selms
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Sue Mason made our trip come alive. She has such a positive personality and so much knowledge of the areas we were traveling experience more that we could have hoped for.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Our Travel Directors are the best at making each vacation the very best it can be. They truly put everything they have in to it. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again soon. Grand European Travel
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Vacation : The areas and excursions were beautiful and fun. So glad we took them
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very efficient.
Vacation : Tour guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable about all the areas we covered. Also, driver was excellent.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We paid quite a bit extra to travel business/first class - but the company chose American/Usairways and at least one leg going and coming was an absolute waste of the extra money we paid - no video or movie, no electrical or USB plugs and the food was awful. Also, our flight was delayed by 4 hours so that we ended up missing an important lunch date in Munich that had been planned over 45 days in advance - we will NEVER use American/Usairways again - next time we will schedule our own airline so we can use Delta where we get actual service for the extra charge of business/first class. We also specified twin beds since we traveled as friends and not as a couple per se, yet most of the accommodations provided twin beds placed side by side as a double or queen configuration, without any extra room in the small rooms to actually separate the beds - which made the choice of twin beds completely superfluous superfluous
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are very disappointed to see that your trip failed to meet your expectations. Naturally we cannot control the airline delays or the type of aircraft they decide to use for certain flights, but we are are sorry to hear about the overall poor experience you had with American Airlines. A for the tour itself, we do show twin beds requested in your booking and that did get sent to all of the hotels involved. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of having to move the beds apart. We will be passing along your comments to our quality control team regarding food quality and overall value. Thank you for your feedback. Grand European Travel
Monday, July 13, 2015
Vacation : The included meals in this package were generally awful, NOT truly representative of good local cuisine (my family is German and French), and the optional packages were over priced for the value. We had hoped to use an established managed tour to take off some of the responsibility of optimizing travel - and were willing to pay the increased price that having someone else manage that tour and responsibility entailed - but the actual experience for what we paid assured us that in the future we must do our own arrangements to achieve a really good experience - and of course we will save money as well.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Communication with Grand European was timely and thorough.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much! We love to hear that everything went smoothly and you had an unbelievable experience. Thank you! Grand European Travel
Monday, July 6, 2015
Vacation : This was an unbelievable experience. Beautiful and run with true professionalism.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : It was great we had good experiance with sight seeing, country views and varieties of food. Hotel accomedation was also great.
Vacation : Country roads was the best. Austria was great specially the details of shooting the sound of music movie, mountains and hills. Ofcourse our tour guide Walter and Thomas the best careful driver made it more fun and exciting!!
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I felt comfortable and safe with all concerns and questions handled perfectly. The venues, eateries and lodgings were superb. A little hectic, but only because I took advantage of every extra activity offered.
Vacation : The planning of this trip was obviously very well thought out. The countries and cities were amazing. The route taken was exceedingly beautiful. The historical narrative was very thorough and presented very well.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our trip was well-planned and the agent was helpful at all times. There was one problem: When scheduling the trip, we were told we could only have a room with twin beds, rather than queen or king, which we preferred. Thankfully, our tour guide worked to make the change.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're so happy to see that you enjoyed Bavaria, Switzerland and Austria and that your travel director Sue Mason took such good care of you. She is a truly a talented lady and we are very lucky to have her as part of our team. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Grand European Travel-Guest Relations
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Vacation : As our tour guide, Sue Mason was wonderful. She saw to our every need and was very pleasant and informative. Also, our bus driver was amazing. Driving in the Alps, we always felt very safe with both of them.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I filled out a lengthy survey for GET on the tour.
Vacation : I aleady filled out a GET survey while still on the tour.
Request a Quote
  • Oberammergau 2020 - Insight Vacations Preview

    Oberammergau 2020 Passion Play Preview allows guests to book onto a confirmed 2020 trip and departure date for itineraries featuring the Passion Play in Oberammergau. Accommodation and tickets to this special event which only takes place once every 10 years are always in great demand and often sell out years in advance. Insight Vacations has been operating trips to Oberammergau for decades and has sourced first class tickets (best category) for the performances, has excellent local connections and is well versed in all the logistical aspects to make this a wonderfully seamless experience. By booking an Oberammergau preview trip, it does not guarantee that the itinerary will operate as per the 2018 or 2019 itinerary.

  • Payment conditions

    For bookings before September 30, 2019, on reservation an initial $350 per person, non-refundable deposit is due. On September 30, 2019, an additional $225 is due to confirm Passion Play ticket. For bookings from October 1, 2019 onwards, a non-refundable deposit of $575 per person is due on reservation. Final payment is due 90 days prior to trip departure. Bookings made within 90 days of departure must be paid in full when booking. No Early Payment Discounts, nor any other discounts, are applicable to the Oberammergau portion of the trip. Any fuel surcharges and/or government tax increases will still be payable by the guest.

Print Itinerary
  • U.S. citizens traveling to Germany, Austria, and Switzerland must have a current passport valid for six months beyond the conclusion of their trip. You can find information on how to apply for a passport here, and how to renew a passport here. No visa is required for U.S. citizens entering these countries.

