• Save up to 10% - Pay in Full by January 31, 2019

    Save up to 10% - Pay in Full by January 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Scenic Scandinavia & its Fjords

14 Days from $3,915 per person

Style: First Class | Pace: Active

Beyond the deep fjords, glaciers and islands that dot the Scandinavian coastline, there are distinctly different cultures that will make your visit to Norway, Sweden and Denmark a fascinating journey of discovery.

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

Print Itinerary

Overview

Beyond the deep fjords, glaciers and islands that dot the Scandinavian coastline, there are distinctly different cultures that will make your visit to Norway, Sweden and Denmark a fascinating journey of discovery.

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

  1. Welcome to Copenhagen—the enchanting Danish capital that inspired Hans Christian Andersen to share tales of mermaids, queens and ugly ducklings with the world. On arrival at Copenhagen Airport transfers will operate at 9 am, 12 noon and 3:30 pm. Guests arriving later should make their own way to the hotel. Spend the day embracing its quintessential hygge found throughout its charming streets before enjoying a late afternoon orientation drive and Welcome Reception with your Travel Director and travel companions.

    meal(s):Welcome Reception
    hotel:Marriott
  2. Join a Local Specialist today for a fascinating sightseeing and walking tour of the iconic sights of Copenhagen. The Amalienborg Palace Quarter takes center stage as you admire its 18th-century façades and equine statue of King Frederik V at its center. We'll see the 17th-century Stock Exchange, Christianborg Palace and the Neo-Classical Cathedral before paying tribute to the tragic Little Mermaid who was willing to give up her life in the sea to become human. Spend the rest of the day on your own, strolling through the city's streets, or embrace your inner child in Europe's oldest amusement park, the Tivoli Gardens. This evening, consider taking to Copenhagen's waters and enjoying a canal cruise with stunning city views.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast
  3. We leave the fairy tales behind for the Danish island of Funen, and Odense, the city where Hans Christian Andersen was born. Continuing across the pastoral landscapes of the Jutland Peninsula, we arrive in Randers, with its cozy half-timbered merchant houses and narrow medieval streets. Tonight, we stay at the Hotel Randers, one of the oldest hotels in the area with original artwork and a VIP-rich guestbook.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast
    hotel:Randers
  4. Set sail from Hirtshals across the Skagerrak to the port of Kristiansand in Norway. Drive north past fjords, lakes and forests to the port city of Stavanger, one of Norway's oldest settlements—its heritage still evident in the beautifully preserved wooden buildings that date back to the 18th century.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel:Scandic Forum
  5. Norway's spellbinding natural landscapes provide an inspiring backdrop for our island hop from Stavanger. Arriving in Bergen this afternoon, we delve into the city's Hanseatic heritage, enjoying an orientation tour past the 13th-century Haakon's Hall, the bustling fish market and colorful Bryggen Quarter. This evening, we connect with locals for a Be My Guest dinner, visiting the Øvre-Eide farm, worked for five generations by the same family.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel:Scandic Neptun
  6. Enjoy a full free day in the cultural center of Bergen or ascend its funicular for spectacular views of the fjords and islands. Consider an Optional Experience to Telavåg, which played a significant role in the secret North Sea boat traffic between Norway and Great Britain during World War II.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast
  7. We drive east to the popular ski resort of Voss, where we'll board a train ascending over 2,800 feet above sea level. Dive into culture on one of the world's most exciting train journeys in the world, through the Flåm Valley past the Kjosfossen and legendary forest spirit who dances in front of the waterfall to lure men into the mountains. Later, arrive in Sognefjord, the King of the Fjords, where we will stay overnight.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel:Sognefjord
  8. Norway's incredible glacier countryside surrounds us as we follow the spectacular Sognefjord to Geirangerfjord—its deep blue waters surrounded by majestic snow-capped peaks and lush green landscapes, which we will have an opportunity to explore. Tonight, we stay on the shores of the fjord at Hotel Geiranger.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel:Hotel Geiranger
  9. Spend a full day admiring this spectacular natural wonder. Cascading waterfalls tumble down sheer cliffs into the glacial waters below, which you can explore by kayak or boat, soaking up the crisp, clean mountain air. Consider an Optional Experience to the Trollstigen and see Norway's most famous mountain road, traveling past steep mountain slopes, tumbling cascades and fertile valleys. After a day in intoxicating natural surrounds, we dine in our hotel this evening.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner
  10. A scenic drive from Geiranger through high peaks brings us to Lom, the gateway to the Jotunheimen Mountains. Here we will visit a 12th-century wooden Stave church, adorned with Runic inscriptions, paintings and carved dragon figures that are said to protect it against evil. We continue through the Gudbrandsdalen Valley, the inspiration for Ibsen's 'Peer Gynt,' before arriving in Lillehammer, the proud host of the 1994 Winter Olympics. This evening before dinner, consider a walk along Storgata or visit the open-air museum at Maihaugan.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel:Scandic
  11. See the unusual Olympic ice arena beside the lake at Hamar as we travel to Norway's cultural capital, Oslo. Join a Local Specialist who will share the city's iconic sights, including views of the medieval fortress of Akershus, the Opera and 19th-century Royal Palace. We visit the fascinating Vigeland Sculpture Park, before spending the rest of the day at leisure. Enjoy a leisurely coffee in the Akker Bryge District or explore the nation's rich seafaring heritage. Consider a visit to the Fram Polar Ship Museum and Viking Ship Museum to see the world's best-preserved Viking ships and finds from Viking tombs found around the fjord.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast
    hotel:Scandic Solli
  12. We cross the border into Sweden today and continue via Karlstad on Lake Vänern, the largest lake in the European Union. Passing Örebro, we arrive in the island-ringed capital of Stockholm for a two-night stay.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast
    hotel:Clarion
  13. We meet our Local Specialist this morning for a sightseeing tour of the waterside City Hall and see the medieval Storkyrkan, Riddasholm Church and the Royal Palace at the heart of Stockholm's quaint Old Town. The rest of the day is free to explore as you wish. Join your fellow travelers and Travel Director for a Farewell Dinner this evening to toast to an unforgettable Scandinavian adventure.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast, Farewell Dinner
  14. Our epic journey has come to an end. Bid Stockholm and your newfound friends a fond farewell. Return transfers will arrive at Stockholm Airport at 7:30 am and 11 am. Conditions apply.

    meal(s):Scandinavian Breakfast
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary
  • Definite Departure
  • Solo Traveler Discount
Depart Date Return Date Price Discount Availability Price
Solo Traveler Discount
28 Apr 19 11 May 19 checkmark $4,350$3,915pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
5 May 19 18 May 19 checkmark $4,350$3,915pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
6 Jun 19 19 Jun 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
9 Jun 19 22 Jun 19 checkmark $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
13 Jun 19 26 Jun 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
16 Jun 19 29 Jun 19 checkmark $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
20 Jun 19 3 Jul 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
27 Jun 19 10 Jul 19 checkmark $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
7 Jul 19 20 Jul 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
11 Jul 19 24 Jul 19 checkmark $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
14 Jul 19 27 Jul 19 checkmark $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
18 Jul 19 31 Jul 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
21 Jul 19 3 Aug 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
1 Aug 19 14 Aug 19 $4,395$3,956pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
8 Aug 19 21 Aug 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
11 Aug 19 24 Aug 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
15 Aug 19 28 Aug 19 checkmark $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
22 Aug 19 4 Sep 19 $4,425$3,983pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
25 Aug 19 7 Sep 19 checkmark $4,375$3,938pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
29 Aug 19 11 Sep 19 $4,375$3,938pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
8 Sep 19 21 Sep 19 checkmark $4,350$3,915pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Solo Traveler Discount
29 Sep 19 12 Oct 19 checkmark $4,350$3,915pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
  • Solo Traveler Discount: This departure includes a 20-100% discount on standard single supplement subject to availability.

Price is per person and is based on two people sharing a twin bedded room. Single rooms are available at a supplement.

Single Room Supplement: from $1,120 per person

Triple Discount: $200 per person

Gratuities: Option to pre-pay gratuities for Travel Director and Driver $136 per person

Airport transfers: On arrival at Copenhagen Airport transfers will operate at 9 am, 12 noon and 3:30 pm. Guests arriving later should make their own way to the hotel. Return transfers on the last travel day will arrive at Stockholm Airport at 7:30 am and 11 am.

AARP Members are entitled to an exclusive Member Benefit Discount on all Grand European Travel vacations. Plus receive a free travel gift!  Call Toll Free: 1-866-847-3858 for details.

