• Save up to 10% - Pay in Full by January 31, 2019

    Save up to 10% - Pay in Full by January 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Paris Explorer

8 Days from $2,295 per person

Style: First Class | Pace: Leisurely

See the City of Light on this city explorer vacation as it has never been seen before—its hidden courtyards and charming arrondissements, each with their own distinct personality.

Paris Explorer also has winter departures; click here to see the Winter Season version of this tour!

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

Print Itinerary

Overview

See the City of Light on this city explorer vacation as it has never been seen before—its hidden courtyards and charming arrondissements, each with their own distinct personality.

Paris Explorer also has winter departures; click here to see the Winter Season version of this tour!

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

  1. Paris is yours to explore on this in-depth City Explorer. Check in to your centrally located hotel and spend the afternoon getting to know your surrounds. Wander through the leafy boulevards and winding lanes of the French capital, stopping for a leisurely café au lait while watching sophisticated Parisians go by. This evening, join your fellow travelers and Travel Director for a quintessentially Parisian Welcome Reception.

    meal(s):Welcome Reception
    hotel:Le Méridien Etoile
  2. Join your Travel Director this morning for a tour of this mesmerizing city. View the grand Champs Élysées, Place de la Concorde and Arc de Triomphe, built by Napoleon in the 19th century. Delve into its hidden squares and secret passages, visiting one of Paris's most historic neighborhoods and a favorite local haunt that remains a secret to outsiders. Dive into culture this afternoon when we visit Fragonard Parfumerie for a visit with a certified ‘nose' who will guide you in the creation of your own unique fragrance.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
  3. Spend the day soaking up the sights and sounds of this elegant European capital. Your Travel Director will suggest activities and attractions that will ensure a memorable day spent discovering Paris. You may wish to experience a full-day Optional Experience on the northern coast of France to uncover the poignant history of the D-Day Landings. Spend your evening at leisure exploring the city's glittering sights at night or use your Parisian Brasserie voucher to indulge in delicious French flavors at one of the nearby brasseries.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
  4. Tread in the footsteps of French nobility and explore the opulence and splendor of Versailles. Join a Local Specialist as you wander through the palace's extraordinary Hall of Mirrors and Battles Gallery. Stroll through the picturesque Royal Gardens and visit the Petit Trianon to see first-hand how the French Royal Family lived in private. Get a real taste of the city with our exclusive Eatwith Optional Experiences and share delicious traditional flavors with a local family in their home.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
  5. Dive into culture, savoring the exquisite flavors of French cuisine as you meet a Parisian chef for an unforgettable gourmet lunch experience. Delve into local culinary secrets, and delicious flavors and aromas, which you will have an opportunity to create yourself and enjoy afterward. Spend the rest of the day at leisure. This evening, perhaps connect with the pageantry of a traditional cabaret performance at the world-famous Moulin Rouge.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Regional Meal
  6. A leisurely start to our morning sees us take a private street trolley car back in time to the colorful hillside “village” of Montmartre and home to the picturesque Sacré-Coeur. Join your Local Specialist and dive into culture as we tread in the footsteps of Picasso, Dali and Van Gogh, wandering through hidden squares, artists' haunts and romantic hideaways. Spend the rest of the day on your own embracing your inner bon vivant, before embarking on a special evening experience at the renowned Louvre museum. Enjoy the quiet atmosphere of the museum during this Small Group Sightseeing tour with your Local Specialist.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
  7. Admire the exquisite collection of modern art in the Center George Pompidou or enjoy an Optional Experience to explore the inspirational gardens of Monet at Giverny. This afternoon, explore the history of the French Revolution during a walking tour of the city, then join your Travel Director and companions for a memorable Farewell Dinner.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
  8. After breakfast, it's time to bid Paris au revoir as you prepare to return home after a memorable break in one of the world's greatest cities. Return transfers will arrive at Paris Charles De Gaulle Airport at 8 am and 11:30 am. Conditions apply.

