• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • SAVE $100 per person on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    SAVE $100 per person on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Country Roads of Croatia

Operated by: Insight Vacations

14 Days from $3,375 per person
Croatia, Korcula island

Countries Visited

Croatia, Slovenia ...more Croatia, Slovenia

Locations Visited

Zagreb, Opatija, Pula, Rovinj, Trogir, Split, Hvar, Dubrovnik, Ston ...more Zagreb, Opatija, Pula, Rovinj, Trogir, Split, Hvar, Dubrovnik, Ston
  1. Day 1 Welcome to Zagreb.

    Transfers to your hotel depart from Zagreb airport at 11:30 and 14:00. Relax and settle in or perhaps head for the romantic chestnut-lined Stross Promenade for your first views over the city. At 17:30, join your Travel Director for a Welcome Dinner with the opportunity to get to know your fellow travellers over a pleasant evening with wine.(Dinner with Wine)

    meals Dinner with Wine
    hotel Sheraton Zagreb Hotel.
  2. Day 2 Zagreb’s Twin Towns.

    Join your Local Expert to explore the two-tiered capital of Croatia. Drive through the squares of the Lower Town, Donji Grad, designed to give a sense of grandeur. See the Mimara Art Museum in Roosevelt Square and continue to Ban Josip Jelacic Square en route to the cathedral. Board the city's funicular to the medieval Upper Town, Gornji Grad. It's a network of little streets, stretching between the Kaptol and Gradec hills. View the former Presidential Palace, Stone Gate, St. Mark's Church and the Lotrščak Tower. The afternoon is at leisure. Relax and enjoy your hotel's amenities or perhaps take an Optional Experience to the Zagorje region to learn about the local traditions and visit the house of Marshall Tito?(Breakfast)

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Sheraton Zagreb Hotel.
  3. Day 3 The Postojna Caves and on to Belle-Epoque Opatija.

    Venture into Slovenia to visit the world-famous Postojna Caves. Step aboard the cave train and descend into a subterranean world of stunning stalactites, stalagmites, columns and curtains. Marvel at the five-metre tall Brilliant, the cave's most beautiful stalagmite, and come face-to-face with the eyeless, dragon-like human fish. Return to Croatia where your hotel is in the Belle Époque seaside-resort town of Opatija, nestled at the foot of Mount Učka. Take time to stroll by the luxurious villas along the tree-lined seafront promenade.(Breakfast / Dinner with Wine)

    meals Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel Reminsens Premium Grand Hotel Palace/Remisens Premium Heritage Hotel Imperial, Opatija.
  4. Day 4 Discover the Jewels of Istria.

    Cross the heart-shaped peninsula to explore the Jewels of Istria with your Local Expert. Visit the well-preserved first-century arena at Pula, scene of brutal gladiatorial battles in Roman times. Continue to the charming old town of Rovinj, rising directly from the sea. Wander through the cobbled streets lined with tempting shops, pastel-coloured bars and sidewalk cafes.(Breakfast)

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Reminsens Premium Grand Hotel Palace/Remisens Premium Heritage Hotel Imperial, Opatija.
  5. Day 5 Pristine Plitvice National Park.

    Enjoy the scenery of the Adriatic coast in the morning - journey past sparkling deep blue seas, studded with rocky islands, before heading inland to visit one of Europe’s great natural wonders. Zig-zagging timber footbridges will lead you through the blue-green beauty of Plitvice Lakes National Park, a scenic wonderland of 16 interconnected lakes, flanked by waterfalls and primeval forest.(Breakfast / Dinner with Wine)

    meals Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel Hotel Lyra, Ličko Petrovo Selo, Plitvice Lakes.
  6. Day 6 The Dalmatian Coast to Split.

    The green forests of Plitvice Lakes National Park give way to pebble-dashed shores lapped by turquoise waters. Witness a dramatic change in landscape, as you travel through Mediterranean olive groves on your way to Trogir, founded by the Greeks in 3rd century B.C. Admire the cathedral and Renaissance Čipiko Palace before continuing to the historic port of Split. In the evening, don't miss the opportunity of dinner in a traditional Konoba.(Breakfast)

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Hotel President Solin, Split.
  7. Day 7 Island Hopping to Hvar.