Print Itinerary

  • Professional Travel Director Professional Travel Director
  • Sightseeing with Local Experts Sightseeing with Local Experts
  • VIP Access VIP Access
  • WIFI on Coach and in Hotels WIFI on Coach and in Hotels
  • Cultural Enrichment Cultural Enrichment
  • Expertly Selected Hotels Expertly Selected Hotels
  • Hotel Tips Hotel Tips
  • Most Meals Most Meals
  • Personal Flight Options Personal Flight Options

Meal Summary

21 meals: 13 Scandinavian breakfasts, 8 dinners.

Insider Experiences

Connect with Locals

  • Enjoy a Be My Guest dinner with the fifth-generation Øvre-Eide family on their livestock farm in Norway, which has been a working farm since the 1500s

Stays with Stories

  • Enjoy three splendid accommodations which boast individual character: Hotel Randers with its original artwork and VIP-rich guestbook; Sognefjord Hotel located on Sognefjord and built by an old retired seafarer; Hotel Geiranger on the Geiranger fjord offering an incredible waterfront spot

Dive into Culture

  • Take a ride on one of the most exciting train journeys in the world, past mountains and waterfalls through the scenic Norwegian countryside to Flåm

Local Specialist

  • For included sightseeing in Copenhagen, Oslo and Stockholm

Sightseeing Experiences

  • City tour in Copenhagen, Oslo, Stockholm
  • Orientation of Bergen
  • Visit Odense, Stavanger, the Sognefjord, Geiranger, the Stave Church at Lom, the Olympic town of Lillehammer, Vigeland Sculpture Park in Oslo, Stockholm's City Hall
  • View The Little Mermaid in Copenhagen, Haakon's Hall in Bergen, the Geirangerfjord, Olympic Ski Jump in Lillehammer 
  • See Hamar Olympic ice arena, Oslo's Royal Palace
  • Ferry from Denmark to Norway, across the Boknafjord, across the Sognefjord
  • Train journey on the famous Flåm Railway
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary

Reviews

Sunday, October 7, 2018
Ronald Yano
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The tour director and driver were excellent and the hotels were great. Most of the hotels were near the main attractions in the city we visited and staff were helpful and friendly.
Vacation : The tour was easy to book and I made my own arrangements for air. Only complaint was that some of the optional excursions should be included in the base price.
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I felt that a few of the optional excursions should have been included in the regular tours such as the visit to the farms. At times, the pacing was a bit much as we had to get up each morning so early and had some night excursions the night before. I would like to have some down time built into the day tours.
Vacation : Beautiful scenery and hotel choices.
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
David Powell
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything was great and well done with food and hotels etc. Our guide Larae Malooly was a wonderful person who took great care of us, also our driver was excellent and drove real safe.
Vacation : Again a wonderful trip overall and would always recommend to others
Saturday, September 8, 2018
Madonna Lemke
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The travel agent answered all of my questions and the places we went were great. The tour director was very knowledgeable and helpful.
Vacation : Everything was well organized.
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The Tour Guide was extraordinary; the itinerary was outstanding; and the scenery was fabulous. The hotels were okay (I'm not sure there were any better choices in the locations we were, and those locations were beautiful); and I liked the food (my wife was disappointed in the food - she's vegetarian and the choices were a bit limited for her).
Vacation : I'm not sure of the question - are looking for my impression of value, or are you looking for the ease/difficulty in purchase or are you asking my overall view of the trip, or are you looking for something else. I cannot figure out what you are asking.
Saturday, September 1, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : My response is more to the trip itself as opposed to the service which I received from GET. However, I never did receive my final documents, which were then e-mail to me, requiring the office manager at my condo to print copies for me.
Vacation : This was an excellent trip, but it was too short!!! I realize GET wants to keep trips to 2 weeks, but even with my adding a day in Copenhagen and a day in Stockholm, I feel like I missed a lot. Needing to spend an extra $400+ on optional excursions seems ridiculous. Certainly all of the optionals in fjord country should have been INCLUDED in the cost of the trip.
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Barry Smith
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Attention to detail was great. From portering the luggage, to the meals, to coordinating the excursions. All went smoothly which made the trip all that much more enjoyable.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for sharing about your trip! We're so glad it went smoothly and that you had a great time. Thank you again for choosing GET, we're happy to have been part of your travels.
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Vacation : For the tour package we selected, the price was quite reasonable.
Monday, August 13, 2018
Linda Daniel
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I felt every moment was well planned out. Our guide was really on top of logistical aspects. I got to know many interesting participants and felt it was fun-loving group.
Vacation : I was surprised by all the added options. Only two options were mentioned on the original pamphlet.Of course I wanted to experience everything but the added price of options was over $600. It was either pay that or sit in the hotel room much of the day.
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : This was my 4th or 5th Grand European Tour. The scenery was gorgeous, tours were excellent, accommodations were great, and our Tour Director was wonderful and very organized.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We so appreciate your repeat business and that you enjoyed your recent trip to Scandinavia.
Monday, July 30, 2018
Vacation : We saw many things in Denmark, Norway, and Sweden. Your company knows what we need to see and coordinates our sechedule perfectly. It makes it easy to travel abroad.
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very professional and detailed
Vacation : the trip was well organized and covered beautiful areas in Norway. When taking all the optionals, however, it became a bit hectic at times. Hardly arrived at the hotel when the next optional was leaving.
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Stanley Stephens
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The tour director and drivers were excellent. The itinerary was what I expected and very satisfactory. Hotels, except in more remote areas, were very good and well located. Optional tours were OK and not overpriced. I traveled as a single and paid a single supplement of $800+. In six of the nine hotels, I and the the two other singles ended up in TINY rooms: why didn't the SS cover us with standard rooms? Seems unfair!!
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are so glad that you enjoyed Scandinavia, but sorry to hear about your frustration with your hotel rooms and the single supplement. While single rooms provide privacy, they are often smaller than twin-bedded rooms. We do offer the option to join our Room Share Program (subject to availability and eligibility requirements). A single supplement is a collected to compensate a hotel for losses incurred because only one person is using a room, however we do try to accommodate our single travelers in larger rooms when they are available.
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Vacation : I said it all above!!! Not sure I would book with GET, as a single,again.
Saturday, June 30, 2018
Raymond Foster
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The overall tour was excellent. However, the travel to, and from Scandanavia was deplorable. We will never again, book a tour with travel on Lufthansa and United Airlines. Lufthansa flights within Europe are never on time. Our flight from Frankfurt, GE to Copenhagen, DE was 2 hrs late, causing us to miss our transfer, resulting in a $50 taxi ride to hotel. Our return flight from Stockholm, Sweden had to make an unscheduled stop in Boston, due to LACK OF FUEL, to make it's destination in Newark, NJ. United Airlines, apparently does not know how much fuel it takes to get from one location to another. Here again, we missed our connecting flight to Tampa, FL and had to stay at the Newark airport until the following morning, when they could confirm us on a flt to Tampa. I am greatly disappointed in Grand European Tours. This was our seventh and last tour with you, until you delete these two carriers from your itineraries. The customer has no recourse in your airline scheduling procedures, to include reimbursement for paid airport transfers. This did not deter us from having a great time, in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. However, a reputable organization will always take care of their valued customers, and you have not. You have forced us away from future travel plans with you.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are very sorry to hear about the delays and interruptions with your flights. We always looks for the most direct routing available at the time of booking, and in this case Lufthansa/United had the best schedule and price from your city, however we cannot control delays due to weather, air traffic control or mechanical issues by the airline itself. We are always happy to take any requests and work with you on any airline and schedules that you may prefer. Just mention it to the booking agent at the time flights are being chosen. We have taken the liberty of contacting United airlines on your behalf for possible reimbursement and you should be hearing from them directly. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Monday, July 2, 2018
