• Save up to 10% - Pay in Full by January 31, 2019

    Save up to 10% - Pay in Full by January 31, 2019
  • AARP Members Save an additional $100 per person

    AARP Members Save an additional $100 pp
  • Additional Savings for Past Travelers

    Additional Savings for Past Travelers

Treasures of Spain, Portugal & Morocco

17 Days from $3,375 per person

Style: Premium | Pace: Active

A kaleidoscopic adventure that takes you from some of Europe's most cosmopolitan cities, to an exotic and vivid land of medinas and minarets. 

Treasures of Spain, Portugal & Morocco also has winter departures; click here to see the Winter Season version of this tour!

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

Print Itinerary

Overview

A kaleidoscopic adventure that takes you from some of Europe's most cosmopolitan cities, to an exotic and vivid land of medinas and minarets. 

Treasures of Spain, Portugal & Morocco also has winter departures; click here to see the Winter Season version of this tour!

Travel to Europe often requires an overnight flight. Please arrange for flights to arrive on or before Day 1.

  1. Transfers leave Madrid airport for your hotel at 9 am, 11 am, 1:30 pm and 4 pm. Join your Travel Director at 6 pm for a delicious Welcome Dinner and the chance to get to know your fellow travelers.

    meal(s):Dinner with Wine
    hotel:Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay
  2. With your Local Expert travel down the beautiful boulevards to the Cibeles Fountain on the wide Paseo de la Castellana. Cross the Puerta del Sol and see the monument to Cervantes in the Plaza de España. A sure highlight is when you join an art historian to explore the Prado Museum, a magnificent palace housing works by Velazquez, Goya, Rubens and other masters. Journey past the walls of Ávila en route to Salamanca, with its honey-colored cathedral and 16th-century university buildings. 

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Hotel Alameda Palace
  3. Cross the Portuguese frontier and skirt the Estrela Mountains en route to Fátima. Join the pilgrims flocking into the great basilica commemorating the miraculous appearance of the Virgin Mary to three young shepherds in 1917. Your travels continue to Lisbon. 

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Dom Pedro Lisboa
  4. Exploring with a Local Expert takes you along the avenues of the Lower Town to the Terreiro do Paço with a visit to the Belém Quarter. See the traditional patisserie that has managed to hold on to the secret recipe of Portugal's finest pastry for almost 200 years and enjoy a taste of the famous Pastéis de Belém. View the modern Monument to the Discoveries and the more ancient Belém Tower, a fortress that was originally set in the middle of the river but with receding waters, now sits on the riverbank. Visit the 500-year-old Jerónimos Monastery with its Manueline architecture, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The afternoon is free for you to explore further as you wish.

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Dom Pedro Lisboa
  5. Journey to Seville to join your Local Expert for a tour of the immense Seville Cathedral, burial place of Christopher Columbus. See the slender Giralda Tower, the former minaret of the Great Mosque and now the cathedral's bell tower. Continue your exploration through the labyrinthine narrow streets and shady squares of the Santa Cruz Quarter, emerging beside the great walls of the Alcazar. 

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Ayre Hotel Sevilla (Superior Rooms)
  6. This day is yours to completely relax or continue exploring this fascinating city. Perhaps join an Optional Experience to Córdoba and visit the magnificent Mezquita, an 8th-century mosque with a Christian cathedral built inside it. Enjoy an evening of food and wine while you are entertained by throbbing guitars, lamenting solos, colorful dancers and the rhythmic stomp of flamenco. 

    meal(s):Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel:Ayre Hotel Sevilla (Superior Rooms)
  7. Set sail across the Straits of Gibraltar to reach Morocco—a land of musky spices and colorful souks. Your travels continue to Fes, Morocco's most ancient imperial city. 

    meal(s):Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel:Palais Medina & Spa
  8. Your Local Expert will guide you through the ancient Medina. Explore this walled city of hidden courtyards, mosques and workshops. Walk through the souks and pass one of the world's oldest universities. Learn about the ancient craft of carpet making and gain an insight into the motifs and colors used in the designs. Then you are at leisure to continue exploring as you wish, or perhaps cool off with a dip in the pool at your hotel.

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Palais Medina & Spa
  9. See the Middle Atlas Mountains and mud-walled villages as you journey to Marrakesh.

