• SAVE $150 per couple First Time Traveler Discount - Ends Nov 16

    SAVE $150 per couple First Time Traveler Discount - End Nov 16
  • Aarp Logo Red
    AARP Members Save $50 AARP SAVE $50 on Costsaver vacations booked with us ON THIS VACATION
    Learn More
  • ADDITIONAL SAVINGS FOR PAST TRAVELERS

    ADDITIONAL SAVINGS FOR PAST TRAVELERS LEARN MORE

Footsteps of the Pharaohs

Operated by: CostSaver

9 Days from $1,875 per person
APR - OCT 2022
Temple of Queen Hatschepsut, Valley of the Kings, Egypt

Countries Visited

Egypt ...more Egypt

Locations Visited

Cairo, Aswan, Luxor, Alexandria, Edfu, Hurghada ...more Cairo, Aswan, Luxor, Alexandria, Edfu, Hurghada
  1. Day 1 Arrive Cairo (2 Nights)

    Prepare for the magic of seeing Egypt as you embark on a whirlwind journey into the ancient world, beginning in the colourful capital of Cairo. You'll want to keep your camera handy when you become more than a curious bystander while out and about exploring the largest metropolis on the African continent. Perhaps spend your first day delving into the remnants of ancient history your way. Visit the Alabaster mosque, modelled on Istanbul's Hagia Sophia, enjoy a refreshing G&T in the historic Windsor Bar, or savour an apple shisha rubbing shoulders with the locals as you watch the sunset over Cairo.

    hotel Cairo Pyramids
  2. Day 2 Cairo sightseeing

    See the treasures of Tutankhamun this morning during a guided tour of the Egyptian Museum, home to one of the world's greatest collections of ancient Egyptian art spanning over 4,500 years. Admire the beautiful objects that were left behind to accompany Egypt's beloved pharaohs to their next life, then proceed to the Pyramids of Giza, where you'll stand in awe amidst the remnants of incredible man-made feats that have to be seen to be believed. See the Pyramid of Cheops, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, and the proudly posing Sphinx, before returning to Cairo this evening for some time on your own or an Optional Experience sound and light show against the backdrop of the pyramids.

    meals Breakfast
  3. Day 3 Cairo – Aswan – Nile Cruise (3 Nights)

    Let the dust settle in Cairo as you board your morning flight to Aswan. You’ll arrive just in time for a visit to the High Dam, built to stave the rising waters of the Nile during flooding. Admire the beautiful Egyptian architecture at the Temple of Isis in Philae before boarding your cruise before lunch. This afternoon, take to the Nile on a traditional felucca, watching as the wind whips up its elegant white cotton sails. You’ll see pops of cerise bougainvillea and towering Royal Palms as you sail around the Botanical Gardens on Kitchener’s Island before returning to your boat for your first night on Africa’s mightiest river. You could choose to join a mesmerising sound and light show in the midst of the Nile River as an Optional Experience later.

    meals Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
    hotel Nile Cruise
  4. Day 4 Nile cruise: Aswan – Kom-Ombo – Edfu

    Catch the gaze of Ramses II this morning as you join your fellow travellers on an Optional Experience to the imposing temples of Abu Simbel, his ancient southern seat of power. You’ll see his striking seated form hewn out of solid rock not once, but four times, as he 'receives' you before you're permitted to wander through the long and dark passage that leads to the depths of his temple. Next, you’ll set sail for Kom-Ombo, arriving this afternoon to visit Kom-Ombo Temple where two gods of Horus the Elder and Sobek are worshipped in tandem. Your sightseeing cruise continues overnight to Edfu, once home to the falcon god of Horus.

    meals Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
  5. Day 5 Nile cruise: Edfu – Luxor

    Ancient Thebes beckons and you'll continue your Nile cruise as part of your Egypt vacation package to Luxor where this afternoon we visit the Luxor Museum, one of the best displays of antiquities in Egypt. Go back in time and see an astounding collection of archaeological wonders, including treasures from Tutankhamun's tomb and remnants from the New Kingdom. You'll feel like Indiana Jones as you walk through its dimly lit halls, admiring the unearthed treasures from nearby tombs.

    meals Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
  6. Day 6 Disembark – Luxor – Valley of the Kings – Hurghada (2 Nights)

    Your Nile cruise has come to an end, but there's still plenty more to see on your Egypt value tour. Today you’ll visit the Valley of the Kings for your next bout of memorable sightseeing. Explore the mortuary temple of Queen Hatshepsut, known in Egypt as the 'Holy of Holies' and considered one of the incomparable monuments of ancient Egypt. Then stand small against the backdrop of the seated Memnon Colossi, following his gaze east as the Ruler of the West surveys his lands. Your next stop is Karnak, an impressive place of pilgrimage dedicated to the gods of Amun, Mut and Khonsu. Later, you'll head to the Red Sea coastline and stop at Hurghada where tonight you'll enjoy dinner with your travel companions at your hotel.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Pharaoh Azur Resort
  7. Day 7 Hurghada free day

