• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members SAVE an additional $100
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Imperial Europe

Operated by: Trafalgar

10 Days from $2,205 per person

Countries Visited

Germany, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia, Austria ...more Germany, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia, Austria

Locations Visited

Munich, Prague, Budapest, Bratislava, Vienna, Gyor, Salzburg ...more Munich, Prague, Budapest, Bratislava, Vienna, Gyor, Salzburg
  1. Day 1 Arrive Munich

    The sophisticated city streets of Munich are your launchpad to an adventure through the capitals of imperial Europe. Spend some free time immersing yourself in the sights and sounds of the Bavarian capital. Later, join your fellow travellers and Travel Director on an orientation tour. View the Marienplatz, the centre of Munich city life since the 12th century, and its enchanting Glockenspiel, before a Welcome Reception to kick-start your journey.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Sheraton Arabellapark
  2. Day 2 Munich – Regensburg – Prague (2 Nights)

    This morning visit Regensburg, an unspoilt medieval gem on your way to the Czech Republic. Cross the border to Prague, your home for the next two nights.

    meals Breakfast, Regional Dinner
    hotel Angelo by Vienna House
  3. Day 3 Prague Sightseeing and Free Time

    Delve into centuries of history as you join a Local Specialist for a guided sightseeing tour of Prague. View the impressive Gothic architecture of St. Vitus Cathedral in the grounds of the 1,000-year-old Prague Castle, then cross the river on your walking tour to the Old Town Square to see the Astronomical Clock, with its hourly Walk of the Apostles. The afternoon is yours to experience the city on your terms. Savour the delicious sweet flavours of Trdelník in the old Town Square, pay tribute to the saints that line the Charles Bridge or consider a relaxing lunch cruise on the Vltava

    meals Breakfast
  4. Day 4 Prague – Bratislava – Budapest (2 Nights)

    We leave the beauty of Prague behind for the lush landscapes of Bratislava, with its eclectic Gothic, Baroque and Art Deco architecture. Crossing the border into Hungary, we arrive in Budapest, the 'Paris of the East'. Consider spending the evening on a river cruise along the Danube paired with a dinner of selection of Hungarian specialities and awe-inspiring views.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Hilton City
  5. Day 5 Budapest Sightseeing and Free Time

    Admire the iconic and unexpected highlights of Budapest on a guided sightseeing tour with a Local Specialist. See the famous Chain Bridge which connects the two ancient settlements that straddle the Danube, and the UNESCO-listed Castle Hill district. Visit Fisherman's Bastion, paying tribute to the seven Magyar chieftains who founded the Hungarian nation. Here, you can enjoy superb views across the imposing Parliament building and Danube below. Spend the rest of the day at leisure before joining the Schieszl family for a hearty Be My Guest Hungarian dinner. 'Connect With Locals' and hear the story of their winery.

    meals Breakfast, Be My Guest
  6. Day 6 Budapest – Győr – Vienna (2 Nights)

    A leisurely start to your morning could see you soaking up the relaxing atmosphere in the Széchenyi Spa Baths, enjoying coffee and kurtos in the charming Jewish Quarter or joining a guided tour of the magnificent Parliament Building. Cross the hilly landscapes of Transdanubia, arriving in Győr to explore its Baroque architecture and medieval atmosphere before arriving in Vienna for an evening at leisure to indulge in the captivating melodies, art and architecture of a city that was once home to famous composers.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Hilton Danube Waterfront
  7. Day 7 Vienna Sightseeing and Free Time

    Explore the imperial splendour of Vienna at Hofburg Palace, the former winter residence of the Habsburg Dynasty during your guided sightseeing tour of Vienna with a Local Specialist. Admire the grand State Opera House and Ringstrasse, a beautiful sweeping boulevard built in the 19th-century to replace the city walls. Then, see the ornate colourful roof of St. Stephen's Cathedral, one of the city's most beloved icons, before spending the afternoon at leisure. Maybe, visit the Baroque Schönbrunn Palace with its tranquil gardens or enjoy Vienna's musical talents at one of the performances for which the city is famous.

    meals Breakfast
  8. Day 8 Vienna – Salzburg Sightseeing

    This morning we travel to Salzburg, en route we see the Benedictine Melk Abbey perched on a rocky outcrop above the Danube and learn about its royal connections. Arriving in Salzburg, we embark on a leisurely walking tour of its Old Town with a Local Specialist. Dine in your hotel this evening.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Arcotel Castellani
  9. Day 9 Salzburg – Munich

