• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $150 per person on select 2019 departures - Ends July 31

    Save $150 on select 2019 departures - Ends July 31
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends July 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends July 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Italian Holiday

Operated by: Trafalgar

7 Days from $1,845 per person
Leaning Tower of Pisa

Countries Visited

Italy

Locations Visited

Verona, Venice, Rome, Florence, Pisa
  1. Day 1 Arrive Rome (2 Nights)

    Indulge all your senses in the imperial city of Rome, your introduction to a memorable encounter with Italy which will have you returning for more. Spend your afternoon relaxing after your journey, or explore the ancient city streets before joining your Travel Director and travel companions for a Welcome Reception. This evening, we take an orientation drive past Rome's most magnificent sights which we will have an opportunity to explore tomorrow.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Cicerone
  2. Day 2 Rome Sightseeing and Free Time

    Our encounter with Rome begins in the Holy See as we visit the Vatican Museums in the company of a Local Specialist to admire the masterpieces that have been collected by Popes throughout the centuries. Gaining priority admission, we admire the magnificent frescoed ceiling in the Sistine Chapel when it is less crowded and visit St. Peter's Basilica, the greatest church in Christendom, to see Michelangelo's sorrowful Pietà. Crossing the Tiber, we venture into Ancient Rome to visit the imposing Colosseum and view Circus Maximus, once the site of tremendous chariot races. Spend a leisurely afternoon exploring Rome. Sit on the Spanish Steps or toss a coin in the Trevi Fountain to secure your speedy return to Rome.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  3. Day 3 Rome – Venice

    This morning, we venture through the valley of the Tiber north into the green and golden landscapes of Umbria. We pass the hilltop towns of Orte and Orvieto, travelling through Tuscany's terraced olive groves and the Appenine Mountains bound for Venice, the Queen of the Adriatic.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner with wine
    hotel Novotel Mestre Castellana
  4. Day 4 Venice Orientation – Verona

    We cruise by private launch to the city's most prominent sights, including views of the Bridge of Sighs, St. Mark's Square, St. Mark's Basilica and the ornate Doge's Palace. 'Dive Into Culture' witnessing first-hand the intricate craft of glassblowing. Soak up the pageantry and elegance of Venice before continuing to Verona, home of Shakespeare's ill-fated lovers Romeo and Juliet, where we'll spend the night.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
    hotel Leopardi
  5. Day 5 Verona – Pisa – Florence

    Pisa's UNESCO-listed Square of Miracles is our first stop today where we will have the opportunity to view the Leaning Tower before arriving in Florence. Explore the birthplace of the Renaissance and home to the Medici dynasty, whose penchant for beautiful art and architecture created one of the cultural centres of the world. Tonight we 'Connect With Locals' over a Be My Guest dinner in the Chianti countryside.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner with wine
    hotel Grand Mediterraneo
  6. Day 6 Florence Sightseeing – Rome

    We join a Local Specialist today to delve into the rich medieval and Renaissance history of Florence. Our sightseeing tour will take us to the Piazza della Signoria with its impressive sculptures and imposing palazzi. Wandering through the narrow streets, we encounter the multi-coloured marble Duomo and famous Baptistery. We'll learn about the quality and workmanship of one of this city's historic industries at a demonstration of Florentine leathercraft. Next, we'll view the 674-year-old Ponte Vecchio, a spectacular feat of engineering dating from the Middle Ages and today lined with jewellers, art dealers and souvenir shops. Our journey continues through Umbria to the valley of the Tiber River and back to Rome. Toast to a memorable holiday with newfound friends at a Farewell Dinner.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
    hotel Grand Tiberio
  7. Day 7 Depart Rome

    After breakfast, it's time to say a fond arrivederci to Rome, Italy and your travel companions as you return home with wonderful memories of this magnificent destination. Transfers are available. Conditions apply.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
ITIH-italian-holiday-new-map-tt-19.jpg
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 6 hot buffet breakfasts
  • 4 dinners (including Be My Guest) with local wine

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • VIP ADMISSION to the Vatican Museums
  • CITY TOUR in Rome and Florence
  • ORIENTATION of Venice, Verona and Pisa
  • VISIT St. Peter's Basilica, the Sistine Chapel and the Colosseum in Rome
  • CRUISE by private launch to St. Mark's Square in Venice
  • VIEW the ancient sites of Rome, the Byzantine St. Mark's Basilica, the Leaning Tower of Pisa, Santa Croce Basilica and the Duomo in Florence

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Optional Add-Ons

Optional Experiences are subject to change. Your Travel Director will supply you with a final list of Optional Experiences available on your trip. Optional Experiences cannot be booked online; they can be purchased during your trip through your Travel Director.

Rome

Piazzas and Fountains of Rome

Discover the most charming areas in the city with a Local Specialist. Wander through the labyrinth of narrow streets and beautiful squares of Rome's historic centre, leading to highlights such as the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon, as well as hidden corners of the Eternal City.
Adult Price: €33

Roman Evening with Dinner

Spend a light-hearted evening with us in Rome. Relax and enjoy typical Italian cuisine with drinks and music. Afterwards, we’ll enjoy a drive and provide a glimpse into how Romans enjoy their city.
Adult Price: €61

Venice

Gondolas and the Grand Canal

Join us for a scenic cruise by private water taxi along Venice's Grand Canal. You’ll admire the magnificent palazzi, as well as catching a glimpse of the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square. Later on, you'll glide gracefully on a gondola along Venice’s dreamy, narrow waterways.
Adult Price: €70

Venice's Secrets and St. Mark's Basilica

Explore the hidden maze of streets which make up this unique city as your Local Specialist gives you a fascinating insight into Venice's past and present. You’ll visit the majestic Basilica of St Mark, where you’ll have a chance to view some of the prized trophies looted by the Venetians in their rise to power.
Adult Price: €36

Verona

Discover Verona

Enjoy a short drive into the hills for views over this picture-perfect city. During your walking tour, a Local Specialist will bring the elegant streets and piazzas of Verona to life. Highlights include views of the mighty Arena and Juliet's balcony.
Adult Price: €33

Florence

Michelangelo's 'David' & Accademia

Enjoy an insight into the world of Michelangelo and his masterpiece, David. We visit the Academy of Fine Arts and its Michelangelo collection, where you’ll learn all about the life and works of this immortal Renaissance genius through the expert commentary of our Local Specialist. This optional involves reservations and entrance prepayments. If you decide to cancel this optional, a 50% cancellation fee will be incurred.
Adult Price: €47

Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
Trusted Customer
Travel date: Saturday, September 29, 2018
Service
most of the tour was good but the hotel for the last night was changed from what was listed and not for the better. a/c didn't work, had to bring our own luggage up to room - not the level of service we had paid for.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We do apologize for the last minute hotel change. The initial hotel was not able to accommodate the large group and other arrangements had to be made. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our Quality Control team right away.
Monday, October 1, 2018
Vacation
too much time spent in coach travelling between places. paid for better hotels than we actually got in some cases.
Claudia Dijohn
Travel date: Thursday, September 20, 2018
Service
We would definitely go on another Grand European vacation. Our tour guide was knowleegeable and funny.
Vacation
We saw a lot in a short amount of time.
Jennifer Varsik
Travel date: Friday, July 6, 2018
Service
The communication was nonexistent once the purchase was completed. I had no idea Traflagar was the actual company providing the tour until I got an email from the guide while flying to Italy. We had no information regarding transfers to and from the airport. I had no documents with specifics. My emails were not responded to either.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear about the confusion regarding the operating company and transfer information. We do try to be very clear on our website, brochures and payment receipts that this trip is operated by Trafalgar. The airport transfer information is included in your documents packet as well as in the daily itinerary of the trip itself. We do apologize if this information was not communicated more clearly to you.
Monday, July 9, 2018
Vacation
The trip was great, except for the stress at the airport looking for our transportation. The events of the trip had nothing to do with GET so I cannot give the company credit for excellent guide or tour events.
Andrea Martin
Travel date: Thursday, June 28, 2018
Service
I was traveling with a friend and was not included in information until I called and specifically told them that my friend lives in Montana and I live in New York and I needed to be sent separate information. Not everyone is either a solo traveler or a couple and it would be nice for GET customer service reps to keep that in mind and for GET to be sure they're automatically sending info to each traveler. I also called to ask if they knew of any of the hotels on the trip providing laundry services. The customer service rep did what I could have done, which was to Google each hotel and read their website. What the customer service rep failed to do was check to see if overnight service was available as the only hotel we stayed at for two nights was the first hotel in Rome. In the end, I did the research myself and discovered that the answer was no, there was no hotel that could provide overnight laundry services. It would be nice to see GET able to provide a bit more information by thinking ahead to those minor details. I think that Trafalgar, who organized the trip, was not very good as a whole. The tour was too rushed with very minimal support from the tour director (who was clearly miserable and hated her job.) This was not a very happy tour experience for me and my friend and I can't imagine booking with GET or Trafalgar again in the future.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We do apologize that you felt excluded from receiving information about your booked trip. We do send booking information to all guests traveling provided we are given their contact information, email and address at the time the reservation is made. We do apologize that the trip fell short of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments and suggestions with Trafalgar's Operations team. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments and suggestions with Trafalgar's Operations team. Thank you for brining these issues to our attention.
Friday, June 29, 2018
Vacation
I traveled on my own before and after joining the GET tour run by Trafalgar and I think that for the most part, I had better deals and a happier experience on my own. If you're going to do a tour, book hotels IN cities, rather than half an hour outside of them... or at the bare minimum, provide transport to those cities without making them "add on experiences." How disappointing to be outside of Venice and outside of Verona. Everyone I spoke to on the tour said they'd have happily paid more money to be in the cities, rather than paying what we did and having to find taxis or pay for the add on experiences to get to the cities.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments and suggestions with Trafalgar's Operations team.
Friday, June 29, 2018
Trusted Customer
Travel date: Thursday, June 14, 2018
Service
GET’s service was good. I don’t think the rigors of the Active trip was accurately represented. Had no idea we had to get up at 5:30 am each day and go continuously until dinner. Also, tour director “hard sell” pushed the optional activities and there was nothing to do if you didn’t participate.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your honest feedback. You are correct that a trip categorized as Active means a very fast paced mix of 1 and 2 night stays in each city and early starts. We do offer more leisurely paced options as well as River Cruises which may be more to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to write.
Friday, June 15, 2018
Vacation
For the price, all optional activities should have been included.
Bobbie Scallorn
Travel date: Thursday, May 3, 2018
Service
The adverting brochures are misleading in they list all the different places and activities to be experienced but do not denote much of these activities are optional at additional cost. Otherwise the trip our travel adviser, Susan Williams and the entire experience was exceptional. Fast moving filled with all one would wish to do and see. I would have enjoyed another day in Florence and time for shopping.
Vacation
As I have already mentioned
Regina Pointer
Travel date: Thursday, October 19, 2017
Service
Luca & Enzo were the best. We were able to see so much in such a short amount of time. Their professionalism stood out.
Vacation
Fair price for service and accommodations. The rooms were comfortable and meals pleasant.
Peggy Ledbetter
Travel date: Friday, June 2, 2017
Service
Paperwork was all in place and sent to me before I went and now problems. Could have used more information cause I was a first timer and single traveler
Vacation
The travel Director from Trafalgar was very good and made me feel safe with her organization of the trip.
Trusted Customer
Travel date: Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Service
This was my first time traveling to Europe and alone. It was a great experience and the people I met were great companions.
Vacation
I enjoyed meeting my travel guide Lynda Damico and Alfredo the driver of the tour bus. They were both always pleasant and Lynda is full of a wealth of information about Italy. You can feel the love she has for what she does and that makes a difference. I appreciate the organizational and time management of the tour and all that we were able to see in a short time. I was comfortable with the tour and would definitely travel with Grand European again. Thank you.
Trusted Customer
Travel date: Monday, May 30, 2016
Service
FANTASTIC FUN FILLED TRIP....... No worries....
Response from Grand European Travel:
That is wonderful to hear. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again very soon! Grand European Travel
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Vacation
The trip was fun fantastic great informative. We saw a lot in a short time...Our bus driver and Sally were the best. Sally did everything, all we had to do was wake up, have breakfast and go never worried about a thing...Would definitely travel with Grand European Travel again...
See More Reviews
Back To Top