    In the morning, enjoy a walking tour. 1,700 years ago, the Roman Emperor Diocletian built his palace here and today it forms the nucleus of the Old Town. A Local Expert will lead you through the labyrinthine streets and arcaded squares to see St. Duje's - originally Diocletian's Mausoleum - and the Temple of Jupiter, which today is a baptistery, as well as the Golden Gate. Continue your venture underground, to explore the cellars. Your island-hopping adventure begins here. Cross the azure waters of the Adriatic to spend two nights on Hvar, famed for being the sunniest island in the country and boasting an interior dotted with lofty mountain peaks and aromatic fields of lavender.(Breakfast / Dinner with Wine)

    meals Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel Amfora, Hvar Grand Beach Resort/Adriana, Hvar Spa Hotel.
  8. Day 8 Exploring the Island of Hvar.

    Enjoy a full day at leisure, as you explore the hidden coves, secluded beaches, old monasteries and villages of Hvar. Perhaps stroll around seaside Stari Grad, known for being one of Europe’s oldest towns and a UNESCO World Heritage Site? Maybe visit the local museum with its impressive collection of archeological finds dating back to Greek antiquity or enjoy fresh seafood at a local restaurant? You could even see the glitz and glamour of Hvar Town with its yacht-lined marinas, famous for being the trendy playground of the rich and famous.(Breakfast)

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Amfora, Hvar Grand Beach Resort/Adriana, Hvar Spa Hotel.
  9. Day 9 On the Trail of Marco Polo to Korčula.

    Cruise back to the mainland and continue your journey to the island of Korčula, known for its grace, history and rich culture. The perfect place for relaxing, the island is filled with quiet coves and small beaches that dot the southern coastline. Enjoy leisure time, perhaps exploring the medieval towers and fortifying walls of the Old Town or sunbathing on one of the island’s many lovely beaches?(Breakfast / Dinner with Wine)

    meals Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel Hotel Liburna, Korčula.
  10. Day 10 Captivating Korčula.

    In the morning, join a knowledgeable Local Expert for a walking tour of the Old Town. Marvel at spectacular views of the mainland as you stroll towards the main square of Korčula where the Cathedral of St. Marc dominates the ancient skyline. Hear about local legends and history from your Local Expert, stopping by the Town Museum, the Bishop’s Palace with its treasury collection and the Town Hall. Visit the ruins of the house where - according to local legend - Marco Polo was born. The rest of the day is at your leisure to enjoy the narrow streets, beautiful churches and magnificent palaces of this charming medieval town.(Breakfast)

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Hotel Liburna, Korčula.
  11. Day 11 Dubrovnik, Pearl of the Adriatic.

    Journey to the beautiful southern slopes of the Pelješac Peninsula. Should weather permit, cruise the tranquil waters of the bay of Mali Ston and admire the surrounding untouched natural beauty, as you enjoy a glass of traditional Croatian brandy. Stop at a shellfish farm and meet Tomislav, a local oyster farmer, to learn about the cultivation and harvest of oysters. Enjoy a delicious Sea-to-Table tasting of the fresh shellfish, accompanied with a glass of wine. Continue to the walled town of Dubrovnik, 'paradise on Earth' according to George Bernard Shaw. Join a walking exploration of the city, guided by a Local Expert. Get a glimpse into local life, as you explore the stone-paved streets inside the 16th century bastions of the Old Town. Walk past Onofrio's Fountain, see the Old Jewish Quarter and the synagogue, and marvel at the grandeur of the cathedral and the Franciscan and Dominican monasteries. With the rest of the day at your leisure, perhaps enjoy the luxuries of the five-star Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, your home for the next three nights. Located moments away from the Adriatic with spectacular views of the Elafiti Islands, your hotel provides exclusive access to a private beach. In the evening, there is the option to enjoy dinner at a family home in a local small village. Meet the family who will explain how they make olive oil using an antique olive oil press, before savouring a freshly prepared meal served with wine.(Breakfast / Morning Tea)

    meals Breakfast, Morning Tea
    hotel Hotel Dubrovnik Palace.
  12. Day 12 Optional Montenegro Experience.

