• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Splendors of Italy

Operated by: CostSaver

13 Days from $1,950 per person
Bay of Naples, Amalfi Coast

Countries Visited

Italy ...more Italy

Locations Visited

Rome, St Peters Basilica, Monte Cassino, Sorrento, Pompeii, Venice, Giudecca Island, Verona, Como, Pisa, Leaning Tower of Pisa, Florence, Siena ...more Rome, St Peters Basilica, Monte Cassino, Sorrento, Pompeii, Venice, Giudecca Island, Verona, Como, Pisa, Leaning Tower of Pisa, Florence, Siena
  1. Day 1 Arrive Rome (2 Nights)

    Welcome to Rome. After check-in at your hotel, relax and unwind before meeting with your Travel Director in the afternoon. This evening why not take a stroll around this fascinating city and soak up the amazing atmosphere.

    hotel Ergife Palace
  2. Day 2 Rome Sightseeing and Free Time

    Your Local Specialist takes you on a sightseeing tour of the city, starting with a visit to St. Peter's Basilica, one of the largest and most inspiring churches ever built. Your trip continues across the Tiber River with views of the iconic Colosseum and the ancient sites of Rome. Spend free time exploring the wonderful sights on your own. Perhaps take an Optional Experience offered by your Travel Director.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  3. Day 3 Rome – Bay of Naples (2 Nights)

    This morning perhaps join an Optional Experience to the Vatican Museums. Then journey south past the Abbey of Monte Cassino to the Bay of Naples, your home for the next two nights. This afternoon why not take an Optional Experience to Positano and the Amalfi Coast?

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Grand La Panoramica/Costa
  4. Day 4 Sorrento Excursion

    Enjoy an excursion to the nearby clifftop resort of Sorrento with free time to shop for souvenirs. Make sure you sample some of the delicious Limoncello produced from local lemons for which the region is famous.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
  5. Day 5 Bay of Naples – Assisi

    This morning consider an Optional Experience to see the excavations of Pompeii, which laid undiscovered for centuries beneath a layer of volcanic ash after the eruption of Mount Vesuvius. Later drive through the rolling hills of Umbria to the mystical town of Assisi on the slopes of Mount Subasio, the birthplace of St. Francis. Enjoy an orientation tour which includes views of the Basilica of St. Francis, renowned for its fresco paintings

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Frate Sole
  6. Day 6 Assisi – Venice (Oriago) (2 Nights)

    Enjoy a scenic drive across the dramatic Apennine Mountains to the magical floating city of Venice. Dine at your hotel this evening.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Il Burchiello
  7. Day 7 Venice Orientation and Free Time

    Watch the Venetian craftsmen at work creating local specialities at a glassblowing workshop on Giudecca island. You are surrounded by magnificent sights and sounds as you cruise by private launch along the Giudecca canal to St. Mark's Square. Admire the Bridge of Sighs, the ornate Doge's Palace and the Basilica of St. Mark. Explore the city during your free time or maybe take a trip to Burano Island in the lagoon for a delicious meal.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  8. Day 8 Venice (Oriago) – Verona – Lugano – Italian Lakes (2 Nights)

    Journey west to Verona, the setting for Shakespeare's most famous play, and stop to admire the Roman Arena and Juliet's Balcony. Continue across the Swiss border and visit the pretty lakeside resort of Lugano. Arrive at your hotel where you dine tonight.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Starhotels Grand Milan
  9. Day 9 Free Day or Milan and Lake Como Excursion

    Today you have a full day to enjoy the facilities at your hotel including the swimming pool. Alternatively consider an Optional Experience to Milan and Lake Como.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  10. Day 10 Italian Lakes Region – Pisa – Florence (2 Nights)

    Cross the Apennine Mountains, travel along the Italian Riviera arriving in Pisa. Here we see the famous Leaning Tower in the Square of Miracles. Later arrive at your hotel near the Renaissance city of Florence. Tonight you may wish to enjoy a wonderful dinner in the Tuscan hills.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Wall Art
  11. Day 11 Florence Sightseeing and Free Time

    Florence is one of the liveliest and most creative cities in Europe and home to some of the world's greatest works of art and architecture. Your Local Specialist gives you an excellent account of the city's history during your walking tour, which includes views of the Baptistery, the Ponte Vecchio, the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore, the impressive Giotto's Bell Tower and a visit to Piazza della Signoria. Learn about the quality and workmanship of two of this city's historic industries at demonstrations of Florentine leathercraft and 18-carat gold. In your free time, perhaps visit one of the many museums or simply relax and enjoy the ambience.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  12. Day 12 Florence – Siena – Rome

    Admire the beautiful scenery as you drive through the Chianti region of Tuscany to Siena, a medieval city famous for its biannual Palio horse race. Marvel at its rich heritage during your orientation tour. This evening in Rome you might like to mark the end of an enjoyable holiday with a meal out.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Raganelli
  13. Day 13 Depart Rome

    This morning say 'arrivederci' to Italy, your Travel Director and fellow travellers as you prepare to return home with wonderful memories. Transfers are available to Rome Fiumicino airport. Conditions apply.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
Splendours of Italy
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 12 Buffet breakfasts
  • 5 Three course dinners

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets Provided throughout your holiday to enhance your included sightseeing experiences
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Variety of Optional Experiences
  • City orientation tours
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional driver
  • All hotel service charges and tips, baggage handling fees and local taxes
  • Airport transfers are provided on the first and last travel day. Conditions apply

