• Save 10% on Select Departures – Book & Pay in Full by Jan 17, 2019

    Save up to 10% - ends Jan 17, 2019
  • AARP Members Save $100 on ANY departure

    AARP Members Save $100 on ANY departure
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Costa Rica Eco Adventure

8 Days from $1,526 per person

Style: First Class | Pace: Comfortable

Glide through tree-lined waterways and relax in thermal pools, sample chocolate made from the world's best cacao and journey back in time with a native Quaker in Old Town Monteverde.

Print Itinerary

Overview

Glide through tree-lined waterways and relax in thermal pools, sample chocolate made from the world's best cacao and journey back in time with a native Quaker in Old Town Monteverde.

  1. Welcome to San José where your journey begins with a warm greeting from a local host at the airport and a transfer to your hotel. At 6 pm, gather at the hotel with your Travel Director and traveling companions for a Welcome Reception.

    meal(s):Welcome Reception
    hotel:Sheraton San Jose
  2. After breakfast, head toward the small town of San Isidro de Heredia, where you are welcomed by master chocolatiers, Julio Fernandez and George Soriano, for a taste of gourmet chocolate, a Cultural Insight. Learn about the history of chocolate and how it is produced at this small workshop. Continue to Siquirres and embark on a river journey through protected wetlands. Later, stroll the streets of Tortuguero Village and explore the fascinating Green Turtle Research Station. Enjoy dinner at the hotel this evening.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
    hotel:Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
  3. Glide through the canals and waterways of the park today as howler monkeys watch from the treetops, toucans and egrets fly through the air, and crocodiles ply the cool waters. If you're here in July, take an optional trip to see the sea turtles laying eggs on the beach.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
  4. Board your boat and bid adiós to Tortuguero. Enjoy lunch along the way before a visit a Tico family's palm plantation where you'll learn about and sample the delicate heart of palm, a Cultural Insight. After a mid-afternoon arrival at your hotel, join your Travel Director on an easy hike looking for the exotic birds. With a little luck, you may spot the endangered great green macaw. Your evening is free.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Lunch, Regional Meal
    hotel:Hotel La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge
  5. Embark on an optional rafting trip. We Connect with Locals, joining the Quintana Family for a Be My Guest lunch at their eco-friendly hacienda. Make a Difference and learn how your visit contributes to the local community. We continue to Arenal Volcano, where we spend the afternoon relaxing.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
    hotel:Arenal Paraiso Resort and Spa
  6. Enjoy a free morning before heading to the Monteverde Cloud Forest, straddling the Continental Divide, home to luxuriant vegetation, abundant wildlife, coffee plantations and spectacular views. Tonight, you'll meet a native Quaker, and Local Specialist, who will share stories of Old Town Monteverde.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
    hotel:El Establo Mountain
  7. Join your guide for an excursion through the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Covering 26,000 acres of tropical rainforest, the Reserve consists of 6 ecological zones and offers extremely high biodiversity. Later, ascend to the treetops for a bird's-eye view of the forest on the unforgettable Sky Walk, a chain of 6 suspension bridges at canopy level. Tonight, trade stories of your experiences at a Farewell Dinner.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
  8. For now it's a fond hasta luego to Costa Rica, but not goodbye. Transfer to either Liberia or San José International Airports. Airport arrival will be at 11:30 am for both San José and Liberia airport. Please be aware when booking your flights.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Print Itinerary
  • Definite Departure
Start Date Return Date Price Discount Availability Price
2 Feb 19 9 Feb 19 checkmark $1,850pp Request Quote Book Now
10 Feb 19 17 Feb 19 checkmark $1,850pp Request Quote Book Now
23 Feb 19 2 Mar 19 checkmark $1,850pp Request Quote Book Now
3 Mar 19 10 Mar 19 checkmark $1,825pp Request Quote Book Now
9 Mar 19 16 Mar 19 checkmark $1,825$1,643pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
17 Mar 19 24 Mar 19 checkmark $1,825pp Request Quote Book Now
30 Mar 19 6 Apr 19 checkmark $1,825$1,643pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
20 Apr 19 27 Apr 19 checkmark $1,750$1,575pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
18 May 19 25 May 19 $1,750$1,575pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
15 Jun 19 22 Jun 19 $1,695$1,526pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
29 Jun 19 6 Jul 19 checkmark $1,695$1,526pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
20 Jul 19 27 Jul 19 checkmark $1,795$1,616pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
28 Sep 19 5 Oct 19 checkmark $1,695$1,526pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
5 Oct 19 12 Oct 19 $1,695$1,526pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
7 Dec 19 14 Dec 19 $1,850$1,665pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now

