• 2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20, 2019

    2020 Vacations at 2019 Prices - ends Sept 20
  • Save $150 per person on select 2019 departures - Ends July 31

    Save $150 on select 2019 departures - Ends July 31
  • Save $100 on Airfare - Ends July 31, 2019

    Save $100 on Airfare - Ends July 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Paris Explorer

Operated by: Trafalgar

8 Days from $2,408 per person
France paris notre dame

Countries Visited

France

Locations Visited

Paris, Champ Elysees, Arc de Triomphe, Versailles, Eiffel Tower, The Louvre… more Paris, Champ Elysees, Arc de Triomphe, Versailles, Eiffel Tower, The Louvre, Notre Dame de Paris
  1. Day 1 Arrive Paris (7 Nights)

    Paris is yours to explore on this in-depth City Explorer. Check in to your centrally located hotel and spend the afternoon getting to know your surrounds. Wander through the leafy boulevards and winding lanes of the French capital, stopping for a leisurely café au lait while watching sophisticated Parisians go by. This evening, join your fellow travellers and Travel Director for a quintessentially Parisian Welcome Reception.

    meals Welcome Reception
    hotel Le Méridien Etoile
  2. Day 2 Paris Sightseeing and At Leisure

    Join your Travel Director this morning for a tour of this mesmerising city. View the grand Champs Élysées, Place de la Concorde and Arc de Triomphe, built by Napoleon in the 19th century. Delve into its hidden squares and secret passages, visiting one of Paris's most historic neighbourhoods and a favourite local haunt that remains a secret to outsiders. 'Dive Into Culture' this afternoon when we visit Fragonard Parfumerie for a visit with a certified 'nose' who will guide you in the creation of your own unique fragrance.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  3. Day 3 Paris At Leisure or Optional D-Day Beach Experience

    Spend the day soaking up the sights and sounds of this elegant European capital. Your Travel Director will suggest activities and attractions that will ensure a memorable day spent discovering Paris. You may wish to experience a full-day Optional Experience on the northern coast of France to uncover the poignant history of the D-Day Landings. Spend your evening at leisure exploring the city's glittering sights at night.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  4. Day 4 Full-Day Excursion to the Palace and Royal Estate of Versailles

    Tread in the footsteps of French nobility and explore the opulence and splendour of Versailles. Join a Local Specialist as you wander through the palace's extraordinary Hall of Mirrors and Battles Gallery. Stroll through the picturesque Royal Gardens and visit the Petit Trianon to see first-hand how the French Royal Family lived in private before discovering Marie Antoinette's Hamlet. Spend your evening at leisure and use your Brasserie voucher to dine at one of the nearby brasseries.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Dinner
  5. Day 5 Walking Tour in the Marais and French Cuisine Experience

    Explore the intriguing and beautiful Marais district on a walking tour. See the mansions and courtyards of this delightful corner of Paris. Then, 'Dive Into Culture', savouring the exquisite flavours of French cuisine as you meet a Parisian chef for an unforgettable lunch experience. Delve into local culinary secrets, and delicious flavours and aromas, which you will have an opportunity to create yourself and enjoy afterwards. Spend the rest of the day at leisure. This evening, perhaps connect with the pageantry of a traditional cabaret performance at the world-famous Moulin Rouge.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Regional Meal
  6. Day 6 Visit Montmartre and the Louvre

    A leisurely start to our morning sees us take a private street trolley car back in time to the colourful hillside "village" of Montmartre and home to the picturesque Sacré-Coeur. Join your Local Specialist and 'Dive Into Culture' as we tread in the footsteps of Picasso, Dali and Van Gogh, as you wander through hidden squares, artists' haunts and romantic hideaways. Spend the rest of the day on your own embracing your inner bon vivant, before embarking on a special evening experience at the renowned Louvre museum. Enjoy the quiet atmosphere of the museum during this Small Group Sightseeing tour with your Local Specialist.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
  7. Day 7 Paris Morning At Leisure and Farewell Dinner

    Perhaps, admire the exquisite collection of modern art in the Centre George Pompidou or enjoy an Optional Experience to explore the inspirational gardens of Monet at Giverny. This evening, join your Travel Director and companions for a memorable Farewell Dinner.