    meal(s):Buffet Breakfast
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary
  • Definite Departure
  • Festive Celebrations
  • Autumn Winter Spring Departure
  • Bastille Day
Depart Date Return Date Price Discount Availability Price
14 Apr 19 21 Apr 19 checkmark $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
28 Apr 19 5 May 19 $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
5 May 19 12 May 19 checkmark $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
12 May 19 19 May 19 $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
19 May 19 26 May 19 checkmark $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
26 May 19 2 Jun 19 $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
2 Jun 19 9 Jun 19 checkmark $2,925$2,633pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
9 Jun 19 16 Jun 19 $2,925$2,633pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
16 Jun 19 23 Jun 19 checkmark $2,925$2,633pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
23 Jun 19 30 Jun 19 $2,925$2,633pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
30 Jun 19 7 Jul 19 checkmark $2,675$2,408pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
7 Jul 19 14 Jul 19 checkmark $2,675$2,408pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Bastille Day
14 Jul 19 21 Jul 19 checkmark $2,675$2,408pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
21 Jul 19 28 Jul 19 $2,675$2,408pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
28 Jul 19 4 Aug 19 $2,675$2,408pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
4 Aug 19 11 Aug 19 $2,675$2,408pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
11 Aug 19 18 Aug 19 checkmark $2,675$2,408pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
18 Aug 19 25 Aug 19 $2,675$2,408pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
25 Aug 19 1 Sep 19 checkmark $2,675$2,408pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
1 Sep 19 8 Sep 19 $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
8 Sep 19 15 Sep 19 checkmark $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
15 Sep 19 22 Sep 19 $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
22 Sep 19 29 Sep 19 checkmark $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
29 Sep 19 6 Oct 19 $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
6 Oct 19 13 Oct 19 $2,875$2,588pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
3 Nov 19 10 Nov 19 $2,295pp Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
17 Nov 19 24 Nov 19 $2,295pp Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
1 Dec 19 8 Dec 19 $2,295pp Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
15 Dec 19 22 Dec 19 $2,295pp Request Quote Book Now
Festive Celebrations
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
22 Dec 19 29 Dec 19 $2,375pp Request Quote Book Now
Festive Celebrations
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
29 Dec 19 5 Jan 20 $2,495pp Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
12 Jan 20 19 Jan 20 $2,295pp Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
26 Jan 20 2 Feb 20 $2,295pp Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
9 Feb 20 16 Feb 20 $2,295pp Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
23 Feb 20 1 Mar 20 $2,295pp Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
8 Mar 20 15 Mar 20 $2,295pp Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
22 Mar 20 29 Mar 20 $2,295pp Request Quote Book Now
  • Festive Celebrations: Christmas and/or New Year Celebrations have been arranged for these departures.
  • Autumn Winter Spring Departure: Please note, these departures are subject to change in price, discount and hotel.
  • Bastille Day: This departure will be in France during Bastille Day. Celebrations will be taking place throughout the country.

Price is per person and is based on two people sharing a twin bedded room. Single rooms are available at a supplement.

Single Room Supplement: from $720 per person

Shared Rooming: Room Share and Triple Rooms are not available on this trip.

Gratuities: Option to pre-pay gratuities for Travel Director and Driver $78 per person

Airport Transfers: On arrival to Paris Charles De Gaulle Airport transfers will operate at 8 am, 11 am and 2 pm. Guests arriving later should make their own way to the hotel. Return transfers on the last travel day will arrive at Paris Charles De Gaulle Airport at 8 am and 11:30 am.

AARP Members are entitled to an exclusive Member Benefit Discount on all Grand European Travel vacations. Plus receive a free travel gift!  Call Toll Free: 1-866-847-3858 for details.