Vacation : As stated above. We are very disappointed in Grand European following the travel problems, to and from booked airports.
Saturday, June 30, 2018
Thomas Pendergast
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Lasse was the most knowledgeable, outstanding, courteous, fun travel guide we have ever had. Every day was an adventure, with great visits, interesting stories and beautiful views. His knowledge about each place we visited was outstanding! His genuine love for his job and sharing this part of the world with us made this trip the most memorable in the last 10 years of traveling. WOW !!!
Vacation : Great value for this trip.
Saturday, June 2, 2018
Deirdre Hitch
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great hotels. Well informed trip guide. Very helpful driver.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for sharing. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed Scandinavia as a single traveler and made connections throughout your vacation. It's wonderful to have a shared experience in such an epic and beautiful place. Happy Travels!
Monday, June 4, 2018
Vacation : For a single person an excellent way to see new sights and meet nice people to share the experience with.
Saturday, October 14, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : GET representatives were always helpful and responsive to my concerns and/or questions.
Vacation : The Tour Director and Driver were top notch. The local guides were very good as well. I was pleased to be able to visit so many places in such a short time. I would have liked to have an extra day in Stockholm, and skipped Lillehammer, although I liked the visit there as well.
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Mary Schneider
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : They answered all of our questions via telephone promptly. Their represtatives were friendly and helpful.
Vacation : Outstanding guide, Amanda Flint. Beautiful scenery. Excellent bus and driver.
Wednesday, September 20, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Not the best quality service on this trip not much to offer but lots of optional costly tours
Vacation : Trip was costly and we expected more quality sightseeing experience.
Wednesday, September 20, 2017
Nathan Mackler
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The trip was very good, although too much time spent on the bus. In addition there were many delays on the Airline travel from Orlando to Frankfurt as well as the trip from Frankfurt to Copenhagen, that caused me to get a taxi to the hotel from the airport in Copenhagen. Is it possible for me to gt reimbursed for the taxi fare from the airport in Copenhagen to the hotel??
Vacation : Great scenery and well planned as well a good trip guide.
Saturday, September 16, 2017
Charles Ledeboer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great tour guide and driver ,nice places to stay,great stops
Vacation : Great scenery good variety of stops
Saturday, September 16, 2017
Marilyn Luchow-Sylvester
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Such a well plan trip that all I had to do was wake up get ready and just enjoy the beauty of the trip. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and the places we went were just amazing. Nothing to worry about hotels were nice, some nicer then others but they worked for the time spent. Would most likely recommend this trip to anyone wanting to see Scandanavia.
Vacation : Worth the money they cover the beauty and history of Scandanavia
Wednesday, September 13, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : You were organized, prompt, and very responsive to inquiries and requests. Trafalgar was a great operator of the trip and the leader was knowledgeable, helpful, and entertaining.
Vacation : Beautiful trip, fascinating countries.
Saturday, August 26, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : too many optional excursions in this trip. if you don't join, you might end up in the hotel. Big cities like Stockholm, I think the trip to see the ship Vasa should be the highlight included in the itinerary, it is what the main attraction. But no, optional, come on! So everything in Stockholm is optional. I was wondering if I am on a cruise ship. Also we should stay an extra day in Oslo instead of spending extra day in Geiranger, one day seeing the Fjords is enough. There is nothing there.
Vacation : Not quite up to what I expect for the trip
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Cynthia Richter
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything was very well done. I became ill on the trip and both Catrin and Istvan were very considerate and helped me a lot.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We appreciate you taking the time to write, and are sorry to hear you were ill on your vacation. However, we're glad to know that Catrin and Istvan were able to make you feel better, and hope you enjoyed the trip as best you could!
Friday, August 25, 2017
Vacation : Nobody's perfect, I guess.. Don't understand what you mean by purchases. The extra tours, visits, etc? Souvenirs?
Saturday, August 12, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : As the trip got closer and we thought of questions, any agent we contacted was helpful. They were knowledgeable about the destinations. However, the schedule of flights did not fit with the tour's shuttle and our guide felt that agents would have known that. It cost us extra.
Vacation : Beautiful scenes of nature and good information from our guide. The little villages were picturesque and the cities were full of history.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your Scenic Scandinavia vacation.  Thank you for the feedback about your arrival transfer.  We welcome any opportunity to improve our service.
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Thursday, July 27, 2017
Thomas Wurm
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The trip with Trafalgar was good but we preferred Insight Tours.Better food and more included with base price.
Vacation : Great host and great scenery
Saturday, July 1, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I think the representative that we talked to was pleasant and easy to deal with. I enjoyed talking with the same representative to help plan each trip.