    Spend the day at your leisure or enjoy an optional visit to Montenegro, journeying along the coast to the pretty port town of Kotor, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. A photographer's dream, capture one of the most beautiful parts of the bay and learn about some of the compelling history of this area. Return to Dubrovnik and enjoy an evening at your leisure. Perhaps start at a trendy wine bar, followed by dinner at a romantic sidewalk cafe?(Breakfast)

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Hotel Dubrovnik Palace.
  13. Day 13 Dubrovnik at Leisure.

    Make the most of a day at leisure in the Pearl of the Adriatic. Relax by the pool, shop in the markets or perhaps take the opportunity to visit Cavtat, one of the most enchanting seaside resorts in Croatia? This evening, should weather permit, you're invited to embark on a dazzling cruise around the fabled bay of Dubrovnik. Gaze out at views of the glistening Adriatic and the mighty city walls rising straight from the cliffs before your cruise moors in the Old Town Harbour. Start your Celebration Dinner with the national favourite drink, a glass of grappa. Savour authentic flavours of local specialties washed down with locally produced wine.(Breakfast / Dinner with Wine)

    meals Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel Hotel Dubrovnik Palace.
  14. Day 14 Dubrovnik Airport.

    Your journey draws to a close after breakfast. Departure transfers arrive at Dubrovnik airport at 05:00, 09:00 and 11:30.(Breakfast)

    meals Breakfast
route_map
Price Includes

Included Insight Services

  • Our highly-skilled Travel Director will ensure your journey is seamless, serving as your expert guide, consummate organiser, and friend overseas.
  • Enjoy the comfort of Insight's luxury, air-conditioned, 40-seat coach with double the standard legroom and onboard washroom.
  • Personal radio headsets give you the freedom to wander during visits to famous highlights, without missing any of your Local Expert's fascinating commentary.
  • We carry your bags for you and promptly deliver them to your hotel door.
  • Hotel and restaurant tips are included - you'll never have to worry about how much to give, nor search for foreign currency. We also include all taxes and porterage charges at hotels.
  • Stay connected with friends and family with our complimentary coach and hotel Wi-Fi (where available).
  • From time to time, your Travel Director will enchant you with an Insight Flourish, which is a local specialty representing the destination.
  • If your arrival and/or departure flights are as per the itinerary start and end dates, then transfers are available at scheduled times. If your flights are outside these times, or you have booked additional nights accommodation with Insight Vacations, you may purchase transfers or make your own way from/to the airport.

Authentic Dining

  • Mali Ston: Meet a local oyster farmer and learn about the cultivation of oysters, before enjoying a delicious Sea-to-Table tasting of fresh shellfish and local wine.
  • Dubrovnik: Toast the culmination of your journey with a typical Dalmatian Coast Celebration Dinner, accompanied with wine and grappa.
  • Dining Summary: 13 Breakfasts (B), 1 Morning tea (MT) and 6 Dinners with Wine (DW), all with tea or coffee.

Stay in Style

  • Opatija: Located just steps away from beautiful Slatina beach and its sweeping golden sand and emerald water, this newly renovated luxury hotel is the perfect getaway for those looking for a tranquil beach stay. Its art nouveau style dates back to 1885 and provides a grand, regal ambiance, with its high ceilings and antique furniture.
  • Opatija: A striking neo-baroque property that offers an idyllic location overlooking the Adriatic Sea, Remisens Premium Grand Hotel Palace is just a five-minute walk from the beach. With its own wellness and spa centre, this polished hotel is the perfect place to unwind and rejuvenate.
  • Dubrovnik: The Hotel Dubrovnik Palace offers spectacular sea views and excellent facilities.

