• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save up to 10% on select 2020 Departures - Pay in Full by Dec 18, 2019

    Save up to 10% on select 2020 Departures - Ends Dec 18, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members SAVE an additional $100
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Scenic Scandinavia & Its Fjords

Operated by: Trafalgar

14 Days from $3,915 per person
Noway fjord

Countries Visited

Denmark, Norway, Sweden ...more Denmark, Norway, Sweden

Locations Visited

Copenhagen, Christiansborg Palace, Randers, Stavanger, Bergen, Sognefjord, Geiranger, Lillehammer, Oslo, Oslo Opera House, Stockholm, Stockholm City Hall ...more Copenhagen, Christiansborg Palace, Randers, Stavanger, Bergen, Sognefjord, Geiranger, Lillehammer, Oslo, Oslo Opera House, Stockholm, Stockholm City Hall
  1. Day 1 Arrive Copenhagen (2 Nights)

    Welcome to Copenhagen - the enchanting Danish capital that inspired Hans Christian Andersen to share tales of mermaids, queens and ugly ducklings with the world. Spend the day embracing its quintessential hygge found throughout its charming streets before enjoying a late afternoon orientation drive and Welcome Reception with your Travel Director and travel companions.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Marriott
  2. Day 2 Copenhagen Sightseeing and Free Time

    Join a Local Specialist today for a fascinating sightseeing and walking tour of the iconic sights of Copenhagen. The Amalienborg Palace Quarter takes centre stage as you admire its 18th-century façades and equine statue of King Frederik V at its centre. We'll see the 17th-century Stock Exchange, Christianborg Palace and the Neo-Classical Cathedral before paying tribute to the tragic Little Mermaid who was willing to give up her life in the sea to become human. Spend the rest of the day on your own, strolling through the city's streets, or embrace your inner child in Europe's oldest amusement park, the Tivoli Gardens. This evening, consider taking to Copenhagen's waters and enjoying a canal cruise with stunning city views.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast
  3. Day 3 Copenhagen – Odense – Randers

    We leave the fairy tales behind for the Danish island of Funen, and Odense, the city where Hans Christian Andersen was born. Continuing across the pastoral landscapes of the Jutland Peninsula, we arrive in Randers, with its cosy half-timbered merchant houses and narrow medieval streets. Tonight, we stay at one of Trafalgar's 'Stays with Stories' - the Hotel Randers, one of the oldest hotels in the area with original artwork and a VIP-rich guestbook.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast
    hotel Randers
  4. Day 4 Randers – Stavanger

    Set sail from Hirtshals across the Skagerrak to the port of Kristiansand in Norway. Drive north past fjords, lakes and forests to the port city of Stavanger, one of Norway's oldest settlements - its heritage still evident in the beautifully preserved wooden buildings that date back to the 18th century.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Scandic Forum
  5. Day 5 Stavanger – Bergen (2 Nights)

    Norway's spellbinding natural landscapes provide an inspiring backdrop for our island hop from Stavanger. Arriving in Bergen this afternoon, we delve into the city's Hanseatic heritage, enjoying an orientation tour past the 13th-century Haakon's Hall, the bustling fish market and colourful Bryggen Quarter. This evening, we 'Connect With Locals' for a Be My Guest dinner, visiting the Øvre-Eide farm, worked for five generations by the same family.

    Please Note: If your trip starts in Copenhagen on a Thursday, your Be My Guest dinner in Bergen, will take place on Day 6 of this trip.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner with wine
    hotel Scandic Neptun
  6. Day 6 Bergen Free Day

    Enjoy a full free day in the cultural centre of Bergen or ascend its funicular for spectacular views of the fjords and islands. Consider an Optional Experience to Telavåg, which played a significant role in the secret North Sea boat traffic between Norway and Great Britain during World War II.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast
  7. Day 7 Bergen – Flåm Railway – Sognefjord