Sightseeing Highlights

  • Rome Sightseeing with a Local Specialist includes a visit to St. Peter's Basilica and views of the mighty Colosseum
  • Sorrento Orientation tour of this popular resort
  • Assisi Orientation tour includes St. Francis' Basilica
  • Venice Cruise by private boat to St. Mark's Square. Visit a traditional glassblowing workshop on Giudecca Island
  • Verona View the Roman Arena and Juliet's Balcony
  • Lugano Visit this magnificent lakeside resort
  • Italian Lakes Enjoy a free day with spectacular views
  • Pisa View the Square of Miracles and the famous Leaning Tower
  • Florence Sightseeing with a Local Specialist includes views of the Cathedral, Piazza della Signoria and Ponte Vecchio
  • Siena Visit the Piazza del Campo famous for the Palio horse race

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Amy Miller
Friday, August 2, 2019
Service
Our travel specialist left the company shortly after we booked. No one took his place. Dinner details were not shared with us that would have been helpful to know.
Vacation
Very well organized. Nice hotels. Porter service for luggage. Excellent choice of locations visited. Excellent tour director and driver!
Trusted Customer
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Service
This was our second Trafalgar Cost Saver trip. Both were fabulous. Well organized, marvelous host, everything taken care of.
Response from Grand European Travel:
That is so nice to hear. We are so glad you enjoy this product and appreciate you booking with us!
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Vacation
Fabulous vacation. Everything taken care of, well organized, marvelous tour director.
Paula Smith
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Service
Kaitlynn Fitzpatrick was helpful, efficient, and stayed in close contact. She always answered any questions cheerfully and in a timely manner.
Vacation
It could have been outstanding. However, our Tour Director's English was basically incomprehensible, so we missed out on much of the background, etc., of the sites we visited. Disappointing! Also, the hotels were inconveniently located, making the "Optionals" basically imperative.
Lucia Carvalho
Saturday, May 11, 2019
Service
They helped me pick the trip that hit all the places that i wanted to visit. They also were very helpful when a direct flight became available. They called me up and saved me from a 6 hour layover. That was very much appreciated.
Vacation
The Splendors of Italy tour was simply amazing. I saw amazing places, had great food, and made amazing friends. The best part was our tour director Giacomo. He made this trip the great experience that it was by going above and beyond!
Theresa Ficarra
Friday, September 28, 2018
Service
I would have appreciated knowing that the hotels were located so far from the sites. I might have rethought which tour that I wanted to take.
Vacation
Sites were amazing but hotel sites could have been a lot better.
Trusted Customer
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Service
The Splendors of Italy tour surpassed our expectations. The itinerary was thoughtfully designed to maximize sights and experiences. The hotels were all very good and a nice sampling of family run and grander hotels. The element that took our tour over the top was our wonderful guide, Amedeo Tarquini. He was not only extremely knowledgeable about art, architecture, history,food, wine, etc. he had such love for his home country and genuinely enjoyed sharing with us. He surprised us with unexpected delights (ie. musicians on our gondola ride!) and shared all sorts of insider info for shopping, dining, etc. He made us all feel like family, looking out for one another, and managed a very full itinerary with grace, style and a wonderful sense of humor. It was a wonderful trip.
Vacation
We looked at more expensive options but I don't think they would have been any better than this Cost Saver trip. We actually enjoyed staying in smaller family run hotels in addition to the grander hotels. We had thought of a smaller group tour, but we really enjoyed all 48 people on our bus. We met so many interesting people from all over the world. The pay-as-you-go optional experiences seemed spendy at first, but they were all so good they were worth the price. We did all of them.
Joshua Uhrig
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Service
The trip was amazing. That being said...the person we booked with was very pleasant on the phone the first time we called with questions and to book. He was helpful, insightful, and very friendly. However once we booked our trip we didn't receive our itinerary when we should have. We called to inquiry about it and the booking agent we originally spoke with who gave us his direct number was very short and rude in helping to get my itinerary electronically. Thankfully we got it and the trip went on without any other issues. The Trip Director was amazing the coach driver was skilled and friendly, and the hotels were very nice.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear about the issue with your itinerary and the extra phone calls you had to make to sort it out.  We will certainly use this as a training opportunity for all of our staff.  Thank you for letting us know.
Friday, June 1, 2018
Vacation
Very well rounded view of Italy, especially for first timers to the country. Spenders included all the major attractions and destinations one would think of when coming to Italy, plus a few local gems you would have never expected. Very pleased and hapo y we chose this specific tour and will be recommending!
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation.  We couldn't be happier to see that you enjoyed the Splendors of Italy!
Friday, June 1, 2018
Trusted Customer
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Service
I did not make the arrangements my travelling companion did.
Vacation
There was too much walking and it was too fast for me to keep up with the group. There should have been in the description of the tour that it was almost all walking. I was left behind twice and that was pretty scary!!
Janice
Thursday, October 5, 2017
Service
Mr. Randy Fey was very professional in answering our questions and meeting our travel needs.
Vacation
The land tour package was priced accordingly. We saw more places than expected. Some of the lodging were average and some were excellent; can't complain.
Steven Fiero
Thursday, September 28, 2017
Service
Your customer representatives were helpful with questions and advice.
Vacation
This tour accomplished what we wanted: to see a lot of Italy in a limited time span. We did this to be able to decide what region of Italy on our next trip that we would like to spend more time at.
See More Reviews
Back To Top