The REAL ID Act and What It Means for You

Passed by Congress in 2005, the REAL ID Act enacted the 9/11 Commission’s recommendation that the Federal Government “set standards for the issuance of sources of identification, such as driver's licenses.” States have made considerable progress in meeting this recommendation and each state now has a more secure driver’s license than before the passage of the Act.

October 2020 - Every domestic air traveler will need a REAL ID-compliant license or accepted form of identification.


 Learn more about the REAL ID Act!

Alternative Identification for Domestic Travel

Adult passengers 18 and over must show valid identification at the airport checkpoint to travel.

  • Driver's licenses or other state photo identity cards issued by Department of Motor Vehicles (excluding licenses from the nine fore-mentioned states)
  • S. passport
  • S. passport card
  • DHS trusted traveler cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
  • S. military ID (active duty or retired military and their dependents, and DoD civilians)
  • Permanent resident card
  • Border crossing card
  • DHS-designated enhanced driver's license
  • Federally recognized, tribal-issued photo ID
  • HSPD-12 PIV card
  • Foreign government-issued passport
  • Canadian provincial driver's license or Indian and Northern Affairs Canada card
  • Transportation worker identification credential
  • S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Employment Authorization Card (I-766)
  • S. Merchant Mariner Credential

Related Articles: