• Save 10% on Select Departures – Book & Pay in Full by Jan 17, 2019

    Save up to 10% - ends Jan 17, 2019
  • AARP Members Save $100 on ANY departure

    AARP Members Save $100 on ANY departure
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Historic Highlights

8 Days from $2,025 per person

Style: First Class | Pace: Active

Explore a New World and young nation on this journey from Capitol Hill and the home of George Washington, to the bloody battlefields of Gettysburg and a haunted tavern.

Print Itinerary

Overview

Explore a New World and young nation on this journey from Capitol Hill and the home of George Washington, to the bloody battlefields of Gettysburg and a haunted tavern.

  1. The political heart of America is your gateway to a memorable encounter with the Land of the Free and how it came to be so. After checking in to your hotel, enjoy an afternoon at leisure to explore the museums, memorials and monuments of Washington, D.C. This evening, you'll join your Travel Director and fellow travelers for a Welcome Reception to kick-start your journey.

    meal(s):Welcome Reception
    hotel:Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown
  2. Roam the corridors of power, oak-lined avenues and noble tributes to America's famous sons and daughters, as you explore the nation's proud heritage today. View the White House, striking Washington Monument and National Mall, stretching from the Lincoln Memorial to the Capitol building. Reflect on the country's darkest days at the Lincoln Memorial and somber memorials to World War II and the Vietnam War. The rest of the day is free to chart your own course through America's capital city.

    meal(s):Full Breakfast
  3. Tread in the footsteps of America's first president, visiting Mount Vernon, the former home of George Washington. Delve into the history of the American Revolution at the Yorktown Victory Center, experiencing first-hand the dramatic "Siege of Yorktown". We'll continue to Williamsburg, founded in 1638 as Middle Plantation, and the former capital of the Commonwealth of Virginia. This evening, we'll head to a local tavern for a Regional Meal with a fife and and drummer escort to the tavern.

    meal(s):Full Breakfast, Regional Meal
    hotel:Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
  4. Pay tribute to the brave men and women who gave up their homeland to establish a New World. This morning, we venture to Jamestown, the first permanent English settlement in America, where we'll gain insights into the trials that marked the lives of early 17th century colonists. Walk through the life-sized re-creations of the colonists' crude fort, explore the mock-up of the Native American Powhatan village and climb aboard a replica of one of the three ships that sailed from England to Virginia. We fast forward a few centuries and spend the rest of the day in Colonial Williamsburg, once Britain's largest colony in the New World. Chat with blacksmiths, admire a fife and drum parade, and perhaps even engage in some politicking with a costumed Federalist in the town square. This afternoon, we Dive into Culture and meet Sylvia Tabb-Lee who will bring America's slavery history to life.

    meal(s):Full Breakfast
  5. Visit St. John's Church in Richmond, Virginia-the very spot where George Washington and Thomas Jefferson were inspired by Patrick Henry's fiery "Give me liberty or give me death" speech. Continue to Charlottesville, where you'll enjoy lunch at a local restaurant. Then, visit Monticello, the neoclassical Italian estate where Jefferson once sought a quieter existence. The rest of your day is free.

    meal(s):Full Breakfast, Lunch
    hotel:Omni Charlottesville
  6. Journey through the rolling hills of the Shenandoah National Park en route to Gettysburg where we'll delve into the devastation of a four-year civil war pitting North against South. We explore the Gettysburg National Military Park Museum and Visitor Center, where our visit Makes a Difference by contributing to their efforts to preserve the battlefield. This evening, indulge in a festive Regional Meal at the "most haunted" 19th century Dobbin House, keeping an eye out for Uncle Abe who may grace the group with his presence.

    meal(s):Full Breakfast, Regional Meal
    hotel:Wyndham Gettysburg
  7. Cast your mind back to the pivotal, yet tragic day on which Pickett led his charge on Gettysburg. Join a Local Specialist who will bring to life the events at Gettysburg which turned the tide in the Civil War. Just four months later, the battlefield served as the backdrop for Abraham Lincoln's call for "a new birth of freedom" in his famed Gettysburg Address. We'll journey to the City of Brotherly Love and site of the signing of the Declaration of Independence next. Stay in the heart of Philadelphia's historic district, within walking distance of dozens of landmark buildings. This evening, we'll join our Travel Director and fellow American history enthusiasts for a Farewell Dinner.

    meal(s):Full Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
    hotel:Sheraton Society Hill
  8. Gain insights into the history of the U.S. Constitution and the effect it has had around the world during this morning's tour through Philadelphia. We'll explore the UNESCO-listed Independence National Historic Park and see its famous cracked bell whose inscription has inspired so many to "proclaim liberty". The final stop on our journey is Washington, D.C., where we'll transfer to either Dulles International Airport, Ronald Reagan National Airport or to the Renaissance Washington, D.C. Downtown for guests extending their stay. Airport arrival for Dulles International Airport will be 4 pm, and Ronald Reagan National Airport will be at 5 pm. Please be aware when booking your flights.

    meal(s):Full Breakfast
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Print Itinerary
  • Definite Departure
Start Date Return Date Price Discount Availability Price
13 Apr 19 20 Apr 19 checkmark $2,250$2,025pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
11 May 19 18 May 19 checkmark $2,295$2,066pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
25 May 19 1 Jun 19 $2,295$2,066pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
8 Jun 19 15 Jun 19 $2,325$2,093pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
15 Jun 19 22 Jun 19 checkmark $2,325$2,093pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
17 Aug 19 24 Aug 19 $2,250$2,025pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
7 Sep 19 14 Sep 19 checkmark $2,325$2,093pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
14 Sep 19 21 Sep 19 $2,325$2,093pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now
12 Oct 19 19 Oct 19 checkmark $2,275$2,048pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 17 Request Quote Book Now

Price is per person and is based on two people sharing a twin bedded room. Single rooms are available at a supplement.

Single Room Supplement: $795 p.p.

Gratuities: Option to pre-pay gratuities for Travel Director and Driver $89 per person.

AARP Members are entitled to an exclusive Member Benefit Discount on all Grand European Travel vacations. Plus receive a free travel gift!  Call Toll Free: 1-866-847-3858 for details.

Print Itinerary

  • Professional Travel Director Professional Travel Director
  • Sightseeing with Local Experts Sightseeing with Local Experts
  • VIP Access VIP Access
  • WIFI on Coach and in Hotels WIFI on Coach and in Hotels
  • Cultural Enrichment Cultural Enrichment
  • Expertly Selected Hotels Expertly Selected Hotels
  • Hotel Tips Hotel Tips
  • Most Meals Most Meals

Meal Summary

12 meals: 7 full breakfasts, 1 lunch, 4 dinners. 

Included Highlights

Dive into Culture

  • Enjoy an engaging cultural presentation from Sylvia Tabb-Lee

Local Specialist

  • For included sightseeing on the Gettysburg battlefield

Sightseeing Highlights

  • City tour in Washington D.C.
  • Visit Mount Vernon, Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Monticello, Gettysburg National Military Park
  • View the Washington Monument, U.S. Capitol Building, the White House, Liberty Bell
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Print Itinerary