Top Rated Highlights

  • Zagreb: Your Local Expert guides you this two-tiered capital. Explore Donji Grad, the Lower Town, and see the Mimara Art Museum in Roosevelt Square, Ban Josip Jelacic Square and the cathedral.
  • Zagreb: Ride the funicular to Gornji Grad, the medieval Upper Town, to view the former Presidential Palace, Stone Gate, St. Mark's Church and the Lotrščak Tower.
  • Postojna Caves: Enter by mini-train into these world-famous cave systems, before walking through an illuminated fairyland of stalactites and stalagmites.
  • Opatija: Led by your Local Expert, spend a day discovering the Jewels of Istria, including the sparkling seas of Rovinj and the gleaming white stone of the Roman arena at Pula.
  • Plitvice Lakes: Visit this UNESCO World Heritage Site and marvel at the water wonderland of Plitvice National Park as you walk along stunning cascades, guided by your Local Expert.
  • Trogir: During your orientation, see the Čipiko Palace and Romanesque cathedral.
  • Split: Explore above and below the Roman Emperor Diocletian’s palace. A Local Expert guides you through labyrinthine streets to see St. Duje's, the Temple of Jupiter, the Golden Gate and the Cellars.
  • Split: Sightseeing with your Local Expert continues through the old town. Walk through the Jewish Quarter to reach Narodni Trg, the centre of Old Split. Continue to Trg Braće Radić, translated as the Square of the Radić brothers, but better known to the locals as Voćni Trg, or the Fruit Square.
  • Split: Cruise to the sunniest island of the country, Hvar, your home for the next two nights.
  • Hvar: Explore the coves and hidden beaches and ascend the lofty peaks from where there are magnificent views over this beautiful island.
  • Hvar: Cruise back to the mainland to continue your journey.
  • Korčula: Discover this fascinating island during your walking exploration of the Old Town with a Local Expert. See the main square, cathedral, Town Museum, Bishop's Palace and Town Hall. Hear about local legends and visit the ruins of the supposed birthplace of Marco Polo.
  • Ston: Cruise to this quaint coastal village by private boat.
  • Dubrovnik: Explore the Pearl of the Adriatic with your Local Expert. Walk the stone-paved streets of the Old Town to see Onofrio's Fountain, Rector's Palace and the medieval city walls. Admire the Franciscan and Dominican monasteries.
  • Dubrovnik: As the sun descends and should the weather be favourable, enjoy a relaxing cruise around the fabled bay of Dubrovnik.
  • Scenic Drives: Admire the stunning scenery of the Adriatic Coast, the Dalmatian Coast, Plitvice Lakes National Park and Pelješac Peninsula.

