• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends August 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends Aug. 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members SAVE an additional $100
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Wonders of Britain & Ireland

Operated by: Trafalgar

15 Days from $3,371 per person
Guinness storehouse, Dublin

Countries Visited

UK, Ireland ...more UK, Ireland

Locations Visited

London, Big Ben, Bath, Cardiff, Waterford, Ring of Kerry, Dublin, Liverpool, Edinburgh, York, Anne Hathaways Cottage ...more London, Big Ben, Bath, Cardiff, Waterford, Ring of Kerry, Dublin, Liverpool, Edinburgh, York, Anne Hathaways Cottage
  1. Day 1 Arrive London (2 Nights)

    The cosmopolitan capital of London rolls out its red carpet with all the pomp and pageantry you're unlikely to encounter anywhere else in the world. Spend the day ambling along its grand boulevards and past iconic sights as you familiarise yourself with the city's bustling atmosphere.

    hotel Park Plaza County Hall
  2. Day 2 London Sightseeing and Free Time

    Join a Local Specialist today to explore the city's favourite landmarks. See Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and Buckingham Palace before spending the rest of the day at leisure to delve into the city's history, culture, art and architecture.

    meals Full Breakfast
  3. Day 3 London – Stonehenge – Bath – Cardiff

    Ponder the mysteries of the ancient monoliths of Stonehenge this morning, as we drive west to Bath with its elegant Georgian façades and the Roman Baths. Crossing the Severn Estuary to the Welsh capital, we view the Millennium Centre and the National Assembly in Cardiff Bay. Enjoy warm hospitality and traditional Welsh pub fare and drinks this evening at a rousing Welcome Reception with your travel companions and Travel Director.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Park Inn City Centre
  4. Day 4 Cardiff – Waterford

    This morning, we view the Principality Stadium during our orientation of Cardiff. Enjoy some leisure time in this modern capital. Perhaps visit the Victorian Gothic fantasy of Cardiff Castle at the heart of the city or delve into the city's fascinating history at the Cardiff Story Museum. We cross the Irish Sea by ferry to the Emerald Isle and travel to historic Waterford, where we'll dine in our hotel tonight.

    meals Full Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Marina/Treacys
  5. Day 5 Waterford – Blarney – Killarney (2 Nights)

    'Dive Into Culture' and watch the master craftsmen of the renowned House of Waterford Crystal. Then, kiss the Blarney Stone to acquire the 'gift of the gab', before travelling to the picturesque town of Killarney and Moll's Gap with its panoramic views.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Hotel Killarney
  6. Day 6 Ring of Kerry Excursion

    Today we experience the enduring beauty of Ireland's most scenic coastal drive around the Iveragh Peninsula - the emerald green hills, centuries-old stone villages and vivid blue seascapes provide an exquisite backdrop for our leisurely drive around what has become known as the Ring of Kerry. See Daniel O'Connell's Cahirciveen, the fishing village of Waterville, the Black Valley and Moll's Gap with its panoramic views. This evening, we 'Connect with Locals' at Molly Gallivan's 200 year-old cottage, sharing a memorable Be My Guest dinner with the O'Sullivan family and their Kerry cows.

    meals Full Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
  7. Day 7 Killarney – Cashel – Dublin Sightseeing (2 Nights)

    Celtic art and history take centre stage this morning as we visit the Rock of Cashel in County Tipperary, the seat of Irish kings for centuries. Perched atop a limestone outcrop in the Golden Vale, the historic ruins house one of the most remarkable collections of Celtic art and medieval architecture in Europe. We arrive this afternoon in Dublin, where we will join our Local Specialist for a sightseeing tour to see Trinity College, St. Patrick's Cathedral and the stately Georgian Squares. This evening, consider joining an Optional Experience to enjoy the rousing sounds of an Irish cabaret.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Hilton Garden Inn Custom House/Clayton Leopardstown
  8. Day 8 Dublin Free Time

    Beat the crowds and explore the Guinness Brewery for a tour of the Storehouse including a tasting technique demonstration. The rest of the day is yours to soak up the cosy atmosphere of the Irish capital. Ramble through the buzzing streets of Temple Bar or visit Grafton Street, famous for its colourful street performers.

    meals Full Breakfast
  9. Day 9 Dublin – Chester – Liverpool

    Admire the spectacular landscape of Snowdonia National Park as you travel to the ancient city of Chester, with its characteristic Tudor Rows and medieval walls. We arrive later in Liverpool, the haunt of the 'Fab Four', joining our companions for a tasty Regional Meal at a local restaurant.

    meals Full Breakfast, Regional Meal
    hotel Jurys Inn
  10. Day 10 Liverpool – Lake District – Gretna Green – Edinburgh (2 Nights)

    The beautiful landscape, which for centuries inspired the Romantic poets, provides a mesmerising backdrop for our scenic drive from the lush green hills of Lancashire to the Lake District. Skirt the shores of England's largest lake, Windermere, as we travel through countryside made famous by poet William Wordsworth. We cross the Scottish border and visit the runaway wedding capital that is Gretna Green. This evening, we arrive in beguiling Edinburgh, where we'll spend the next two nights.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Apex City
  11. Day 11 Edinburgh Sightseeing and Free Time