    Leave Austria behind, bound for the German city of Munich. This evening we celebrate an unforgettable journey through some of Europe's most memorable cities during a Farewell Dinner with your travel companions and Travel Director.

    meals Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
    hotel Sheraton Arabellapark
  10. Day 10 Depart Munich

    For now, it's time to say a fond Auf Wiedersehen to Germany, to your fellow travellers and Travel Director at the end of your exhilarating European experience. Transfers to Munich airport are available, conditions apply.

    meals Breakfast
Imperial Europe
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 9 breakfasts
  • 5 dinners (including Be My Guest)

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • CITY TOUR in Prague, Budapest, Vienna and Salzburg
  • ORIENTATION of Munich and Regensburg
  • VIEW the Marienplatz in Munich, St. Vitus' Cathedral and the Old Town Square of Prague, the Imperial Boulevards of Vienna and Melk Abbey
  • VISIT Bratislava, the Fisherman's Bastion in Budapest and Győr

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Trusted Customer
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Service
Communication and reminders were timely and excellent.
Vacation
The locations visited were all up to expectations. I felt some of the extras were sites that should have been included for everyone. We did all of the extras and might have skipped two in order to have more time to visit some places on our own.
Wayne Hockley
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Service
GET service was quick and thorough
Vacation
Beyond expectations. Fellow travelers were awesome.
Barbara Colmery
Sunday, November 25, 2018
Service
Craig our tour director and our driver Frank did such a professional job Craig made it fun as well as informative our local specialists did an outstanding job as well it was one of my favorite trips and I would definitely recommend you to my friends and family
Response from Grand European Travel:
How wonderful that you enjoyed your tour of Imperial Europe! We very much appreciate your business and your recommendations. We hope to assist you in finding and booking another trip in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Vacation
It was excellent value for all we experienced
Trusted Customer
Sunday, November 25, 2018
Service
Craig ...Our travel director...was outstanding, and the whole trip was informative and lots of fun. Can't imagine anyone doing a better job
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your tour of Imperial Europe. It is a fascinating part of the world to explore. Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate your positive feedback.
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Vacation
Interesting, and fun. Great snapshot of imperial europe
Christina Powaday
Sunday, November 11, 2018
Service
This tour was awesome! Our travel director set the mood for a fun positive experience. Each city's local travel guide contributed in such a great way of sharing personality, history and set the mood. The cities we visited gave us a good taste, enough to want to come back.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your trip and we hope to have the opportunity to help you plan another in the near future.
Monday, November 12, 2018
Vacation
Great to see foliage and have comfortable weather while traveling thru countries.
Ross Tierno
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Service
Excellent communication and organization
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are glad you enjoyed your Imperial Europe adventure. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Vacation
Just a great overall experience. Tour guide excellent as well as the local guides
Carolyn Stackhouse
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Service
Our trip was so well planned and everything we saw or visited were grand experiences. We learned so much and had so much fun. We would definitely take another trip with GET and would recommend their trips to our friends and family!
Vacation
This was such a fantastic trip! We loved all of it!
Raven Gossweiler
Monday, October 22, 2018
Service
Trip was coordinated very well which made travel fun and easy for me. Loved my tour director and driver on the Trafalgar trip as well. All hotels were clean, beautiful, and close to the tourist hotspots. Extra excursions were enriching and worth the additional fees.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are thrilled you had such a fantastic time on your Imperial Europe tour. "Fun and easy" travel is our goal, so we are glad to hear you describe your experience in that way. Thanks so much for taking the time to write!
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Vacation
Wonderful trip- fantastic hotels, knowledgeable tour director, comfortable travel bus. Would definitely do again!
Veronica Gossweiler
Sunday, October 21, 2018
Service
Answered all questions, courteous and very helpful
Response from Grand European Travel:
How wonderful that you enjoyed your tour of Imperial Europe! We are so happy we were able to assist you with planning and booking this trip. Thank you for your comments!
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Vacation
The best time with the best people
William Petti
Sunday, October 21, 2018
Service
Everything went well with the exception of GET following up with me on a request to bring a companion along. Granted it was a late request and the GET rep said that the tour was fully booked unless someone dropped out at the last minute.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry that we could not accommodate your request to add another person. Unfortunately when the tour is full, we have no way of adding another traveler. Hopefully you enjoyed yourself on the trip and came home with some happy memories.
Monday, October 22, 2018
Vacation
Reasonably-priced package.
See More Reviews
Back To Top