• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Italian Scene

Operated by: CostSaver

10 Days from $1,650 per person
Italian Gelato, Florence

Countries Visited

Italy ...more Italy

Locations Visited

Rome, Castellammare di Stabia, Sorrento, Assisi, Oriago, Venice, Saronno, Prato, Florence ...more Rome, Castellammare di Stabia, Sorrento, Assisi, Oriago, Venice, Saronno, Prato, Florence
  1. Day 1 Arrive Rome (2 Nights)

    Welcome to Rome. After checking in, relax and unwind. Later meet with your Travel Director and fellow travellers. This evening, consider a stroll around this fascinating city and take in the vibrant atmosphere.

    hotel Ergife Palace
  2. Day 2 Rome Sightseeing and Free Time

    Don't miss the opportunity to join an Optional Experience to the famous Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums. Later your Local Specialist takes you on a sightseeing tour starting with a visit to the Vatican City and the awe-inspiring St. Peter's Basilica to view Michelangelo's statue, the Pietà. Cross the Tiber to view the mighty Colosseum and see the ancient sites of Rome.

    meals Breakfast
  3. Day 3 Rome – Sorrento – Bay of Naples

    Today journey south to the Bay of Naples and stop in the nearby resort of Sorrento. Consider an Optional Experience to Positano and the Amalfi Coast. Later enjoy dinner at the hotel.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Grand La Panoramica
  4. Day 4 Bay of Naples – Cassino – Assisi

    Perhaps join an Optional Experience guided walking tour of Pompeii, which laid undiscovered beneath a layer of volcanic ash for centuries after the eruption of Mount Vesuvius. Afterwards, leave the Bay of Naples and view the monastery at Cassino, the scene of fierce battles during the Second World War. Continue north to the mystical town of Assisi, built on the fertile slopes of Mount Subasio in Umbria.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Frate Sole
  5. Day 5 Assisi – Venice (Oriago) (2 Nights)

    Your morning orientation tour of Assisi reveals a town that has changed little since the time of St. Francis, who was born here in 1182. See the sights of St. Francis's birthplace, including the medieval ramparts and the Basilica of St. Francis. Your journey continues north across the dramatic Apennine Mountains to the magical, romantic city of Venice.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Il Burchiello
  6. Day 6 Venice Orientation and Free Time

    Watch the Venetian craftsmen at work creating local specialities at a glassblowing workshop on Giudecca Island. Then cruise by private launch to St. Mark's Square in the heart of Venice. Admire the Bridge of Sighs, the ornate Doge's Palace and the Byzantine Basilica of St. Mark. Spend free time afterwards exploring this fascinating city or perhaps take a trip out across the lagoon to the island of Burano for a relaxing meal.

    meals Breakfast
  7. Day 7 Venice (Oriago) – Verona – Lake Como – Italian Lakes (Varese)

    Head west across the plains of Veneto to Verona, the home of Shakespeare's star-crossed lovers. View the vast Roman Arena, where concerts are still held regularly and walk to view Juliet's Balcony. Continue north to the Italian Lake District to visit Lake Como, a favoured summer retreat of the rich and famous before arriving at your hotel where you dine tonight.

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Palace Grand
  8. Day 8 Italian Lakes (Varese) – Pisa – Florence

    This morning travel south to the famous town of Pisa. Explore the Square of Miracles, featuring the Leaning Tower, Cathedral and Baptistery. There is time to shop for souvenirs and take pictures. Arrive later at your hotel near Florence, birthplace of the Renaissance.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Miro Calenzano
  9. Day 9 Florence Sightseeing – Rome

    There are few cities in the world with an artistic legacy to equal that of Florence. Your Local Specialist gives a superb commentary of the city's history during your walking tour, which includes views of the Baptistery, the Ponte Vecchio, the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore, the impressive Giotto's Bell Tower, and a visit to Piazza della Signoria. Learn about the quality and workmanship of one of this city's historic industries at a demonstration of Florentine leathercraft. Don't forget to try a gelato! Later, travel back to the Eternal City. This evening in Rome you might like to celebrate the end of your holiday in style.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Ergife Palace
  10. Day 10 Depart Rome

    This morning say 'arrivederci' to Italy, your Travel Director and newfound friends at the end of an unforgettable holiday. Transfers are available to Rome Fiumicino Airport. Conditions apply.

    meals Breakfast
Italian Scene
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 9 Breakfasts
  • 4 Three-course dinners

First class travel Highlights

  • Luxury air-conditioned coach
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Variety of Optional Experiences
  • City orientation tours
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional driver
  • All hotel service charges and tips, baggage handling fees and local taxes
  • Airport transfers are provided on the first and last travel day. Conditions apply