Print Itinerary

  • Professional Travel Director Professional Travel Director
  • Sightseeing with Local Experts Sightseeing with Local Experts
  • VIP Access VIP Access
  • WIFI on Coach and in Hotels WIFI on Coach and in Hotels
  • Personal Flight Options Personal Flight Options
  • Hotel Tips Hotel Tips
  • Expertly Selected Hotels Expertly Selected Hotels
  • Cultural Enrichment Cultural Enrichment
  • Breakfast Daily Breakfast Daily

Meal Summary

11 meals: 7 hot buffet breakfasts, 1 Regional Meal lunch, 1 Parisian Brasserie voucher (choice of centrally located brasseries to visit for either lunch or dinner), 2 dinners with local wine.

Insider Experiences

Dive into Culture

  • The secrets of la cuisine are yours to discover and enjoy as you learn how to cook the Parisian way with a local chef. Discover Paris on Parisian terms as your Local Specialist reveals some of the city's hidden gems, including a behind the scenes tour of Montmartre to discover the secrets of the artists quarter

Local Specialist

  • For included sightseeing in Paris, Montmartre, the Louvre, Versailles

Sightseeing Experiences

  • Walking tour in Paris with a Local Specialist
  • Orientation tour in Paris
  • Visit the Royal Estate of Versailles including the Royal Palace, Petit Trianon and Marie Antoinette's Hamlet “Le Petit Hameau”, the “village” of Montmartre
  • View the Eiffel Tower, Champs Élysées, Paris Opera House, Arc de Triomphe, Place de la Concorde, Notre Dame Cathedral
  • Small Group Sightseeing in-depth, guided tour at the fascinating Louvre Museum in a group size of no more than 25 guests
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary

Reviews

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Patricia Morgan
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Jonathan, Best Tour Director & guide ever!! Phenomenal European history knowledge & humor & down to earth!!
Vacation : Prices for trip, airfare, side trips were perfect & all was delivered as promised
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Gloria Richard
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Previous bookings included seat numbers, however this trip to Paris did not. Gift (adaptor) for booking with GET was a gift that was given before. Hotel choice had a good location but housekeeping and breakfast was disappointing. We were assigned a room on the 31st floor, the elevator only went to the 30th floor. We would have had to walk up a flight of stairs, if we hadn't asked for a room change. Paid for twin beds. I slept on the sofa couch. They always claimed no available rooms with twin beds. Our booking was made in December. No other participants were assigned to the 31st floor of the hotel.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your feedback. We have shared your comments with our Quality Control team regarding the hotel and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Vacation : Airline tickets did not include seat numbers. Don't know if I was charge a fee for transportation to the airport at the end of the trip, but didn't utilize because we stayed an extra day. We had to pay for our transportation to the airport upon departure.
Response from Grand European Travel:
It looks like you flew on Air France who no longer allows advance seat assignments. They charge for all seats now and have for the last 3 years. Unfortunately, GET has to abide by this policy when working with this airline, but we do have contracts with several other airlines that still allow advance seating free of charge.
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Joyce Acker
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I was surprised about the policy for seating on Air France. It would have been good to get some explanation about it when the flight was booked. I managed to get seats that I wanted before I left, but was locked out of making a selection for the return trip with no idea why and had to take what we were given.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We do apologize for the confusion on your seat assignments. We do state on your flight itinerary that Air France does not allow advance seat requests unless you pay for them. We are sorry that this was not made more clear at the time you booked.
Monday, October 8, 2018
Vacation : This was good trip and suited me well. There was a good balance between scheduled activities and time on my own, with lots of options if I wanted to schedule more activities. I enjoyed being given a voucher to choose a dining experience on my own and particularly enjoyed the small group cooking lesson. It was fun. All the tour guides were great as usual and tried to be as accommodating and informative as possible. I really enjoyed Paris. I was not happy with the hotel, which seemed to not have booked us into rooms until we showed up. Every trip I have taken with GET in the past, the tour director was given the room keys for the group. This time each person had to get registered individually and we could not register until an hour or so after our arrival. I was also upset that we were the ONLY ones in the group given a room at the very top of the hotel which the elevator did not go to and required a climb up a flight of stairs. I had to start my vacation complaining about this (I have arthritis in both knees) and having to wait an additional hour before finally getting a room. The manager was apologetic, but it left me with a bad feeling. I kept wondering if there was problem because we were the only ones in the group that booked through GET and not Trafalgar (I often had the feeling that for some reason we were a last minute addition to this group). The location of the hotel was excellent, but it still did not quite balance out the feelings I was left with after the whole room thing.
Sunday, September 23, 2018
Ronald Myers
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : took care of all questions and concerns in a very timely and courteous maner
Vacation : Exceeded our expectations due to the excellent tour director Jonathan Holburn.
Sunday, July 29, 2018
Herminia Balboa
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Excellent! We had a great time. The tour guide is great!
Vacation : Great! We had a beautiful time and very nice memories!
Sunday, July 15, 2018
Marjorie Carroll
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The tour was very well organized. Our tour director.Jonathan was excellent! I would highly recommend this trip!!
Vacation : Value was worth the purchase!
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Debra Hatz
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Had the best tour director Jonathan for Paris. Exceptional service and trip. This was our second trip with GET and was just as exceptional as the first trip.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thanks for sharing about your Parisian journey! We're so happy to be a part of your experience and to have you as a member of our travel family! Where to next? :)
Friday, July 6, 2018
Vacation : Hit all the key sights and many additional sites we would not have found on our own.
Thursday, June 14, 2018
John Delaney
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our guide, Jonathan Holburn, was absolutely the best there is.
Vacation : Jonathan Holburn is the best guide ever.
Monday, June 4, 2018
James Oliphant
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : An excellent and complete tour, particularly for someone like me who was on their first trip to Paris. Everything was top-notch - excellent tour guide (Jonathan Holburn), accomodations, tour bus, etc. I can't say enough about the entire experience - wonderful memories of the beautiful city of Paris!
Response from Grand European Travel:
How wonderful to hear you had such an amazing time on your first trip to Paris! What an amazing vacation to take! We're so pleased to know you thought the whole experience was top-notch and we'll pass along your comments to the team. Happy travels!
Monday, June 4, 2018
Vacation : Worth every dollar I spent.
Sunday, May 6, 2018
Diane Winfree
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Every part of this trip was an amazing experience from the booking to the trip itself! I would highly recommend GET and its affiliate Trafalgar Tours! It was a wonderful experience; excited about my next trip!
Vacation : Fantastic exploration of Paris!
Monday, April 9, 2018
Jo Anderson
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Johnathan is an excellent guide. Tours were great, everyone was very nice. Hotel was not good. Food wasn't great at the hotel, the room was extremely small with no storage and the shower leaked.
Vacation : Could have been a little less expensive due to the inconvenience of the weather at this time of year.
Sunday, April 8, 2018
John Frame
