• AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members SAVE an additional $100
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers


Contrasts Of New Zealand

Operated by: Trafalgar

10 Days from $3,135 per person

Countries Visited

New Zealand ...more New Zealand

Locations Visited

Auckland, Rotorua, Queenstown (Nz), Franz Josef, Arthurs Pass, Christchurch (Nz) ...more Auckland, Rotorua, Queenstown (Nz), Franz Josef, Arthurs Pass, Christchurch (Nz)
  1. Day 1 Arrive Auckland (2 Nights)

    Welcome to the New Zealand's invigorating North Island hub. On arrival in Auckland, transfer to your hotel (flights to arrive prior to 4pm) and spend the rest of the day at leisure. This evening, join your Travel Director and fellow travellers for a Welcome Reception and dinner at your hotel.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Stamford Plaza
  2. Day 2 Auckland Sightseeing

    Immerse yourself in Auckland’s intoxicating charm as you embark on a city sightseeing tour to Mission Bay. Keep your camera at the ready to capture spectacular panoramic views of the skyline, sprawling North Shore and Waitemata Harbour from Bastion Point and Michael Joseph Savage Memorial. Spend the afternoon as you wish.

    meals Breakfast
  3. Day 3 Auckland - Rotorua

    Cross the rolling hills of King Country to Rotorua. Encounter New Zealand's indigenous creatures that find sanctuary alongside the crystal-clear mineral springs of Rainbow Springs Nature Park. 'Join Trafalgar' and learn how your visit supports the conservation of the native bird, the kiwi. A 'Local Specialist' will help you spot shy kiwi amongst the native bush, ferns and trees. This evening, Dive into Culture' at the Tamaki Maori Village, complete with a tasty Hangi Regional Dinner with wine and powerful Māori cultural performance, revealing the rituals and traditions of this ancient culture.

    meals Breakfast, Regional Dinner
    hotel Millennium
  4. Day 4 Rotorua - Queenstown (3 Nights)

    Spend time at leisure this morning or consider joining an Optional Experience to Te Puia to meet the local Māori community for an introduction to their gift from the gods – the bubbling geysers, mud pools and thermal springs of Rotorua. Later, we fly to Queenstown.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Millennium
  5. Day 5 Milford Sound

    Travel south over the Devil's Staircase and along the tranquil shores of Lake Wakatipu to Te Anau, the gateway to South Island's spectacular fiords. Continue through the ancient forests of Fiordland National Park, driving past peaks and glaciers and through the hand-hewn Homer Tunnel to capture the startling natural beauty of Cleddau Valley and Mirror Lake. A journey filled with pinch-me moments awaits as you take to the tranquil waters of Milford Sound, enjoying a soul-stirring encounter with this wonder of nature and lunch on board before returning to Queenstown for an evening at leisure.

    meals Breakfast, Lunch
  6. Day 6 Queenstown Free Time

    Your final day in Queenstown could see you take an Optional Experience on the Shotover Jet boat or a cruise aboard the TSS Earnslaw to Walter Peak High Country Farm for a gourmet barbecue lunch. This evening, join your Travel Director for dinner at The Boatshed, set in the historic New Zealand Railways Shipping Office built in 1936. Restored and relocated to its lakefront setting, The Boatshed, with its spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables, is the perfect venue for your exclusive Regional Dinner.

    meals Breakfast, Regional Dinner
  7. Day 7 Queenstown - Franz Josef

    Before departing Queenstown, you'll visit the historic gold mining village of Arrowtown, then savour the juicy flavours of apricots, peaches, plums in Cromwell, New Zealand's stone fruit capital, near the pristine waters of Lake Dunstan. Journey along the pebbled shores of Lakes Wanaka and Hawea across the Haast Pass and past Thunder Creek Falls. Continue to the luminescent icy depths of the Franz Josef Glacier, which you may choose to explore by air on an Optional Experience scenic flight (weather permitting).

