• SAVE $150 per person on Airfare - Ends May 31, 2019

    SAVE $150 per person on Airfare - Ends May 31
  • Save 5% - Pay in Full by August 29, 2019

    Save 5% - Pay in Full by August 29
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Easy Pace Budapest, Vienna & Prague (Winter Season)

10 Days from $2,138 per person

Style: Premium | Pace: Leisurely

These three capitals, lush with magnificent cathedrals, imperial palaces and majestic castles, stand at the geographical heart of mainland Europe. Their history and culture are majestically intertwined by the powerful Habsburg dynasty.

This page shows Winter Season departures and itinerary; click here to see the main season version of this tour!

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

Print Itinerary

Overview

These three capitals, lush with magnificent cathedrals, imperial palaces and majestic castles, stand at the geographical heart of mainland Europe. Their history and culture are majestically intertwined by the powerful Habsburg dynasty.

This page shows Winter Season departures and itinerary; click here to see the main season version of this tour!

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

  1. On arrival at Budapest Ferenc Liszt International Airport, enjoy a complimentary transfer to your hotel at 10 am, 1 pm or 3:30 pm. Meet your Travel Director and travel companions at 6 pm. Tonight you are in for a treat with your Welcome Dinner at Gundel, one of Budapest's most renowned restaurants for over a hundred years. Dine in elegance as you savor hearty, Hungarian delicacies accompanied with specially selected Hungarian wine.

    meal(s):Dinner with Wine
    hotel:InterContinental Budapest
  2. Drive along the elegant boulevards en route to Heroes' Square. Across the river in Buda, walk with your Local Expert along the medieval cobblestone streets of the Castle district to visit Matthias Church and admire sweeping views from the Fisherman's Bastion over the exquisite Parliament building. Make your way to a traditional strudel house to see pastry chefs at work, as they prepare delicious sweet strudel by stretching the dough and readying fillings. Enjoy a delectable taste of this famous delicacy paired with a rich aromatic coffee. Spend the rest of the day exploring the city at your leisure. This evening, perhaps you could stop for an aperitif of Hungarian Pálinka in an elegant café in the old city or maybe opt for a glittering dinner cruise along the Danube.

    meal(s):Breakfast, Morning Tea
    hotel:InterContinental Budapest
  3. The day is at leisure to immerse yourself in Budapest's history, culture and gastronomy. Perhaps, visit a thermal bath (an institution in Budapest), spend time browsing the boutiques on Vaci Street or relax in a sidewalk café. In the evening, you are invited by your EatWith host to a Dine-at-Home experience. Sit down to a hearty Hungarian meal and learn about life in this enchanting city.

    meal(s):Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel:InterContinental Budapest
  4. Travel past the remains of the Roman settlement of Aquincum and along the Danube to the picturesque riverside village of Szentendre. This community has long been the haunt of artists, enchanted by its brightly colored houses and quaint churches. Then, journey westward for a stop in the pretty town of Győr, located on the confluence of the Danube, Rába and Rábca rivers. Cross the border and continue to stately Vienna, known for its elegant coffee houses and lavish architecture steeped in history. This evening, enjoy a Dine-Around experience from you choice of specially selected restaurants.

    meal(s):Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel:Hilton Vienna
  5. Much of Vienna's present-day charm is due to the long reign of the Habsburgs. Join a Local Expert for a private visit of Maria Theresa's Schönbrunn Palace and its formal gardens. Then ready your camera for a dazzling drive around the famous Ring Road. This grand boulevard, built along the lines of the old city walls, showcases many of the capital's architectural masterpieces, including the Opera House, magnificent Hofburg Imperial Residence, Austrian Parliament Building and Karlskirche. The afternoon is at your leisure.

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Hilton Vienna
  6. Discover the regal grandeur of Vienna, as you explore at your own pace. Perhaps start at St. Stephen's Cathedral—one of Europe's great Gothic structures—or browse the shops of the bustling Kärntnerstrasse. You may wish to add another capital to your travels with a visit across the Slovakian border to Bratislava. Ask your Travel Director to recommend local attractions and restaurants.