Price is per person and is based on two people sharing a twin bedded room. Single rooms are available at a supplement.

Single Room Supplement: from $475.

Guaranteed Room Share is not available on this trip.

Gratuities: Option to pre-pay gratuities for Travel Director and Driver $89 per person.

Luggage: For the two night excursion to Tortuguero National Park guests are permitted to bring a maximum of 25 lbs of luggage. Your primary suitcase will be transferred and securely stored at your Sarapiqui hotel.

AARP Members are entitled to an exclusive Member Benefit Discount on all Grand European Travel vacations. Plus receive a free travel gift!  Call Toll Free: 1-866-847-3858 for details.

Print Itinerary

  • Professional Travel Director Professional Travel Director
  • Sightseeing with Local Experts Sightseeing with Local Experts
  • VIP Access VIP Access
  • WIFI on Coach and in Hotels WIFI on Coach and in Hotels
  • Cultural Enrichment Cultural Enrichment
  • Expertly Selected Hotels Expertly Selected Hotels
  • Hotel Tips Hotel Tips
  • Most Meals Most Meals

Meal Summary

7 breakfasts, 4 lunches, 6 dinners. 

Included Highlights

Connect with Locals

  • Join Don Alberto and Doña Ana Quintana for a traditional Costa Rican lunch at their Hacienda Pozo Azul, a 2000-acre working ranch.

Dive into Culture

  • Indulge in gourmet chocolate made from the world's best cacao beans.
  • Visit a Tico family's palm plantation to learn about and sample the delicate heart of palm.

Local Specialist

  • Listen to a Quaker share stories of the beginning of Monteverde's colorful history.

Sightseeing Highlights

  • Visit Tortuguero National Park, Sarapiquí, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
  • View Arenal Volcano
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Print Itinerary