Vacation : This was a Trafalgar trip and we hadn't been on one of their trips in quite a while. I believe that the trip tried to cover too much ground in too short of a period of time. We spent a LOT of time on the bus traveling from place to place. I know that Norway is spread out and the only way to see it is to drive, so don't try to cover as much and see more at each place. Also, most of these bus trips include several "optional" tours that you have to pay for on the trip, if you want to take them. Grand European tours used to put a link on their website so you could see what the optional tours were ahead of time and plan for them. I haven't been seeing these listed lately online. We got our travel documents about 1 week before the trip that included a list of hotels, the detailed itinerary, and the list of the optional tours. If anybody on this trip had limited funds, they wouldn't have had time to plan for this additional expensive, which cost a bit over $1,100 (U.S.), if you went on them all. Let me say, if you didn't spend the money for optional tours, your experience would have been very limited. In many cases, a city tour would have been about it. At least one of the city tours was on a bus--- not walking. That was a total waste. You can't even see the tops of the buildings on your own side of the bus, let alone what is on the other side. Try to take a picture and the bus is already by it. :( There were 48 people on our tour, so the bus was FULL. The seats aren't very roomy and spending so much time on the bus made for a very long day. The hotels that they used were not the quality that we have been used to... another cost saving measure by Trafalgar?? The majority of them didn't even have room safes, even if we were spending 2 nights there. We had no safe ! There were mostly no amenities in the rooms and many didn't even have facial tissue. We stayed at one Scandic hotel for 2 nights that had included dinners both nights. We had the EXACT SAME dinner both nights. Now come on, I'm pretty sure that the chef could make something else, so that means that Trafalgar paid for them to make the same dinner twice! The rooms were quite small, some had showers that were barely as wide as I am and I am not a larger than average woman. In one bathroom, I was sitting on the toilet to dry my hair because they had one of those hair dryers that are attached to the wall and you have to hold the button in the entire time to make it work. I was reading a book to help pass the time, when the book dropped. I bent over to pick it up and when I sat back up, I actually hit my head on the sink - it was that narrow. Not sure if it is a standard in Scandinavian hotels or not, but we had 1" to 2" mattress toppers on the beds. What they forgot was the MATTRESS. These toppers just flattened out when you sat on them and most were over the springs! This will be our LAST Trafalgar tour. A lot of my friends have laughed and laughed over this trip and our experiences.
Wednesday, June 28, 2017
Milton Drumm
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The trip was planned very well. We stayed at really nice hotels, and saw many sites in such a short time. Our tour director, Amanda Flint, was awesome!
Vacation : We really enjoyed the scenery and the history of the countries.
Saturday, June 17, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great customer service.
Vacation : Wonderful, fun beautiful trip. Good accommodations. transportation, excellent tour guide and bus driver and a fun group to be with.
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Grand European, okay. Trafalgar, not so much.
Vacation : Excellent tour director. However tour was too fast paced, and anything worthwhile seeing was an additional cost.
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Their phone service was very helpful in making reservations, and we were very pleased with our airline schedules.
Vacation : The scenery was inspirational. The hotels were well-chosen, mostly with view rooms, and their buffets incredible. Even though we were on the bus, Amanda, the tour leader, made every day a fun experience...never boring. Loved every minute of this trip.
Sunday, September 18, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Excellent!
Vacation : Every aspect of the trip to Scandinavia was perfect!
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : All details were taken care of by the company and our tour director - Cat- kept eveything easy.
Vacation : Our tour guide - Cat - was Excellant - she made the trip so much better. Our driver - Ishvan - kept us safe- Beautiful countries and the people lovely
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We booked two trips - first was Scotland and then the Scandinavia trip. Info via email for the Scandinavia trip came after we left. I had called to ask that we get the info before we left and were told it would arrive. Oops, it did not. As for the trip, it was excellent. Our travel director, Amanda Flint, was super. Very knowledgeable, very personable, and made the trip wonderful.
Vacation : See above
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Rob Rainwater was helpful, informative.
Vacation : Amanda Flint, Trafalgar travel director, was excellent...informed, pleasant, organized, helpful. Driver Attila was an excellent driver!
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I do appreciate the included dinners. More optional tours should be included in the trip instead of being extra. All employees are wonderful. Love the farm tours.
Vacation : We really didn't need any money in kronas for each country as we could use our credit card for any purchase. They should not tell us we HAVE to have some. Loved the Flam RR experience. Wished I had known to have my recorder on when that gal was singing up beside the waterfall. That was so wonderful.
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Mike was an excellent guide and the service was very good.
Vacation : A wonderful trip!
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : was a good time great service and people
Vacation : great sights and went to interesting places
Monday, August 22, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The whole trip schedule for experiencing the best sights allotted for the time frame of the trip was exceptionally planned and executed. Our tour director was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in every way to meet all of our personal needs as well. All but one of the accommodations were superb and the food was excellent. Well done GET!
Vacation : Very pleased with the whole trip and highly recommend it to all travel lovers as an experience not to be forgotten in our memoirs. Even when the weather didn't want to be corporative, we were still able to experience the beauty of the fjords, unbelievable scenery whether in the rain or shining sun! Our local guides were outstanding in sharing their knowledge for every special tour that was offered.
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Mr Rainwater is a excellent rep
Vacation : Excellent
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : GET provides excellent service from initial booking through getting travelers to the departing airport. we will definitely book with GET in the future.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much. We look forward to helping you plan your next trip. Grand European Travel
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Vacation : The trip couldn't have been better. The tour director and coach driver were very professional and conducted their work in an exemplary manner. we have been on numerous GET trips and this was one of the best.
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary
  • U.S. citizens traveling to Scandinavian countries – Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Finland and Iceland –must have a current passport valid for six months beyond the conclusion of their trip. You can find information on how to apply for a passport here, and how to renew a passport here. No visa is required for U.S. citizens entering Scandinavia.