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Hilton Vienna
  7. Once over the Czech border, continue to picturesque Český Krumlov where you'll start with a brief orientation tour of this fairy-tale town, straight out of the Middle Ages. Enjoy some free time to explore and appreciate views of the Vltava River. Wander through the cobblestone, traffic-free streets, past colorful houses that lead up to the finest castle in the land. In the afternoon, continue through the green Bohemian countryside to Prague.

    meal(s):Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel:Hotel Royal Prague
  8. Join a Local Expert for a guided visit to one of Europe's most beautiful and historic cities. Start with the 1,000-year-old Prague Castle, where you can admire the stained glass of St. Vitus Cathedral and spectacular views over the Old Town. Finish in the Old Town Square where the mechanical antics of the Astronomical Clock's glockenspiel delight onlookers each hour. The city is then yours to explore. Maybe take a river cruise through the heart of the city or walk in the footsteps of kings along the Royal Route. Czechs are passionate about their beer, so be sure to try the local lagers, alongside the Czech cuisine.

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Hotel Royal Prague
  9. Wind along cobbled lanes and discover a treasure-trove of hidden gems, as you explore Prague at your own pace. Perhaps cross the river to the castle district and experience the real Prague, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. This evening, tantalize your taste buds with a rousing Celebration Dinner of local specialties at a restaurant offering magnificent views over the city. Dobrou chuť!

    meal(s):Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel:Hotel Royal Prague
  10. Your journey comes to an end after breakfast. Departure transfers arrive at Prague airport at 8 am and 10 am.

    meal(s):Breakfast
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary
  • Definite Departure
  • Christmas Markets
  • Festive Celebrations
Depart Date Return Date Price Discount Availability Price
1 Nov 19 10 Nov 19 $2,250$2,138pp SAVE: $112Pay by Aug 29AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
8 Nov 19 17 Nov 19 $2,250$2,138pp SAVE: $112Pay by Aug 29AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
15 Nov 19 24 Nov 19 $2,250$2,138pp SAVE: $112Pay by Aug 29AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Christmas Markets
29 Nov 19 8 Dec 19 checkmark $2,250$2,138pp SAVE: $112Pay by Aug 29AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Christmas Markets
6 Dec 19 15 Dec 19 $2,250$2,138pp SAVE: $112Pay by Aug 29AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Festive Celebrations
23 Dec 19 1 Jan 20 checkmark $2,625$2,494pp SAVE: $131Pay by Aug 29AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Festive Celebrations
23 Dec 19 1 Jan 20 checkmark $2,625$2,494pp SAVE: $131Pay by Aug 29AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Festive Celebrations
28 Dec 19 6 Jan 20 checkmark $2,595$2,465pp SAVE: $129Pay by Aug 29AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
3 Apr 20 12 Apr 20 $2,350$2,233pp SAVE: $117Pay by Aug 29AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
10 Apr 20 19 Apr 20 $2,350$2,233pp SAVE: $117Pay by Aug 29AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
  • Christmas Markets: This departure contains visits to select Christmas Markets
  • Festive Celebrations: Christmas and/or New Year Celebrations have been arranged for these departures.

Price is per person and is based on two people sharing a twin bedded room. Single rooms are available at a supplement.

Single Room Supplement: from $560 per person

Triple Room Discount: $10 per person

Gratuities: Option to pre-pay gratuities for Travel Director and Driver $116 per person.

Airport Transfers: On arrival at Budapest Ferenc Liszt International Airport, your transfer will leave for your hotel at 10 am, 1 pm and 3:30 pm. Departure transfers on the last travel day will arrive at Prague airport at 8 am and 10 am.

AARP Members are entitled to an exclusive Member Benefit Discount on all Grand European Travel vacations. Plus receive a free travel gift!  Call Toll Free: 1-866-847-3858 for details.