Sightseeing Highlights

  • Assisi Orientation of this beautiful town dedicated to St. Francis
  • Florence Sightseeing with a Local Specialist includes views of the Cathedral, Piazza della Signoria and Ponte Vecchio
  • Italian Lakes Visit Lake Como
  • Cassino Views of the monastery high on the hill
  • Pisa Visit the Square of Miracles to view the Leaning Tower
  • Rome Sightseeing tour with your Local Specialist includes a visit to St. Peter's Basilica and views of the mighty Colosseum
  • Sorrento Visit this popular resort
  • Venice Cruise by private boat to St. Mark's Square. Visit a traditional glassblowing workshop on Giudecca Island
  • Verona View Juliet's Balcony and the impressive Roman Arena

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Gerald Norton
Sunday, June 9, 2019
Service
I received all my needed documents well in advance of our trip so that I could review and understand. They kept me informed and answer all my questions.
Vacation
I would have given them a 5 star. The only thing I didn't like was, when we didn't want to go on some of the optional side trips, we still had to go with the group and wait while they attended. Only one option allowed us to stay at the hotel instead of leaving with the group. This would have been okay if we were big shoppers but we are not. Otherwise, we enjoyed the trip and all the other guest ,guides, bus drivers and host.
Lazarus Sebastian
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Service
Seamless booking and the specialist was always in contact to provide any help required.
Vacation
Lots of optional tours which I guess it is better to consider up front. I was prepared and therefore did not feel the pinch for additional $$.
Christine Francini
Monday, May 27, 2019
Service
Every question I had was answered knowledgeable and prifessionally
Vacation
Travel quite Lydia was amazing. Friendly helpful and caring in all matters as well as knowledgeable about the country
Ann Heiland
Sunday, May 26, 2019
Service
Booking was very easy, no issues. Everything went as the brochure listed with various side trips and lots of fun with the group, I would not hesitate to book with Grand European Travel again.
Vacation
The Italian Scene trip was wonderful! Saw so many cities, landmarks, historical areas plus a variety of foods. So glad we decided to take this trip. Our tour director, Lidia, was awesome and made sure we saw as much as possible and explained in detail. Pierro, our bus driver, was the best at navigating through and around narrow streets and traffic.
Trusted Customer
Sunday, May 26, 2019
Service
Great tour director, had lots of fun.
Vacation
Well organized and directed.
Trusted Customer
Sunday, May 19, 2019
Service
The travel specialist and tour guide and driver were all good.My main criticism of this tour are 1)the walking part of the tour needs to be explained better-the majority of our group had a hard time with the speed,length, and steepness of the walks.2) the dinners included with the tour were below par.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns. We do mention in our brochure and web page the need to be in good physical condition to participate in our trips and point out the amount of walking required.
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Vacation
i told you previously my criticisms.
Kathleen Kearns
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Service
I was quite happy with the gentleman I originally book with, Dave Fontella. However, I called one day just to check on something and spoke with a woman (name unknown). My question was: can I pay for optional excursions ahead of time on a credit card. She said no. However, I also asked if I could pay for the optional excursions while on the trip with a credit card and again, she said no. This is actually false, as on my first trip with GET, my mother paid for our optional with a credit card, and of course, I was able to pay for mine with a cc as well.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We apologize for the confusion. You ae correct that you may pay for your Optional Experiences by credit card while on the trip, but not before you depart. We hope you had a wonderful time in Italy.
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Vacation
I had a very nice time. There was never enough time in each day to do and see everything there was in each location. I understand that with a larger group, it's difficult to accommodate all tastes and schedules, however, I do wish we could have been on the road earlier, as of course, we were traveling at a peak visiting week.
Dale Morris
Monday, April 22, 2019
Service
Very knowledgeable, willing to provide answers to my questions. Provided email responses as needed. Did not leave me with more questions after talking to her.
Vacation
Our travel guide was awesome. Very personalized to ensure all were provided information about the area we were exploring. He had experts to ensure our excursions were exciting and information was relevant to the area.
Michael Chala
Sunday, October 21, 2018
Service
everything went well very well organized,not one problem.just a wonderful experience
Response from Grand European Travel:
It makes us so happy to hear that your Italian Scene vacation went off without a hitch and you had a fabulous experience. Thank you for sharing your comments with us!
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Vacation
great value for the price
Sharon Conroy
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Service
I had a wonderful tour with Get Travel. I would recommend the Italian Scene tour for anyone who is interested in a complete Italian experience. The tour highlights all that Italy has to offer. Such a good way to experience this beautiful country.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We look forward to helping you plan that next tour! Thank you for taking the time to write
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Vacation
A complete Italian experience.
See More Reviews
Back To Top