    meals Buffet Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
  8. Day 8 Depart Paris

    After breakfast, it's time to bid Paris au revoir as you prepare to return home after a memorable break in one of the world's greatest cities. Airport transfers are available. Conditions apply.

    meals Buffet Breakfast
PARK-paris-explorer-new-tt-map.jpg
Price Includes

Dining Highlights

  • 7 hot buffet breakfasts
  • 1 Regional Meal lunch
  • 2 dinners with local wine
  • 1 Parisian Brasserie voucher

First class travel Highlights

  • Audio Headsets for flexible sightseeing
  • Daily breakfast and an average of 50% of evening meals
  • Luxury air-conditioned coach with WiFi in most countries or alternative transportation (such as rail journeys)
  • Cherry-picked hotels, all tried and trusted
  • Hand-picked Trip Highlights
  • Optional Experiences and free time
  • All porterage and restaurant gratuities
  • Must-see sightseeing and surprise extras
  • An expert Travel Director and a professional Driver
  • All hotel tips, charges and local taxes
  • VIP entry to many sights

Sightseeing Highlights

  • WALKING TOUR in Paris with a Local Specialist
  • ORIENTATION tour in Paris
  • VISIT the Royal Estate of Versailles including the Royal Palace, Petit Trianon and Marie Antoinette's Hamlet "Le Petit Hameau" and the "village" of Montmartre
  • Take part in Trafalgar’s fragrance La Belle Vie workshop with a behind the scenes discovery at the Fragonard Museum
  • VIEW the Eiffel Tower, Champs Élysées, Paris Opera House, Arc de Triomphe, Place de la Concorde and Notre Dame Cathedral
  • SMALL GROUP SIGHTSEEING enjoy an in-depth, intimate guided tour at the fascinating Louvre Museum in a group size of no more than 25 guests.

Dates & Prices
Airfare is not included, but can be added to quote upon request
  • Definite Departure
Price Discount Availability Price
Optional Add-Ons

Optional Experiences are subject to change. Your Travel Director will supply you with a final list of Optional Experiences available on your trip. Optional Experiences cannot be booked online; they can be purchased during your trip through your Travel Director.

Paris

Guided Tour of the D-Day Beaches

Discover the Normandy region and the D-Day beaches with our Local Specialist on this full-day tour. We'll visit the dramatic battle-scarred cliffs of Pointe du Hoc; the American cemetery at Omaha Beach and the almost-intact gun battery at Longues-sur-Mer. You'll also enjoy the superb new Operation Overlord Museum before continuing to Arromanches for views over Gold and Juno Beaches before visiting Juno Beach and the Canadian Cemetery (traffic and weather allowing).
Adult Price: €150

Musee d'Orsay with a Local Specialist

Housed in a former railway station, the Orsay museum is renowned the world over for its rich collection of art. It houses the largest collection of impressionist and post-impressionist art from such acclaimed artists as Monet, Degas, Renoir, Cezanne and Van Gogh. This optional experience is dependent upon availability.
Adult Price: €54

Moulin Rouge Cabaret And Dinner

Enjoy dinner and cabaret, including wine and champagne, at the world-famous Moulin Rouge – the original Paris cabaret. Immortalized by the award-winning film of the same name, this Parisian institution features 60 dancers and entertainers and over 1000 costumes!
Adult Price: €162

Giverny House And Gardens Of Claude Monet

Today, with our Local Specialist, we'll visit the charming former home of the greatest Impressionist painter, Claude Monet, which inspired his magnificent water lily paintings. Our coach will take us to the village of Giverny where we’ll enjoy a tour of the delightful house, gardens and famous Japanese bridge.
Adult Price: €49