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Wonderful itinerary and fantastic tour leader.
Vacation : I enjoyed it. --------------
Monday, January 8, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The best of everything; seating at shows, transportation, restaurants, tours, driver, inside information and places, no lines, extras beyond the requirements on everything, and best of all - our tour guide. Yes, I would recommend Grand European Travel.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We appreciate your praise and are very happy to have exceeded your high expectations.  Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you on another trip very soon.
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Vacation : Easy to process and follow through.
Monday, November 6, 2017
Daisy Lee
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The service was good. The only part that I have a minor complain is with the transfers from the airport to the hotel and vice-versa. Also overcharge on private transportation.
Vacation : Good price. Including the extra tours.
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything was done professionally and first class. The tour director was amazing.
Vacation : Excellent tour with a very good director.
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Candice
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : This was the fourth trip that I booked with GET and everyone of them has been a wonderful experience. I could not have asked for a more helpful travel agent, Michelle, or a more informed and enthusiastic tour guide, Jonathan.
Vacation : My daughter and I really enjoyed the optional excursions we chose although it would have been nice if more of them had been included in the initial trip cost.
Sunday, September 24, 2017
Lynda Garrison
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Saw all the main attractions but like a good meal, left wanting more. Our tour guide, Jonathan was a joy, informed, patient, well prepared, light hearted, a pleasure to spend the week with him.
Vacation : Didn't do lot of shopping, was too busy enjoying the sites.
Thursday, September 21, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything depends on the guide. In this case, Jonathan Holburn made the tour what it was....excellent. He was very knowledgeable and added personal touches such as local bakeries, a cooking class, hidden inns and food. I saw that he also gave personal attention to individual clients needing special requests. His timing was perfect so that we hit the specific highlights such as a mass at Notre Dame and the National Anthem sung at the Normandy Beach Memorial.
Vacation : This trip offered just what I wanted to see and experience without personal attention. I preferred to go as a group rather than try transportation alone and Paris Explorer had just what I wanted. And I could eliminate attractions I had already experienced or didn't want to attend.
Sunday, September 17, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our tour guide was the sole of patience with our older folks. He made sure everybody got where they needed to be with a minimum of fuss over those who couldn't keep to a schedule to save their souls! The itinerary was excellent. We felt we received an excellent overview of everything we saw and expected to see. The accomodations were lovely and well-placed for what we wanted to see on our own.
Vacation : WE saw everything we expected to see and more. The company was excellent, the tour, and food were wonderful.
Sunday, September 10, 2017
Edith Campbell
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Unfortunately I was robbed while in my room in Budapest. I believe the hotel has security issues and I was not the only person on the tour to be robbed. I was pleased with the flight reservations and airline. I was pleased with the additional tours offered; however, my overall impression and experience was overshadowed by the robbery which resulted in a 6 hour police station visit and missing out on a cruise on the Danube.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are extremely sorry to hear about this.  Our Guest Relations team will be in touch with you very soon to discuss the matter.
Thursday, September 21, 2017
Vacation : Tour guide was knowledgeable and experienced. Bus driver was courteous and very proficient. Tours of cities were fast paced, but gave a good overview of historical buildings and events. Additional tours were enjoyable.
Sunday, July 30, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Yes, Yes.
Vacation : It was an excellent expereince
Tuesday, June 20, 2017
Stephen Bryant
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great service, friendly, knowledgable, helpful despite two cancellations due to inability to get a large enough group.
Vacation : Great tour, guide (Jonathan) and hotel (Meridien Etoile). Our group included families, couples and individuals ranging from 12 to 85. As such, the activities had to be geared toward a compromise speed that was for many difficult. Check-in was easy Our 7th floor room was modern, art deco, lots of storage, everything works, big bed, clean. Breakfast was a huge layout (quality food) and the lobby was busy with meetings, couches chairs, helpful workers, drinks, food. Very inviting and comfortable. (Contrast the Cumberland in London - long check-in line, unfriendly staff, a lobby like an empty mall. We had to switch rooms TWICE (A/C) and no one came either time. Maids speak no English - "towel", "shampoo". We raided the cart. Beds were the smallest ever seen, no storage or tv remote (reported twice). Breakfast was depressing - winding maze to underground gym with forgettable food.) Back to Paris - arranged meals were "OK" - chicken, beef, fish, ho-hum desserts. For good food go to bistros like Chez Clement. The tour excelled in getting us quickly and easily into sites with no worry about tickets, crowds or transport. Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame, Louvre (was too short), Giverny, Seine. The pace is exhaustive and on every tour some had to stay back from stragglers. We did stop several times for bathroom / stretch breaks which was nice. Suggestions for travelers: 1. Don't take all optional tours - too exhaustive. Schedule relax times. 2. Use Uber - easy, payment handled and cheap. 3. Use a credit card (Euros only if necessary) Everyone takes cards and most charge no FX fees. A book at Giverny was £22, €25 and $47. With a credit card it was $27.50. 4. Tipping. Check your bill if a tip has been added. If you want you can leave 10% though we were told not to bother several times Suggestions for Trafalgar 1. Incorporate tipping into the price as most cruise ships have done. Spending time and effort on tips appears cheap and cheesy. 2. Use museum headphones - not an "expert guide" that traps you into long-winded explanations of a painting. 3. Warn travelers beforehand about bad cabs (one couple charged $100 for 3 mile trip - use Uber! LOL
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback and great suggestions. We are sorry to hear that the Cumberland Hotel was a disappointment.  We will be sure to pass this along to Trafalgar's Quality Assurance team.
Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Sunday, May 28, 2017
Barry Jones
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : 3rd time we have booked thru Grand European Travel. Our Trafalgar tour guide, Jonathan, was great also.
Vacation : We received exactly what we paid for, plus we had enough free time to take the Metro and see a lot of Paris.
Sunday, May 28, 2017
Alex Cummins
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The tour was well planned and expertly executed by a tour director who knew so much about the sites he showed us. Additionally, he did it with much humor. Also he cared about our experience, comfort and safety.
Vacation : Well planned and expertly executed by a very knowledgeable tour director who may it fun and enlightening
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Judith Weis
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : This was a great trip and wonderful experience of Paris and France. Could not have been better!
Vacation : Paris Explorer was a great trip. We felt like we experienced all of Paris.
Sunday, October 16, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Guide was great -very knowledgeable and humorous
Vacation : Hotel was just OK. Location was wonderful but hotel needs major updating. Carpet was really gross and shower leaked all over the place.
Friday, October 14, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The people we worked with were very helpful. Next time I would fly from the US rather than fly to Canada and then Paris. It was confusing with a different money system and longer customs process.
Vacation : I was so pleased with our trip. Our tour guide was top-notch; so friendly and knowledgeable. It was the perfect getaway!
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The value was great and the tour director was outstanding.
Vacation : Our tour director could not have been better.
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Usual GET service
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're sorry to hear about your disappointment with your Paris Hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback and will work to improve this shortcoming right away. Grand European Travel
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Vacation : The Paris hotel did not compare to the any of the several accommodations we experienced in our trip to Italy two years ago. The Italian rooms were beautifully appointed whereas our Paris room was small, austere and barely functional.
Saturday, September 24, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very satisfied with the tour will use you again.
Vacation : Jonathan was such a great guide, so informative and funny as well.will take the paris explorer tour again.
Friday, September 23, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Professional, thorough, timely communications, excellent call center.
Vacation : Marvelous itinerary, optional side trips, coach, driver, travel director. Hotel adequate.
Monday, July 25, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our tour guide, Jonathan, went out of his way many times to help tour participants. He also combined "information" with "anecdotal stories" throughout our tour. This kept my interest! Our bus driver also went out of his way to help many of us.
Vacation : Excellent
Friday, July 8, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Novotel was disappointing--room too small, inconvenient--only good thing was the view. Guide, driver were excellent.
Vacation : Good
Friday, July 1, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Better information about negotiating the CDG airport would have helpful. The agents who helped me arrange my trip were very accommodating.
Vacation : The travel director for our tour, Jonathan Holbyrn, was wonderfully funny and kind. He was very articulate and quite knowledgeable. He also provided us with some unique experiences in addition to the usual tourist sites. he provided some additional assistance for many of us who wanted to spend our leisure time on her own traveling around the city. He also provided assistance for one of the participants in making travel arrangements that were outside the parameters of the tour.
Friday, June 17, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our coach was very nice and the hotel was clean and comfortable. The transportation that was provided back to the airport on the final day was very convenient, as was the luggage pick-up system! I also enjoyed the 'welcome dinner' and the 'farewell dinner'. I had a great experience and I am looking forward to travel with Grand European Travel again. Thank you!
Vacation : The daily activities were well planned, organized, insightful and fun! Our tour guide, Jonathon, was very knowledgable and I was able to learn a lot of new interesting information about Paris and all of its historical monuments. I really feel like I saw the entire city and got the most out of my time in France! I had so much fun and I am excited to go back soon. Thank you for such an incredible experience!
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Information provided was sometimes unclear and inconsistent. For example, we added a day at start, and didn't find out until almost departure time that we would be on our own to get to hotel. Company didn't provide cab fare although it was less than it would have cost from the company. Virtually no assistance on arrival procedures and policies. Also, the GET insurance is very much excessive in price, and having experience now, we would not use it again. GET's function was basically to serve as a booking agent for Trafalgar, and once that was done, the customer was basically on their own. Quite a change from our GET trip some years ago when they were actually the operator, etc. Based on GET handling we would be reluctant to recommend them, but would instead recommend booking Trafalgar or Insight through a regular travel agent who would provide better support.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're sorry to see that there was a miscommunication during your booking process. We do state in our brochure and website that hotel transfers are only included for actual tour arrival and departure dates. Please accept our apologies if this was not communicated properly to you and we appreciate you bringing the issue to our attention. It appears that despite having to take a taxi to the hotel, you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we hope you returned home with some wonderful memories. Grand European Travel
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Vacation : The itinerary and the ****** and driver were very good. We were very much impressed with Jon Holburn's knowledge and abilities. He was outstanding as was the driver, Mark, and they are a credit to Trafalgar.
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary
  • U.S. citizens traveling to France must have a current passport valid for six months beyond the conclusion of their trip. You can find information on how to apply for a passport here, and how to renew a passport here. No visa is required for U.S. citizens entering France.