Reviews

Saturday, October 20, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Transportation, air and ground, excellent. Hotel in San Jose great. We were hoping we could change one leg of air at the airport but due to the booking we weren't eligible unless we paid high fee. I could have purchased through Trafalgar but GET qualifies me for an AARP discount. GET is sister company to Trafalgar. This is first escorted trip we have done. I would do it again. We had a fantastic trip.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Costa Rica is a beautiful country--we're so glad you had a fantastic trip and were able to discover the "pure life." Thank you for taking the time to write!
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Vacation : Extra excursions should have been priced before we booked trip.
Saturday, July 7, 2018
Karen Wubenhorst
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The tour guide was knowledgeable and interesting. The sights were magnificent as well as the lodging. It was the perfect trip!
Vacation : Excellent value for the price
Monday, June 4, 2018
Herbert Rudd
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Good and excellent director
Vacation : Yes Very good but needed one or 2 more days
Saturday, June 2, 2018
Frank Mauro
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The tour guide and bus driver were beyond excellent. Kept us entertained and informed the entire trip.
Vacation : Good value for the money.
Saturday, June 2, 2018
Guy Harkness
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Booking with Michelle Gumringer was very seamless, & our Costa Rican Guide, German Rojas was excellent.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're so pleased to know you enjoyed your Costa Rica vacation. Michelle is a great asset to our team and we'll be sure to pass along your compliment. Happy travels!
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Vacation : Very economical & very comprehensive. A great value.
Monday, May 14, 2018
Mary Canavan
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We will definitely travel with GET again! They took care of all our needs before, during, and after the tour! The itinerary was perfect for us - lots of plants and animals in Costa Rica. A variety of presentations! And the optional side trips were great!
Vacation : We got a lot for our money!!
Saturday, April 14, 2018
Janice Mccandless
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : This was a wonderful trip. My family and I had a great time. My two granddaughters, ages 10 and 12 had the best time especially seeing a baby sloth and mom in the trees. All the lodges were exceptional and the scenery was beautiful everywhere we went. Our guide, German and driver Jesus were so knowledgeable and helpful if were ever needed them I can't say enough about the quality of your tours. This is my second trip with GET and I plan on doing more with your company.
Vacation : This is my second trip with GET and I can't say enough about your tours. Everything was great, the tours, the food, the lodging, your tour directors and drivers are exceptional
Saturday, April 14, 2018
Lester Bryant
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : GET and their affiliate, Trafalgar, provided an EXCELLENT tour experience. The tour guide, Victor Leiton, did an outstanding job, going above and beyond the call of duty, making sure everything ran like clockwork.
Vacation : Fabulous bus, terrific boat rides, got to see sloths, iguanas, monkeys, caimans, and all kinds of birds. The accommodations were all top notch.
Saturday, March 31, 2018
Angela Medina
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : My husband and I were really satisfied with the efficiency and the organization of the entire tour. From the first phone call to the plane ride home, all went splendidly. We were very happy!
Vacation : All went well or even better than we expected. The logistics, tours, transportation modes were all great, on time, impeccably clean and comfortable. The best part of the tour was the Travel Director, Fabian Guzman! He was spontaneous, efficient, organized, funny, accommodating and just a wonderful person. He gave us information about Costa Rica as we traveled and filled our hours with pleasant banter and conversation. All in all the whole tour was wonderful!!
Response from Grand European Travel:
We can't thank you enough for your feedback and are so happy that you enjoyed Costa Rica! We hope you'll think of us again when planning your next trip.
Monday, April 2, 2018
Saturday, March 24, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The guide was fabulous,we felt like we saw the real Costa Rica! We enjoyed y=the trip very much!
Vacation : Was great! We saw more birds and animals than we did 3 months before in the Amazon in Brazil!
Saturday, March 24, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Their service is good
Vacation : The itinerary is good. The tour director and driver are outstanding. The lordges except for the Monteverde had various problem. Termites eggs and bugs in the first hotel; mole in the second hotel; ants and no water in the third hotel. The hotel in Monteverde is outstanding.
Saturday, February 24, 2018
Virginia Barrs
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I particularly appreciate the travel agent being upfront about their airfare. I was able to save a bit by booking my own airfare and she added the information into our file so our arrival and departure did not skip a beat.
Vacation : It was a good value. I particularly liked having so many meals included and being able to cover gratuities up front.
Saturday, February 24, 2018
Patricia Carson
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very good
Vacation : It was a good trip. The group was a little large but manageable - 43
Brian Paradies
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Had a good tour director.
Vacation : Too much bus travel compared to other tours we took. Also needed more clothing guidance prior to leaving. Most of people on tour expected warmer weather. Travel agent should have coordinated our travel time better. We arrived on time (11PM in hotel), but welcome dinner was at 6PM. Had to be up by 5:45 next morning. Should have been given option of arriving a day earlier.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your constructive feedback.  We will be sure to share this information with our booking team.  We do hope you enjoyed the trip overall.
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Saturday, January 27, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Good, but somewhat hectic and crowded