Print Itinerary

  • Professional Travel Director Professional Travel Director
  • Sightseeing with Local Experts Sightseeing with Local Experts
  • Cultural Enrichment Cultural Enrichment
  • Expertly Selected Hotels Expertly Selected Hotels
  • VIP Access VIP Access
  • WIFI on Coach and in Hotels WIFI on Coach and in Hotels
  • Hotel Tips Hotel Tips
  • Most Meals Most Meals
  • Personal Flight Options Personal Flight Options

Included Quality Dining

9 breakfasts, 1 morning tea, 5 dinners with wine, all with tea or coffee.

Festive Dinners: December 23 departure—Christmas Day in Budapest and New Year's Eve in Prague; December 28 departure—New Year's Eve in Vienna. These meals will replace included meals

Top Rated Highlights

  • Budapest: In new town Pest, visit Heroes' Square and spend some time in the popular pedestrian shopping street of Váci utca. With a Local Expert, visit the colorful Matthias Church in the heart of Budapest's Castle District. Gaze out over the Danube and giant domed Hungarian Parliament Building from the heights of the Fisherman's Bastion
  • Szentendre: Explore the maze of lanes, churches and colorful houses in this pleasant riverside village
  • Győr: Stop in this pretty town known for its Baroque charm
  • Vienna: The sheer opulence of Schönbrunn Palace indulges your senses. Stand beneath frescoed ceilings, crystal chandeliers and gilded Rococo frames where Mozart performed as a six-year-old prodigy. Tour the Ring Road seeing the Hofburg Imperial Palace, Opera House, Austrian Parliament Building and Karlskirche
  • Český Krumlov: Roam the cobbled streets of the picture-postcard town as you discover views of the famous castle
  • Prague: Bewitched by the gargoyles of St. Vitus Cathedral and ghosts of Bohemian Kings, experience a private tour with a local historian through the atmospheric courtyards of Prague Castle. Visit the Old Town Square and see the Astronomical Clock that delights onlookers every hour
  • Scenic Drives: Relax and admire the scenery as you travel through the Vienna Woods and Bohemia
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary

Reviews

Steven Leahy
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Excellent customer service from start to finish. Our hotel & flight reservations we're handled perfectly. The trip itself was fascinating & our Travel Director was warm, knowledgeable and fun.
Vacation : Excellent service & friendly & professional staff.
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Promotion was good and booking was smooth. Agent was thorough and responsive. Tour guide was very personable, knowledgeable and organized. Driver was outstanding, Some hotels were better than others, group dinners were very good. Overall very satisfied with GET product and personnel.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your trip to Budapest, Vienna & Prague. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We appreciate your comments.
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Vacation : Cities were interesting, local guides were great, tour guide was very reliable and personable. Crowds were large and sometimes hampered enjoyment, but scheduling was adjusted to try to mitigate impact.
Saturday, October 13, 2018
Laura Dolfi Butler
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Trip started out wonderful....hotel beautiful dining experience great. Our second hotel was nothing in comparison to the first. The in home dining was ok but nothing to write home about. Our last hotel while clean and modern was "Goth" in style with black dark walls poor lighting and was not close to downtown. Everything was supposed to be premium and only the time in Budapest was. Our tour guide INSISTED on keeping the air conditioning cold on the bus to the point that we were putting on whatever coat or jacket we had. As a result I was thrown into a horrific upper respiratory asthma attack which has not subsided two weeks at home and I've had to see the doctor twice already. The dining experiences were interesting but the meal was virtually the same menu every time.
Vacation : See the comments in the first section.
Friday, October 5, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : This was my 5th trip in 6 years and while the locations we visited delivered all the “WOW” I expected, the tour “director” sadly missed some key opportunities for our group to become cohesive. Name tags were not available at the welcome event which is where we first meet each other...actually I believe it was day 2 or 3 when we got them and were not enthusiastically encouraged to wear them, so the next day some did and some didn’t and he didn’t even know our names by the end of the tour. We did not rotate coach seats so people stayed in their little groups and same seats, it was just not the same as previous tours. The accommodations in city #1 were fabulous as usual, city #2 were satisfactory, and city #3 were dark and way out of town, not up to par with what I’ve come to know with your trips. The weather was wonderful and the places we saw were historic and memorable. We arranged for ourselves a trip to Melk Abbey and it remains the most outstanding memory for me, but we did that on our own. If the trip were reversed, beginning in Prague and ending in Budapest, I would have left the tour happier. I have more thoughts on the TD but this is not the place to post them.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We will be sure to share them with Insight Vacations for immediate review. Happy to see that the trip was memorable overall.
Friday, October 5, 2018
Vacation : See first box for extensive explanation.
Monday, October 1, 2018
Marilyn Faber
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The trip over all was wonderful and the 5th time we have used insight travel (GET) Our disappointment was with the tour guide Peter DeVrise. It took 3 days to get name tags and he was not interested in starting on the bus a seat rotation so we could get to know everyone better. Therefore some people we never spoke to even though we are outgoing people by nature. He seemed burned out and repeated non essentials frequently on his opinion of things.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand that the Travel Director often sets the mood for the entire trip and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We will be sure to share this information with Insight Vacations for immediate review
Monday, October 1, 2018
Vacation : cites we wanted to see and the leisure time to do part of our exploring on our own.
Sunday, September 23, 2018
Robert Bergad
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : First time we used the service. Booking was flawless. Liked the fact that we had ample free time to do what we wanted to do and not be bound to the group for the whole trip.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're so happy to hear that our booking process was "flawless", that's what we aim for! We'll pass on your comment about the hotel in Prague, our team strives to give you the best possible experience and will be glad for your input. Thank you for sharing!
Monday, September 24, 2018
Vacation : Choice of hotel in Prague was a bummer.
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Lorraine Cox
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Didn"t inform us of the hotels we stayed in. Two out of three of the Hotels were just to small and accomodations were lacking.
Vacation : They should have brought us to see museums and art galleries . The tour got to be boring at times and the endless walking and mostly passing places I would have loved to see.The hotels were atrocious to say the least. The people on this tour could not stand the hotels we stayed in esp Prague and Vienna. I couldn't believe the amount paid for this trip and to tell us we stayed in 4 or 5 star hotels was a bad joke. The people in all the cities we stayed in worked hard and were friendly to our tour group. Another concern was having to buy bottled water to brush our teeth. The cost of that added on to our bill was just to much for me. Grand European should tell its customers the truth about these hotels before any other people book this trip or change hotels to the Hilton,which I thought we would be in.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your honest feedback. We strive to provide clean, comfortable and convenient accommodations for all our trips, and appreciate hearing when these expectations are not met. We will share this with our Quality Control team for immediate review and improvement. Unfortunately, hotels are always subject to change which is why we do not guarantee specific hotels for any departure. We hope there were some happy memories made despite the issues you mention.
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Sunday, July 15, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Kaitlin was great. We tried to join in with relatives on an already set up tour. There was still space. Kaitlin got us into the same tour group and better round trip air fare than we could find on our own.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're so happy to know we could be there for you to help make your trip go as smoothly as possible (if we could control the weather, we would!). We'll be sure to pass your compliments on to Kaitlin, we're very glad to have her as a part of our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience and happy travels!
Monday, July 16, 2018
