• AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Best of Spain & Portugal (Winter Season)

16 Days from $2,840 per person

Style: Premium | Pace: Comfortable

Follow the fortunes of the Spanish, Portuguese and Moorish Kingdoms through their grand castles, stupendous religious buildings and incredible works of art. An ideal journey of discovery in autumn, winter or spring.

This page shows Winter Season departures and itinerary; click here to see the main season version of this tour!

Print Itinerary

Overview

Follow the fortunes of the Spanish, Portuguese and Moorish Kingdoms through their grand castles, stupendous religious buildings and incredible works of art. An ideal journey of discovery in autumn, winter or spring.

This page shows Winter Season departures and itinerary; click here to see the main season version of this tour!

  1. Board your overnight flight to Europe (please ask about our great deals).

  2. At Madrid Airport, transfers depart for your hotel at 9:00 am, 11:00 am, 1:30 pm and 4:00 pm. Later, join your Tour Director for a Welcome Reception and a beautiful evening of dinner and wine.

    meal(s):DW
    hotel:Barcelo Torre, Madrid
  3. Guided sightseeing takes you past Madrid's most famous fountain in the Plaza de Cibeles. Drive down the Gran Via to the Royal Palace and Cervantes Monument before crossing the Puerta del Sol. The highlight of your tour is a visit to the magnificent Prado Museum.

    meal(s):BB
  4. Travel to the fortified city of Segovia where you will walk through the medieval streets from the ancient aqueduct to see the magnificent Alcazar fortress. Journey west, passing the ancient walls of Ávila, en route to Salamanca. During your orientation see some of the golden stone buildings the city is famous for, including the handsome arcaded Plaza Mayor, the honey-colored cathedral and the 16th century university buildings.

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:Hotel Alameda Palace, Salamanca
  5. Cross the Portuguese border to reach Porto. See the Vila Nova de Gaia wine stores that house the famous wines. Walk along corridors of casks and get to know your tawnys and vintages during a tasting. Admire the multi-colored houses and churches covered in glazed tiles, as well as the iconic bridges.

    meal(s):BB, DW
    hotel:Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha, Porto
  6. In Fatima, see the basilica or visit the Chapel of the Apparitions. Then continue to the hilltop town of Obidos, where you'll walk inside the city walls to explore the flower-bedecked houses and narrow, medieval streets. Your next destination is the Portuguese capital.

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:Dom Pedro Palace, Lisbon
  7. Sightseeing with a Local Expert takes you along the spacious avenues of the Lower Town and beneath the hilltop Bairro Alto to the Terreiro do Paco, the finest square in the city. Visit the Belém Quarter from where sailing ships once set forth to discover unknown lands. See the traditional patisserie that has managed to hold on to the secret recipe of Portugal's finest pastry for almost 200 years and enjoy a taste of the famous Pastéis de Belém. View the Monument to the Discoveries and the more ancient Belém Tower. This fortress was originally set in the middle of the river, but is now left high and dry on the riverbank. Visit the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Jerónimos Monastery with its beautiful Manueline architecture. With the afternoon at your leisure, perhaps join an Optional Experience to the Portuguese Riviera? It is often visited by surfers, occasionally royalty, and even James Bond. 

    meal(s):BB
  8. Leave Lisbon via the modern Tagus Bridge and cross the border to reach Seville. With your Local Expert, visit the immense cathedral to see the Tomb of Christopher Columbus and the slender Giralda Tower, the former minaret of the Great Mosque. Explore the labyrinthine Santa Cruz Quarter and see the Alcazar.

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:Ayre Hotel Sevilla, Seville (Executive Rooms)
  9. Enjoy a relaxed start and a day to relax, shop or continue exploring this fascinating city at your own pace. Our suggestion is to join an Optional Experience to the ancient city of Cordoba, where you will visit the magnificent Mezquita, see the old Jewish Quarter, and enjoy some free time to shop or explore as you wish. In the evening you are treated to dinner, wine and entertainment featuring a fiery flamenco show.

    meal(s):BB, DW
  10. Head south to Gibraltar, part of mainland Spain yet an overseas territory under British control since 1704. With your Local Expert, visit the Rock of Gibraltar and St. Michael’s Cave to see the Barbary Apes, legendary guardians of the colony. Relax as you travel the scenic route along the Costa del Sol through exclusive resorts where the rich and famous holiday. Your journey continues through the green hills to the white-washed village of Mijas. Stroll through the old streets and gardens and take in the views of the coast.