Vacation : too much rain, I was unprepared also, the humidity wrecked my laptop, and it will cost me $500 to get it fixed
Tuesday, June 20, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Responses were always prompt and accurate. if an error occurred it was corrected quickly and I received a phone call follow-up.
Response from Grand European Travel:
That is fantastic to hear.  Our team does a wonderful job in making sure every detail is taken care of.
Tuesday, June 20, 2017
Vacation : I bought very few items, only coffee and a few refrigerator magnets. There were not many opportunities to purchase souvenirs that may have been created by native Costa Ricans. I would have wanted to be directed to such outlets to purchase.
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Deborah Kavulich
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : GE advised that the trip week I wanted was going to be eliminated. They recommended another trip week, which I took. Glad I did!
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry the original date you chose was no longer available, but very happy to see that you were able to arrange your plans for this trip. Thank you.
Friday, April 21, 2017
Vacation : It was the experience of a lifetime. Totally different from other tours as we roughed it, especially the first two days. But worth the trip.
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Nilda Perez
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : They were very attentive and knowledgeable about the country. They went out of their way to make the group comfortable and merry.
Vacation : I am very satisfied with the experience especially the water taxis and tours on the water ways.
Saturday, April 15, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Five Stars what else is there to say. Have trip booked to Peru in August. I always refer GET
Vacation : Everything was great. Great tour Directors.
Friday, April 29, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : the tour guide, German Rojas was superb. we enjoyed the exposure to the locals ie the chocolate factory and the rest
Vacation : I would recommend it with a few suggestions. on the optional adventures such as the zip line it should be stated up front if there are any restrictions. we were unaware of restrictions until after we signed up and paid ( I don't know if a restriction applied to me or my wife if we could have gotten reimbursed
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Accommodations were good, and tour was well planned.
Vacation : A great tour guide helps to make a great trip. German Rojas is a great tour guide.
Saturday, April 9, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Accommodating, inclusive, friendly, and good connections and service.
Vacation : Educational, informative, entertaining, busy, and a great one time experience.
Saturday, April 9, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I was unable to download your Feefo survey.
Vacation : Excellent
Friday, March 18, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Excellent guide. Learned a lot.
Vacation : I particularly appreciated meeting people who live and work in Costa Rica. Real people doing real work.
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I have booked through them several times and had great customer service each time
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much! We appreciate your repeat business and for taking the time to leave your feedback. Grand European Travel
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Vacation : enjoyed all the activities and especially liked the two tour guides
Friday, February 26, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The guide Jorge was excellent He made me want to come again.
Vacation : It was a fabulous country. Very friendly people and beautiful sights to see.
Friday, December 18, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : gvery g0ood
Vacation : super good
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Didn't state hours on the bus, didn't say to bring warm clothes, didn't mention no TV's or nightlife, advertised activities that didn't take place or were not what was written and cost too much.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're sorry to see that you were disappointed in this trip. We do try to provide as much information as possible prior to the start of your vacation. Much of this was included in your travel documents. However we cannot guarantee operation of some of the activities due to weather conditions or lack of participation from other guests. We will be sure to share your comments with Trafalgar's quality control team and thank you for sharing your honest feedback. Grand European Travel
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Vacation : loved the country and the people. THe other participants made the trip
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very nice... waited to find an airline reservation that had a make-able connection.
Vacation : The mix of experiences was wonderful. Might have been better to have 2 nights at Arenal Volcano though to increase the odds of being able to see it.
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We had a wonderful time but it is a vacation that requires a good deal of physical fitness. Lucky for us we were able to enjoy most everything offered.
Vacation : Excellent tour guide and bus driver. Excellent meals. Beautiful country.
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Disappointed in the change of activities due to weather conditions.
Response from Grand European Travel:
It is a shame that the weather forced us to change your itinerary, but we put the safety of our guests first and foremost and some of the activities were not reachable due to hazardous road conditions. We know that your Travel Director did all possible to include the highlights of the trip. We are sorry about your disappointment. Grand European Travel
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Vacation : Loved the country , just wanted more activity. Spent too much time on the coach.
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : It was wonderful to relax and enjoy my vacation knowing my partner and I were in professional, knowledgeable, safe and entertaining hands!
Vacation : What a beautiful country and friendly people! It is truly the land of adventure and awe!