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Mövenpick Mansour Eddahbi Marrakech
  10. An exploration with your Local Expert will show you the Medina with its many souks and the Koutoubia Minaret dominating the skyline. Visit the intricately decorated Palais Bahia, intended to be the greatest palace of its time when it was built in the late 19th century.

    meal(s):Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel:Mövenpick Mansour Eddahbi Marrakech
  11. Journey to the west coast of Africa to reach Casablanca. Discover if Humphrey Bogart really did say 'Play it again Sam' during sightseeing with your Local Expert. You will also see Hassan II Mosque, the largest mosque in the country and the très chic seaside strip, known as the Corniche, lined with trendy restaurants and cafes. 

    meal(s):Breakfast, Dinner
    hotel:Grand Mogador City Center
  12. Travel north to Rabat, to see the Royal Palace and Hassan Tower with your Local Expert. Your journey continues to Morocco's great port of Tangier, overlooking the Straits of Gibraltar. Here you will enjoy beautiful views where the Atlantic meets the Mediterranean. After dinner, you are at leisure to relax in the comfortable surroundings of your hotel or take a stroll along the Bay of Tangier.

    meal(s):Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel:Grand Hotel Villa de France by BlueBay
  13. Cross the water to Spain and continue on to Gibraltar, an overseas territory under British control since 1704. Meet your Local Expert for a guided tour of the Rock of Gibraltar, St. Michael's Cave and see the Barbary Apes, legendary guardians of the colony. Travel through the green hills to the north of Costa del Sol, which translates to Coast of the Sun, to the white-washed village of Mijas. Stroll through the old streets and gardens and take in the views of the coast. Relax as you are driven along the scenic route, passing exclusive resorts where the rich and famous vacation. 

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Meliá Costa del Sol
  14. Enjoy the following day at leisure on the sun-drenched Costa del Sol. Relax by the blue Mediterranean waters, stroll along the promenade, savor the specialties in the local restaurants or consider exploring Malaga, the birth city of Picasso.

    meal(s):Breakfast
    hotel:Meliá Costa del Sol
  15. Travel to the oldest olive grove in the region and stop at the rural mill-factory of Almazara to taste a selection of different oils with locally made farmer bread. Continue to Alfarnatejo, a quiet town with a population of just 500 people and surrounded by stunning mountainous landscape. Walk the town center to see the 18th-century Iglesia del Santo Cristo de Cabrilla. In small groups, you are invited into the home of a local family to join them for a delicious Highlight Lunch made of fresh, local produce with flavors typical of the region. Continue to Granada, where overlooking the town stands one of the most remarkable fortresses ever built, the Alhambra. Led by your Local Expert, explore this exquisite palace built as a citadel by the Moors in the 13th century—a fantasy of arabesque gardens, fountains and stone cut like lace. Stroll through the elegant, exotic water gardens of the Generalife, the royal summer residence.

    meal(s):Breakfast, Lunch with Wine
    hotel:Meliá Granada
  16. Your journey continues to the north, through countryside immortalized by Cervantes fictional hero, Don Quixote. On return to Madrid, toast your travels with your newfound friends during a lively Celebration Dinner of delicious food and wine at a local restaurant. 

    meal(s):Breakfast, Dinner with Wine
    hotel:Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay
  17. Departure transfers arrive at Madrid airport at 7 am, 9 am and 11 am.

    meal(s):Breakfast
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Print Itinerary
  • Definite Departure
  • Festive Celebrations
  • Solo Traveler Discount
  • Autumn Winter Spring Departure
Depart Date Return Date Price Discount Availability Price
4 May 19 20 May 19 checkmark $4,495$4,046pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
18 May 19 3 Jun 19 checkmark $4,495$4,046pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
25 May 19 10 Jun 19 $4,495$4,046pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
1 Jun 19 17 Jun 19 checkmark $4,495$4,046pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
22 Jun 19 8 Jul 19 $4,450$4,005pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Solo Traveler Discount
29 Jun 19 15 Jul 19 checkmark $4,195pp Request Quote Book Now
6 Jul 19 22 Jul 19 $4,450$4,005pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
13 Jul 19 29 Jul 19 checkmark $4,450$4,005pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
20 Jul 19 5 Aug 19 $4,450$4,005pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
27 Jul 19 12 Aug 19 $4,450$4,005pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
3 Aug 19 19 Aug 19 $4,450$4,005pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
17 Aug 19 2 Sep 19 $4,450$4,005pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
31 Aug 19 16 Sep 19 $4,550$4,095pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
21 Sep 19 7 Oct 19 checkmark $4,550$4,095pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
28 Sep 19 14 Oct 19 checkmark $4,550$4,095pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
5 Oct 19 21 Oct 19 checkmark $4,495$4,046pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Solo Traveler Discount
12 Oct 19 28 Oct 19 $4,250$3,825pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
19 Oct 19 4 Nov 19 $3,975$3,578pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
26 Oct 19 11 Nov 19 $3,895$3,506pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
2 Nov 19 18 Nov 19 $3,750$3,375pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
16 Nov 19 2 Dec 19 $3,750$3,375pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Solo Traveler Discount
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
23 Nov 19 9 Dec 19 $3,750$3,375pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Festive Celebrations
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
29 Dec 19 14 Jan 20 $4,025$3,623pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Solo Traveler Discount
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
4 Jan 20 20 Jan 20 $3,750$3,375pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
18 Jan 20 3 Feb 20 $3,750$3,375pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
22 Feb 20 9 Mar 20 $3,795$3,416pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
7 Mar 20 23 Mar 20 $3,795$3,416pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
14 Mar 20 30 Mar 20 $3,795$3,416pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
21 Mar 20 6 Apr 20 $3,795$3,416pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
28 Mar 20 13 Apr 20 $3,825$3,443pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
4 Apr 20 20 Apr 20 $4,025$3,623pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
Autumn Winter Spring Departure
11 Apr 20 27 Apr 20 $3,850$3,465pp Early PaymentPay by Jan 31 Request Quote Book Now
  • Festive Celebrations: Christmas and/or New Year Celebrations have been arranged for these departures.
  • Solo Traveler Discount: This departure includes a 20-100% discount on standard single supplement subject to availability.
  • Autumn Winter Spring Departure: Please note, these departures are subject to change in price, discount and hotel.