    meal(s):BB
    hotel:Melia Costa Del Sol, Torremolinos
  11. Travel to the oldest olive grove in the region and stop at the rural mill-factory of Almazara to taste a selection of different oils with locally made farmer bread. Continue through the Provence of Malaga, where Picasso was born, to Alfarnatejo, a quiet town with a population of just 500 people and surrounded by stunning mountainous landscape. Walk the town center to see the 18th century Iglesia del Santo Cristo de Cabrilla.

    meal(s):BB
  12. In small groups, you are invited to into the home of a local family to join them for a delicious Highlight Lunch made of fresh, local produce with flavors typical of the region. Continue to Granada to visit the magnificent Alhambra Palace with your Local Expert. Built as a citadel by the Moors in the 13th century, it is a wonder of beautiful gardens, fountains and stone cut like lace.

    meal(s):BB, LW
    hotel:Vincci Albayzin, Granada
  13. Journey to Valencia, home of the City of Arts and Sciences. Pass through the Old City and see the city's ancient gates, Torres de Serranos and Torres de Quart. In your free time perhaps take a stroll to the Cathedral and El Miguelete? Or sit back to with a drink and watch the Valencian’s go about their day. Valencia is home to one of the world's greatest dishes, paella. Meet the chef of a local family-run restaurant in the heart of the old town and learn the traditional recipe during a Cooking Demonstration, before savoring the delicious flavors of this classic dish, washed down with a glass of sangria, during your Highlight Dinner.

    meal(s):BB, SE
    hotel:Barcelo Valencia
  14. Follow the coast to Peñíscola to view the sea-lapped castle used in the film 'El Cid'. Continue along the Costa Dorada to the Cava Bodegas at Sant Sadurni d'Anoia. During a delicious freshly prepared Highlight Lunch, enjoy a tasting as you learn the sparkling secrets of Spanish bubbly. Continue along the coast to reach Barcelona.

    meal(s):BB, LW
    hotel:Barcelo Diagonal 414
  15. A Local Expert joins you for a drive along the Passeig de Gràcia adorned with elegant wrought-iron street lamps and some of the most flamboyant Modernist buildings. Continue through the Eixample district to visit inside Gaudi's extraordinary masterpiece, the Sagrada Família. See the central nave with its giant, tree-like pillars, spectacular vaulting and the beautiful rainbows flooding in through the intricate stained-glass windows. At a local restaurant, join your fellow travelers to toast newfound friends and a wonderful journey as you enjoy a Celebration Dinner with wine.

    meal(s):BB, DW
  16. Departure transfers arrive at Barcelona Airport at 7:00 am, 9:00 am and 11:00 am. The 9:00 am transfer will continue to Madrid, scheduled to arrive early evening at Madrid Airport, followed by the Madrid tour hotel.

    meal(s):BB
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary
  • Definite Departure
  • Solo Traveler Discount
Start Date Return Date Price Discount Availability Price
4 Jan 19 19 Jan 19 checkmark $3,225pp Call 1-877-622-9109
Solo Traveler Discount
8 Feb 19 23 Feb 19 checkmark $3,225$2,840pp Last Minute DealPromo Code: PPLMD194 Call 1-877-622-9109 Book Now
8 Mar 19 23 Mar 19 checkmark $3,250pp Request Quote Book Now
Solo Traveler Discount
15 Mar 19 30 Mar 19 checkmark $3,250pp Request Quote Book Now
  • Solo Traveler Discount: This departure includes a 20-100% discount on standard single supplement subject to availability.

Additional Visa Requirements: Passengers who require visas for the UK will also need a separate visa for Gibraltar.

Price is per person and is based on two people sharing a twin bedded room. Single rooms are available at a supplement.

Single Room Supplement: from $800 p.p.

Gratuities: Option to pre-pay gratuities for Travel Director and Driver $173 per person.

AARP Members are entitled to an exclusive Member Benefit Discount on all Grand European Travel vacations. Plus receive a free travel gift!  Call Toll Free: 1-866-847-3858 for details.