  • The currency in Germany and Austria is the Euro (€).The currency in Switzerland is the Swiss Franc (CHF). Please note that Switzerland is not part of the European Union and thus is not obliged to convert to the Euro, however many prices are nonetheless indicated in euros to help travelers compare prices. Some Swiss merchants may accept euros but are not obliged to do so. Change given back will most likely be in Swiss francs.

    While it’s a good idea to bring some money for when you first arrive in Europe, you’ll usually find a better exchange rate in your destination.  The most convenient way to obtain cash is to use your ATM card at local banks in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. We recommend you also bring a valid credit card for purchases while you are traveling.  It is important that you inform your financial institutions of your travel plans before you leave home so they don’t flag your purchases as potentially fraudulent charges.

  • Traditional German cuisine is rich and delicious.  Try specialties including a variety of bratwurst with sauerkraut, cold cuts, spätzle and potato dumplings.  For dessert you cannot miss the world famous Black Forest Gateau.   Beer is a big part of German culture; sample a variety of German offerings including pilsner, Kölsch and sour beers.  In Frankfurt, try the local cider (Apfelwein).   Wine is also popular throughout Germany, and world-class whites are produced in the Rhine and Mosel regions. 

    Austrian cuisine is hearty and satisfying and reflects regional influences from Italy, Hungary, Germany and the Balkans. Try a variety of sausages including the popular Wiener Schnitzel and Viennese specialties such as goulash and apple strudel.

    Swiss cuisine is a flavorful blend of German, Italian, and French influences and a wide variety of regional offerings.  Specialty dishes include fondue and raclette (cheese dipping dishes), sausages and rösti (fried potato), bündnerfleisch (air-dried beef) and fondue bourguigon (cubes of steak with various sauces). Swiss pastries and desserts are excellent. There are also spirits made from fruit; the most popular are Kirsch, Pflümli and Williamine. And don’t miss out on the world-class selection of Swiss chocolate.

  • We recommend packing layers to save space in your suitcase and give you more options for how to dress.  It’s important to bring comfortable walking shoes and a waterproof jacket with a hood. For more helpful information please refer to our Packing Tips & Packing List.

  • A service charge is typically included in the price of food at restaurants in Germany, Austria and Switzerland.  When leaving a tip, it is appropriate to simply round up or add up to 10 percent to your bill.   Rather than leaving your money on the table, be prepared to leave it with your waiter when you pay your bill.  If you are expecting change, simply tell them how much you will need back after gratuity.

    At the end of your guided vacation, it’s customary to offer your motor coach driver and Travel Director a gratuity.  We recommend €3.00 per person/per day for your driver and €5.00 per person/per day for your Travel Director.  Recommended gratuity for a Local Host and Local Specialist is 1-2 euros per person, paid at the conclusion of each guided visit.  A convenient option is to prepay your tips before your departure.

  • Baggage on our trips is restricted to one large suitcase per person with dimensions not exceeding 30x19x10 inches and a maximum weight of 50 pounds. You are also permitted one piece of hand luggage, which should be small enough to fit under your coach seat or on the small overhead shelf compartment. Please note that luggage with an adjustable handle and wheels will not fit in the overhead compartment of the coach. Hotel porterage is included in your vacation.

  • You will need to be comfortable on your feet, walking and standing for up to three hours in various weather conditions.  All of our vacations involve walking, often on cobblestone and uneven surfaces in historic city centers.  In order to get the most out of your vacation you need to be able to comfortably walk 1-3 miles unassisted in one day, be in good condition and be able to keep pace with the group. 

    If you need any medications, it is important that you bring enough to last you the whole trip and keep them in your carry-on bag while you travel.

  • We highly recommend our optional Travel Protection Plan, which allows you to cancel for any reason up to 24 hours before departure. The plan also includes trip interruption, baggage loss or delay, and medical and emergency assistance. Click here for a summary of coverage details, terms and conditions.

Request a Quote
  • Oberammergau 2020 - Insight Vacations Preview

    Oberammergau 2020 Passion Play Preview allows guests to book onto a confirmed 2020 trip and departure date for itineraries featuring the Passion Play in Oberammergau. Accommodation and tickets to this special event which only takes place once every 10 years are always in great demand and often sell out years in advance. Insight Vacations has been operating trips to Oberammergau for decades and has sourced first class tickets (best category) for the performances, has excellent local connections and is well versed in all the logistical aspects to make this a wonderfully seamless experience. By booking an Oberammergau preview trip, it does not guarantee that the itinerary will operate as per the 2018 or 2019 itinerary.

  • Payment conditions

    For bookings before September 30, 2019, on reservation an initial $350 per person, non-refundable deposit is due. On September 30, 2019, an additional $225 is due to confirm Passion Play ticket. For bookings from October 1, 2019 onwards, a non-refundable deposit of $575 per person is due on reservation. Final payment is due 90 days prior to trip departure. Bookings made within 90 days of departure must be paid in full when booking. No Early Payment Discounts, nor any other discounts, are applicable to the Oberammergau portion of the trip. Any fuel surcharges and/or government tax increases will still be payable by the guest.