Reviews
Service
Vacation
Independent Reviews
John Tyler
Travel date: Monday, July 15, 2019
Service
Tess did a great job. Had to change my reservation and she did so without any problems. Everything went smoothly.
Vacation
Loved Paris and tour was great. Everything went smoothly. Tour guide was exceptional. I’ll book with GET again.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Merci Beaucoup!
Monday, July 15, 2019
Trusted Customer
Travel date: Monday, July 1, 2019
Service
Rob Rainwater was excellent. It was my 2nd trip booked with GET and everything went smoothly.
Vacation
They take great care of you at GET. 4-star hotels, wonderful tour directors, multi-layered experiences, you leave feeling like you have seen everything you wanted to see and with a smile on your face.
Trusted Customer
Travel date: Sunday, May 12, 2019
Service
EVERYONE on the tour, all 27 of them, had €40 EUR certificate to be used at a few different bistros. We never received anything and had to pay out of our own pocket. I only mention this because when the lady from GET called before the trip to check on us I had to tell her that nowhere had we received the actual flight itinerary as in times and flight numbers. Somebody dropped the ball on this trip which was our second tour with GET. Our Italian tour was flawless so we were happy to book with GET for Paris. We plan other tours for ourselves but I’m not 100% about rebooking with you.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The Dining Voucher should have been included in your final documents packet along with your flight itinerary and day by day tour itinerary. We will investigate to make sure all these items were sent and someone from our team will be in touch with you shortly.
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Vacation
The weather was not so great. Annoyed about the €40 EUR x 2 bistro certificates that we never received.
Trusted Customer
Travel date: Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Service
I booked my tour with Rob Rainwater. He was always, pleasant, courteous, and helpful.
Vacation
Let me preface this review with the following facts. My goal is to prove that I have sufficient travel experience and knowledge with which to fairly evaluate my recent Paris trip. I'm an American who lived in Europe for two and one-half years. Since returning to the States, I've traveled in Europe on business, in tour groups, or alone, a dozen or more times. At least six of those trips were to Paris, my favorite city. I've also been on tours in South America, Central America, and South Africa. I joined the Paris Explorer for two reasons: (a) to celebrate my 79th birthday in my favorite city, and (b) to see the exhibition "The Black Model in French Art," at the Museum Orsay. The tour group leader/director, Jonathan Somebody, was the worst I've encountered. He was arrogant, often rude, and gave the general impression that the job was beneath him. His only interest seemed to be selling optional tours (which I'm sure was part of his job), and delivering his patented speech at various sites. He was not forthcoming about any other sites, events, etc. that were not on his schedule. For example, too late I learned from passers-by about a King Tut exhibit in Paris, and the availability of afternoon tickets to the ballet. When I wanted to do things not scheduled in the tour, or not on Jonathan's list of tours to sell, I had to rely on the hotel concierge. They had their own limited lists/brochures of tours to sell; none of interest to me. My point is that my tour leader never bothered to find out what I might be interested in. When I mentioned a few things, he had no knowledge of them; made no inquiries. Although he was generally less than pleasant to me, what I found most unforgivable was his unleashing his ire on a 10 year-old traveler named Jonathan, when the latter came to my aid at Versailles. I turned an ankle walking on the cobblestones at Versailles, making it painful for me to board and alight from the tour bus. This meant that wherever I went thereafter, I went by taxi; paying for the trip myself. Therefore, I missed several prepaid tour events, such as: the trip to the cooking lesson, the Louvre, the farewell dinner, the free return trip to the airport. Although my tour package included a free entrance to the Museum Orsay, I had to buy another ticket (20 euros), take and pay for a taxi there. The time scheduled by Jonathan was insufficient for viewing the current exhibit (a major reason for me making the trip), and Jonathan's talk on the Impressionists--my favorite artists. Again, although my trip package included a free pass to the Museum, Jonathan made no effort for me to use it at an earlier, more convenient time. Nor did he ever make efforts to compensate me for taxi costs, even though an injury on the tour prohibited further tour bus rides. In a brief conversation initiated by Jonathan about Queen Eleanor of Acqitain,(forgive the misspelling), I mentioned that she was the mother of King Richard The Lionhearted. Jonathan was so visibly shocked that I knew anything about her, that he asked me this insulting question: "How do YOU know that?" Perhaps he didn't realize what an insulting question he'd asked. Or, perhaps it was an outgrowth of his connotation of "rich, dumb, tourists. For the record, let me add that I have a Ph.D. degree from an Ivy League university, and a Phi Beta Kappa key. Also, I am 79 years old, and ought to know something by now!