Reviews

Saturday, October 20, 2018
Amalia Luss
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : This is the first time I traveled with Trafalgar. I think the service was very good. The ride in the bus was too long for me because it is hard for me to seat for a long time. The hotels - I didn't like 2 of them. Our guide Amber was very helpful & nice to everyone.
Response from Grand European Travel:
It's great to hear you enjoyed your Historic Highlights trip. The history in this part of America is fascinating, so we're glad you were able to experience it during this tour. And we so appreciate your feedback!
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Vacation : I already enter it. I think that I'll recommend this trip to my friends.
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Sandra Debonis
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The itinerary was great. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun. Our driver was fun, but attentive to the road. We had a great time!!
Vacation : It was well worth the money.
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Carol Weisker
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The trip exceeded my expectations. The route was perfect and the guide, Amber and the driver, Frank, were friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. The hotels for the most part were clean, attractive and welcoming. The local guides were knowledgeable and gracious.
Vacation : Well worth the money. Not outrageous.
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Norman Schnurr
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything went well.
Vacation : We covered a lot of territory in a short period of time.
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Gene Caouette
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Excellent trip. Tour director managed our time well. Good hotels. Good meals. No rough spots except for the rainy weather in DC
Vacation : Well worth the money. Enjoyable,no hassles, well-run trip
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Kazuyo Fischer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : It was well-organized for the short time we had . The bus driver, Frank, & Amber, our guide, were WONDERFUL!!! Amber gave us many information, she was caring, she had fun games for us on the long bus rides, & the system of changing seats every day on the bus was an excellent idea. I certainly will recommend GETours to others & I intend to take another trip with you, my 3rd!
Vacation : The cost of this trip was okay. It was nice that we got $100 off for being AARP members & 5% off for being a repeated customer. I liked the idea of paying beforehand for gratuities.
Saturday, May 26, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Customer service was wonderful and the bus tour was exactly as represented. GET worked with Trafalgar tours which provided a high quality tour for a reasonable price. Our tour director was knowledgeable and fun.
Vacation : We received high value for reasonable price. Hotels, meals, transportation, itinerary and tour director were top notch.
Sunday, October 22, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great hotels. Good meals. Great tour director and bus driver. Saw all the sites although we felt Arlington is something that should be included.
Vacation : Meals were very good that were part of the package. Also the welcome party was a lot more than we expected
Saturday, October 21, 2017
Edmundo Varela Morales
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Yes
Vacation : No problems at any time with purshase or travel
Saturday, October 7, 2017
Evelyn Brockman
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : When I first booked with GET (Tess), she was happy to book my tour and take my money. But once she had done that, she would give me NO help what so ever. NO suggestions for air travel, nothing on extra nights hotels at the airport, nothing on transport to and from the airport, as we were forced to book hotels one day early and one day following our tour because our flights were too late arriving and too early leaving D.C. (The "airport transport" was only available within twenty-four hours.) She finally booked us into the first hotel one day early - but getting to that hotel was our problem - with no help from her.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are terribly sorry to hear this.  Please accept out apologies for the frustration you experienced. Our Guest Relations team will be in contact with you shortly.
Thursday, October 12, 2017
Vacation : Trafalgar is an outstanding tour company!! Our tour director (Amber) was exceptional - very knowledgeable, very caring, and always very prepared. Our coach driver (Mike) was amazing!! He always knew exactly where we were going and put that coach into places that surprised all of us. He contributed so much to a most enjoyable trip.
Saturday, July 1, 2017
Janet Kopp
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I wanted highlites and it was. Pretty fast pace for me tho. As a senior with walking probs, I did struggle. Service great , hospitality wonderful.
Vacation : Rate was fine, pace fast, too hot and humid , not controllable. I want to go in May. A bit cooler
Saturday, June 10, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : All of the GET staff that you speak to via phone are very responsive, knowledgeable, helpful and caring. I would recommend GET to anyone who loves to travel.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We love to hear that! Thank you so much!
Friday, June 16, 2017
Vacation : Amber our tour director was the greatest. She was always caring and thoughtful. She was never frazzled about anything. She always kept everything going smoothly.
Monday, June 5, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Mostly good tour, often too rushed at museums.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your comments.  There never seems to be enough time to see everything we want to at museums!
Friday, June 9, 2017
Vacation : Meal quality at dinners could be improved.
Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The tour director and driver were both excellent. Also very good specialty "historic" docents etc. I had been to many of the places in years past, but I learned new things this time. Hotels were excellent a was the meals. This was my 4th trip with GET and I will highly recommend them.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for the repeat business and the recommendation.  We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Friday, June 2, 2017
Vacation : Great trip and excellent cost for what was involved. I would have liked more time in Philly, but I had been there twice before so...
Friday, October 7, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : As Always, a great experience.
Vacation : We loved all the sites that we visited, but would have liked it to be a little less aggressive.
Sunday, July 3, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Beautiful hotels but no time to see and enjoy them Excellent tour director and driver
Vacation : Stressful as bus trips always are. Felt rushed
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great
Vacation : Great trip
Monday, May 11, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything about the trip was great! Our travel director was fantastic, bus driver the same. The time at each site was excellent and coordinated to be just the amount for each day.
Vacation : Excellent
Sunday, May 10, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Love the designated hotels in general where we stayed, however , a couple of them were located in downtown expensive locations, Washington DC old Hiltons, restaurants around were high ends only( dinner for 2 =$ 65+), , also , too much time was assigned in some tourist spots resulting to boring waiting time.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much for your feedback! We will share this information with our planning team and ask them to review the amount of time spent at each sightseeing stop. We hope that it was a pleasant trip overall. Dee-Grand European Travel
Monday, May 11, 2015
Vacation : Love Tasha, our Tour Dir, she's very knowledgeable and humorous..
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We experienced a change in date and time for the trip and the Director of the trip was only average. The trip change caused extra problems for us including our airline reservation.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're sorry that the original date for your Historic Highlights vacation was cancelled. This is an unfortunate thing that every tour company must deal with. We're happy you were able to move to the new date and that we could reimburse your airline change fees to help ease the stress involved. We hope that you enjoyed yourselves despite the one optional being cancelled. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Grand European Travel-Guest Relations
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Vacation : The trip was fairly good but the planning was not too good. One of our optional programs was cancelled after we got to the place to eat. This caused adjustments not planned for and caused us to use our own optional planning.
Friday, October 10, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : it was good considering this was the first time with you folks.
Vacation : We enjoyed it very much. A lot was covered.
Friday, September 26, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Well organized. Tour director was very knowledgeable. Also the bus driver helped to make us feel welcome and kept our bus in great condition. This is our third tour. We have been very happy!!
Vacation : Maybe extend the tour a couple more days so as to have a little more time at a few of the sites. I realize that this would result in additional costs, but I would be willing to pay the extra charges.
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Print Itinerary
  • We suggest bringing a variety of lightweight clothing items that can be layered to save space in your suitcase and give you more options for how to dress. For more helpful information please refer to our Packing Tips & Packing List.