  • The currency in France is the Euro (€). While it’s a good idea to bring some euros for when you first arrive in France, you’ll usually find a better exchange rate when you arrive in your destination.  The most convenient way to obtain cash is to use your ATM card at local banks in France. We recommend you also bring a valid credit card for purchases while you are traveling.  It is important that you inform your financial institutions of your travel plans before you leave home so they don’t flag your purchases as potentially fraudulent charges.

  • The French have an ongoing love affair with food and wine. Meals are lovingly prepared and consumed leisurely through a bevy of appetizers and main courses, usually accompanied by a number of wines. Boeuf bourgignon (beef stew with wine, herbs and vegetables), coq au vin (chicken cooked with bacon in a white wine and herb sauce) and bouillabaisse (fish stew) are featured on many menus. Cheese lovers will not be disappointed with hundreds of varieties to choose from.  And no visit would be complete without a visit to a pâtisserie, with its delicate pastries you will definitely be tempted.

    Wine is the most popular drink in France and is consumed at both lunch and dinner. Coffee is generally served black, unless a café au lait or café crème (with milk) is requested. For a simple and inexpensive lunch or snack, stop by a local bakery or food cart for a baguette au jambon (ham sandwich), crêpes, or a savory buckwheat galette filled with melted gruyère cheese and mushrooms. Many restaurants also offer a simple three course menu at a reasonable price.

  • We suggest bringing a variety of lightweight clothing items that can be layered to save space in your suitcase and give you more options for how to dress. Keep in mind that your shoulders and knees should be covered while visiting religious sites. For more helpful information please refer to our Packing Tips & Packing List.

  • In France, a 15% service compris is included by law in the price of food and drink. Tipping in addition to this service charge is never expected, but always appreciated. If you’d like to leave something extra, keep in mind that even in the fanciest restaurants, people rarely tip more than 5-10%. A good rule of thumb is to leave an extra €1 for every €20 spent. Rather than adding gratuity to your credit card slip, leave coins in the tray where the check was presented to ensure that your waiter receives it.

    At the end of your guided vacation, it’s customary to offer your motor coach driver and Travel Director a gratuity. We recommend €3.00 per person/per day for your driver and €5.00 per person/per day for your Travel Director.  Recommended gratuity for a Local Host and Local Specialist is 1-2 euros per person, paid at the conclusion of each guided visit.  A convenient option is to prepay your tips before your departure.

  • Baggage on our trips is restricted to one large suitcase per person with dimensions not exceeding 30x19x10 inches and a maximum weight of 50 pounds. You are also permitted one piece of hand luggage, which should be small enough to fit under your coach seat or on the small overhead shelf compartment. Please note that luggage with an adjustable handle and wheels will not fit in the overhead compartment of the coach. Hotel porterage is included in your vacation.