Visa Requirements: Some passengers may require a separate visa for Gibraltar.

Price is per person and is based on two people sharing a twin bedded room. Single rooms are available at a supplement.

Single Room Supplement: from $740 per person

Triple Room Discount $110 per person

Gratuities: Option to pre-pay gratuities for Travel Director and Driver $196 per person.

Airport Transfers: On arrival at Madrid Airport transfers operate at 9 am, 11 am, 1:30 pm and 4 pm. Return transfers on the last travel day arrive at Madrid Airport at 7 am, 9 am and 11 am.

AARP Members are entitled to an exclusive Member Benefit Discount on all Grand European Travel vacations. Plus receive a free travel gift!  Call Toll Free: 1-866-847-3858 for details.

Print Itinerary

  • Professional Travel Director Professional Travel Director
  • Sightseeing with Local Experts Sightseeing with Local Experts
  • VIP Access VIP Access
  • WIFI on Coach and in Hotels WIFI on Coach and in Hotels
  • Cultural Enrichment Cultural Enrichment
  • Expertly Selected Hotels Expertly Selected Hotels
  • Hotel Tips Hotel Tips
  • Most Meals Most Meals
  • Personal Flight Options Personal Flight Options

Included Quality Dining

16 Breakfasts, 1 Lunch with Wine, 4 Dinners, 3 Dinners with Wine, all with tea or coffee. 

Signature Experiences

  • Visit Prado Museum with a local art historian • Alhambra Palace and Generalife gardens.
  • Madrid: From El Greco to Goya, an expert art historian reveals the crowning achievements of Spanish painting in the magnificent Prado Museum.

Top Rated Highlights

  • Cross the Straits of Gibraltar between Europe and Africa • learn about traditional carpet making in Fes
  • Visit the Prado Museum • Chapel of the Apparitions in Fátima • Jerónimos Monastery • Seville Cathedral • Bahia Palace • Alhambra Palace and Generalife gardens
  • City tours of Madrid, Lisbon, Seville, Fes, Marrakesh, Casablanca, Rabat, Tangier, Gibraltar and Granada, all with Local Experts
  • See Salamanca's Plaza Mayor • traditional carpet making in Fes • white-washed village of Mijas • Iglesia del Santo Cristo de Cabrilla in Alfarnatejo
  • Madrid: See the sights of the city with your Local Expert, including the Cibeles Fountain on the wide Paseo de la Castellana, Puerta del Sol and the monument to Cervantes in the Plaza de España.
  • Salamanca: See the golden stone buildings and handsome arcades of Plaza Mayor for which this city is famous for.
  • Fátima: Join the faithful at one of the world's holiest sites and pay homage at the Chapel of the Apparitions.
  • Lisbon: Explore with your Local Expert, from the Lower Town, beneath the hilltop Bairro Alto to the Terreiro do Paco. Visit the Belém Quarter to see the Monument to the Discoveries and the ancient Belém Tower.
  • Lisbon: Visit the Jerónimos Monastery with its beautiful Manueline architecture, reflecting Portugal's trade over the centuries and UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • Seville: Guided by your Local Expert, see the Giralda Tower, former minaret of the Great Mosque and now the cathedral's bell tower. Explore the narrow streets of the Santa Cruz Quarter and emerge by the great walls of the Alcazar.
  • Seville: Step inside the massive Seville Cathedral and pass the gilded altar to view the Tomb of Columbus, held aloft by four kings.
  • Gibraltar: Cross from Europe to Africa as board your ferry to cruise across the Straits of Gibraltar.
  • Fes: Led by your Local Expert, wander the maze of streets that make up the ancient Medina. Pass one of the world's oldest university's and see the hidden courtyards, mosques and workshop and continue through the souks, an array of vendors selling food, clothes, leather goods and beautiful lights.
  • Fes: Learn about the traditional craft of carpet making, gaining an insight into the designs the and the difference in materials.
  • Marrakesh: Your Local Expert guides you past Jemaa el-Fnaa Square with its intriguing characters and through the seemingly entangled streets of the Medina with its many souks. See the protruding Koutoubia Minaret.
  • Marrakesh: Built around a lovely inner-garden, explore the Bahia Palace with a Local Expert and see glimpses of a Moroccan kingdom's former opulence.
  • Casablanca: Explore this coastal city, made famous the classic film. Your Local Expert will show you the largest mosque in the country, Hassan II Mosque and the Corniche, lined with trendy restaurants and cafes.
  • Rabat: Led by your Local Expert, see the Royal Palace and Hassan Tower.
  • Tangier: Your Local Expert will show you the sights of Morocco's great port. See the Sultan's Palace and visit the Casbah.
  • Tangier: Cruise back to Europe on your return ferry.
  • Gibraltar: With your Local Expert tour the Rock of Gibraltar, one of the pillars of Hercules, affording magnificent views and see the meeting of the Atlantic, the Mediterranean and the Spanish Sierra. Visit St. Michael's Cave and see the Barbary Apes, guardians of the colony.
  • Mijas: Journey to this white-washed village and stroll the streets to admire the coastal views.
  • Alfarnatejo: Visit the beautiful, quiet town and walk the town center to see the 18th century Iglesia del Santo Cristo de Cabrilla.
  • Granada: Explore 'The City of the Pomegranate' with a Local Expert. During sightseeing, you'll see the icons dedicated to this fruit throughout the city.
  • Granada: Best interpreted with help of a Local Expert, the Alhambra Palace is the ultimate in Muslim architecture - an arabesque fantasy in stone, complemented by the rich, scented gardens of the Generalife.
  • Scenic Drives: Take in the ever-changing scenery of south-west Europe and northern Africa as you pass the Estrela Mountains, the Middle Atlas Mountains, the High Atlas Mountains, and continue along Costa del Sol, through the Provence of Malaga, across Sierra Nevada and the La Mancha region.
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Print Itinerary

