• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $150 per person on select 2019 departures - Ends July 31

    Save $150 on select 2019 departures - Ends July 31
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends July 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends July 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Enchanting Emerald Isle

Operated by: Trafalgar

8 Days from $1,782 per person
Killarney National Park

Countries Visited

Ireland ...more Ireland

Locations Visited

Dublin, Kylemore Abbey, Connemara, Killarney National Park, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry, Blarney Castle, Trinity College ...more Dublin, Kylemore Abbey, Connemara, Killarney National Park, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry, Blarney Castle, Trinity College
  1. Day 1 Arrive Dublin – Afternoon Sightseeing

    A warm welcome to Dublin, a modern multi-cultural city that embraces its past and exudes an enduring sense of fun. Meet your Local Specialist this afternoon for a guided city tour to view the elegant Georgian Squares and St. Patrick's Cathedral. A special Welcome Reception this evening sees you visiting EPIC - The Irish Emigration Museum.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Roganstown
  2. Day 2 Dublin – Strokestown – Enniscrone

    Journey through the lush green countryside before your first stop at Strokestown where we will 'Dive Into Culture' at the Irish Famine Museum, delving into the stories of the 1840s famine. See the haunting pleas of starving tenants on the estate and the response they received, before continuing to Enniscrone.

    meals Full Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Ocean Sands
  3. Day 3 Enniscrone – Westport – Galway

    Travel to Westport and meet your Local Specialist for a walking tour during which you'll learn about the town's heritage - from its settlement 5,000 years ago to modern-day times. Visit the Benedictine monastery of Kylemore Abbey, set against the striking backdrop of Lake Kylemore, and stroll through its walled Victorian gardens. We continue to Galway, the 'City of Tribes', where we'll view Galway Cathedral and spend the rest of the evening at leisure.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Connacht
  4. Day 4 Galway – Cliffs of Moher – Killarney (2 Nights)

    The sheer Cliffs of Moher plunge dramatically into the Atlantic Ocean, providing endless ocean views which we'll have an opportunity to admire during a morning visit. Later, we cross the Shannon estuary by ferry to Killarney, our home for the next two nights. Spend a free evening soaking up some unforgettable Irish craic or delve into the town's centuries-old history.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Killarney Towers
  5. Day 5 Ring of Kerry Excursion

    Dramatic vistas are ours to enjoy as we circle the achingly beautiful Ring of Kerry - one of the most scenic drives on the Emerald Isle. See a soul-stirring landscape that has inspired poets, artists and writers for centuries, before returning to Killarney where you have the rest of the afternoon free to explore on your terms. Consider a leisurely guided walk at Torc Waterfall with a Local Specialist taking you along the lakeshore and past the farmlands of the 19th-century Muckross Estate. Please Note: This leisurely paced walk meanders over wooded paths and lakeshore trails. Walkers should wear good walking shoes for a stroll through picturesque surrounds.

    meals Full Breakfast, Dinner
  6. Day 6 Killarney – Blarney – Kilkenny

    Kiss the famous Blarney Stone at Blarney Castle and receive the 'gift of the gab'. Travel to County Kilkenny to discover the 12th-century town of Newtown Jerpoint and hear about the saint buried there, who inspired the legend of Santa Claus. Later, we meet local farmers Joe and Maeve O'Connell at their home, Belmore House, to 'Connect With Locals' over a Be My Guest dinner and hear the tale of the 'lost' town.

    meals Full Breakfast, Dinner with wine
    hotel Kilkenny
  7. Day 7 Kilkenny – Dublin

    Visit Kilkenny Castle, an Anglo-Norman stone castle that sits majestically over the Nore River. In the castle basement, you'll find the Butler Gallery, one of Ireland's most important art galleries outside of Dublin. Returning to the Irish capital, visit Trinity College and enjoy priority access to see the Book of Kells, said to be the world's most famous medieval manuscript. All that's left to say is a rousing sláinte or two while you indulge in a memorable Farewell Dinner, enjoying a fun night out at a classic public house in the city. Admire the authentic Victorian bar and walk up the original staircase from Trinity College, which was featured in the Michael Caine film 'Educating Rita'.

    meals Full Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
    hotel Ballsbridge
  8. Day 8 Depart Dublin

    It's time to close the chapter on an unforgettable Irish holiday. We bid our newfound friends and Travel Director a fond farewell. Transfers are available. Conditions apply.

    meals Full Breakfast
Enchanting Emerald Isle
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 7 full breakfasts
  • 5 dinners (including Be My Guest)

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Ferry across the Shannon estuary
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • Services of a professional Travel Director
  • An expert Travel Director and professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • WALKING TOUR in Killarney National Park
  • CITY TOUR in Dublin and walking tour in Westport
  • ORIENTATION of Galway and Killarney
  • VISIT EPIC - The Irish Emigration Museum, Strokestown Park House, Kylemore Abbey, Cliffs of Moher, Blarney Castle, Kilkenny Castle and Trinity College
  • SCENIC CRUISE across the Shannon Estuary
  • VIEW St. Patrick's Cathedral, Galway Cathedral, the mountains of the Connemara and Torc Waterfall
  • SEE Dublin's Georgian Squares
  • SCENIC DRIVE along the Ring of Kerry

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Lynn Mitchell
Travel date: Monday, April 22, 2019
Service
Had a wonderful time, went to all the places I wanted to see, had great weather, very interesting and informative talks while traveling from Barbara, our tour group. Hotels were clean and the meals were delicious. Missed our flight out to the tour, Barbara was very helpfull in advising how to meet up with the group the following day.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry you were delayed arriving into Ireland, but so pleased you enjoyed yourself once you did arrive. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Vacation
Had a great time, brought lots of memories home with me
Anneliese Augustine
Travel date: Sunday, September 30, 2018
Service
Service was excellent. Everything went smoothly. Great trip
Vacation
Enjoyed the trip and all that was included.
Karen Erisman
Travel date: Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Service
the hotels were great as was the pub experiences and the food. I would have liked staying in a town more than so far out of several towns but I know that it is more expensive. I really enjoyed the time we had in Kilarney.
Vacation
We looked at several trips and felt we got the best of what wewanted to see with the affordable price of this trip!.
Trusted Customer
Travel date: Sunday, September 9, 2018
Service
Wonderful trip
Vacation
Side trips were very fun. Great group of people
John Berry
Travel date: Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Service
I would recommend this tour. A couple of more days would be nice. Guess I’ll have to go back for more castle and pub dinners and entertainment. Our guide Mike and driver Tony where the best,
Response from Grand European Travel:
How great to hear you thought Ireland was "magical and enchanting"! It certainly is a beautiful place! We're here when you're ready to go back!
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Vacation
Lots of bang for the buck.
William Monken
Travel date: Sunday, July 1, 2018
Service
Trip was very organized and well planned. Wonderful accommodations! Michael McClure was an excellent tour guide and Tony a great drivet!!
Vacation
Well worth the money spent.
Trusted Customer
Travel date: Sunday, July 1, 2018
Service
I liked that I was able to continue a diologue with rep (Tess) for odds and ends
Vacation
It was reasonably priced, comprehensive, and easy to navigate.
See More Reviews
Back To Top