  • Scandinavian countries do not share a common currency. Sweden uses the Swedish Krona, Norway uses the Norwegian Krone and Denmark uses the Danish Kroner.  While it’s a good idea to have some money on you while you travel, you’ll usually find better exchange rates in your destination.  The most convenient way to obtain cash is to use your ATM card at local banks in the country you’re visiting. We recommend you also bring a valid credit card for purchases while you are traveling.  It is important that you inform your financial institutions of your travel plans before you leave home so they don’t flag your purchases as potentially fraudulent charges.

  • Scandinavian cuisine is rich and hearty.  Try a traditional ‘smørgasbord’ with a selection of meat, fish, salads, hot dishes, puddings and cheeses. Sample dishes prepared with a variety of seafood including smoked salmon, cod, herring, sardines and mackerel. Popular meats include reindeer, lamb and fowl. Coffee and milk are very popular, along with lager. Aquavit is the local spirit, and is usually served chilled. Wines and other spirits are imported products and are very expensive.

  • We suggest bringing a variety of clothing items that can be layered to save space in your suitcase and give you more options for how to dress. For more helpful information please refer to our Packing Tips & Packing List.

  • When dining out it is appropriate to leave 5-10 percent gratuity if a service charge has not already been added to your bill.

    At the end of your guided vacation, it’s customary to offer your motor coach driver and Travel Director a gratuity.  We recommend the equivalent of €3.00 per person/per day for your driver and €5.00 per person/per day for your Travel Director.  Recommended gratuity for a Local Host and Local Specialist is 1-2 euros per person, paid at the conclusion of each guided visit.  A convenient option is to prepay your tips before your departure.

  • Baggage on our trips is restricted to one large suitcase per person with dimensions not exceeding 30x19x10 inches and a maximum weight of 50 pounds. You are also permitted one piece of hand luggage, which should be small enough to fit under your coach seat or on the small overhead shelf compartment. Please note that luggage with an adjustable handle and wheels will not fit in the overhead compartment of the coach. Hotel porterage is included in your vacation.

  • You will need to be comfortable on your feet, walking and standing for up to three hours in various weather conditions.  All of our vacations involve walking, often on cobblestone and uneven surfaces in historic city centers.  In order to get the most out of your vacation you need to be able to comfortably walk 1-3 miles unassisted in one day, be in good condition and be able to keep pace with the group. 

    If you need any medications, it is important that you bring enough to last you the whole trip and keep them in your carry-on bag while you travel.

  • We highly recommend our optional Travel Protection Plan, which allows you to cancel for any reason up to 24 hours before departure. The plan also includes trip interruption, baggage loss or delay, and medical and emergency assistance. Click here for a summary of coverage details, terms and conditions.

Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Optional Experiences are subject to change. Your Travel Director will supply you with a final list of Optional Experiences available on your trip. Optional Experiences cannot be booked online; they can be purchased during your trip through your Travel Director.

Copenhagen

North Zealand Riviera And Castle Tour

Adult Price: €51.00

Enjoy the quaint scenery of the Danish Riviera’s conservation heritage route, as you pass through ancient fishing villages and modern marinas. We'll also view Fredensborg Palace, summer residence of the Royal family, before continuing to the magnificent 17th century Frederiksborg Castle, where you’ll see the State Apartments and the Coronation Chapel.