  • You will need to be comfortable on your feet, walking and standing for up to three hours in various weather conditions.  All of our vacations involve walking, often on cobblestone and uneven surfaces in historic city centers.  In order to get the most out of your vacation you need to be able to comfortably walk 1-3 miles unassisted in one day, be in good condition and be able to keep pace with the group. 

    If you need any medications, it is important that you bring enough to last you the whole trip and keep them in your carry-on bag while you travel.

  • We highly recommend our optional Travel Protection Plan, which allows you to cancel for any reason up to 24 hours before departure. The plan also includes trip interruption, baggage loss or delay, and medical and emergency assistance. Click here for a summary of coverage details, terms and conditions.

Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Optional Experiences are subject to change. Your Travel Director will supply you with a final list of Optional Experiences available on your trip. Optional Experiences cannot be booked online; they can be purchased during your trip through your Travel Director.

Paris

Moulin Rouge Cabaret And Dinner

Adult Price: €162.00

Enjoy dinner and cabaret, including wine and champagne, at the world-famous Moulin Rouge – the original Paris cabaret. Immortalized by the award-winning film of the same name, this Parisian institution features 60 dancers and entertainers and over 1000 costumes!

Paris

Eatwith Experience

Adult Price: €45-65

Get a real taste of Paris with Eatwith. Meet Joelle and her family for a memorable coq au vin dinner and embrace your inner Parisian. Eatwith is the world’s leading community for authentic food experiences with locals in over 130 countries. Choose between our hand selected hosts and dine like a local with a local. Fully immerse yourself in food and culture, meet other travelers at your table, and experience the magic of social dining. Transport is not included in this optional experience.

Paris

Musee D'Orsay with a Local Specialist

Adult Price: €49.00

Housed in a former railway station, the Orsay museum is renowned the world over for its rich collection of art. It houses the largest collection of impressionist and post-impressionist art from such acclaimed artists as Monet, Degas, Renoir, Cezanne and Van Gogh. This optional experience is dependent upon availability.

Paris

2CV Experience

Adult Price: €60.00

View the hidden gems of Paris in classic style! Enjoy a guided drive around France’s most Iconic city in France’s most iconic car - the 2 CV (a.k.a. deux chevaux). Drive off the beaten track and let your personal Parisian driver give you all the insider facts about Paris. Note: We recommend two people per car. However, if you would like three people in the rear seat, the price will be €40 per person.

Paris

Giverny House And Gardens Of Claude Monet

Adult Price: €49.00

Today, with our Local Specialist, we'll visit the charming former home of the greatest Impressionist painter, Claude Monet, which inspired his magnificent water lily paintings. Our coach will take us to the village of Giverny where we’ll enjoy a tour of the delightful house, gardens and famous Japanese bridge.

Paris

Notre Dame, Latin Quarter And Seine Cruise

Adult Price: €39.00

Come with us to explore the magnificent cathedral at the heart of Paris, Notre Dame. With your Local Specialist, you’ll also enjoy the Latin Quarter and have free time for a bite to eat. Then relax on our River Seine cruise, the perfect way to discover the city - don't forget your camera.

Paris

Guided Tour of the D-Day Beaches

Adult Price: €150.00

Discover the Normandy region and the D-Day beaches with our Local Specialist on this full-day tour. We'll visit the dramatic battle-scarred cliffs of Pointe du Hoc; the American cemetery at Omaha Beach and the almost-intact gun battery at Longues-sur-Mer. You'll also enjoy the superb new Operation Overlord Museum before continuing to Arromanches for views over Gold and Juno Beaches before visiting Juno Beach and the Canadian Cemetery (traffic and weather allowing).

Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Be the First to Know!

Sign up for our emails and receive exclusive offers, travel information, announcements, and more!
Providing peace of mind and unparalleled service for over 40 years.