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Gloria Boyett
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Service
I have taken 5 trips with Grand European Travels and I have another trip planned for September. Rob Rainwater is my "go to" Travel Specialist whenever I book. He's always there with the answers I need, whether I call or e-mail. He solves all my travel problems and gives me helpful hints to assist me in my plans. For my last trip, I realized that my flight's arrival time was later than the last scheduled bus pick-up at the airport. Rob arranged for a special pick-up at the airport for us, and when we arrived in Zagreb, our driver was there waiting for us, right on schedule, just as Rob had promised. Rob makes my booking so much easier because I can always count on him to give me accurate information and advice. For me, Rob takes the worry out of planning a trip.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your lovely comments about Rob. We will be sure to share them with him. We appreciate your repeat business and couldn't be happier to see how much you enjoyed beautiful Croatia!
Monday, July 15, 2019
Vacation
Croatia is a beautiful country, filled with history and culture. Our travel director told us about each city's background, all the wars and conflicts the country has suffered, and provided us with helpful information throughout the trip. We were very fortunate to have excellent travel companions on this tour, too, which always helps make the experience a pleasant one. The seaside hotels were lovely, the cities we visited were incredible, and the food was delicious!
Trusted Customer
Friday, June 28, 2019
Service
Always responsive, helpful, and cheerful.
Vacation
Exceptional hotels, food, educational components, and itinerary.
Kimberly Wendt
Friday, June 21, 2019
Service
Great booking.
Vacation
Great experiences, food, scenery
Joseph Bejsovec
Friday, May 10, 2019
Service
Viking is good. GET is bad. Viking sends voyagers to a heartland AP (Chicago, Denver, Atlanta, Minneapolis, SLC) to start and end the flight. GET sends people hell and gone, saying "it's because of our arrangements." So GET gets kickbacks and clients get the shaft. Outbound we flew to Houston with a five hour layover. On the return we flew directly over Boise for SFO adding 3 hours to the flight, and two hours to the international flight (SFO took 11 and a half hours) I have to protest the turnaround time of one hour at the international European AP because one hour is not enough time to do passport, find the bag, customs, reenter the bag, go thru security again the run like hell for the airplane which is at the far end of the airport. So why don't I make my own arrangements? I'm not a travel agency, and it seems neither is GET.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear about your frustrating experience with your flights. Our air department always books the most direct flights available at the time you book your trip. However, Croatia flights are limited and coming from Boise would require two plane changes no matter where you connected through or who you use to secure your flights. We are glad to see , however, that you enjoyed Croatia and the tour.
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Vacation
Insight did a fine job, and the ground tour was splendid
Ester Friedberg Berkeley
Monday, September 3, 2018
Service
Optional tours poor and not worth the money. Some of the hotels were not even close to 5 star. Hotel food very disappointing. My return trip was terrible 9 hour layover in Frankfurt for a 70 year old, what were the air department thinking. I found out there was an earlier flight with a much shorter layover with ample time on the connection. Very disappointed
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear that this trip did not meet your expectations. We do book the most direct flights available at the time you book your tour but can always look at other options if given enough notice and there is availability on the plane. We will share your feedback with our teams for immediate review.
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Vacation
Although Croatia is beautiful my trip there disappointed
Trusted Customer
Sunday, June 3, 2018
Service
Provided great discounts. Timely updates via email. Good selection of tours.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thanks for sharing your experience with GET! Hope you had a wonderful time on your Croatia vacation, what a beautiful place to visit. Happy travels.
Monday, June 4, 2018
Vacation
Beautiful country. Would have liked more inside visits.
Susan Bagley
Sunday, May 20, 2018
Service
Excellent transportation and bus driver (Paulo). Our destinations in Croatia, Slovenia and Montenegro took us from from scenic river towns, islands, caves, hikes around beautiful water falls, etc. Wonderful. Our guide, Karin Kollerova, took care of us like we were family, as well as informing us of the history and culture of the areas we visited. A wonderful way to spend my 75th birthday.
Response from Grand European Travel:
How wonderful to spend your birthday in beautiful Croatia! We are so happy that you enjoyed your trip and for taking the time to let us know.  Thank you!
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Vacation
excellent hotels, personalized service, great itinerary
Linda Jackson
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Service
Country Roads of Croatia was a terrific tour. The guide, Karin Kollarova, was outstanding. She had knowledge and caring in abundance. The 'out of town' experiences were a special treat which I never would have expected to have; to meet real families in their homes and to share experiences and food with them was over the top! I would give this tour a 5-star except my roommate and I did not receive the pre trip itinerary or the welcome letter from Karin. I called your office the day before the trip and they sent the info and vouchers but we had been looking forward to reading it over and deciding on what extra tours we would take.
Vacation
Great value for the money; I just don't have a lot of money. I will continue trying to take a trip a year with GET.
Joan Delforge
Monday, May 14, 2018
Service
They answered all questions as we were preparing for the trip. Yes, I would recommend them to others planning trips.
Vacation
It was an interesting and fun trip. I selected most of the optional tours and they were worthwhile.
Trusted Customer
Monday, May 14, 2018
Service
From the first inquiry to picking the right dates & convenient flights, the travel specialist Barbara Gardner was excellent !
Vacation
The optional tour of the lavender fields in Hvar didn’t mention that it was seasonal, so we didn’t get to see the lavender fields,
See More Reviews
Back To Top