Reviews

Thursday, November 22, 2018
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The description of our tour was exactly what we experienced plus additional surprises and adventures that enhanced our tour. We had clear expectations that were completely met, providing us with an amazing travel experience. Each person with whom we communicated at GETours was knowledgeable and helpful. No question or concern was treated as trivial - in fact, details were clearly presented and explained as needed. We always felt as if we were the most important person during conversations.
Vacation : This tour was exactly what we wanted - the description met the actual travel. The tour director, Jorge, was incredibly organized and knowledgeable, who focused on providing us with the best experience possible. The local guides enhanced the specific locations. The extra legroom on the coach and the seating rotation provided comfort and encouraged friendships. The advice, expectations and itinerary made every day special! We travel to learn about culture, people, history, etc. The experiences were amazing!
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Elaine Camhi
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The booking experience was fine, after having to apply a bit of pressure to get the single supplement we requested. At first we were told that we would have to keep calling back day by day to determine if it was available, and that there was no way to keep a record that we had requested an extra room if available. I found that a bit ridiculous; fortunately they were able to help us.
Vacation : First, it is ridiculous to count the day you leave the US as day 1 of the trip. The trip was identical to Gate 1's trip, but more expensive. The optionals were overpriced; the food in general was not nearly worth what we paid. Many of the city stops were not a visit at all,as we would arrive quite late in the day, bus ride thru town, and leave the next morning. This was more a series of LONG bus rides and short visits. When we got to spend a bit of time we would have these 'death marches' where guides would not slow down so that we could make it to the next factory. The hotels were average, which would have been fine if thet were not described as much more. A disappointing trip...not the cities but the tour, tour guides, and endless bus rides. Would not take another trip witht the company involved. Since this was my ancestral home, it was particularly disappointing
Monday, October 22, 2018
Paulette Mandell
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Dinners ranged between exceptionally bad and okay. When paying $60 + for a meal, it should be better than average. Hotels were mediocre, one had stained bed linens, a second had the shower knob fall off, a third lacked a/c, etc. Local guides raced through tours so that there was never time for photos. The tour leader talked so much, we stopped listening and missed important information.
Vacation : Lower price your operators used the same hotels and went to the same plces. Going with Insight is a high waste of money.
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Alan Koslow
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : While the tour guide was great, the local guides for Morocco were terrible! And I should have been advised that there were so many "factory tours" on this trip. I have been on many tours with many companies, but THREE in one day is too much. When i get up at 6:30AM I don't want to spend 3-4 hours listening to sales pitches I am partly to blame as an "optional tour" may include a factory tour. But overall, there were way too many factory tours on this trip. Factory tours are tours of rug, leather or textile factories and the like where no locals are ever there to buy anything. They are only for the tour trade. They are marked by benches and a free cup of tea or liquor and negotiated prices. The local guides pressure you to buy overpriced goods as their commission depends upon it. And while these things are common on many tours, there were just more on this tour than I can handle. I am now looking at other forms of touring. The sights were the kind of sights you see on these tours, that is cathedrals, old castles, palaces and the like. The people on our tour, our fellow travellers, were exceptional. The tour guide was terrific.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We appreciate your feedback and suggestions and will be sure to share them with our operations team. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your trip and thank you for writing.
Wednesday, November 22, 2017
Vacation : While the tour guide was great, the local guides for Morocco were terrible! And I should have been advised that there were so many "factory tours" on this trip. I have been on many tours with many companies, but THREE in one day is too much. When i get up at 6:30AM I don't want to spend 3-4 hours listening to sales pitches I am partly to blame as an "optional tour" may include a factory tour. But overall, there were way too many factory tours on this trip. Factory tours are tours of rug, leather or textile factories and the like where no locals are ever there to buy anything. They are only for the tour trade. They are marked by benches and a free cup of tea or liquor and negotiated prices. The local guides pressure you to buy overpriced goods as their commission depends upon it. And while these things are common on many tours, there were just more on this tour than I can handle. I am now looking at other forms of touring. The sights were the kind of sights you see on these tours, that is cathedrals, old castles, palaces and the like. The people on our tour, our fellow travellers, were exceptional. The tour guide was terrific.
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Julie Koslow
