• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Iberian Explorer

Operated by: CostSaver

13 Days from $1,775 per person
Costa del Sol

Countries Visited

Spain, Gibraltar, Portugal ...more Spain, Gibraltar, Portugal

Locations Visited

Barcelona, Valencia, Granada, Malaga, Seville, Gibraltar, Lisbon, Salamanca, Madrid ...more Barcelona, Valencia, Granada, Malaga, Seville, Gibraltar, Lisbon, Salamanca, Madrid
  1. Day 1 Arrive Barcelona (2 Nights)

    Welcome to Barcelona. After meeting with your Travel Director, you might like to explore Spain's most cosmopolitan city.

    hotel Exe Barcelona Gate
  2. Day 2 Barcelona Sightseeing and Free Time

    Your Local Specialist shows you the sights including views of Gaudi's Sagrada Familia, Las Ramblas, Plaça de Catalunya and spectacular views of the city from Montju��c. Enjoy free time to explore the city or join an Optional Experience to Montserrat.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  3. Day 3 Barcelona – Peñíscola – Valencia

    Drive through orange groves to Peñíscola and see the ancient castle used in the film 'El Cid'. Continue through the 'huertas' to sunny Valencia, the third-largest city in Spain, where your orientation includes the Town Hall, the Bullring, the Towers of Serrano and Quart, the cathedral and the modern 'City of Arts and Science' designed by renowned architect, Santiago Calatrava.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Mas Camarena
  4. Day 4 Valencia – Guadix – Granada

    Travel southwest across the 'sierras' to view the cave houses at Guadix. Take pictures of the troglodyte dwellings and then cross the jagged Mora Pass to Granada.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Macia Condor
  5. Day 5 Granada – Costa del Sol

    This morning there is time to explore the city or participate in an Optional Experience to the Albaicín Quarter of Granada. Arrive later on the famous Costa del Sol for free time or consider an excursion to Mijas, one of the famous hilltop villages.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Sol Guadalmar/Tryp Alameda
  6. Day 6 Costa del Sol – Gibraltar – Seville (2 Nights)

    Enjoy a scenic coastal drive past Marbella to La Línea. Cross the border to the Rock of Gibraltar, where you have the chance to see the famous Barbary apes and possibly visit the cave of St. Michael. Then continue through the spectacular Andalusian countryside to Seville. After dinner at your hotel tonight, you might consider an Optional Experience to see a fiery flamenco show.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel MA Congresos
  7. Day 7 Seville Sightseeing and Free Time

    Admire the great monuments and sights of Seville with your Local Specialist on your included morning sightseeing tour. View the pools and pavilions in Maria Luisa Park, constructed for the 1929 Exposition. Explore the city at your own pace or join an Optional Experience to visit the elegant Moorish Alcazar. Tonight, you might like to sample some traditional tapas.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  8. Day 8 Seville – Lisbon (2 Nights)

    Drive to the Portuguese border then continue past the cork trees of the Alentejo region. From here travel to the capital of Portugal, Lisbon, a great seafaring city situated near where the Tagus River flows into the Atlantic Ocean. Tonight, why not consider a traditional Portuguese dinner with music?

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Olaias Park
  9. Day 9 Lisbon Sightseeing and Free Time

    See the Hieronymite Monastery and the medieval quarter of the city before taking in views of the Belém Tower on an included sightseeing tour with your Local Specialist. Then time at leisure in Lisbon or maybe take an Optional Experience to discover Portugal's Golden Triangle of Sintra, Cascais and Estoril.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  10. Day 10 Lisbon – Fátima – Salamanca

    A scenic drive north through the magnificent Serra d'Aire Mountains brings you to the Shrine at Fátima, site of celebrated religious miracles. Cross the border back into Spain and arrive later in Salamanca where you view the Plaza Mayor during your orientation tour.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
  11. Day 11 Salamanca – Madrid Sightseeing (2 Nights)

    Your journey continues through the Sierra de Guadarrama Mountains to Madrid, Europe's highest capital city. This afternoon, your Local Specialist shows you all the main sights including the Royal Palace and the Cervantes Memorial in the Plaza de España. This evening why not visit one of Madrid's many fine restaurants where you have the chance to try some of the local dishes?