Print Itinerary

  • Professional Travel Director Professional Travel Director
  • Sightseeing with Local Experts Sightseeing with Local Experts
  • VIP Access VIP Access
  • WIFI on Coach and in Hotels WIFI on Coach and in Hotels
  • Personal Flight Options Personal Flight Options
  • Most Meals Most Meals
  • Hotel Tips Hotel Tips
  • Expertly Selected Hotels Expertly Selected Hotels
  • Cultural Enrichment Cultural Enrichment

Included Quality Dining

14 Buffet Breakfasts (BB) 2 Lunches with Wine (LW) and 6 Dinners with Wine (DW) all tea or coffee.

Departures on tour for Christmas and New Year's Eve enjoy a festive Highlight Dinner.

Signature Experiences

MADRID:

  • Witness the world's finest collection of Spanish paintings as you tour the Prado Museum with an expert art historian.

TOLEDO:

  • With a Local Expert, visit the Church of Santo Tomé and see El Greco's masterpiece.

LISBON:

  • Visit the Jerónimos Monastery with its beautiful Manueline architecture, reflecting Portugal’s trade over the centuries and UNESCO World Heritage Site.

GRANADA:

  • Best interpreted with the help of a Local Expert, the Alhambra Palace is the ultimate in Muslim architecture.

BARCELONA:

  • Explore Gaudi's extraordinary masterpiece, the Sagrada Família Basilica, guided by a Local Expert.

Top Rated Highlights

PORTO:

  • See the iconic bridges and buildings decorated in tiles. 

FÁTIMA:

  • Join the faithful at one of the world’s holiest sites and pay homage at the Chapel of the Apparitions.

OBIDOS:

  • Walk through the picturesque narrow streets up to the main square of this ancient walled town.

MIJAS:

  • Journey to this white-washed village and stroll the streets to admire the coastal views.

ALFARNATEJO:

  • Visit the beautiful, quiet town and walk the town center to see the 18th century Inglesia del Santo Cristo de Cabrilla.

VALENCIA:

  • See the ultra modern Center of Arts and Sciences and the huge gates of the old town, Torres de Serrannos and Torres de Quart.

PENISCOLA:

  • See the castle featured in the film "El Cid".
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary

Reviews

Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Ronald Hazelton
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Toni our travel guide was the best we ever had. You my want to rethink your walking tours. There way to long after about 2 hours you lost just about everybody.
Vacation : Your tour offered a trip to Gibraltar . Trafalgar did not
Monday, October 15, 2018
Arturo Marroquin
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything was nice, the service, the hotels, but we had a problem with one of the hotels, where the carpet in the room was soiled and dirty, it was just unacceptable, we had to show the room to the tour director and then only after she ascertained that we were right, then we were moved to another room, it was an inconvenience, our time is limited and we hate to spend it that way, we had to gather our things and then moved everything to another room, we think it was a bad experience and really unacceptable, the room should have been clean to begin with, but it was not, the tour director should not have doubted us, and we ended loosing half a day in it instead of enjoying our vacation
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear about the trouble at one of the hotels. We are happy the hotel was bale to switch your room to something more acceptable and do apologize for the minor inconvenience.
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Vacation : Because we had a bad experience with one of the hotels, the carpet in the room was stained and dirty, we just could not accepted it, we talked to the tour director and we had to show her the room, only after she had ascertained that we were telling the truth, we were moved to another room, that room should have been clean to begin with, and the tour director should not have doubted us, our time was limited and we ended spending half a day in that problem instead of spending it enjoying our vacation.
Monday, October 15, 2018
Marijane Barrett
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We expected to have a great time, especially traveling with our wonderful friends. We did! This adventure was enhanced by our expert guide Toni Aguilar who shared his love of Spain and Portugal with us in so many ways with facts, fun and surprise treats! Our local guides and bus drivers also enhanced the adventure! We chose to add all the fun extra excursions and enjoyed them tremendously! The hotels were well chosen, but some we stayed only one night. Usually food was excellent, sometimes only very good. If we had any problems, Toni was available to help.
Vacation : We are amazed by all we did and saw. Nice the details were worked out for us! We spent four extra days in Barcelona afterwards and grasped how many details we never had to think about. Wonderful trip! Learned to adjust to staying only one day and packing lighter for next trip!
Saturday, October 13, 2018
Heidi Foran
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Just loved the trip and our Tour Director was the best he did everything to make sure we had a good time. I will not book my airlines through you again. Our return flight was not efficient . You had us connecting several times before we got back to Florida and we paid for an airline upgrade. They ticketed us and never asked us to review flights before they finalized it. I never would of agreed to how they booked are return flight.
Vacation : It was a great trip our Tour Director was the best he did everything to make sure we had a good time. Local Tour Directors in each city were also excellent. Loved the accommodations .
Friday, October 12, 2018
John Keefe
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The phone support prior to trip was excellent. The bus drivers were excellent. The local guides were mixed. About half excellent and half just good. The tour director spent too much time talking about politics, history and not enough time explaining what we were going to see and do on a particular day. Neither the written itinerary nor daily briefings provided a detailed account of what was going on each day and when we would have free time.
Vacation : I booked the tour for the great itinerary. Unfortunately some of the highlight visits were far too short e.g. Prado museum and Madrid royal palace.
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Guey Chen
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very good tour director, nice schedule. 40 passenger are a little too big of group. Too many optional tours, some of them should be included.
Vacation : Again, 40 travelers are little too many. Some of he optional tours should be included. Dinner at Fardo, food is ok, entertainment not so great. Too expensive.
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Michael Thornton
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The trip director and the itinerary were great. The customer service getting the trip booked was not as good. One of the agents did not put in our additional 2 days to Barcelona.
Vacation : Great Itinerary and Trip Director. Customer service in booking not so great.
Sunday, September 30, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Your service was excellent...as was our tour manager.
Vacation : Easy to book...easy to get the information I needed...tour manager was awesome!! I do think some of the optional activities should be included as part of the trip without additional charge.
Friday, September 28, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We have never had anything but an excellent travel experience with GET. The Best of Spain & Portugal trip surpassed all previous trips in terms of tour guide excellence, variety of experiences, and entertaining guests!
Vacation : While the price of the trip itself was reasonable, these trips are always enhanced by the optional experiences. We always feel the addition of optionals are value added to the purchase price.
Sunday, September 23, 2018
Thomas Moryl Jr
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : GET had the best tour guide “Lola” and the best driver “Antonio” both very attentive and made sure we had a wonderful time.
Vacation : We stayed at the best hotels and saw the most interesting sites.
Sunday, September 23, 2018
Antonio Borrell
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Yes, I will recommend this trip to anybody, Spain and Portugal are beautiful, great history and the food superb, but what makes our trip so marvelous and special was our guide Lola. This lady was fantastic, her customer service was second to none with a great sense of humor. Congratulation to GET, you guys did a great job!!!!
Response from Grand European Travel:
WOW!! WE couldn't ask for more! How wonderful to know that you had the most amazing time in Spain and Portugal. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.
Monday, September 24, 2018
Vacation : Again, this trip was outstanding, I will go again!!!