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I can't really rate Grand European Travel because they contracted with Trafalger Tours, a sister company, to take us on the tour.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Welcome home! I hope that overall you enjoyed the trip. We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the conditions at the hotels. We will be sharing this with the hotels involved for immediate improvement. Dee-Grand European Travel
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Vacation : The vacation was really good and we saw lots of animals and birds in the wild. There were two parts weren't good. 1) The lodges were built on steep hills that couldn't be traversed easily and we had to rely on vans to drive us up and down the hills to our rooms. 2) The lighting in our rooms were so dim, we could not see clearly and could not even see to put make up on, or to see the combinations on our luggage locks to unlock them!!!
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : GET helped us reschedule.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Everyone who was affected by the Volcano eruption was extremely disappointed. Unfortunately, our hands were tied since the airport was closed and no flights were arriving. I'm glad you were able to reschedule to another date. There is no doubt you will enjoy this wonderful trip. Dee-Grand European Travel
Monday, March 30, 2015
Vacation : The trip was cancelled due to volcanic eruption. We have rescheduled for another trip at a later date.
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Good experiences offered.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will be sure to share it with your travel directors. Hope to see you on another vacation in the near future. Dee-Grand European Travel
Monday, March 9, 2015
Vacation : Guides were excellent; lodging good and food good. We had a good representation of Costa Rica.
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We have always enjoyed our adventures with Grand European.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're so happy you enjoyed Costa Rica! Thank you for your suggestion about increasing the length of the tour. Who wouldn't love more time in that beautiful part of the world? We appreciate your business and your feedback. Dee-Grand European Travel
Monday, March 9, 2015
Vacation : Costa Rica WOW! The country and our experience were great. For all of the things packed into the tour, it could be a day or two longer. Wish we were still there now.
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Overall it was good. Communications could have been better between Grand European and Trafalgar. We had cancelled our early arrival hotel for 2 nights with Grand European and Trafalgar did not get that message. Also, we had e-mailed our departure flight information multiple times to Grand European and Trafalgar did not have our information.
Response from Grand European Travel:
I'm sorry to hear about the confusion with your early arrival hotel nights and your flights. All of that information was forwarded to Trafalgar on the same day you notified us, however we were told that you were making your own way to and from the airport because you had made other hotel arrangements on your own. I apologize for any inconvenience, but very glad that you enjoyed your trip. Dee-Grand European Travel
Friday, February 20, 2015
Vacation : Excellent guides, lodgings, and travel experience. Couldn't have been better.
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The very personal service helped saved us when our flights home from Costa Rica were cancelled but we were not notified by the airline but by the GET agent setting up airport transportation for us. We had booked our own flights to use miles but he contacted us to alerty us. Always get good advice from all the agents.
Response from Grand European Travel:
So sorry to hear about your flights being cancelled by the airline. I can imagine how stressful that must have been, but I'm glad to see that our team was able to help you get rescheduled. Thank you for your suggestion about adding Guanacaste Beach into the main program. I will share this with our program planners. I hope you came home with wonderful memories of Costa Rica. Dee-Grand European Travel
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Vacation : Really enjoyed all the adventure and educational aspects of the trip. GET/Trafalger had all the bases covered traversing a unique area. The tour directors included great side trips along the way to really experience the culture. As usual the tour directors were outstanding! Tour should definetly include the West coast experience rather than just a voluntary extension.
Sunday, February 8, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The arrangements are good but they get changed and we do not have any idea of the changes.
Response from Grand European Travel:
I'm sorry to see that there were changed made to the daily program. There are occasions when changes must be made due to availability of attractions or local guides. The same is true with optional excursions. We cannot always guarantee their operation which is why we offer them as optional. I do apologize for the disappointment, but hope that despite these glitches, you were able to enjoy Costa Rica. Dee-Grand European Travel
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Vacation : The itinerary had optional adventures in sarepequi but never happened. We could not understand the reason for two be my guest exercises. One was more than enough and we had all the optional exercise available only at Monteverde. The drive to the arenal volcano was also impacted by weather and the price was also hefty.
Friday, February 6, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : It was an amazing trip. I loved all of the touring of the rain forest and cloud forest. It was interesting to add in the local people and see how products from the country are raised. The tour guides and bus were #1. Excellent
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experiences in Costa Rica. We are so happy that you enjoyed the trip and got to see this beautiful country up front and personal! Hope to see you on another trip very soon! Dee-Grand European Travel
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Vacation : It was an amazing trip. We loved the country and want to go back. Seeing all the wildlife was the highlight for me.
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Print Itinerary
  • U.S. citizens traveling to Costa Rica must have a current passport that is valid for six months beyond the conclusion of their trip. You can find information on how to apply for a passport here, and how to renew a passport here. No visa is required for U.S. citizens entering Costa Rica.