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : When we called to book a trip, they explained the difference between several trips to help us feel confident about the one we chose. They were also very helpful with booking our hotel and air fare to accommodate our arriving in Madrid one day before the tour started.
Vacation : The main thing about the tour that I didn't like was the amount of time spent at the rug, leather, and textile factories in Fes. Since I wasn't interested in purchasing items from any of these places, it would have been nice to have another option for spending those several hours.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear your received excellent service from our team and that you enjoyed your vacation to Spain, Portugal & Morocco. We will pass along your suggestion to our product team. 
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Monday, October 2, 2017
Theresa Gordon
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Tour Director and Coach Driver were knowledgeable, courteous and above all kept us safe while attending to every detail. I’ve already booked my next trip with GET.
Vacation : Excellent service, accommodations, itenary and tour director.
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Robert Tompkins
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I was given information concerning the pick up, time, but when we got there, I found later that we were suppose to be a different terminal then the one flew into. Because of this we missed the bus and had a pay for a cab to get to the hotel. Also we were not informed about any extra trips while on the tour. We were luckly to be able to sign up on the trip. Not of this information was provided to us. We talked to others that were on the trip and they said, and showed us, all the information that we didn't get. My trip was arranged thru the Portland office. Now we are looking at another trip but not sure if we want to used Grand European Travel.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We do have very detailed instructions to make sure everyone is at the correct meeting point.  Since we cannot control which Terminal your flight arrives in, we do try to simplify those instructions as much as possible and have one central meeting place. We are sorry for any confusion and added stress that the pick instructions may have caused. 
Thursday, May 11, 2017
Vacation : Didn't get all the information that I should have gotten.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Everything was first class, guide was excellent, bus drivers excellent, hotels, food and extra travel experiences offered where great and well thought out. Safety was top priority. Places selected for this trip was well done. First time travel with Grand European Travel.
Response from Grand European Travel:
It sounds like you had a fabulous trip and we couldn't be happier. Safety and an unforgettable travel experience are our top priorities. We couldn't have said it better and appreciate your feedback and your business. Grand European Travel
Monday, June 13, 2016
Vacation : We recommend this tour to everyone. Got the experience we were looking for. Saw into this part of the world areas I would have not traveled on our own. Got to view things I learned in School as a young person.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : To many one day stays
Vacation : Good
Saturday, April 9, 2016
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Grand European booked our flights, but our return flight was too early to use the coach to eh airport and we had to hire a taxi at our own expense. Grand European should have paid for the taxi.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We're sorry to hear about this glitch. We show your flight was at 9am which should have been plenty of time for the 7am complementary transfer to the airport. We will be happy to reimburse your taxi cost. Thank you for letting us know. Grand European Travel
Friday, April 15, 2016
Vacation : Excellent
Monday, November 16, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The company was Insight Travel - under the umbrella of Grand European. Really well planned. Outstanding guides. Special restaurants and experiences that only well organized and traveled guides can provide. Excellent bus drivers made us confident and safe.
Vacation : Should be described as more walking than 1-2 miles/day. Apple watches told a more active story. Suggest canes for anyone with any mobility challenges - sure liked mine. Would have liked another night and beach time in Costa del Sol. First hotel in Madrid was not well situated and had cramped rooms with no view. Other hotels great. Hotel in Tangiers had cold food both dinner and breakfast.
Saturday, November 14, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We had "royal treatment" all the way. The coach, the guide and the extra trips were great. Juan Marchena did a wonderful job juggling times of arrival with times of other guides, plus keeping us confortable.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We appreciate your honest feedback and we are sorry to see that you felt uncomfortable in Morocco. We do try to provide a well rounded program and understand that sometimes it will miss the mark with some of our guests. Please accept our apologies. Grand European Travel
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Vacation : As a whole, the vacation was a good one. I did not like the visit to the homes in Morocco; I thought those were intrusions into the private life of poor people. I am sure they were paid but to me it felt humiliating to them. I did not like the guide assigned to us, not because he did not know what he was talking about but because of his lack of compassion toward those poor people he made us visit. If he wanted to show us the caves, he could have done so with any of the empty ones. I would have liked better a day longer in Portugal (Porto or Coimbra) and one day less in Morocco.