Saturday, September 22, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Excellent service. Anita, our travel guide, was very knowledgeable, personable, and helpful! We enjoyed all the optional experiences and would highly recommend Insight.
Vacation : Good accommodations, excellent optional experiences, and delightful tour guide.
Friday, August 10, 2018
Babu Kaza
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Exceeded our expectation, Tour director Lola is exceptional
Vacation : One of the best guided tour done perfectly
Friday, August 10, 2018
Elain Wong
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Yes
Vacation : Tours Service Food Tour director
Saturday, July 7, 2018
Gerald Przybylski
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I failed to verify travel information for flight from Buffalo to Newark; GET representatlve did what she could to remedy the situation. I had to take a flight a day later but was told how to contact travel insurance agent to get reimbursed.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear about the flight delay that caused you to arrive in Spain a day later than arranged. You will certainly be reimbursed by Travel Insurance for this delay and missed time on tour.
Monday, July 9, 2018
Vacation : Spain and Portugal are both beautiful countries and very interesting because of their history and culture!! The Iberian Penisula has Italy beat!! I have been to Italy so I can compare!! I would rate Scotland on par with Iberia on the geographic scale.
Sunday, July 8, 2018
Helene Pretter
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our tour leader Anita was most knowledgeable and caring! The group of 34 people from several countries all enjoyed learning and traveling together. By the end of our two weeks abroad, we were all friendly and programmed to be on time and in good spirits!
Response from Grand European Travel:
How perfect to hear that you had such an amazing time in Spain and Portugal. Isn't it wonderful to meet like-minded travelers and explore new places with them? We're so happy to know you enjoyed your trip. Thanks for sharing!
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Vacation : Well worth the money spent!
Monday, July 2, 2018
Susan Glatt
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our tour director, Phillipe Olivieri, was terrific. The diverse itinerary was outstanding. There were too many times that we felt rushed to get to the next destination even though we wanted to stay longer. e.g. Mijas was so beautiful but we barely had time to enjoy it. Too many cathedrals and churches. We could have done with a couple less churches. Did not appreciate one local guide preaching religion to us. One serious thing that went wrong was that six of us did not get picked up at the Madrid airport to transfer to the hotel. The pick up time was for 4:30. We were told that someone DID come for us but saw no one. That is a false hood as we were waiting there from 2 pm for a 4:30 pick up You need to be sure the pick up personnel are honest and motivated. We had to hire two taxis to get to the hotel. Phillipe said the pick up person told him he was there. We all had bright yellow tags on our luggage. He could not have missed them
Response from Grand European Travel:
Please accept our apologies for the misunderstanding at the Madrid airport and the stress and inconvenience it caused. We will be happy to reimburse the cost of your taxi. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are pleased to see that once you got to the hotel, the trip went smoothly.
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Vacation : See previous rating Hotel in Valencia was below my expectations. The decor was chintzy and mediocre. Our bus driver, Phillipe C. was very professional, careful and drove safely.
Monday, June 18, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The local tour guides seems that they were following the script and times too long of explanation of sites. Less historic excursions (which is additional expense for travelers) but more nature visits. Better hotels.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We appreciate your honest feedback. We hope that despite the long lectures of the sites, you found some parts of the trip that you found interesting. Thanks you for taking the time to share your experience.
Monday, June 18, 2018
Vacation : I believe that is quite expensive.
Saturday, June 16, 2018
Stanley Janus
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Yes
Vacation : The profesinalism of tour director and bus drivers were above my expectations
Friday, June 8, 2018
John Mcclellan
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Travel Director was outstanding. in addition, GET took good care of us. Will use GET & Insight again.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for sharing! We're so glad to hear you had a wonderful time on your Spain & Portugal vacation.
Friday, June 8, 2018
Vacation : Tour was outstanding, Travel Director was the best.
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Richard Hood
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great tour director, excellent hotels that were centrally located for easy access on our free time, excellent optional excursions. The director celebrated three ladies birthdays and gave us little treats according to the region we were visiting. This was the only tour I found that did almost all of Spain.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your Spain and Portugal vacation! The travel directors really do know how to make a trip extra special. Thank you for sharing your experience, happy travels!
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Vacation : The extend of the tour gave us a wonderful view of the different regions of Spain. We now can choose a place to go back to and spend a week.
Sunday, June 3, 2018
Jill Criscuoli
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Great experience. Rob was a fantastic agent with good suggestions. Tour exceeded our expectations!!!
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much for sharing! Rob will be delighted to know that you had a superb time on your Spain & Portugal vacation. We'll be sure to share your comments with him and the team. We're glad to have you as a part of our travel family and very much look forward to helping you plan your next dream vacation!
Monday, June 4, 2018
Vacation : Local experts knowledgeable Lots of unexpected “treats” from Insight. Will definitely travel insight again and use GET.
Monday, May 28, 2018
Peter Gingrass
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : get trip, very good tour director, not pushy on sales for extra trips. Very knowledgeable etc. Would go on another trip, went on trafalger trip lasr yr.
Vacation : good value for the money, food hotels very good, excellent service, great bus driver.
Sunday, May 20, 2018
Victor Isaak
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : They had excellent accommodations and a super tour guide. Would definitely recommend to others.