  • The currency in Costa Rica is the colón.  You’ll usually find the best exchange rates in your destination and can pay with your debit or credit card in many places.  The most convenient way to obtain cash is to use your ATM card at local banks in Costa Rica. It is important that you inform your financial institutions of your travel plans before you leave home so they don’t flag your purchases as potentially fraudulent charges.

  • One of the most enjoyable parts of traveling is sampling the local cuisine. In Costa Rica food mild and simple with many dishes centered on rice, beans, vegetables and meat.  Try the local ceviche prepared with octopus, shrimp, tilapia and seabass cured with lemon juice and spices. You’ll find an abundance of fresh produce to enjoy including plantains, coconut, papaya and mango. Costa Rican coffee is strong and rich; try it black or order it with milk (café con leche).

  • Costa Rica has an enjoyable climate with sunshine throughout the year. We suggest bringing a variety of comfortable, lightweight clothing that can be layered to save space in your suitcase and give you more options for how to dress. Sturdy walking shoes are important. Insect repellant and sunscreen may come in handy, as well as a light jacket and reusable water bottle.  For more helpful information please refer to our Packing Tips & Packing List.

     

  • Restaurants in Costa Rica are required by law to add 13 percent tax and 10 percent gratuity to the bill. For this reason Costa Ricans do not tip. If you would like to leave an additional tip to reward good service, it’s appropriate to leave 5-10 percent for your waiter.

    At the end of your guided vacation, it’s customary to offer your motor coach driver and Travel Director a gratuity.  We recommend the equivalent of $4 per person/per day for your driver and $6 per person/per day for your Travel Director.  Recommended gratuity for a Local Host and Local Specialist is the equivalent of 1-2 dollars per person, paid at the conclusion of each guided visit.  A convenient option is to prepay your tips before your departure.

  • Baggage on our trips is restricted to one large suitcase per person with dimensions not exceeding 30x19x10 inches and a maximum weight of 50 pounds. You are also permitted one piece of hand luggage, which should be small enough to fit under your coach seat or on the small overhead shelf compartment. Please note that luggage with an adjustable handle and wheels will not fit in the overhead compartment of the coach. Hotel porterage is included in your vacation.

  • You will need to be comfortable on your feet, walking and standing for up to three hours in various weather conditions.  All of our vacations involve walking, often on cobblestone and uneven surfaces in historic city centers.  In order to get the most out of your vacation you need to be able to comfortably walk 1-3 miles unassisted in one day, be in good condition and be able to keep pace with the group. 

    If you need any medications, it is important that you bring enough to last you the whole trip and keep them in your carry-on bag while you travel.

  • We highly recommend our optional Travel Protection Plan, which allows you to cancel for any reason up to 24 hours before departure. The plan also includes trip interruption, baggage loss or delay, and medical and emergency assistance. Click here for a summary of coverage details, terms and conditions.

Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Be the First to Know!

Sign up for our emails and receive exclusive offers, travel information, announcements, and more!
Providing peace of mind and unparalleled service for over 40 years.