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : All went well. Steve took good care of us. Some of the buffet dinners were so-so. Nothing to write home about.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Welcome home and thank you for your comments. We're sorry to see about the disappointing food options. We will share this with our Quality Control team right away. Glad to see you enjoyed the trip overall. Grand European Travel
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Vacation : Saw many new sights. Had a good time.
Saturday, October 10, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Actually we were on Insight not GET. So cannot rate.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to hear about the confusion you experienced on your trip. We do strive to make all of our vacations hassle free and enjoyable by providing a balance of sightseeing and free time. It sounds like we missed the mark with you and for that we do apologize. Grand European Travel
Monday, October 12, 2015
Vacation : Confusion from beginning to end. Too many shopping events. Not enough meeting of local people.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : We booked our tour thru Grand European Travel but the tour itself was contracted to Insight Vacations. The contact we had with GET prior to our tour was very good and the actual tour was excellent.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry you were unaware that this tour is operated by our sister company, Insight Vacations. We try to mark our brochure, website and payment receipts clearly, noting each tour that is operated by our sister company. Insight and GET are owned by the same parent company, The Travel Corp. We were pleased to be able to offer some of Insight’s itineraries, as we feel it provides a wider selection of tours to choose from. With Insight’s itineraries and Travel Directors, we know that our guests are well cared for and enjoying an excellent experience. Grand European Travel
Monday, June 15, 2015
Vacation : The trip was very fast paced but was very well organized and Insight Vacations took very good care of us.
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : The Insight Vacations company with whom GET collaborates is great. I toured with them through GET the Treasures of Turkey in 2014 and the Treasures of Spain, Portugal and Morocco this year, and I was very satisfied. I intened to use GET and Insight Vacation in the future and I advertize both companies, especially among my aging friends.
Vacation : The tour was fabulous, although the rules that recently regulate the crossing of the Moroccan-Spanish border (participants have to personally carry all the luggage through the screaning twice) should be made known ahead of time. Also, I very much preferred Cem Tas as a passionate and knowledgeable Turkish guide over the local guides we had during this tour. They were just "delivering the script." Steven and Fillipe, our Portuguese director and driver did a good job.
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Appreciate receiving the print out of the online itinerary one of your representatives sent to me prior to my departure.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are deeply sorry to hear about the theft of your luggage. What a frightening and stressful situation that must have been and it is completely understandable that it put a damper on your trip. Your Travel Director did file all the appropriate reports and our management team is working with the hotel to improve security for future guests. Luckily you purchased travel insurance that will replace or reimburse your stolen items. If you have any questions regarding the policy or filing the claim, please do not hesitate to call us. Grand European Travel
Sunday, June 7, 2015
Vacation : The theft of my hand luggage containing travel documents, medicine, cell phone, camera charger, jewelry, electricity converter, makeup, etc. while it was on the under side of the bus in the luggage hold on the first day of the trip took the wind out of my sails. The guide told me later he saw Gypsies in that area while the bus was being loaded. I wish security had been increased at that point -- perhaps with personnel from the Ambassador Hotel in Madrid. Or even ask some of the male travelers to help to keep an eye on things until the luggage hold was locked. That loss greatly diminished my enjoyment of the trip.
Saturday, March 21, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : GET has a good service, well organized and has special discounts for frequent customers.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for your feedback! We do love our frequent customers and appreciate your kind words about GET and your trip. Dee-Grand European Travel
Friday, March 27, 2015
Vacation : It's a wonderful and friendly trip. Tour guides and drivers are good and nice.
Saturday, March 21, 2015
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Amazing service provided by staff, tour guides, bus drivers, optional experiences.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We're so happy that you enjoyed your vacation and hope to see you on another trip soon! Dee-Grand European Travel
Friday, March 27, 2015
Vacation : This was a trip of a lifetime.
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Whenever I called with questions concerning the details of our trip, I thought your customer service people at Grand European Travel were poorly informed. On the positive side when I requested king and queen beds they did write a letter requesting that accommodation be available whenever possible.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We believe that our staff is well trained in all products we offer and many of them have had first hand experience on the vacations offered. However, I do apologize if the questions you were asking were not answered to your satisfaction. I am pleased to see that you did enjoy your trip and your travel director. We hope to see you again in the near future. Dee-Grand European Travel