Vacation : The price was competitive considering the excellent accommodation and quality bus and driver
Sunday, May 20, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Sights included, attention to detail, overall knowledge of all questions and information needed made this a great trip. Didn't particularly like 3 of the hotel choices, but would still go on another tour experience with this group.
Vacation : Great choice, many cities that offered many interesting sights. An organized tour was the best way to see as much as possible within a limited period of time.
Saturday, May 19, 2018
Sandra Reinhardt
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : They guided us through and we had a fantastic vacation!
Vacation : One of the best things about GET Tours is the people you meet on the tour. We did the tour of Spain and Portugal and we had an interesting and informative tour. Our tour guide was Betty and she called us her "Children". We really felt like a family during the 16 days of our trip. She made us a seating chart with names, so we could get to know the other people on our tour. She also gave us the group photo, which included names, which was so helpful. Betty put all our photos on Facebook, and we enjoyed seeing them each day. We all grew to appreciate Betty!! She was very organized and professional. My husband has dietary restrictions and she was always there to make sure his meals were prepared correctly. She was the best!! The coach was roomy and comfortable, and our driver Jose, knew his craft very well. My favorite trips were: to The Rock of Gibraltar, the Alhambra, and Torremolinos. I really enjoyed dining with locals. We went to the home of a sweet woman who lived in Alfanatejo. She made us a five course meal. I so enjoyed seeing how modern her home was and her sweet little village. She had all stainless steel appliances and her steps were made of marble. You will really enjoy this day of fun!! We did many side trips and I was delighted with Toledo, and dinner in Seville with the carriage ride, was quite nice. I would not do the Fado evening. I did not relish the food or the music. Save your money on this event!! My biggest complaint was the time we spent in Seville at the Ayre Hotel. The room was small and it was very noisy. We had the afternoon free and we just wanted to rest in our room. They put us in a room across from The Privado. We kept hearing the telephone ring and we heard lots of banging and crashing. I finally looked in the hallway and the door to the Privado was opened and the telephone was ringing loudly. I called the desk to complain about the noise and was asked "What do you want us to do about it?". The person at the desk was just rude on the phone. Later I went down to explain and was met with the same rudeness. I will never stay in another Ayres Hotel again! Make sure you do not end up in the same room there!! I would highly recommend this trip. The accommodations were very good, for the most part, and you will enjoy the tapas and the Flamenco dancing in Seville. If you want to see the sights of Spain and learn about its history, this is the trip for you!! As a bonus you will probably meet some wonderful new friends and have a great vacation!
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Daphne Dolezal
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Our tour guide, Dan Maihiot, was excellent. He took good care of us and was very knowledgeable about the places we visited. Our trip went very smoothly. Helder, our bus driver, was also excellent. We never felt unsafe in his care. Spain and Portugal were so interesting and I learned so much. The trip was so well planned, the hotels were lovely, the food was good, our group of people were so nice and no one caused any trouble, and the weather couldn't have been better. Thank you for a very exceptional trip.
Vacation : I thought our trip was well worth every penny. Insight Vacations is an excellent company.
Saturday, April 21, 2018
Larry Long
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The trip hits the highlights of Spain and Portugal and also features bus rides that show the countryside. Too many trips just focus on cities.
Vacation : The trip leader was great. The bus as roomy and comfortable, and I think I previously summed up my comments.
Saturday, April 21, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Start to finish an excellent experience.
Vacation : WEll planned and executed. Excellent travel manager.
Saturday, November 11, 2017
Charles Delorey
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Bob, our tour director, was extremely knowledgable. A person traveling on their own would never know all of the wonderful places we visited and couldn't get tickets to some of them. Problems were smoothed out and we could enjoy our time rather than worrying about details. On tours like this you are generally with interesting people from all over. We could not have seen more in two weeks. The bus was comfortable and the driver, Rui, was fantastic. As was pointed out this was a tour and not a vacation but there was enough down time to catch your breath
Vacation : A fantastic 2 weeks with a great tour director , a comfortable bus with a skilled driver, a wonderful itinerary, and interesting and pleasant traveling companions
Sunday, November 5, 2017
Ruth Shaeffer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I realize the bus has a schedule, but there was not enough time at the lunch stops. Woman usually have to wait in a line to use the bathroom, so by the time they get through that, then get something to eat, there is no time left to eat. Also, the time could have been longer to stay in some of the towns. We didn't have enough time to explore much.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're sorry to hear that you felt rushed at some of the stops and during sightseeing. Some of our trips do have very tight schedules and we do our best to provide a balance for all guests. It's sounds like we missed the mark with you and for that, we do apologize.
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Vacation : I did not sign up for any of the optional tours offered because I feel that I paid enough money for the BEST of Spain and Portugal, which should have included them.
Sunday, November 5, 2017
Arthur Adelman
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very good itinerary, visited all the places we wanted to see. The coach was very comfortable and in excellent condition, including big windows to enhance views of the scenery. The driver was very skilled and friendly, as was the Tour Director.
Vacation : A fair price for the trip. Mostly good, well located hotels. Included meals were OK, with the exception of the paella experience, the preparation which was only with rabbit or purely vegetarian, which was inferior and a new location should be found.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your tour to Spain and Portugal, and will pass along your suggestion to our product team. 