Vacation : Perfect in every way including the weather, which of course is out of the control of GET.
Igor Kolker
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Well organized and well directed.
Vacation : We saw beautiful towns and service was very good.
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Jeffrey Van Keuren
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our Tour Guide, Steve Ellison, was perfect; well-informed and approachable. When a fellow traveler had her passport stolen, Steve was instrumental in getting her to the US Embassy in Prague so it could be replaced. We could not have asked for a better guide through these cities!
Vacation : Everything wonderful until the flight home, where we were not able to sit together, even though the flight had been booked far in advance. This we attribute to the airline. Our accommodations were great, and the special activities and add-ons were all first-rate. And Steve, our tour guide couldn't have been better!
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your kind words! We are sorry to hear about the seating on your flight home. You are correct that the airlines have ultimate control over seat assignments and they may change at any time. We are glad that you are home safely and brought back some wonderful memories of your trip.
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Well planned and executed travel experience with an excellent travel director. Nice variety of side trips and experiences.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your Budapest, Vienna & Prague vacation. What a wonderful adventure! Thank you for sharing your experience. Happy travels!
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Vacation : Accommodations and travel experiences were very worthwhile.
Monday, June 25, 2018
Esmie Bishop
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : our tour guide was very knowledgeable, kind and attentive.
Vacation : Great trip all around. Wonderful people , great foods excellent extra tours. l
Saturday, April 28, 2018
Robert Krammer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our tour guide Steve was really great, he was patient and helpful. My husband lost his hearing aid and Steve went to the restaurant the next day on his own to see if he could find it. Things were well organized and fun
Vacation : i enjoyed having plenty of time at each destination
Sunday, October 15, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very good experience
Vacation : good purchaseppppppppppppppp
Sunday, October 1, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Easy, quick, good communication.
Vacation : Arrangements of hotel and optional experiences were great. Communication with tour manager great. No pressure or fussy activities to encourage fellowship...it happened naturally. We felt independent and not part of a herd. Sites chosen were wonderful.
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Diamantina Salazar
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Impressive. I could not believe how many included meals we received. All the breakfasts were great. The amount of dinners were a great surprise. The included excursions were great. Loved how comfortable the bus was. Hotels were all great and very artistic.
Vacation : tours at every location and the added excursions. enjoyed the tour guide and the bus driver, very friendly and patient. loved the way the driver (Ben) could supply us with waters and his driving/parking was impressive. we felt comfortable. hotels were great as well as the locations to transportation and the city.
Sunday, September 24, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The trip was well planned and executed. The hotels were comfortable and the service was good. Our tour director did an excellent job of staying with the group and ensuring that everything went well. Take the tour it's a great way to see Central Europe.
Vacation : I think the value provided was excellent.
Sunday, September 10, 2017
Edith Campbell
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Unfortunately I was robbed while in my room in Budapest. I believe the hotel has security issues and I was not the only person on the tour to be robbed. I was pleased with the flight reservations and airline. I was pleased with the additional tours offered; however, my overall impression and experience was overshadowed by the robbery which resulted in a 6 hour police station visit and missing out on a cruise on the Danube.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are extremely sorry to hear about this.  Our Guest Relations team will be in touch with you very soon to discuss the matter.
Thursday, September 21, 2017
Vacation : I cannot give an excellent rating due to the robbery which occurred on my first full day in Budapest while I was in my room.
Friday, August 25, 2017
Yvonne Palmer-Bennett
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The Tour Director was excellent. He was thorough and very professional. He took care of very little detail. The optional tours were also very good. The driver was alert and helpful.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thanks for taking the time to write! We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Budapest, Vienna and Prague.   
Friday, August 25, 2017
Vacation : Tours of each city covered what I though was essential. Should consider doing some tours in African.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Good news! We've just released two trips to South Africa.  We hope to travel there with you soon.
Friday, August 25, 2017
Thursday, August 24, 2017
Danny Peterson
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The staff at GET were great throughout this experience. The cost is reasonable. And our tour was great and our guide excellent.
Vacation : We loved the tour. One location we visited outside of Budapest seemed only like a tourist trap, but all other activities and options were excellent.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for taking the time to write, and for your honest feedback. We're glad to hear that overall you had a great trip, and hope you choose to travel with GET on your next adventure!
Friday, August 25, 2017
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable, polite and patient. All activities, optional and scheduled were fun filled, for an easy pace it had quite a bit of walking.
Vacation : Couldve been a few nicer hotels for the price.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your honest feedback. We're glad you enjoyed those wonderful cities and that the trip, mostly, met your expectations. We will pass along your comments to our quality control team. 
Friday, August 25, 2017
Sunday, August 20, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : excellent tour guides, lovely hotels
Vacation : I am assuming you mean the itinerary
Monday, July 31, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Fabulous tour. The expert tour guides in each country were wonderful and very informative. Our tour guide for the entire trip was also very knowledgeable and addressed all issues that arose with a high degree of professionalism.
Vacation : All the extra tours were very good except the traditional dinner and folklore show in Prague. The entertainment was delightful, but the food was awful.
Tuesday, July 4, 2017
David Mac Dougall