    meals Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel Te Waonui Forest Retreat
  8. Day 8 Franz Josef - Christchurch (2 Nights)

    Admire the vivid hues of greenstone (jade) during a visit to Hokitika for an exclusive jewellery carving demonstration with a 'Local Specialist' master carver. Continue inland to the small settlement of Arthur's Pass to board the TranzAlpine, one of the world's most scenic rail trips, for the journey across the Canterbury Plains and snow-capped Southern Alps to Christchurch.

    meals Breakfast
    hotel Distinction
  9. Day 9 Christchurch Sightseeing

    'Connect With Locals' Isabelle and Tim Weston in their home, a former horse stables, for a 'Be My Guest' morning tea. Ask them to tell you the story behind the Britten V1000 motorcycle, which was designed and built by Isabelle's father in the garage at Britten Stables. This evening, join your Travel Director and new-found friends for a Farewell Dinner.

    meals Breakfast, Be My Guest, Farewell Dinner
  10. Day 10 Depart Christchurch

    Your holiday concludes this morning after breakfast. You will be transferred to Christchurch Airport for your onward flight (flights anytime).

    meals Breakfast
Contrasts of New Zealand
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 9 breakfasts
  • 1 lunch
  • 5 dinners

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels all tried and trusted
  • Handcrafted Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and local charges included
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and separate Driver, Driver Guide only on Mini-Stays
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • Airport transfers on the first and last day of your guided holiday
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • CITY TOUR in Auckland and Christchurch
  • VISIT Franz Josef Glacier, Rainbow Springs Nature Park
  • VIEW native flora and fauna, jade carving in Hokitika and the Southern Alps from the TranzAlpine train
  • CRUISE on Milford Sound.

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Start Date: Fri, Apr 10, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Apr 19, 2020
$3,450$3,135pp SAVE: $315Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Apr 24, 2020
Return Date: Sun, May 3, 2020
$3,450$3,135pp SAVE: $315Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, May 22, 2020
Return Date: Sun, May 31, 2020
$3,450$3,135pp SAVE: $315Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Jun 12, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Jun 21, 2020
$3,450$3,135pp SAVE: $315Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Jul 10, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Jul 19, 2020
$3,450$3,135pp SAVE: $315Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Aug 21, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Aug 30, 2020
$3,450$3,135pp SAVE: $315Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Aug 28, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Sep 6, 2020
$3,450$3,135pp SAVE: $315Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Sep 11, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Sep 20, 2020
$3,450$3,135pp SAVE: $315Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Sep 25, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Oct 4, 2020
$3,450$3,135pp SAVE: $315Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Oct 9, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Oct 18, 2020
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Oct 23, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Nov 1, 2020
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Nov 13, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Nov 22, 2020
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Nov 20, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Nov 29, 2020
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Nov 27, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Dec 6, 2020
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Dec 4, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Dec 13, 2020
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Dec 11, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Dec 20, 2020
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Dec 18, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Dec 27, 2020
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Dec 25, 2020
Return Date: Sun, Jan 3, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Jan 1, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Jan 10, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Jan 8, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Jan 17, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Jan 15, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Jan 24, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Jan 22, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Jan 31, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Jan 29, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Feb 7, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Feb 5, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Feb 14, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Feb 12, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Feb 21, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Feb 19, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Feb 28, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Feb 26, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Mar 7, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Mar 5, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Mar 14, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Mar 12, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Mar 21, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Mar 19, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Mar 28, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 checkmark Request Quote Book Now
Start Date: Fri, Mar 26, 2021
Return Date: Sun, Apr 4, 2021
$3,825$3,473pp SAVE: $352Pay by Dec 18AARP members save an additional $100 Request Quote Book Now
Reviews
Independent Reviews

Trip not yet reviewed

See More Reviews
Terms & Conditions
Click here to view Terms and Conditions for this guided vacation
Back To Top