Monday, November 6, 2017
Sunday, November 5, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Top Notch from my perspective. My wife did the planning, and she was very pleased.
Vacation : Included all the places and more that we wanted to see. Our tour director, Peter Meahan, was amazing. Here's a photo of Peter helping to expedite at one of our rest stops.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to know that you and your wife were pleased with the service our Travel Specialists and Travel Director delivered, and that you had a great time in Spain and Portugal. 
Monday, November 6, 2017
Friday, November 3, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Exceptional tour in all respects. Fabulous tour director, coach driver, timing, hotels, excursions, sites, local guides, etc. Wow! First time and we are hooked. Amazing itinerary!
Vacation : Perfection from beginning to end.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank your for your lovely review. Spain and Portugal are incredible destinations and we are delighted to know you had a wonderful time. 
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
Sunday, October 29, 2017
Linwood Howe
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : well organized and thoughtful of the passengers. Hotels among the very best. tour bus with lots of legroom a nd a great driver. tour mgr,. JOHN CHAPPELL was among the very best.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your tour of the Best of Spain & Portugal. We agree: John is a wonderful asset to our team! 
Monday, October 30, 2017
Vacation : We saw everything in an appropriate length of time. weather was perfect for the fall.
Wednesday, October 25, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We originally went to local presentation by GET. We were told that we would get a 7.5% discount because of attending the presentation, in addition to other discounts offered by paying early for the tour. They had a line of people signing up so the presenter told us he would have someone call us ASAP and we would get the discount. We waited several days and he did not call. We called and left several messages for him to call us. When again we didn't hear from him after several days, we made our tour arrangements with the first person we finally got to talk to us. We told home about what we had been promised and the name of the presenter that made the offer. He said he would follow up with him. We never did get the discount promised.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are very sorry to see that you got off to a rough start when booking your trip.  However, your booking does show that we honored the original 7.5% discount you were promised and your total paid does indeed reflect that. Please accept our apologies for any confusion.  We appreciate your honest feedback and will be sure to share your experiences regarding the trip with our Quality Control team. 
Wednesday, October 25, 2017
Vacation : I didn't think it was appropriate for the tour guide to say negative things about Globus. I have taken Globus tours and they have never said anything against GET. In addition, one of the things they said about Globus I know not to be true from having taken a Globus tour. At the end of the tour, our tour guide went over each question on the trip evaluation that we were asked to fill out and told us how we should answer! I got tired of being told about tipping the bus driver and individual tour guides for each city. He also said that the tip that was given for the driver prior to the tour did not cover the substitute driver we had so another tip! That should be the tour operators problem to fix, not our problem. The following are regarding the optional tours: Optional seafood dinner with ferry ride in Lisbon. We told our tour guide we didn't eat shellfish. He said there was other seafood and thinking we would get some local fish, signed up for the tour. Everyone got lots of shellfish appetizers and dinner. We got a few slices of cheese, lettuce and tomatoes and a tough piece of beef with rice! We paid 53 euro per person for meat we couldn't cut and went away hungry. The tour guide should have told us this wasn't something we should sign up for when we told him about not eating shellfish, instead he encouraged us to sign up! On another tour we ended up driving by the places the1992 Olympics were held in Barcelona, in the dark! The original optional tour list didn't mention in was an evening tour. When we complained about not being able to see what we were driving by, the tour guide said it was because the windows were darkened and that the optional tour said it was an evening tour. The original list did not mention it was in the evening, however when we later looked at the one we signed which we were given during the tour, did mention it was an evening tour. However, when we were given it, we had little time to review, the guide told us to hurry and sign and turn in since we weren't buying a house. We didn't think it would say anything different then the original optional list said. Some of the optional s should have been included. In Madrid, the tour should have included the Palace, or had as an optional tour. Much more interesting the the Prado! Since it wasn't listed, we got to Madrid early so we could tour it on our own. The tour drove by it and barely mentioned it. It was the highlight of our trip! And to think we wouldn't have seen it if we hadn't gone on our own.
Thursday, October 19, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very responsive and organized!
Vacation : Good value for the price. We were very satisfied with our tour, accommodations, attention to detail, itinerary, etc.
Monday, October 16, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very professional he conducted, great service, nice personal touches
Vacation : It was the perfect way to see all of the highlights of Spain and Portugal!
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip to Spain and Portugal.
Friday, October 20, 2017
Saturday, October 14, 2017
Michael Laversa
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We had a wonderful time. Tour Director and bus driver were very professional and did an excellent job. Bus was clean and comfortable.
Vacation : Unclear which purchases this is referring to. Optional tours were very good.
Saturday, September 30, 2017
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Well planned, many stops & places to visit. Great guide! Yes, I will recommend.
Vacation : Great trip! Well worth the money.
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Print Itinerary
  • U.S. citizens traveling to Spain and Portugal must have a current passport valid for six months beyond the conclusion of their trip. You can find information on how to apply for a passport here, and how to renew a passport here. No visa is required for U.S. citizens visiting Spain and Portugal.