  • At the end of your guided vacation, it’s customary to offer your motor coach driver and Travel Director a gratuity.  We recommend $4-5 per person/per day for your driver and $6-7 per person/per day for your Travel Director.  Recommended gratuity for a Local Host and Local Specialist is 1-2 dollars per person, paid at the conclusion of each guided visit.  A convenient option is to prepay your tips before your departure.

  • Baggage on our trips is restricted to one large suitcase per person with dimensions not exceeding 30x19x10 inches and a maximum weight of 50 pounds. You are also permitted one piece of hand luggage, which should be small enough to fit under your coach seat or on the small overhead shelf compartment. Please note that luggage with an adjustable handle and wheels will not fit in the overhead compartment of the coach. Hotel porterage is included in your vacation.

  • You will need to be comfortable on your feet, walking and standing for up to three hours in various weather conditions.  All of our vacations involve walking, often on cobblestone and uneven surfaces in historic city centers.  In order to get the most out of your vacation you need to be able to comfortably walk 1-3 miles unassisted in one day, be in good condition and be able to keep pace with the group. 

    If you need any medications, it is important that you bring enough to last you the whole trip and keep them in your carry-on bag while you travel.

  • We highly recommend our optional Travel Protection Plan, which allows you to cancel for any reason up to 24 hours before departure. The plan also includes trip interruption, baggage loss or delay, and medical and emergency assistance. Click here for a summary of coverage details, terms and conditions.

Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Optional Experiences are subject to change. Your Travel Director will supply you with a final list of Optional Experiences available on your trip. Optional Experiences cannot be booked online; they can be purchased during your trip through your Travel Director.

Washington D.C.

Washington Illumination Tour

Adult Price: $39.00 

You’ll be wowed by this illuminated overview of the nation’s capital city at night! See the Capitol, the White House and the Jefferson Memorial. Visit the Kennedy Center for a rooftop walk and end the evening at the Iwo Jima Marine Corps Memorial. (Stops are subject to weather and local restrictions).

Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Be the First to Know!

Sign up for our emails and receive exclusive offers, travel information, announcements, and more!
Providing peace of mind and unparalleled service for over 40 years.