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Vacation : We were pleased with most aspects of the trip including our primary Tour Director, the hotels and the bus. Area tour guides ranged from excellent to poor, but overall we were very satisfied with the trip
Saturday, November 8, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Needed information that US. dollars could not be used,Euro dollars only. Picture of electrical plug for 220 would be helpful.
Vacation : Excellent
Saturday, November 8, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Would have liked information earlier prior to departure date. Also needed to know that none of these countries would accept US $'s so we could have exchanged money at the airport. This was a problem for us. A list of the names of travelers would help get to know people faster. A photo of electric plug in info would be helpful.
Vacation : Tour guide, Juan, was excellent. Very well organized and helpful. There was a LOT of walking involved. This should be stressed more in brochure. Hotels were clean and comfortable. Too many "optionals" added a lot to the cost of the trip.
Saturday, October 25, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : I did not book this so have no comment.
Vacation : I felt we were given little time to explore on our own, next time I'll be more selective in booking optional tours.
Sunday, October 12, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Quality, customer friendly
Vacation : Excellent superior tour guide, helpful, knowledgeable, going the extra mile to make the vacation special. Great choice of places to visit, very comfortable bus with panoramic windows, good choice of hotels.
Monday, September 29, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very helpful in moving our departure date ahead so we could spend 3 days in barcelona which was not part of the tour.
Response from Grand European Travel:
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We apologize that you felt you had to catch up with your travel director at times. We will be reviewing this with all travel directors immediately. Grand European Travel-Guest Relations
Monday, September 29, 2014
Vacation : On 4 different times when we walked through Markets or guided tour, the guides for that session started walking before all of us were off the bus. This caused the passengers in the rear of the bus to scramble to catch up and we missed a lot. Remember, the steps were steep and not all of us were nemble.
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : guide was caring and good. Hotel in Madrid was very poor.3 hotels were very good out of 10.Breakfasts were good.
Response from Grand European Travel:
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with some of the hotels and the optional dinners on your tour. Please be assured that we strive to provide clean, comfortable and convenient accommodations for our guests as well as satisfying meals. We appreciate your feedback when these standards are not met and will act upon your valuable feedback. Grand European Travel-Guest Relations
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Vacation : Optional dinners were poor.Over rated in the travel info.For a fish dinner($186 in dollar)was in a beer hall. One was served in a dark theater ,I did not know what I was eating.Most people complained about the Hotels and the optional experiences that were over rated and costly
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : GET continues to be all that I look for in a tour company. Spain, Portugal, Morocco was a fabulous tour. Insight Vacations tour guide Steve Thacker was all he could have been! Our group was large, 41 travelers, and he took the best of care of us and we had no problems what so ever. Moroccan travel can't be easy for tour guides, but Steve kept us safe and still showed us places where there were no other tourists. He's an expert!
Vacation : GET has always mailed a list of travelers and their hometowns ahead of time. I really missed having that information to help me get to know people more easily. I also wish we had been given a little more time to decide on optional choices for much later on in the tour. Insight Vacations was great and the foot room on our wonder tour bus was fantastic! The drivers were perfect!
Friday, August 29, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : THE TRIP WENT OFF WITHOUT A PROBLEM. WE WERE MET IN A TIMELY FASHION. ACCOMMODATIONS WERE FINE. WE HAVE TRAVELED TO MANY DESTINATIONS THROUGHOUT THE WORLD OVER THE YEARS AND FEEL THAT GRAND EUROPEAN TRAVEL DOES AN EXCELLENT JOB!
Vacation : WE WERE FORTUNATE TO HAVE THE SERVICES OF JACKIE PANGBORN AS OUR TOUR DIRECTOR. SHE WAS MARVELOUS! SHE WAS VERY THOROUGH IN HER PLANNING. SHE WAS KNOWLEDGEABLE OF THE AREAS WE VISITED AND WAS VERY INTERESTING IN THE WAY THAT SHE SHARED WITH US. SHE IS THE BEST TOUR GUIDE WE HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED. AS FOR THE TOUR ITSELF- WE VERY MUCH ENJOYED THE MANY VENUES WE VISITED BUT WOULD HAVE ENJOYED HAVING MORE TIME AT FATIMA AND GIBRALTER WITH A PASS THROUGH OF CASABLANCA--MAYBE FOR LUNCH. WE LOOK FORWARD TO TRAVELING WITH GRAND EUROPEAN AGAIN.
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Trusted Customer
Service:
Vacation:
Service rating : Very professional.
Vacation : Well planned. Worth the cost.
Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Print Itinerary
  • U.S. citizens traveling to Spain, Portugal and Morocco must have a current passport valid for six months beyond the conclusion of their trip. You can find information on how to apply for a passport here, and how to renew a passport here. No visa is required for U.S. citizens visiting these countries.