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Purchased airfare through you for a higher price than we could have booked it on our own. The only reason we bought it from you was that it was covered in the insurance policy. We landed in Budapest and no one was there to greet us. We were 15 min. late for the shuttle. The tour guide knew when we were landing and seems like they could have waited. The hotels were fine but we felt they were just a bit removed from the heart of each city. We had to take taxis or trams to return to our hotels. We enjoyed the dine around program and felt the food was excellent at our restaurant. Many of your add-on trips should have been included! There was always a big sell to purchase these add-ons. I'd rather have paid a little more up front than to keep being asked and shelling out more money. The tour guide really knew his history but not so much, but not so much the everyday workings of each country. Ex. apt. rental prices, education, taxes, etc. We've had other guides who have been very informative and that could be because they were from that country.
Vacation : We enjoyed the trip very much!
Monday, June 26, 2017
Joyce Jones
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Prompt and accurate information, patience in answering questions, clarifications and updates always readily available, willingness to accommodate our needs and interests, positive and polite service
Vacation : I really enjoyed the pace of the trip. Three days in each city allowed enough time to get a flavor of the place and offered the convenience of packing and unpacking fewer times during the vacation.
Response from Grand European Travel:
This trip is a wonderful way to see Budapest, Vienna and Prague at a leisurely pace. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed it and hope you came home with some lasting memories. Thank you for writing!
Tuesday, June 27, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Not what they did right, it's what they did wrong. Hotels, 2 out of 3, where far from the down town and a long walk!
Vacation : Hotels too far from town. First hotel had dirty linens!
Response from Grand European Travel:
Sorry to hear you weren't fully satisfied with accommodations. We take all feedback seriously and will share with our product planning team.  Thanks for the note.
Friday, June 9, 2017
Lydia Bernhardt
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : they could have told me of their relation with Insight instead of me being stuck at the Budapest airport for 4 hours
Vacation : I only bought a t-shirt for my youngest grandson
Judith Barry
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Insight Tours was great. But when I had to contact GET I could never talk to the same person twice. I like to book with someone and then stick with that person for the details. Airline connections were tight. In Amsterdam we made our flight to Budapest with no problem, but coming back in Paris it was tighter than it was in Amsterdam going over. We barely made it in time. They were on final call and we were the last to board. Also, Air France is not a pleasant way to fly.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for taking the time to write.  We do have a team of excellent tour specialists that can help all of our guests with any questions that arise. However, if you prefer to work with the same person exclusively, we can absolutely do that as well.Just let the person know who answers the phone that you prefer to speak with your booking agent. 
As for your flights, we are sorry to hear that you were rushed for your international connections. We do reserve the most direct flights available at the time of booking, but it appears as if there were several time and routing changes made by the airlines on your flights.
Monday, May 8, 2017
Vacation : Insight Tours was a very good group to travel with. Everything was well planned. Our tour director, Stephen Ellison, was attentive to our needs and was able to explain what we were doing in an understandable way. I would be happy to travel with them again, but would book with them directly, not through GET.
Sunday, June 26, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Wonderful service, which is always appreciated.
Vacation : Really enjoyed the easy pace. We got to do the tours we wanted and had enough time to see the things we wanted. Vienna had so many places to visit.
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Plenty of walking and plenty of free time to see things not on the schedule
Response from Grand European Travel:
That's fantastic to hear. We look forward to helping you plan your next trip! Grand European Travel
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Vacation : First time on a tour vacation, but I would recommend it to everyone.
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Excellent tour guide, accommodations, bus and company.
Response from Grand European Travel:
This is one of most popular trips because of the 3 night stays in each city. We're very happy to see that you enjoyed Budapest, Vienna and Prague. Thank you for your business. Grand European Travel
Monday, June 13, 2016
Vacation : Loved being in each city three nights which gave us time to do the planned events and our own exploration without having to pack up each night and get our bags out by 6 am. Excellent local guides.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The communication and service from GET in preparation for our trip was very helpful. We felt comfortable and reassured from our first contact with them that everything was being taken care of for us. Tess was an excellent contact person. She gave us such personal attention that it seemed like we were the only ones for whom she was making arrangements.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much! Your feedback means the world to us and we will be sure to share this with Tess and the whole team who made your trip unforgettable. Grand European Travel
Monday, May 23, 2016
Vacation : The trip was exceptionally well-planned and everything went very smoothly. The hotels were deluxe, the transportation and service were excellent, and our tour guide and driver were first-class. We enjoyed our trip immensely.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I highly approve of the unique adventures into the local life and away from the usual tourist spots. Great job!
Response from Grand European Travel:
This is a popular trip because of those 3 night stays. It allows more time to really take in each city. We appreciate your feedback and are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation. Grand European Travel
Monday, May 23, 2016
Vacation : The three days in each major city was perfect for me; I liked having a headquarters with city and out side tours from this base.
Sunday, April 24, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Would travel with Grand European again! Great customer service!
Vacation : A well coordinated tour with good balance of free time. Our tour guide Karin was a star!
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary
  • U.S. citizens traveling to the Czech Republic, Austria and Hungary must have a current passport that is valid for six months beyond the conclusion of their trip. You can find information on how to apply for a passport here, and how to renew a passport here. No visa is required for U.S. citizens entering these countries.