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your honest feedback. Our Guest Relations Department will be reaching out to you directly to learn more about your experience.
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Mary Ross
Travel date: Monday, April 29, 2019
Service
Very pleasant and knowledgable.
Response from Grand European Travel:
How lucky! We hope that you enjoyed Notre Dame and the rest of your trip.
Monday, April 29, 2019
Vacation
Our guide, could not have been more charming if we'd ordered him from a catalogue.
Gregory Ginn
Travel date: Monday, January 7, 2019
Service
Our tour was delightful. Enough scheduled activities, and enough time to discover Paris on our own. One of the best holidays I have ever been on.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are absolutely thrilled to hear that! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again very soon!
Monday, January 7, 2019
Vacation
Accommodations, tours, transportation and the food! It exceeded all expectations!
Patricia Morgan
Travel date: Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Service
Jonathan, Best Tour Director & guide ever!! Phenomenal European history knowledge & humor & down to earth!!
Vacation
Prices for trip, airfare, side trips were perfect & all was delivered as promised
Gloria Richard
Travel date: Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Service
Previous bookings included seat numbers, however this trip to Paris did not. Gift (adaptor) for booking with GET was a gift that was given before. Hotel choice had a good location but housekeeping and breakfast was disappointing. We were assigned a room on the 31st floor, the elevator only went to the 30th floor. We would have had to walk up a flight of stairs, if we hadn't asked for a room change. Paid for twin beds. I slept on the sofa couch. They always claimed no available rooms with twin beds. Our booking was made in December. No other participants were assigned to the 31st floor of the hotel.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your feedback. We have shared your comments with our Quality Control team regarding the hotel and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Vacation
Airline tickets did not include seat numbers. Don't know if I was charge a fee for transportation to the airport at the end of the trip, but didn't utilize because we stayed an extra day. We had to pay for our transportation to the airport upon departure.
Response from Grand European Travel:
It looks like you flew on Air France who no longer allows advance seat assignments. They charge for all seats now and have for the last 3 years. Unfortunately, GET has to abide by this policy when working with this airline, but we do have contracts with several other airlines that still allow advance seating free of charge.
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Joyce Acker
Travel date: Monday, October 8, 2018
Service
I was surprised about the policy for seating on Air France. It would have been good to get some explanation about it when the flight was booked. I managed to get seats that I wanted before I left, but was locked out of making a selection for the return trip with no idea why and had to take what we were given.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We do apologize for the confusion on your seat assignments. We do state on your flight itinerary that Air France does not allow advance seat requests unless you pay for them. We are sorry that this was not made more clear at the time you booked.
Monday, October 8, 2018
Vacation
This was good trip and suited me well. There was a good balance between scheduled activities and time on my own, with lots of options if I wanted to schedule more activities. I enjoyed being given a voucher to choose a dining experience on my own and particularly enjoyed the small group cooking lesson. It was fun. All the tour guides were great as usual and tried to be as accommodating and informative as possible. I really enjoyed Paris. I was not happy with the hotel, which seemed to not have booked us into rooms until we showed up. Every trip I have taken with GET in the past, the tour director was given the room keys for the group. This time each person had to get registered individually and we could not register until an hour or so after our arrival. I was also upset that we were the ONLY ones in the group given a room at the very top of the hotel which the elevator did not go to and required a climb up a flight of stairs. I had to start my vacation complaining about this (I have arthritis in both knees) and having to wait an additional hour before finally getting a room. The manager was apologetic, but it left me with a bad feeling. I kept wondering if there was problem because we were the only ones in the group that booked through GET and not Trafalgar (I often had the feeling that for some reason we were a last minute addition to this group). The location of the hotel was excellent, but it still did not quite balance out the feelings I was left with after the whole room thing.
Ronald Myers
Travel date: Sunday, September 23, 2018
Service
took care of all questions and concerns in a very timely and courteous maner
Vacation
Exceeded our expectations due to the excellent tour director Jonathan Holburn.
See More Reviews
Back To Top