  • The currency in Spain and Portugal is the Euro (€) and in Morocco is the Dihram (.د.م).  U.S. dollars and euros are also usually accepted in Morocco.  While it’s a good idea to bring some money for when you first arrive, you’ll usually find a better exchange rate in your destination.  The most convenient way to obtain cash is to use your ATM card at local banks in Spain, Portugal and Morocco. We recommend you also bring a valid credit card for purchases while you are traveling.  It is important that you inform your financial institutions of your travel plans before you leave home so they don’t flag your purchases as potentially fraudulent charges.

  • Spain offers a delicious selection of cured hams, chorizo sausage, seafood, cheeses, and more.  Try traditional dishes such as tortilla española (Spanish omelet), paella, and desserts such as flan, churros, and Catalan cream. For a quick lunch at a reasonable price, stop by a café or food cart for a bocadillo, a traditional Spanish sandwich made with baguette-style bread, ham and cheese.  In the evening, try a selection of tapas with a glass of the local wine. 

    With Portugal’s long coastline, seafood is featured prominently on their menus. Popular dishes include sopa de mariscos (a shellfish soup) and bacalhau (dried codfish), and Portuguese grilled chicken prepared with chili, garlic and olive oil. For dessert, don’t miss out on the famous pastéis de nata custard pastry or arroz dolce (rice pudding) and a glass of port wine. 

    Moroccan food is a flavorful mix of Mediterranean, Arabic, Andalusian and North African cuisines.  A wide variety of spices including saffron, cinnamon, cumin, turmeric, and paprika are used in cooking.  Try a variety of couscous with meat and vegetables and fresh baked Moroccan bread.  Meals are generally concluded with fresh fruit and a glass of sweet mint tea.

  • We suggest bringing a variety of lightweight clothing items that can be layered to save space in your suitcase.  This will also give you many options for how to dress in varying climates. In Morocco, loose fitting clothes are always a respectful and comfortable option, especially during the hot and humid summer months.  It’s a good idea to bring a lightweight scarf that can be worn at religious sites throughout your trip and at night when temperatures cool off. For more helpful information please refer to our Packing Tips & Packing List.

  • Tipping in Spain and Portugal is much less common than in the U.S. When dining out, it’s appreciated, although not required, to leave a few extra euros for your server, and up to 10 percent for particularly good service.  Leave your tip on the table rather than adding it to your credit card slip to ensure that your waiter receives it.  In Morocco, it’s appropriate to tip your waiter 1 dh per person at cafés and up to 10-15 percent at upmarket restaurants.

    At the end of your guided vacation, it’s customary to offer your motor coach driver and Travel Director a gratuity. We recommend €3.00 per person/per day for your driver and €5.00 per person/per day for your Travel Director.  Recommended gratuity for a Local Host and Local Specialist is 1-2 euros per person, paid at the conclusion of each guided visit.  A convenient option is to prepay your tips before your departure.

  • Baggage on our trips is restricted to one large suitcase per person with dimensions not exceeding 30x19x10 inches and a maximum weight of 50 pounds. You are also permitted one piece of hand luggage, which should be small enough to fit under your coach seat or on the small overhead shelf compartment. Please note that luggage with an adjustable handle and wheels will not fit in the overhead compartment of the coach. Hotel porterage is included in your vacation.

  • You will need to be comfortable on your feet, walking and standing for up to three hours in various weather conditions.  All of our vacations involve walking, often on cobblestone and uneven surfaces in historic city centers.  In order to get the most out of your vacation you need to be able to comfortably walk 1-3 miles unassisted in one day, be in good condition and be able to keep pace with the group. 

    If you need any medications, it is important that you bring enough to last you the whole trip and keep them in your carry-on bag while you travel.

  • We highly recommend our optional Travel Protection Plan, which allows you to cancel for any reason up to 24 hours before departure. The plan also includes trip interruption, baggage loss or delay, and medical and emergency assistance. Click here for a summary of coverage details, terms and conditions.

Request a Quote
  • 30 Day Refund Guarantee

    We promise you’ll enjoy a stress-free travel experience from the minute you start your vacation planning or we’ll refund your deposit. Make your reservation with a $350 deposit. If you change your mind for any reason within 30 days of booking, we’ll offer you a full refund.

Be the First to Know!

Sign up for our emails and receive exclusive offers, travel information, announcements, and more!
Providing peace of mind and unparalleled service for over 40 years.