    We drive east to the popular ski resort of Voss, where we'll board a train ascending over 860 metres above sea level. 'Dive Into Culture' on one of the world's most exciting train journeys in the world, through the Flåm Valley past the Kjosfossen and legendary forest spirit who dances in front of the waterfall to lure men into the mountains. Later, arrive in Sognefjord, the King of the Fjords, where we will stay overnight at one of Trafalgar's 'Stays With Stories'.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Sognefjord
  8. Day 8 Sognefjord – Geiranger (2 Nights)

    Norway's incredible glacier countryside surrounds us as we follow the spectacular Sognefjord to Geirangerfjord - its deep blue waters surrounded by majestic snow-capped peaks and lush green landscapes, which we will have an opportunity to explore. Tonight, we stay on the shores of the fjord at one of Trafalgar's 'Stays With Stories' - Hotel Geiranger.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Geiranger
  9. Day 9 Geiranger Free Day

    Spend a full day admiring this spectacular natural wonder. Cascading waterfalls tumble down sheer cliffs into the glacial waters below, which you can explore by kayak or boat, soaking up the crisp, clean mountain air. Consider an Optional Experience to the Trollstigen and see Norway's most famous mountain road, travelling past steep mountain slopes, tumbling cascades and fertile valleys. After a day in intoxicating natural surrounds, we dine in our hotel this evening.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner
  10. Day 10 Geiranger – Lom – Lillehammer

    A scenic drive from Geiranger through high peaks brings us to Lom, the gateway to the Jotunheimen Mountains. Here we will visit a 12th-century wooden Stave church, adorned with Runic inscriptions, paintings and carved dragon figures that are said to protect it against evil. We continue through the Gudbrandsdalen Valley, the inspiration for Ibsen's 'Peer Gynt', before arriving in Lillehammer, the proud host of the 1994 Winter Olympics. This evening before dinner, consider a walk along Storgata or visit the open-air museum at Maihaugen.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Scandic
  11. Day 11 Lillehammer – Oslo Sightseeing and Free Time

    See the unusual Olympic ice arena beside the lake at Hamar as we travel to Norway's cultural capital, Oslo. Join a Local Specialist who will share the city's iconic sights, including views of the medieval fortress of Akershus, the Opera and 19th-century Royal Palace. We visit the fascinating Vigeland Sculpture Park, before spending the rest of the day at leisure. Enjoy a leisurely coffee in the Akker Bryge District or explore the nation's rich seafaring heritage. Consider a visit to the Fram Polar Ship Museum and Viking Ship Museum to see the world's best-preserved Viking ships and finds from Viking tombs found around the fjord.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast
    hotel Scandic Solli
  12. Day 12 Oslo – Stockholm (2 Nights)

    We cross the border into Sweden today and continue via Karlstad on Lake Vänern, the largest lake in the European Union. Passing Örebro, we arrive in the island-ringed capital of Stockholm for a two-night stay.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast
    hotel Clarion
  13. Day 13 Stockholm Sightseeing and Free Time

    We meet our Local Specialist this morning for a sightseeing tour of the waterside City Hall and see the medieval Storkyrkan, Riddarholm Church and the Royal Palace at the heart of Stockholm's quaint Old Town. The rest of the day is free to explore as you wish. Join your fellow travellers and Travel Director for a Farewell Dinner this evening to toast to an unforgettable Scandinavian adventure.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
  14. Day 14 Depart Stockholm

    Our epic journey has come to an end. Bid Stockholm and your newfound friends a fond farewell. Airport transfers are available. Conditions apply.

    meals Scandinavian Breakfast
Scenic Scandinavia and its Fjords
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 13 Scandinavian breakfasts
  • 8 dinners (including Be My Guest)

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Ferry from Denmark to Norway.
  • Ferry across the Boknafjord.
  • Ferry across the Sognefjord.
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • Train journey on the famous Flam Railway.
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • CITY TOUR in Copenhagen, Oslo and Stockholm
  • ORIENTATION of Bergen
  • VISIT Odense, Stavanger, the Sognefjord, Geiranger, the Stave Chuch at Lom, the Olympic Town of Lillehammer, Vigeland Sculpture Park in Oslo and Stockholm's City Hall
  • VIEW The Little Mermaid in Copenhagen, Haakon's Hall in Bergen, the Geirangerfjord and the Olympic Ski Jump in Lillehammer
  • SEE Hamar Olympic ice arena and Oslo's Royal Palace