  • The currency in Spain and Portugal is the Euro (€).  While it’s a good idea to bring some money for when you first arrive, you’ll usually find a better exchange rate in your destination.  The most convenient way to obtain cash is to use your ATM card at local banks in Spain and Portugal. We recommend you also bring a valid credit card for purchases while you are traveling.  It is important that you inform your financial institutions of your travel plans before you leave home so they don’t flag your purchases as potentially fraudulent charges.

  • Spain offers a delicious selection of cured hams, chorizo sausage, seafood, cheeses, and more.  Try traditional dishes such as tortilla española (Spanish omelet), paella, and desserts such as flan, churros, and Catalan cream. For a quick lunch at a reasonable price, stop by a café or food cart for a bocadillo, a traditional Spanish sandwich made with baguette-style bread, ham and cheese.  In the evening, try a selection of tapas – small bites served in bars and restaurants that can be enjoyed as an appetizer or a meal. 

    With Portugal’s long coastline, seafood is featured prominently on their menus. Popular dishes include sopa de mariscos (a shellfish soup) and bacalhau (dried codfish), and Portuguese grilled chicken prepared with chili, garlic and olive oil. For dessert, don’t miss out on the famous pastéis de nata custard pastry or arroz dolce (rice pudding) and a glass of port wine. 

  • We suggest bringing a variety of lightweight clothing items that can be layered to save space in your suitcase.  This will also give you many options for how to dress in Spain and Portugal’s varying climates. It’s a good idea to bring a lightweight scarf to wear at religious sites and in the evening when temperatures cool off. For more helpful information please refer to our Packing Tips & Packing List.

  • Tipping in Spain and Portugal is much less common than in the U.S. When dining out, it’s appreciated, although not required, to leave a few extra euros for your server, and up to 10 percent for particularly good service.  Leave your tip on the table rather than adding it to your credit card slip to ensure that your waiter receives it. 

    At the end of your guided vacation, it’s customary to offer your motor coach driver and Travel Director a gratuity. We recommend €3.00 per person/per day for your driver and €5.00 per person/per day for your Travel Director.  Recommended gratuity for a Local Host and Local Specialist is 1-2 euros per person, paid at the conclusion of each guided visit.  A convenient option is to prepay your tips before your departure.

  • Baggage on our trips is restricted to one large suitcase per person with dimensions not exceeding 30x19x10 inches and a maximum weight of 50 pounds. You are also permitted one piece of hand luggage, which should be small enough to fit under your coach seat or on the small overhead shelf compartment. Please note that luggage with an adjustable handle and wheels will not fit in the overhead compartment of the coach. Hotel porterage is included in your vacation.

  • You will need to be comfortable on your feet, walking and standing for up to three hours in various weather conditions.  All of our vacations involve walking, often on cobblestone and uneven surfaces in historic city centers.  In order to get the most out of your vacation you need to be able to comfortably walk 1-3 miles unassisted in one day, be in good condition and be able to keep pace with the group. 

    If you need any medications, it is important that you bring enough to last you the whole trip and keep them in your carry-on bag while you travel.

  • We highly recommend our optional Travel Protection Plan, which allows you to cancel for any reason up to 24 hours before departure. The plan also includes trip interruption, baggage loss or delay, and medical and emergency assistance. Click here for a summary of coverage details, terms and conditions.

Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

  • Add air to your reservation

    Let our Air Specialists handle your air reservations. We have direct access to the most current airfare routes and prices, so you’ll get the best value available when we book your flights. We never charge a booking fee and you’ll enjoy the flexibility to pay for air 60-90 days prior to departure.

Be the First to Know!

Sign up for our emails and receive exclusive offers, travel information, announcements, and more!
Providing peace of mind and unparalleled service for over 40 years.