    What a treat! A full free day to soak up the sun-kissed splendour of Hurghada on your own. You could choose to pass on the sightseeing and relax at your resort guilt-free or venture out on a snorkelling tour getting up close and personal to the resident dolphins. However you decide to spend your day, start and end it slowly – isn't that what beach holidays are for? Tonight, dinner is served at your hotel.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
  8. Day 8 Hurghada – Cairo (1 Night)

    What could be better than waking up to the sounds of the seaside in Egypt? That’s exactly what you’ll be doing this morning and there's no need to hurry as you'll have some time this morning for a leisurely breakfast before taking your transfer to Cairo. The evening is yours to do as you please in this great city but we’re sure you'll want to spend it with new friends after an incredible journey through Ancient Egypt. Your Travel Director will be more than happy to give you some options to celebrate a wonderful last night in Egypt.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Radisson Blu Heliopolis
  9. Day 9 Depart Cairo

    Your journey back in time to a land of powerful pharaohs has come to an end. It's been a memorable walk down ancient paths that have fascinated explorers for centuries. For now, all that remains is to say farewell to your travel companions before transferring to Cairo airport for your return flight home, filled with fond memories of the treasures you've encountered. Find out more about your free airport transfer at costsavertour.com/freetransfers.

    meals Breakfast
Footsteps of the Pharaohs
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 3 Lunches
  • 5 Dinners
  • 8 Breakfasts

First class travel Highlights

  • All hotel service charges and tips, baggage handling fees and local taxes
  • An expert Travel Director and professional Driver
  • Audio Headsets provided throughout your holiday to enhance your included sightseeing experiences
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • City orientation tours
  • Flight from Cairo to Aswan
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with Wi-Fi in most countries
  • Many meals and daily breakfasts included
  • The services of a professional English speaking Egyptologist / Travel Director throughout your journey
  • Three-night luxury Nile Cruise
  • Variety of Optional Experiences

Sightseeing Highlights

  • Aswan Sail on the Nile in a traditional felucca and voyage around the Botanical Gardens on Kitchener's Island
  • Cairo See the treasures of Tutankhamun during a guided tour of the Egyptian Museum, the Pyramids of Giza and the Sphinx
  • Hurghada Enjoy a free day to relax in the beach resort town of Hurghada
  • Kom-Ombo Visit Kom-Ombo Temple dedicated to two gods
  • Luxor Explore the imposing Karnak Temple Complex in Luxor
  • Valley of the Kings See the Memnon Colossi and visit the mortuary temple of Queen Hatshepsut

Dates & Prices

Prices shown are per person based on two people sharing a twin room. To request a personalized travel quote, click "Request Quote" and a Travel Specialist will send your custom quote including airfare if requested.

Online Booking Process

Onlinebookingprocesssteps
March 2022
AARP Members Save $50
Mar 12 Sat
Mar 20 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Mar 19 Sat
Mar 27 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Mar 26 Sat
Apr 3 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
April 2022
AARP Members Save $50
Apr 2 Sat
Apr 10 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Apr 9 Sat
Apr 17 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950
AARP Members Save $50
Apr 16 Sat
Apr 24 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950
AARP Members Save $50
Apr 23 Sat
May 1 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,950
AARP Members Save $50
Apr 30 Sat
May 8 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
May 2022
AARP Members Save $50
May 7 Sat
May 15 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
May 14 Sat
May 22 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
May 21 Sat
May 29 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
May 28 Sat
Jun 5 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
June 2022
AARP Members Save $50
Jun 4 Sat
Jun 12 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Jun 11 Sat
Jun 19 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Jun 18 Sat
Jun 26 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Jun 25 Sat
Jul 3 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
July 2022
AARP Members Save $50
Jul 2 Sat
Jul 10 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Jul 9 Sat
Jul 17 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Jul 16 Sat
Jul 24 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Jul 23 Sat
Jul 31 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Jul 30 Sat
Aug 7 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
August 2022
AARP Members Save $50
Aug 6 Sat
Aug 14 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Aug 13 Sat
Aug 21 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Aug 20 Sat
Aug 28 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Aug 27 Sat
Sep 4 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
September 2022
AARP Members Save $50
Sep 3 Sat
Sep 11 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Sep 10 Sat
Sep 18 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Sep 17 Sat
Sep 25 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Sep 24 Sat
Oct 2 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
October 2022
AARP Members Save $50
Oct 1 Sat
Oct 9 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Oct 8 Sat
Oct 16 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Oct 15 Sat
Oct 23 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Oct 22 Sat
Oct 30 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Oct 29 Sat
Nov 6 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
November 2022
AARP Members Save $50
Nov 5 Sat
Nov 13 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
AARP Members Save $50
Nov 12 Sat
Nov 20 Sun
AARP Members Save $50
TODAY'S PRICE - Based on twin share
$1,875
Reviews
Independent Reviews

Trip not yet reviewed

See More Reviews
Terms & Conditions
Click here to view Terms and Conditions for this guided vacation
Back To Top