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Trusted Customer
Saturday, September 14, 2019
Service
Our tour guide, Larae, is the best there is. New tour guides should pair up with her to learn from the master. I have traveled for years, and she rates the top among all others.
Vacation
Sceneries, esp. in Norway, is stunning.
Carol Mansfield
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Service
Yes, I have recommended them to friends. Alyssa was extremely helpful.
Vacation
Lasse, tour director, and Robert, coach driver, made the whole trip pleasant, relaxing, and delightful.
Roger Wilson
Monday, August 26, 2019
Service
Very smooth and complete.
Vacation
Found a wonderful sweater in Gieranger.
Trusted Customer
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Service
First person I spoke to was Rob, who happily answered all my questions. I also liked the follow up emails letting me know about upcoming paperwork, etc to expect and to make sure I had taken care of necessities like registering and having all necessary visas, etc.
Vacation
As wonderful the trip was, there were some unpleasant moments in the trip. In one hotel, I had no hot water, in another my room was over multiple carts full of dirty laundry and the noise coming from the laundry room was deafening. Since there was no a/c and I only had one window, I had to go to the front desk for another room. One of the excursions, “Danish traditions & canal cruise “ left a lot to be desired. Wandering by tiny houses and looking in windows followed by an awful dinner at a restaurant recently reopened for us. The canal cruise on a private boat was awful. Not only were th windows so dirty that you couldn’t see through them, but the person narrating the cruise was difficult to understand and was very sing song in speaking. A total waste of 56 EUR.The cruise on the fjords wonderful, seeing waterfalls and other scenery.The local specialist for the fabulous.North Zealand Riviera and Castle tour was snippy and would be talking long before we were all gathered together. We had an incredible driver and guide, and I particularly liked the local specialist we had for Stockholm discovery cruise. She was very approachable, informative, and was like a mother hen keeping track of all of us, which was very much appreciated. The old town dinner was lovely in a beautiful restaurant, and our farewell dinner was
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We will be sharing your comments and suggestions with our team at Trafalgar and ask them to review all aspects for immediate improvement.
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Mary T Lewis
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Service
Dave Frontella always takes excellent care of us. He helps us find the best deal for our particular needs/wants, is patient with our inquiries and responds super quickly. I feel I have a friend at GET and trust him completely.
Vacation
Gorgeous country!! Our travel director, Larae, was really special and our travel experiences were outstanding! A truly beautiful trip!
Ronald Yano
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Service
The tour director and driver were excellent and the hotels were great. Most of the hotels were near the main attractions in the city we visited and staff were helpful and friendly.
Vacation
The tour was easy to book and I made my own arrangements for air. Only complaint was that some of the optional excursions should be included in the base price.
Trusted Customer
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Service
I felt that a few of the optional excursions should have been included in the regular tours such as the visit to the farms. At times, the pacing was a bit much as we had to get up each morning so early and had some night excursions the night before. I would like to have some down time built into the day tours.
Vacation
Beautiful scenery and hotel choices.
David Powell
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Service
Everything was great and well done with food and hotels etc. Our guide Larae Malooly was a wonderful person who took great care of us, also our driver was excellent and drove real safe.
Vacation
Again a wonderful trip overall and would always recommend to others
Madonna Lemke
Saturday, September 8, 2018
Service
The travel agent answered all of my questions and the places we went were great. The tour director was very knowledgeable and helpful.
Vacation
Everything was well organized.
Trusted Customer
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Service
The Tour Guide was extraordinary; the itinerary was outstanding; and the scenery was fabulous. The hotels were okay (I'm not sure there were any better choices in the locations we were, and those locations were beautiful); and I liked the food (my wife was disappointed in the food - she's vegetarian and the choices were a bit limited for her).
Vacation
I'm not sure of the question - are looking for my impression of value, or are you looking for the ease/difficulty in purchase or are you asking my overall view of the trip, or are you looking for something else. I cannot figure out what you are asking.
See More Reviews
Back To Top