  • The currency in the Czech Republic is the Koruna, in Austria is the Euro, and in Hungary is the Forint. While it’s a good idea to bring some money for when you first arrive on your trip, you’ll usually find a better exchange rate in your destination.  The most convenient way to obtain cash is to use your ATM card at local banks in the Czech Republic, Austria and Hungary. We recommend you also bring a valid credit card for purchases while you are traveling.  It is important that you inform your financial institutions of your travel plans before you leave home so they don’t flag your purchases as potentially fraudulent charges.

  • If you like meat and potatoes, chances are you’ll love the food in the Czech Republic.  The country is also known for its long-standing tradition for beer.  Most towns have at least one brewery, so it’s no surprise that the Czech consume more beer per capita than any other country.  In Austria you’ll find more hearty cuisine, but nothing beats the desserts. Try delicious treats like Viennese Sachertorte (dense chocolate cake) and apple strudel. In Hungary you’ll find hearty specialties including goulash, winter salami, pork stew, and chicken paprikash.

  • We suggest packing a variety of lightweight clothing items that can be layered to save space in your suitcase and give you more options for how to dress. It’s important to bring comfortable walking shoes and a waterproof jacket. For more helpful information please refer to our Packing Tips & Packing List.

  • When dining out it’s appropriate to leave up to 10 percent gratuity for good service at restaurants.

    At the end of your guided vacation, it’s customary to offer your motor coach driver and Travel Director a gratuity.  We recommend €3.00 per person/per day for your driver and €5.00 per person/per day for your Travel Director.  Recommended gratuity for a Local Host and Local Specialist is 1-2 euros per person, paid at the conclusion of each guided visit.  A convenient option is to prepay your tips before your departure.

  • Baggage on our trips is restricted to one large suitcase per person with dimensions not exceeding 30x19x10 inches and a maximum weight of 50 pounds. You are also permitted one piece of hand luggage, which should be small enough to fit under your coach seat or on the small overhead shelf compartment. Please note that luggage with an adjustable handle and wheels will not fit in the overhead compartment of the coach. Hotel porterage is included in your vacation.

  • You will need to be comfortable on your feet, walking and standing for up to three hours in various weather conditions.  All of our vacations involve walking, often on cobblestone and uneven surfaces in historic city centers.  In order to get the most out of your vacation you need to be able to comfortably walk 1-3 miles unassisted in one day, be in good condition and be able to keep pace with the group. 

    If you need any medications, it is important that you bring enough to last you the whole trip and keep them in your carry-on bag while you travel.

  • We highly recommend our optional Travel Protection Plan, which allows you to cancel for any reason up to 24 hours before departure. The plan also includes trip interruption, baggage loss or delay, and medical and emergency assistance. Click here for a summary of coverage details, terms and conditions.

Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.