Accommodation: Hotel accommodation has been secured either in Oberammergau or close by in the picturesque villages of the Bavarian Alps. Please note that single and triple rooms are not available for the Oberammergau stay. Solo travelers and triple share guests will be accommodated in a twin room with a fellow solo traveler (of the same gender) for the duration of the stay.

Itineraries: Itinerary details such as hotels, meals, sightseeing inclusions, and price are subject to change.

Payment conditions: For bookings before September 30, 2019, on reservation an initial $350 per person, non-refundable deposit is due. On September 30, 2019, an additional $225 is due to confirm Passion Play ticket. For bookings from October 1, 2019 onwards, a non-refundable deposit of $575 per person is due on reservation. Final payment is due 90 days prior to trip departure. Bookings made within 90 days of departure must be paid in full when booking. No Early Payment Discounts, nor any other discounts, are applicable to the Oberammergau portion of the trip. Any fuel surcharges and/or government tax increases will still be payable by the guest.

Please note indicative prices are available on our website and final prices will be confirmed by August 31, 2019. If the overall Oberammergau & Trip price increases more than 15%, guests are eligible to cancel without penalty; if the price decreases, guests are entitled to the lower trip price.

Oberammergau Booking Conditions & Other Important Information

Guided Vacation

Reservations on or before 9/30/2019

Initial Deposit Interim Deposit
$350 (to hold booking) $225 (due 9/30/2019 to confirm Passion Play ticket)

Reservations after 9/30/2019

Deposit required Final Payment
$575 due 90 days before departure
No. of Days Penalty
170 days and over Deposit
169-120 days $350
119-46 days $575
45-22 days 100% of Oberammergau supplement + 25% of land-only price excl. Oberammergau
21-8 days 100% of Oberammergau supplement + 30% of land-only price excl. Oberammergau
7-1 days 100% of Oberammergau supplement + 50% of land-only price excl. Oberammergau
Departure Day/No show 100% of Oberammergau supplement + 100% of land-only price excl. Oberammergau

Air Tickets

Reservations on or before 9/30/2019

Deposit required Final Payment
As per airline policy As per airline policy

Reservations after 9/30/2019

Deposit required Final Payment (before departure)
As per airline policy As per airline policy
No. of Days Penalty
170 days and over $75 + airline charges
169-120 days $75 + airline charges
119-46 days $75 + airline charges
45-22 days $75 + airline charges
21-8 days $75 + airline charges
7-1 days $75 + airline charges
Departure Day/No show $75 + airline charges

Extra Accommodations

Reservations on or before 9/30/2019

Deposit required Final Payment
No additional deposit required No additional deposit required

Reservations after 9/30/2019

Deposit required Final Payment (before departure)
No additional deposit required In accordance with guided vacation
No. of Days Penalty
170 days and over $35
169-120 days $35
119-46 days $35
45-22 days $35 or 25% of accommodation price, whichever is higher
21-8 days $35 or 25% of accommodation price, whichever is higher
7-1 days 100% of accommodation price
Departure Day/No show 100% of accommodation price

Chargable Transfers

Reservations on or before 9/30/2019

Deposit required Final Payment
No additional deposit required No additional deposit required

Reservations after 9/30/2019

Deposit required Final Payment (before departure)
No additional deposit required In accordance with guided vacation
No. of Days Penalty
170 days and over $35
169-120 days $35
119-46 days $35
45-22 days $35 or 25% of accommodation price, whichever is higher
21-8 days $35 or 25% of accommodation price, whichever is higher
7-1 days 100% of transfer price
Departure Day/No show 100% of transfer price
Request a Quote
  • Oberammergau 2020 - Insight Vacations Preview

    Oberammergau 2020 Passion Play Preview allows guests to book onto a confirmed 2020 trip and departure date for itineraries featuring the Passion Play in Oberammergau. Accommodation and tickets to this special event which only takes place once every 10 years are always in great demand and often sell out years in advance. Insight Vacations has been operating trips to Oberammergau for decades and has sourced first class tickets (best category) for the performances, has excellent local connections and is well versed in all the logistical aspects to make this a wonderfully seamless experience. By booking an Oberammergau preview trip, it does not guarantee that the itinerary will operate as per the 2018 or 2019 itinerary.

  • Payment conditions

    For bookings before September 30, 2019, on reservation an initial $350 per person, non-refundable deposit is due. On September 30, 2019, an additional $225 is due to confirm Passion Play ticket. For bookings from October 1, 2019 onwards, a non-refundable deposit of $575 per person is due on reservation. Final payment is due 90 days prior to trip departure. Bookings made within 90 days of departure must be paid in full when booking. No Early Payment Discounts, nor any other discounts, are applicable to the Oberammergau portion of the trip. Any fuel surcharges and/or government tax increases will still be payable by the guest.

Be the First to Know!

Sign up for our emails and receive exclusive offers, travel information, announcements, and more!
Providing peace of mind and unparalleled service for over 40 years.