    Join a Local Specialist this morning for a memorable sightseeing tour of this captivating capital, including a visit to Edinburgh Castle, perched high above the city on Castle Rock. See Auld Reekie's Royal Mile and the elegant Palace of Holyroodhouse in the shadow of Arthur's Seat, and admire the Georgian façades in Edinburgh's New Town. During the Edinburgh Festival, tickets to the performance at the Edinburgh Tattoo are included.

    meals Full Breakfast
  12. Day 12 Edinburgh – Alnwick – York

    We venture south to the medieval market town of Alnwick with its impressive castle and Tenantry Column, upon which the Percy Lion sits imposingly overlooking the town's beautiful gardens. Marvel at the magnificent scenery as you cross Northumberland and the River Tyne at Newcastle en route to York where you'll walk through the charming Shambles, see the medieval walls and York Minster, one of the greatest cathedrals in the world.

    meals Full Breakfast
    hotel Novotel Centre
  13. Day 13 York – Stratford-upon-Avon

    We visit Shakespeare's Birthplace and Visitor Centre in Stratford-upon-Avon today to see where the 'Avon Bard' was born and raised. View Anne Hathaway's picturesque thatched cottage before we tread in the footsteps of this legendary writer, enjoying some free time in this quaint town. This evening we join our fellow travellers and Travel Director for a Farewell Dinner reminiscing over our very own stories from an unforgettable holiday.

    meals Full Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
    hotel Best Western Grosvenor
  14. Day 14 Stratford-upon-Avon – Bladon – Oxford – London

    Journey to the Cotswolds this morning and the little churchyard at Bladon where Sir Winston Churchill is buried. Arriving in Oxford, the oldest university city in the British Isles, we'll enjoy an orientation tour of the city to view the Radcliffe Camera and the Bodleian Library and visit one of the university's famous colleges (when open). We return to London this afternoon and bid a fond farewell to our Travel Director and newfound friends at the end of a wonderful holiday.

    meals Full Breakfast
  15. Day 15 Depart London

    For now, it's time to say farewell to our travel companions at the end of a memorable holiday as we prepare to return home with treasured memories.

    meals Full Breakfast
Wonders of Britain and Ireland
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 14 full breakfasts
  • 5 dinners (including Be My Guest)

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • The services of a Trafalgar Local Host at your London hotel
  • Return ferry across the Irish Sea between Wales and Ireland
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • London airport transfer service is available to purchase. Conditions apply. See airport transfer page link below for details
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • CITY TOUR in London, Dublin and Edinburgh
  • ORIENTATION of Bath, Cardiff, Chester, York and Oxford
  • VISIT the ancient stone circle at Stonehenge, the Roman Baths in Bath, the Waterford Crystal Showroom, Blarney Castle to kiss the stone, the Rock of Cashel, the town of Gretna Green, Edinburgh Castle, medieval Alnwick, Shakespeare's Birthplace in Stratford-upon-Avon and one of the famous colleges of Oxford (when open)
  • VIEW the home to Harry Potter & Hogwarts' Alnwick Castle, York Minster, Anne Hathaway's thatched cottage and Sir Winston Churchill's grave at Bladon
  • SEE the Lake District's magnificent scenery
  • SCENIC DRIVE around the Ring of Kerry

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
  • Edinburgh Tattoo
Price Discount Availability Price
  • Edinburgh Tattoo: This departure includes the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo event.
Edinburgh Military Tattoo

The Edinburgh Military Tattoo takes place every year in August.

The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo, often referred to as "the most spectacular show on earth," is an exciting celebration showcasing the best of Scottish music, dance, and military pageantry. In 2020 it will take place in Edinburgh from August 7th to August 29th, and is sure to draw entertainers and spectators from around the world. 

Tickets and arrangements have been included on these select departures. Book early as they will sell out quickly!

Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Trusted Customer
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Service
Booking was efficient and quick. Barbara was great.
Vacation
Vacation was very good. It was just tiresome. I wish the bus has more leg room. It was tight especially after several hours of riding on the bus daily,
Candace Aleks
Friday, June 21, 2019
Service
Alyssa is always great to work with in scheduling our trips! She gave me valuable information for our transfer in Dublin and she was so helpful with recommending our use of the Tristar Transfer Service from Heathrow to the hotel and the hotel to Heathrow. One recommendation is that Trafalgar/Insight should have a booth/kiosk where the Tristar drivers can stand so we can find them. We arrived early and our driver was not there. It was not his fault but we were confused. Luckily another great Tristar driver called the office and the driver arrived. Initially, you are tired and trying to follow the written directions on the GET materials so it can be a little unsettling. Our travel materials arrived in the mail efficiently. Alyssa always answers my questions fully and has even called back with more information.
Vacation
The Wonders of Great Britain and Ireland was another great Trafalgar Tour. We enjoyed Stonehenge, the Roman Baths of Bath, England and seeing Cardiff Castle in Wales. The ferry crossing to Waterford, Ireland was a unique experience. The Waterford Crystal factory tour was fascinating! Loved Tipperary and the Rock of Cashel. The ride around The Ring of Kerry was lovely. Enjoyed the Be My Guest experience at Molly Gallivan's farm and cottage with the delicious dinner and entertainment. Great shopping there, too!!!! Also enjoyed the many Optional experiences such as the Scottish Night in Edinburg. Liverpool was fun and the Lake Region was lovely. Enjoyed York and a GREAT dinner at a pub down the street from the hotel. Lovely people everywhere we went!!! Our Tour Director, David Caggiari-Pallett was exceptionally organized in preparing us for each experience each day. He was full of helpful information and had a vibrant, charming personality which kept us entertained throughout the trip. His use of technology on the bus was informative and entertaining. He was exceptionally skillful in guiding us into the venues promptly and especially skillful in checking us in to the hotels really fast!!! Great Job, David!!! He always made sure we knew how to contact him if need be. He encouraged us to experience as much as possible. Additionally, our Driver, Phil was fantastic! He was a skillful driver, had a great personality and meshed very well with our Tour Director. Our bus was always clean which is not easy considering the weather and where we traveled. All in all, we had a lot of fun seeing England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland. I just wish we had 3 more days in LONDON!!!!
Trusted Customer
Friday, April 26, 2019
Service
I would use them again. I liked having my luggage taken care of for me. However, I do feel that it could have been better organized. Some hotels were not good. Same breakfast was boring. Some wasted time/days.
Vacation
The places we saw were great but there was some wasted time.
Margaret Brennan
Friday, October 12, 2018
Service
Both Paul Fleming, the Tour Director and Paul Williams, the driver were amazing and made the trip wonderful. Paul's knowledge and story telling ability added great fun and information to our trip. I don't know how Paul, the driver, was able to navigate the roads so well but he did.
Vacation
The accommodations and events were really great.
Vernon Fitzhugh
Saturday, August 11, 2018
Service
Travel Specialist, Joshua Pericas managed the details of our tour booking and airline reservations for the "Wonders of Britain & Ireland" tour. He was both friendly and professional. He provided us excellent service. We enjoyed a great vacation! I have recommended GET to family and friends.
Vacation
This was our third Trafalgar coach tour. The quality of service was excellent as it was for our previous tours. Our tour director, Cerry Hodgson was competent and delightful. We had a fun experience!
Elva Coffey Sears
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Service
The service folks were extremely helpful and very knowledgeable. I greatly appreciated them identifying a direct return flight option and making that change for me - without being asked!
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're always happy to hear that you think our service is top-notch. Our team really enjoys making your vacation hassle-free, it's what we do! We'll be sure to share your comment, everyone will be happy to know you had such a great experience. Hope you had the best time in Britain and Ireland. Happy Travels!
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Vacation
The price was great for the all of the adventures included!
Trusted Customer
Friday, May 25, 2018
Service
They provided our documents early since we were leaving the states early. Once we arrived at the hotel in London there was a lack of communication as to where we were to meet the representative but the hotel concierge helped us out. Overall we were quite pleased. The representative in London was helpful.
Vacation
We enjoyed the tour and it was pretty much as described in the brochure. The guide was knowledgeable and tried to keep us all on track.
Jacquelyn Potter
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Service
This was our second tour . The first one was European whril which we immensely enjoyed. Our tour guide Jerry Baines was perfect in every way. The bus driver was fantastic. This tour we found ourselves comparing and there was no comparison. The guide did not seem approachable and seemed to always be too busy to answer questions. The bus driver was almost to the point of being rude at times. I know each tour is different but this one seemed to fall very short of our past experience
Vacation
Definitely covered all the destinations. Hotels choices were excellent. Disappointed in the optional dinners.
Richard Barbone
Sunday, September 17, 2017
Service
The tour was very comprehensive and the tour guide made it special since he was very knowledgeable of the many places we visited plus was very entertaining.
Vacation
Was worthwhile and good value
Rita Smith
Saturday, August 12, 2017
Service
First of all, my trip started on 13-JUl-17! I believe that Grand European Travel agents presented a false impression of the type of trip this was to be. By this I mean, I was led to believe that it was geared toward senior citizens and would not include as much difficult walking as it eventually did. This problem could have been due to our Travel Director who seemed to be more interested in her schedule of places to see than being concerned about travelers who might not be able to navigate the sights she had chosen for us to see. The country had beautiful sights but not enough time was allocated for us to truly enjoy some of the locations.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're sorry to hear that you there was more walking involved than you expected.  We do mention in our brochure and on our website that you should be in good physical condition and able to walk up to 3 miles a day to fully enjoy our trips. We do offer a variety of slower paced trips and River Cruises that may be more to your liking.
Thursday, August 17, 2017
Vacation
Transportation was good (Delta Airlines).Local touring.. For me, getting on and off of the Bus was difficult, even though our driver was excellent and very considerate to assist. This has to do with Trafalgar, which is who GEtours used as tour guides I was not made aware that there would be no A/C in the hotels.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for taking the time to write. We will certainly review your comments with Trafalgar.
Thursday, August 17, 2017
See More Reviews
Back To Top