Copenhagen

Danish Traditions And Canal Cruise

Adult Price: €56.00

This evening we'll visit the fairy-tale village of Dragor, with its thatched cottages and pretty working harbour. You’ll wander by tiny houses, learn a little of the history and enjoy a taste of traditional Danish specialties. Then, enjoy an hour-long cruise along the canals and experience stunning views of the city from the harbour.

Bergen

Grieg And Bergen Insights

Adult Price: €43.00

We’ll head out along the fjord to visit the home of famous composer Grieg, where you’ll enjoy a guided tour of the villa - the inspiration for many of his masterworks. You’ll also explore Bergen on a walk through the historical lanes, and see stunning views of the city on a trip up the hillside by funicular railway.

Bergen

War History And Peaceful Traditions

Adult Price: €43.00

Come with us as we explore the lost village of Televag, destroyed when the Gestapo discovered the villagers’ support of the resistance. You’ll visit the museum before we journey to a traditional Norwegian fishing village for coffee and local pancakes. Certain departures also include a guided visit of Fjell Fortress, a Nazi command bunker hidden deep inside the mountain. EURO 48.

Sognefjord

Fjords And Mountains

Adult Price: €50.00

Enjoy a relaxing cruise along the UNESCO-listed Næroy Fjord with it's towering mountains and fabulous scenery. This stunning fjord landscape with waterfalls, snow capped mountains and tiny villages has inspired painters for hundreds of years.

Sognefjord

Fjordland Farm Cultural Experience

Adult Price: €42.00

Visit a traditional working farm set amid the glorious scenery of the Sognefjord, surrounded by craggy mountains with views across the longest and deepest fjord in Norway. Get to know a typical Scandinavian family, and something about their day-to-day lives. Learn a little of both the history, which dates back to Viking times and present-day traditions. We'll also sample the local homemade delicacies.

Geiranger

Trollstigen Explored

Adult Price: €48.00

Join us on a delightful drive to the Eagles Road for amazing views of towering cliffs plunging down to the Geiranger Fjord. Then discover the path of the trolls - Trollstigen, considered a masterpiece of engineering. This is Norwegian rugged mountain scenery at its finest.

Geiranger

Dalsnibbia And The Majestic Geiranger

Adult Price: €45.00

You’ll enjoy views of the fjord from the famous hairpin bends along the Dalsnibba Pass, before we sail down Norway's most famous fjord. UNESCO listed, the Geiranger is home to tiny farms, the Bridal Veil and Seven Sisters waterfalls, which you’ll discover as we explore.

Lillehammer

Treasures Of Lillehammer

Adult Price: €43.00

Explore Lillehammer on a guided visit to the charming folklore museum of Maihaugen, on the hills above the Olympic Town. You’ll also visit the Olympic Arena, and enjoy an exciting ride in the chairlift (weather permitting) to the top of the ski-slope, for wonderful panoramic views over the town and Gudbrandsdalen.

Oslo

Vikings And Explorers

Adult Price: €43.00

You’ll visit the three original Viking longships and their treasures with your Local Specialist, including the Oseberg ship - last used as a burial ship for a woman of high rank. Then explore the stunning Fram Museum to discover the story of the ship and the race to the South Pole, illustrated with films, images and new exhibits.

Stockholm

Altitude and Attitude

Adult Price: €43.00

Savour a drink in a glass made of ice in the minus temperatures of the Ice-Bar, made completely from the frozen waters of Sweden’s River Torne. You'll also discover the very best views over the city and its archipelago, with a visit to the viewing platform of the Kaknas Tower, Sweden’s highest building.

Stockholm

Stockholm Discovery Cruise

Adult Price: €56.00

Enjoy the beauty of Lake Malaren with your Local Specialist, as we sail in an antique steamboat through the archipelago, past country cottages and elegant homes. You’ll also visit the royal warship 'Vasa', an ornate 17th-century galleon which sank just minutes after sailing, now reclaimed from the Baltic.

Stockholm

Old Town and Dinner

Adult Price: €59.00

Discover beauty and history combined during a walk in the fairy tale Gamla Stan, where little has changed since the 16th and 17th centuries. Then enjoy delicious Swedish cuisine in a popular local restaurant, with a drink included.

Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Be the First to Know!

Sign up for our emails and receive exclusive offers, travel information, announcements, and more!
Providing peace of mind and unparalleled service for over 40 years.