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Tryp Airport Suites
  12. Day 12 Madrid Free Day

    An entire day to explore the city. You might like to visit the Prado Museum, watch the street artists on Plaza Mayor or join an Optional Experience to the medieval city of Toledo, the ancient capital of Castile. Tonight, dine with your companions as you celebrate a memorable holiday.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
  13. Day 13 Depart Madrid

    Say 'adios' to your companions after a wonderful holiday. Airport transfers are available. Conditions apply.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
Iberian Explorer
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 12 Buffet breakfasts
  • 4 Three-course dinners

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets Provided throughout your holiday to enhance your included sightseeing experiences
  • Audio Headsets Provided throughout your holiday to enhance your included sightseeing experiences
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Variety of Optional Experiences
  • City orientation tours
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional driver
  • All hotel service charges and tips, baggage handling fees and local taxes
  • Airport transfers are provided on the first and last travel day. Conditions apply

Sightseeing Highlights

  • Barcelona Sightseeing with your Local Specialist includes views of Gaudi's Sagrada Familia, the Ramblas and views from Montjuïc
  • Peñiscola See the ancient castle overlooking the beach
  • Valencia Orientation tour includes the Cathedral, Town Hall, Towers of Serrano and Quart and City of Arts and Sciences
  • Guadix View the cave homes in "Barrio Troglodyte"
  • Granada Enjoy a scenic drive to this Moorish city
  • Costa Del Sol Visit this renowned resort area
  • Gibraltar Visit the famous Rock of Gibraltar
  • Seville Sightseeing with your Local Specialist includes views of the Cathedral and Giralda Tower
  • Lisbon View Belém Tower and the Monument to the Discoveries on your sightseeing tour with your Local Specialist
  • Fátima Visit the celebrated Shrine
  • Salamanca Orientation of this university city includes views of the Plaza Mayor
  • Madrid Sightseeing with your Local Specialist includes Puerta del Sol, The Cervantes Memorial and the Cibeles Fountain

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Trusted Customer
Saturday, August 3, 2019
Service
they were very thorough and helpful
Vacation
very educational saw a whole lot of spain
Trusted Customer
Friday, August 2, 2019
Service
The lady on the phone was very helpful. We appreciated all the helpful emails. It was a great tour. It was punctual. It covered a lot of territory. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. I would recommend it and buy from you again.
Vacation
We had no problems. We enjoyed what we got to see.
Trusted Customer
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Service
yes and yes
Vacation
Very tiring but so worth it. Jam packed every day with new adventures.
Trusted Customer
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Service
Checked in with me twice to make sure all was well
Vacation
Great guide (Tania) & driver (Julio). Wonderful group to travel with from 9 different countries.
Stanley French
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Service
I called Tess, my past travel agent, told her what I wanted, and she set me up on my excellent tour.
Vacation
I really enjoyed the Iberian tour, and especially the people on the tour and very good travel director Artti
Trusted Customer
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Service
GET provided efficient service every step of the way during out recent European trip.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for sharing and thank you for your loyalty! We're happy to hear you had a great vacation.
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Vacation
This is our second trip through GET. We thought we would check out the CostSaver option to see how well it compared to our previous trip to Italy. The accommodations were excellent with the exception of the Barcelona hotel and the optional experiences were pretty much "must do". We will strongly consider the CostSaver option for future trips.
Peter Dauksewicz
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Service
The staff was great. They were friendly and helpful. I needed more rest time and shopping time.
Vacation
The pace of the trip was very difficult. More time was needed to rest and relax.
Mary Pena
Friday, June 29, 2018
Service
The Iberian experience was in a word, grand. The tour incorporated many of the cultural aspects of the countries we visited insofar as we felt like we were interacting with the people and consuming their distinct cuisine. We did sign up for all the recommended excursions; and in hindsight it gave us the best outlook and understanding of the places we visited. Had we not done that, our experience would have been less than expected.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for sharing your travel experience! We're glad to hear you had a grand time on your Spain and Portugal vacation. When you're ready for your next trip give us a call and ask about a Trafalgar or Insight vacation for your chosen destination, both have more included activities and excursions, giving you that extra immersion into the places you visit. Either might be a great fit for you, so just let us know. Thanks again!
Friday, June 29, 2018
Vacation
The basic rate of the trip did not include the excursions which, in my opinion, were crucial to a successful vacation experience.
Trusted Customer
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Service
Wonderful and very efficient guide.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your Spain & Portugal vacation! Thanks for sharing.
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Vacation
Guide was great. Visited wonderful places.
Trusted Customer
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Service
the personal service is first class
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're very happy to know you consider our service personal and first-class! Daniel is wonderful to work with and we'll make sure to pass along your compliment to him. Hope you had a lovely time in Spain and Portugal, what beautiful countries to visit! 
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Vacation
Daniel was very helpful and accessible.
See More Reviews
Back To Top